We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I booked an 11 day break to St. Lucia with my daughter and parents. As it had been their anniversary I booked us all into the Ladera for one night as a surprise. They were blown away. The rooms are stunning and we felt so close to the Pitons it was if you could have reached out and touched them. Were we greeted with complimentary bottle of champagne and the staff couldn't be anymore helpful. We ate at the Dasheene restaurant and again food and service were superb. Sleeping almost alfresco took some getting use to but after one night I truly didn't want to leave. I definitely be back sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with a plunge pool. not sure all rooms have them but worth the extra expense...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sistrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    188
    60
    40
    34
See reviews for
34
986
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

relax overlooking the Pitons and sea and shoo away the birds with water pistols - yes you have read water pistols. Excellent food but beware the portion control - there is none! If you are not staying here take taxi trip to it and enjoy the ride there and back (about 1 hour from Castries)

Room Tip: All over look the stunning scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ladera for our honeymoon and I cannot say enough lovely things about Ladera hotel and their staff and management. I was immediately blown away upon arrival once we were greeted with a nice drink and cool mint towel as a refresher! We were then shown to our breathtaking love nest! It was not just a room, it was spacious and more than I could have ever dreamed! The view was better than any pictures I had seen prior to us arriving. I was worried about not having any AC but with the flow of air that comes through it is nice and cool! I actually got chilly a few times. I also didn't have any bug issues as I was scared of prior to coming, the only time I was a "meal" for the mosquito's was around dusk by the pool only one night. The sunsets in our plunge pool were my favorite part of every night. So romantic and unlike any sunset back home. Dinner was amazing every night and the live music was lovely! Did I mention the couple's massage?!?!?! It was outstanding as well! I find myself always trying to find something as lovely as Ladera when traveling now. They have set the bar high! I look forward to returning there and highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabba86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited the hotel for lunch, though were not staying. We have been many times before and were not disappointed. We got a warm welcome from the staff and had a very tasty lunch while admiring the view. During our stay on the island we also went for a couple of sunset cocktails and games of scrabble in the bar. Again a great experience and we would really recommend a visit. Warning though there is now a cover charge for non-guests which is a bit off putting, why not just put the price up a bit and make people feel welcomed?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I spent time at 3 resorts over our 8 day stay in St. Lucia; Ladera was the 'cherry' on top of our trip. It most certainly has the best view we found in St. Lucia (I'm sure Jade Mountain could beat it, but they are 3x the cost). The open-walled rooms overlooking the Pitons and ocean were majestic. We literally walked into our room and said, "Wow!", followed by just soaking up the surroundings for about 20 minutes.

The Manager had a welcome reception which was very nice. He is very friendly and personable. Neat touch.

Now the rub. We were told by our agent before our trip we would need $100-150 US per person per day for meals at Ladera. For us as middle-class honeymooners, this was spending two-thirds of our entire on-island budget just at Ladera for food ($1200). We naively thought, "No problem, we're adventurous," and just go out to the city and other places. Problem. When up at Ladera, it is an area with expensive resorts. All of the restaurants nearby charge close to the same (except the Morne Coubaril Estate lunch we had for $8- amazing!). We enjoyed the food at Dasheene, but even ordering water, we could not escape eating for less than $80 an evening. We got creative and went into Soufriere by walking 30 minutes- which was fun! However, we got many mixed messages on walking, taxis, restaurants, etc. We also figured we could get a taxi into Soufriere easily and even to do the Friday night Fish Fry. They were going to charge us $150 US for this taxi. We started to feel overwhelmed with the prices and stuck. However, we did get creative.

One note on service: because we had a more affordable room, they provide very little with it. We had great coffee there, and they provided water, but though the in-room book said we were supposed to get free sodas (and friends who went a couple years before got complimentary breakfast), we inquired. Not at our room level. This seemed a little cheap that they wouldn't even provide a Coke with the room.

The reason I said average service is that when my wife and I tried to get creative with not spending lots of money, we found the staff very difficult to work with and confusing. We received mixed messages and poor initiative to help whenever it was not something "out of the can" such as their own adventures they sell. We ended up walking to Morne Coubaril for zip lining and the plantation tour. Ladera had marked up the cost of this an additional $20 US just to schedule through them. We were able to do a tour for $30 total including lunch, whereas their tour with a different estate would have been around $200.

So here's the deal: we could have really enjoyed Ladera to the max if we were flushed with cash. We are not. We might find this more enjoyable in the future, but we felt very price-gouged. It was a breathtaking view and the most incredible room I've ever stayed in. Next time around, we would spend 3 days up-front to relax, and then go on to Sandals to get all the food and activities we can stand for a set price.

Room Tip: Spend money here. I think this is the only way you can enjoy Ladera. If you don't have money t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JustEmHug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
It is a misconception that Ladera is less expensive than other resorts in our category in St Lucia. Consistently rated as one of the top experiential properties in the world, we continue to offer the same high level of service and standards, providing the best available products in the market. The cost associated to it is consistent with our competitive set in the Caribbean and other luxury resort destinations.Thank you for providing feedback.
Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The room and view are amazing, no doubt about that. The nightly live music is also very nice.

Everything else on the other hand is completely overpriced garbage. In particular the food, which is portrayed as gourmet, is nothing more than cheap ingredients thrown together in an upscale setting, tagged with michelin restaurant prices.

If Ladera wasn't at the price point it is, I wouldn't say anything. But when you're charging upwards of $45 for an entrée, there are certain expectations that come along with that. When ownership is too cheap and consistently cuts corners to maximize profits, reviews like these from discerning guests are a result.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermael C, Guest Relations Manager at Ladera Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We acknowledge that you posted your first review on trip advisor. Please be reassured that our pricing is compatible with other luxury 5 Star properties on the island, as we continue to offer a unique upscale experience. The room rate and meal plan you purchased, reflect what is included or not as any other hotel. At Dasheene, we participate in the local Summerlicious program that offers a greater value to restaurant guests on a budget during the summer season. Please note that we offer a three course menu at a cost of USD 55.00 per person++.
Regards, Shermael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was excited for this trip to St.Lucia mainly because I wanted to experience what Ladera had to offer with their 3 wall concept. The ambiance and tranquility was above and beyond my expectations. If you are seeking peace and romance this is the place for you. I couldn't get enough of this resort. For my personal review,thoughts, and photos check out my blog at The-Rolemodel.com I provided a very detailed review. hope you find it helpful.
A special thank you to Holly for my making my stay memorable and special.Also, Thank you to the Ladera Family who were also kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Every room is unique some bigger than others but rest assured that you will still have a beautiful r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolemodelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#3 of 11 in Soufriere
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing