We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Beautiful Place to Honeymoon!”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My husband found this resort after reviewing other places on St. Lucia. After reviewing the traveler reviews on this site and speaking to the resort ourselves we decided to do it. We found the staff to be very warm and welcoming from the time we arrived to when we left. Always smiling, helpful and accomodating to anything we needed. The weather while we were there was great...80s during the day and low 70's at night. Sunshine everyday with one or two days of passing showers. It did storm just about every night, sometimes waking us up but the rain never came in the room (if the storms were coming in off the water by the Pitons it would have been a different story). The week before our arrival we did hear some rooms were flooded from recent rains.
We stayed in Room O which had beautiful views of the Pitons and a great plunge pool (most rooms do) We found the birds and lizards entertaining....beware of leaving any food uncovered as the birds are not shy and will disappear with your english muffin. ;-) The lizards stay out of your way and don't bother anyone. The sun is up early along with the rest of the jungle so inevitably so are you. One review was quite harsh on how loud the insects were, etc. Its simply not true. We are "city" people and we didn't find it bad at all. Its different but you get used to it. They do supply you with eye covers to sleep with, ear plugs and water guns to deal with the "noise". Travelers need to understand that this resort is unlike most other resorts....very unique.
We did the all inclusive and enjoyed the option of choosing your meals on menu card, and leaving it in the Piton holder outside the door for the staff to pick up for the following morning. Very convenient!
Ladera is quite remote, not much to do.... and its difficult to get to the places where you do find something to do. Driving is not an option for most people due to the terrain. Taxi's are expensive. Shuttles run from the resort to the beach below. You can take a boat from there to the black sand beach nearby.
We were there for the Superbowl and the resort did bus guests to a nearby restaurant where they set up a huge large screen TV to watch the game. We arrived with a large group of other New Yorkers so there were quite a few people interested in watching the game. I thought this was a very nice gesture! (Ladera does not have TV's).
If there were any downside to this resort is that we did get tired of the same menu options at Dasheen after a while and also that "things to do" were limited. There is a able set up at the main house with sign up sheets for various hikes, water activiities, etc. We did the Petite Piton hike which I recommend only for experienced hikers or at least people who are in very good shape as this hike is about 4 hours (2 up/2 down) and gets very steep at times. The guides are like everyone else on the island...warm, welcoming and very interesting to talk with. We also signed up for the rain forest hike which was a great way to learn about the local people and vegetation on the island.
One very unexpected thing did occur as a result of the open air room and that was when we came home from dinner to find a tarantula in our room! I have this on video and may post it simply because it was hilarious (now that its over!). The staff was unalarmed and took care of it immediately! The next night while playing cards in our room we did have a possum wander just on the edge of the room. It was entertaining for a minute or two then we shooed him out and he did not come back. These two events may be very rare but travelers should come here knowing the possibilities so you are prepared. Remember you are in an open room!!!
This resort is best suited for those who can expect the unexpected, who are easy going and who are open minded. Travelers should come here ready to get to know the locals and take in the sites and sounds of this tropical place. We have no regrets on choosing Ladera for our honeymoon and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mlatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2008

What you really need to know about Ladera is that the location is spectacular but the accomodations are over rated and over priced. I was prepared for 3 walls instead of 4 and I knew there would be some creepy crawleys (it is the jungle), however, the tree frogs were impossibly loud at night, they sound like birds. At first they were charming and novel but by the end of our stay I was ready to check into a sanitarium.

Besides the roar of the frogs the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in (hard as a rock). The mosquito netting around the bed (you absolutely need it!) also had some holes and kept opening up in the night. Needless to say, the paranoia of being eaten alive by mosquitoes and hearing them in my ears while trying to sleep cost me many restless hours.

Another thing potential guests need to be prepared for is the restaurant Dasheene. This is the only place to eat at Ladera, there are really no other palces even remotely near by. It is very expensive so I suggest goin with the all inclusive plan. The service is impossibly slow (most meals taking at least 2-3 hours!). The food is quite good but not worth the wait.

Overall, I would highly reccomend staying at another resort on the island and if you are just too curious, book Ladera for only a night. We really enjoyed our stay at the Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort. Well worth the price, with excellent food, accomodations, and service! There are many different activities as well. Also, the weather seems to be a bit less rainy over there. At Ladera we were faced with 4 days of torrential down pour and spent restless days playing board games in the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank OregonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

The sounds of the Ladera resort are all natural and beautiful. the sounds were frogs, crickets, birds, wind, and other creatures of the night I could not readily identify, but they were all pleasant. To enhance this experience there is no fourth wall so the sounds are easily heard day and night. If you dont like the potential aspect of high luxury camping and the heavy sounds of nature I would not recommend Ladera. We loved all the sounds and it placed us to sleep easily each night. The view of the Pitons is the best on the island. We visited the Jade Mountain resort too, and their views are fanatastic as well, but Ladera is up close and personal. The beach resort below offers a decent scuba operation I used almost every day, and this is the place to catch a water taxi which is the quickest and cheapest way around the island. Taking and paying for cabs is expensive and time consuming because of the mountain terrain. This also leads me to my only real negative comments about Ladera: It is isolated, and thus if you want to do any type of activity you must hire a cab or take the trips offered by the hotel, and most of these are very overpriced. The dining options are limited, and you are forced to eat resort food which is great but also very expensive. Driving a car on the ilsland is not recommended, and we did not.

I did not do great research on the diving on St Lucia, but i discovered the best is all near Ladera, and the boat rides to dive sites were short and comfortable. The diving was all drift diving, and i considered it all easy.

Would we return ? Yes !!! We loved it. It was a nature expereince each day and night. We found and or saw new animals or insects. The discover of the Rhino beetle was really cool.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank mordre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We went to the restaurant to see the view that is on the St. Lucia advertisements. I wouldn't have missed it for anything...please consider staying here, if you can get a room. Food was fabulous...we only went for lunch, but we were blown away. A gun on every table...a water gun in case the birds want your food...lots of fun, but the birds were not a problem. On a hill in the rainforest...don't miss it. Can take a boat from the north end of the island to Soufriere...very winding drive...don't sit in the back if you can get motion sickness. Check out their website!

Stayed: November 2008
3  Thank WorldwideTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Our Honeymoon at Ladera was the greatest experience of our lives! The views, the 2-story treehouse, the food, the service, the staff...all were top notch in our book. Seriously, we could not have written in any better! Worth every penny.

We stayed 6 nights at Ladera and from the time we were dropped off till the time we left, the service was great. In other reviews, you'll read alot about nightmares involving bats, bugs, and other creatures...not us. In fact , we slept great! The only creatures we saw in our room were birds and lizards...big whoop! I mean they didn't harm us in anyway! We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa (free upgrade-thanks Ladera) room G. The pool was amazing - once you have the waterfall running the pool heated up to the perfect temp. The housekeeping staff was great-they arrived each morning and thoroughly cleaned the villa and a pool guy came also daily to clean the pool. If I had to pick one thing I didn't care for in the villa, it would have to be the water pressure in the shower but that's it! We didn't get hot at night b/c there was a steady breeze plus we had a ceiling fan and a floor fan that did just fine.

Dasheene is one of the best places my wife and I have ever eaten...in fact we ate every meal there (except Friday where they took us to a small fishing village and ate seafood-really cool!). FYI, don't do the all-inclusive. Breakfast and afternoon sandwiches and cookies are already included in the room rate so we skipped lunch almost everyday. We just payed for dinner and drinks.

If you want the best view in the world at all times - from your room, from your dinner table, from your breakfast table, from the bar, from your shower - then go to Ladera. If you want a normal hotel room - don't go.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rp3909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Well I'm actually writing this review from Miami airport, enroute to home from Ladera - so I'm just going to simply say that it was a wonderful hotel. You MUST Go. Just make sure you don't make the same mistake as us and head off to another restaurant instead of eating at DASHEEN - it has the best food in St Luica - the chef there is talented (Orlando).

the staff made the whole trip really special, they are so nice and helpful and offer to help without even asking! that's something we miss an awful lot when we travel - the customer service is second to none!

So really, all i can say is go and see for yourself the beauty of not only st lucia but this place also....

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jen_Muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Its hard to describe our experience because my husband and I always have fun with each other no matter where we go. We did enjoy viewing the walk-in volcano and experiencing zip lining through the rainforest. We also had an amazing dinner at the Rainforest Hideaway. I guess the accommodations are what impacted our whole experience in St. Lucia.
If you like bats living in your hotel room, run down, dirty hotel rooms, services that are offered but then discontinued (the Jeeves butler service was no longer used which meant leaving your hotel room every time you needed something, ie: room service, extra towels, bat exterminators. . .), broken hair dryers, broken mineral springs, broken pool lights and pool water fall than Ladera is the place for you.
The bats living in our room apparently were the talk of the staff. Oh yes, they do bite, the bats, not the staff. It was disconcerning, after the bats were removed, we never recieved an apology from anyone or compensation for the inconvience.
Yes, I get it, 3 walls, beautiful pictureesque landscape, no t.v., phone or internet ( because of the torential rain storms the internet on the whole island went out for 3 days) which actually didn't bother us. Don't get me wrong we knew all of this and the environment that would exist because of it, however, my point, for $800.00 a night there are many more beautiful, romantic, up to date and clean places to stay on St. Lucia.
As far as the staff, they were friendly and somewhat helpful. The concierge was a bit clueless for having a job that required her to know the in's and out's of her own island and no one gave us the same answer twice.
I understand this review is our opinion. My husband and I have been to many islands and stayed at many unique places. We aren't experts but we are objective about what we see and experience. Ladera and St. Lucia were by far our least favorite and overall most disappointing trip we have taken so far.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ostrvl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
737 reviews
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £390 - £903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing