We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step above extraordinary”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A step above extraordinary”
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Ladera is a step above extraordinary. After two vacations, one wedding and a first anniversary Ladera continues to beckon us. The views from the resort are magnificent. The entire staff at Ladera are professional, helpful and extremely considerate to their guests almost so that you feel as though you are the only guest in the resort. Returning guests are often greeted like family. The resort is a tropical paradise for vacationers looking for serenity and tranquility. Ladera boasts their open fourth walls so expect some of natures visitors - that is part of the experience! Each room has it's own unique charm. Their recent award for best resort was well earned. Leave your watches at home, bring your bathing suit, island nice clothes for dinner and enjoy the relaxed pace, fine cuisine and warm hospitality of Ladera.

  • Liked — The views, the open fourth walls with plunge pools, the location, the food, the staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — Expect nothing - enjoy everything. It's an incrdible get away for those looking to do exactly that - get away from the everyday.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pitonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    188
    60
    40
    34
See reviews for
34
986
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales/Chester
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Although we stayed at Ladera in April 05 I feel compelled to write a review due to the shocking couple of reviews that have been recently posted. We stayed at East Winds for the bulk of our stay then at Ladera for 3 nights due to an upgrade by our hotel for our honeymoon. This experience really was the making of our trip and Ladera has provided some amazing honeymoon photos. We were given the most 'basic' room- four poster,plunge pool. The design is that the rooms are of a dark wood, FAR from holiday camp- I find that comment unbelievable. Ladera oozes quality and high class. I dont think Princess Margaret of Mick Jagger who have been amongst their many high profile customers would have settled for amything less than the best. The views are breathtaking and for the 4th wall missing, I am THE most creepycrawly phobic person and the first night all the noises worried me and going to the loo terrified me but it was all for nothing. It is so quiet that noise is magnified but the main sound is the tiny little treefrog hiding away somewhere. As for being attacked by moths etc etc !! Well that gave me something to laugh about reading that. As for the wonderful restaurant,the meals were of the highest standard,unusual and so tasty. This really is a unique boutique hotel,exclusive and special. If you are planning to go then experience it for yourself, for the high cost of this hotel then do your research and KNOW exactly what you are getting. Do that and still want to go then you will have the experience of a lifetime.

  • Liked — views,food,room
  • Disliked — pool was a touch chilly!
  • Tips/Secrets — do your research
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank glampuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2006

A place to forget about the world. As soon as you arrived to Ladera you feel the tranqulity, breathing pure air. Its natural atmosphere makes you feel you are having a real vacation.From the bedroom to the restaurant you are always going to have a nice view.We enjoyed the spectacular gourmet food .Its a great place for anyone trying to get away from hectic life perfect for honeymooners.There is no luxury at all its a rustic decor for anyone loving nature its lovely. A little advice take the meal plan its well worth it. Also cooking class with Orlando was fun and good tips.We did our tours privately with a young fellow name Jason with a gold tooth . Most people know him at Ladera. Very friendly great personalty and respectfull .Which you might look at his appearance and say no. His Uncle was the taxi driver in a nice comfortable van and he would just show us around . By the way good driver. We save some money and did it on our own pace.It was a great unforgetable honeymoon to look back at. Enjoy

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — not enough light
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LD323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

We booked Ladera for our honeymoon after Conde Nast rated it the best hotel in the world. It was certainly a splurge and we expected a very unique and luxurious hotel. We lucked out on a number of levels and had a great time, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend the hotel to others.

First, we had booked a "1 bdrm suite with plunge pool" for $490 and somehow got upgraded to the 2 bdrm (actually 3BDRM, 2BTH) villa. Our villa was fantastic, though a bit dated and in need of some upgrading. Given the price, I didn't expect, for example, lots of cracked concrete surrounding our plunge pool. As one couple we met there said, it seemed a little "summer campy" and that's a pretty good way to put it. We did see one of the suites similar to what we had booked, and it was TINY! Definitely not worth the price - and for that matter, the villa wasn't worth its listed price either. Plus, the prices have skyrocketed for next year. So we lucked out - our villa was certainly worth the $490 we paid for it. (I believe it goes for as much as $1200/nite in 2007).

As for bugs and other critters - yes, they're there! Not a big deal in most cases - but the mosquitoes were awful - I counted 26 bites received in a single overnight, INSIDE the mosquito netting. And the birds did make a racket and destroy the creamer/sugar packets in the kitchen area, but that hardly bothered us. I was a little freaked out by the moths the size of pigeons but quickly learned to leave all lights off most of the time.

The $90 drink/lunch/dinner supplement was definitely worth the price, though they don't tell you when you book that if you want to participate in the inclusive plan, you need to do it for 3 CONSECUTIVE days. We talked our way out of that (spread the three days over the 9 days we were there) and felt it worked out pretty well. However, in 2007 the price also jumps to something like $150/pp and I don't think that's worth it at all. Again, we were lucky.

Unfortunately, the food was a huge disappointment (and frankly, Chef Orlando, is a rather arrogant and annoying person). We heard from a chef visting the island that the word in 'chef-land' is that food at the Ladera has really gone downhill in the past year or so. Perhaps we're spoiled, having lived in DC, Chicago, Philly, and NYC, but the food just wasn't very good. In some cases it was actually bad, but in most it was just so-so. The sugarcane steak is one of the better things on the menu.

When you're at Ladera, you are pretty much stranded, and have to call a (very expensive) taxi to get anywhere. Actually, there's not really anwhere to go. We went horseback riding one day (the horses were a bit mangy but the lunch we had at the plantation was quite good) but pretty early on just gave up on activities. We preferred the Anse Chastenet beach over Jalousie because we really liked the beach bar at Anse Chasenet and ended up most days taking the early shuttle to Anse Chastenet, staying all day, having a late lunch there, and returning to Ladera (where we skipped dinner) in time to have sunset drinks at the amazing bar and listen to the live music.

We had friends at Anse Chastenet/Jade Mtn (who had split the trip between there and Ladera) - their room at Jade Mtn was AMAZING! It was brand new and sparkling clean and the infinity pool in their room was full-sized. The view was every bit as fantastic as at Ladera, just from a different perspective. We spent some afternoons over there when we got tired of the beach so got to experience their luxury for awhile...another way we lucked out.

One thing to note, the service at Ladera was FANTASTIC. Sometimes it was a bit slow through meals (don't bother ordering a cappuccino, it takes at least 1/2 an hour) but when you're in St Lucia, what difference does it make? There's no where to rush off to. Peter the bartender was great. Melissa and Maylisa and all the other staff, too, was so friendly - everyone always smiling, asking how you are, etc. Really great people who we were able to celebrate with a bit on our last night there.

My recommendation, overall -- skip Ladera, stay at Jade Mtn, and come over to Ladera one afternoon for drinks and a light snack. Bring a book and relax at the bar for a few hours. Say hit to Peter. That's really all the "Ladera Experience" you need.

  • Liked — The View (of course)
  • Disliked — The Food
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank eai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

We absolutely loved this hotel! We had the 3 bedroom, 3 story villa with a huge pool, and the view is indescribable! It's not for those that don't enjoy the outdoors, as there are no windows, but let me tell you, the service is incredible, and the food is to die for! They have great tours to choose from, but you aren't surrounded by a bunch of "honeymoon couple" activities, which we were very happy about. We wanted privacy and to enjoy each other's company. We highly recommend the Ladera.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank fotioo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

My husband and I went to St. Lucia on our honeymoon and extended our trip in order to stay at Ladera for a night. I have never in my life seen something so beautiful! I really felt like I was in the Garden of Eden. The staff was kind and helpful (compared to the service we found on most of the island) and we loved the restaurant. However, the open rooms did make us feel a little like we were on a camping trip so it wasn't the most comfortable night's sleep. Personally, I would recommend staying here for a night or two just to experience it -- it's breathtaking!

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the bugs
  • Tips/Secrets — stay for a night or two, not your whole vacation
  • Stayed January 2002, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonbonbon_jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

We stayed both at Jade Mountain and Ladera (also posted a review of Jade Mtn/Anse Chastanet). I must say, the numerous positive reviews here did initially steer us towards Ladera- thankfully we had read some dissenting points of view in favor of Anse Chastanet, and I'm so glad we did. It literally saved our vacation...! It was an order of magnitude differerence between the two.

First and foremost, understand that if you're looking for a 4-or-5-star experience, this absolutely will not be it. We stayed in one of the most expensive rooms, "2 Bedroom Luxury Villa" (actually had 3 bdrms) with 2baths and a full pool, so we had high expectations. The pictures are completely deceptive.

Coming from Jade Mountain, which had incredible views, beautiful custom furniture, stunning baths and infinity pools, Ladera was an incredible let down. The room was dated, dark, and I (perhaps too harshly) started calling it the KOA campground - but that's really how it felt. As a few other reviewers note, you feel more like you're camping than in the luxury.

The water pressure was very poor (which they warn you once you get into your room and read a big posted sign- inside the room!!), the lighting was poor, the insects/bugs were really horrible- at night we didn't dare get out of our mosquito net. I broke down once to use the bathroom and was bombarded by bugs, moths, and all sorts of creepy crawlies.

During the day, the heat was oppressive- it was very uncomfortable, with no breeze, and in the entire multi-level room there was only one ceiling fan which didn't do much. The only other circulation was the addition of a cheap floor fan. For the $680-plus a night rate, it was quite upsetting. At night, it does cool down considerably.... but it wasn't much consolation. In comparison, our stay the same week in our suite at Jade Mtn was very comfortable, with a breeze from the water and 9 different ceiling fans which was great.

We were "lucky", others had told us on top of all this, the nearby volano sulfur smell could really get unpleasant when the wind shifted- we noticed only a faint odor...but the bar was filled with patrons smoking up a storm, so we gave up on that.

The pool was icy-cold, honestly even in the heat of the day it was too uncomfortable to be in. My girlfriend flat out refused to go in, I did and only last about 3 minutes before giving up shivering. Supposedly you had a heat control, but it was controlled by a govenor which only let you turn it on later at night- and even then, it didn't work enough to come close to comfortable.

The highlight of Ladera was supposed to be Dashnee, and again it was really a big disappointment. Overpriced, so-so food, and the biggest issue was that the service at all meals was very poor and unattentive. We went huge stretches without a waiter or waitress in sight, multiple times I had to get up from the table to head towards the back to find someone, we'd request something basic like a missing place setting (!) or a drink, and they'd completely forget.

Staff was aloof, unfriendly, and honestly barely lifted a finger to do anything. The first day they told us "be sure to get up early tomorrow for our orientation" - which we had done at Anse Chastanet, and learned a lot/very useful. We show early AM at Ladera front desk and they just stared at us. "Orientation? What do you mean? Uh, well, just ask us any questions you have." If we knew enough to ask a variety of questions, we would have!

The first night, we awoke the next AM to see the counter and floor coated in sugar and other assorted stuff- the birds had gotten into the canisters and made a big mess, which in turn attracted plenty of ants and additional insects which were in full swarm by the time we got to cleaning it up. Did I mention the giant injured cricket, stuck on top of our mosquito net, when a lizard started hunting it for the night meal?? Discovery channel to be sure!!

Once you're at the hotel, you're basically trapped- we tried to go for a walk, it was a 2min endeavor. There are no activities, nothing to explore, everything requires getting a cab or shuttle to somewhere else. In contrast, our stay at Anse Chastanet gave you access to great beach, snorkeling, sailing, whale watching, a 600 acre plantation with trails, etc etc.

After one night of this, it was really ruining our trip - the 5 previous nights at Jade/Anse Chastanet were so incredibly better, the staff there so completely friendly and warm. I cut it short, told the front desk we were checking out early and then they just sniffed and said "well, you know we're going charge you two additional nights penalty!" As if I cared by that point... not one inquiry to see how they might be able to make things more comfortable, or make the least bit of accomodation. The honest truth, is that we would have left regardless. But it just showed the lack of caring on the part of the management... whoever they were (we certainly never heard from them).

Many people we met at St Lucia had also tried - and failed- to get into Ladera, like us they read all the great press. If this review gives just one couple pause before booking, or god forbid a honeymoon couple, then I'll feel like a good service has been done. It's expensive, which makes it all the worse... I feel we were very lucky having seen both, I would never have guessed the difference....

  • Liked — The view... that was it
  • Disliked — The room was dated, uncomfortable and infested with insets; during the day it was oppressively hot
  • Tips/Secrets — Seriously consider Jade Mountain and/or Anse Chastanet
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank smwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#3 of 11 in Soufriere
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing