We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveller rating
1,051
201
63
41
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,051
201
63
41
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop dream suite heated pool paradise ridge recommend ladera gros piton suite our honeymoon heritage suite chef nigel beach package st lucia dasheene restaurant open air sugar beach open wall visited ladera soufriere experience tree frogs
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

I just got back from my trip. We absolutely loved our experience in St Lucia. We came to Ladera twice for dinner, the food was excellent! And the views were absolutely stunning. I had the most memorable birthday thanks to Ladera. Thank you guys for the wonderful experience!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gladi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

This is a beautiful resort with unique rooms offering guests surreal views of the Pitons. With no wall in front of you to block your view, you are one with nature. Go to sleep with the sound of a chorus of frogs and wake up with a beautiful sunrise and the Pitons as your backdrop. Enjoy a swim in your own in-room pool or relax by the beautiful resort pool. The staff here are very attentive and always ready to help and the food is excellent.

This is a great location to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and a great opportunity to just sit back, relax and "zen". Enjoy the beautiful gardens, take a shuttle to the beach or participate in one of many sightseeing activities offered by the resort. You can't go wrong with the Ladera Resort.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank mary-the-travelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

My wife said I had to add this to the front. Yes, we would go again.

We were amazed after doing our own homework to see reviews blasting this location for noise, beach access and 'no kids'! Here is a short list of things you need to know and do your own homework on about Ladera.
1) Kids are not allowed, and there is a good reason. It's on cliff! Note: this is a third world country and to maintain your view and part of the beauty, there is no railing to stop you from walking over the edge, just a garden and a warning sign in your room. (see pictures)
2) This is not a 'Beach Resort' (see above)
3) The resort is "NOT" affiliated with Sugar Beach. Expect to pay $50 each for chair/ beach access; food expensive even for simple foods (see other reviews)
4) With #3 in mind it is of note that not all rooms have sunning area with direct sunlight. Though your pool (if outside) will get some sun during the day.
5) The resort faces SW- lots of software to see what kind of sun you’ll get during visit
6) Not all rooms have heated pools, choose room (if you can, you cannot reserve but you can ask to change if available) & time of visit wisely. PS the more you spend the more likely your pool is heated.
7) The sun sets between Pitons for roughly 3 months (November to January)!! Caution, you will not see any sunrises (it comes over the mountains "behind" resort); you will not see a sunset on the bay unless you go during the most expensive timeframe.
8) Restaurant’s cuisine and preparation meets its pricing.
Your meals are paced in the 'old school style' (properly, their goal is not to turn a table for the next guest, it is done to allow you to enjoy the experience and the food. You are not rushed and you are provided a palette cleanser between hors d'oeuvres; plan for at least 90m depending on conversation and meal items, you can stay all evening if you choose, and the entertainment from the bar can be enjoyed.
9) Important note "Men" are required to wear slacks to DINNER at Dasheene
10) Upgrading to Paradise Ridge - this is your call. If you think a butler (plus tip), a few more mini bar drink selections, smaller rooms (in general), only one room has an area for sitting in the sun (exclusive of nov/dec/Jan) and being farthest from restaurant (butlers will drive you back and forth) are an upgrade!?
11) You have no fourth wall to the SW. This is fundamentally an outside room. If you have never truly camped, be prepared for noisy animals/bugs, wind blowing and rain hitting just outside the missing 4th wall. They provide ear plugs (we found them unnecessary) and bug spray (we found it worked well in August, different times of year may have more bugs). You are in a screened in bed, as with camping you should NOT leave lights on at night or food out. Both will attract bugs you do not want. You will still have some small bug traffic.

So now let me cover our August 2018 visit.

We were surprised with a free upgrade to what they deem is their top of the line rooms on Paradise Ridge (we stayed in PR 2, see map in pics). We were met by one of our three butlers (comes with room on paradise ridge 24/7), Schol.
This was our first experience with butler's at any resort and I recommend you do your homework for the resort you visit and the expected tipping costs added to your trip.

Due to some weather, we chose to dine at Dasheene all three nights. Night one was: Lobster pasta w/garlic and olive oil for my wife which had lots of lobster and was cooked to perfection. More than enough pasta for my wife. I had the sirloin strip they did excellent job cooking rare (this is sometimes a challenge for even the best of restaurants). Sweet potato fries were outstanding.
Though mildly busy that night we had difficulty with getting water served. I was reaching over to get it myself a number of times. I requested a second glass of tea and it never came.

Wednesday morning breakfast (comes with our room) included the sour orange drink (changes daily) is outstanding. Again requested refills of water and orange and never got them.
Eggs Benedict was cooked to order but hollandaise lacked any flavor. My wife had scrambled and she requested them well done needed a little more time. Sweet potato’s prepared were again excellent. Also, all of the pastries they offer were very good.

Next night dinner was surf and turf, shrimp fettuccini, mahi tar tar. All were excellent. Sorbet cleansers. Timing on courses was a bit long this night, but not terrible. Banana rum cheesecake and ice cream for dessert were good.

Tomlette (house specialty) was good, best with both the salsa and hot sauce. 3 eggs over medium came out under-cooked and needed to be redone. That made two days on eggs for breakfast. Pastries excellent and tamarind drink very good.

Our last night was the tenderloin, fixed perfectly and with great flavor and surf and turf which again was awesome. Breads served at each meal had variety and tasted great. As do the sauces brought out at each meal. We requested an off the menu drink of their fresh squeezed sour orange with vodka. They happily complied and they were great.

Note: I wanted their tart each of our nights and it was not available, nor did they inform you when they provided the menu if something was unavailable. Though the tart was the only thing they did not have that I requested.

Overall expect to pay between $150-$250 depending on alcoholic beverages any evening you eat at Dasheene. Also, note that they include 10% service charge on your bill.

It rained a lot and hard the first day and half we were there. We did have rain come into unit (Through the louvered windows as the rain was driving in with the wind; some got on our bags did get wer and we had to do some mopping up. When we talked to the resort in the morning they said we should have called, they would have handled it. Our shower was not turning off; it did take some time to fix this, but really had no effect on our stay.

People of note during our stay that were excellent:
Schol - Butler
Jenny - Butler
Melissa - Butler

These butlers work "EVERYTHING" you ask about or need. If you have an issue, let them know immediately and they will do everything possible to fix it or get it for you.

Though most of the serving staff was good; They are polite and greet you with a smile and by name as they get to know you. We want to single out Gibson as excellent!

Though we did not sit in the bar area for the entertainment, it can be enjoyed during dinner and each night it was very good to excellent

In my pics you will see the view from PR 2 both standing in the room and sitting in the pool (you see plants); you will see various views from around the resort to the bay, a map of the resort, a beautiful rainbow after the rain, a time lapse photo from one evening.

This resort is beautiful. You just need to do your homework and in this case, read all the fine print.

Room Tip: You can't reserve the best room in any level you want, you have to hope you either get it for it is available when you arrive.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank SeanH689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Our trip was an August Anniversary trip. Booked the honeymoon suite. Package included hotel transfers in private cab, and breakfast. The cab driver gave a wonderful brief review of the Atlantic side (rough water side)of the island. Upon arrival, the lighting storm messed up the room wiring. They moved us and provided us with another bottle of champagne for later. The chocolate covered fruit in our room was to die for. My Favorite part of my stay was the hotels local craftsmanship! The hand crafted wood, tile, the showers, the sinks, and even the pool. If you want a one of a kind, then this is the place. If privacy in your private plunge pool is what you want, and a gorgeous view, then pick here! This resort Does Not have a beach. Beach access is provided via complimentary shuttle to sugar beach, and bring 50 US dollars if you want a nice chair! The resort offers many tours. However, I wanted a custom tour and they wanted to charge we too much to list here. Here is a tip... work with another couple and use Solamans Boat Services at Sugar Beach to work a deal. We had 4 adults, drinks, a private boat trip to coastal hot spots with tour and restaurant trip at each stop: Soufriere local fish town, Margot Bay, Castries and it's Markets, and finally Gros Islet for the Friday night fish fry. Solumans gave us the local experience, including the local food, and an actual guy guiding us through town. Ask for Titas, he rocks! He won't accept a beer, but buy him a meal, include him in dinner, and get some great local stories! If you are a foodie; the hotel's restaurant includes farm to table and won't disappoint. One major tip, there are only 3 walls to your room so natural sounds and lights need to be considered. Take eye masks & ear plugs if needed. If booking a mud bath tour make sure to get there before the 10am crowd or it will be an uncomfortably hot line.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AngelaSims1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stayed in the Suites at Paradise Ridge. The experience was incredible! We had a breathtaking view out the front and back of our room. The butler service was something we originally didn't think we needed, but having it was part of what made our stay so perfect. He made all of our reservations for us, provided us with golf cart drives around the resort, answered any questions we had about the country and how best to take advantage of our time there, and so much more! Schol and Tony were awesome! Some of our other favorite employees were Caroline at concierge, Jason, Jesse, and Isha. Dasheene was absolutely beautiful and delicious. We did not have a bad meal there. It took a lot to get us to venture out to other restaurants because we loved Dasheen so much. A huge benefit to the Suites at Paradise Ridge is the preferred seating at the restaurant which provided us with the most beautiful views of the pitons. We cannot recommend this resort more. We felt so welcome and so well cared for while we were there. The location and the people made our honeymoon very memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews