We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off!”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a rip off!”
Reviewed 9 January 2007

What a dissapointment! Nobody mentioned the fact that this was an eco turism kind of place, and they charge you like $450 a night?
Like other people mentioned, this place doesn't have a phone, or a fan, a TV, nothing! The room has a little tiny refrigerator that doesn't get cold enough to keep your food and drinks. Let me remind you that you are in the caribbean, so it is hot all the time.

The stuff was not very friendly, everything is far away and they charge you even for breathing! Really! A tax of 18% is added to everything.

One of the things that MUST BE MENTIONED is the fact that the moment the sun starts going down, the beautiful chorrus of frogs starts their singing until the sun rises again.
It was really hard to fall asleep with all that noise (not just a little nature sound- a chorrus!!!) and to make it even better, the rain and wind move the net above your bed, so God help you!

There is only one restaurant at the resort (the food was not spectacular- not even the bread) and if you want to go somewhere else, be ready to take a 45Min trip to the city.
The bar is ok, but all the drinks taste the same. The music and atmosphere is VEEEEERY RELAXED, too much for us.

We had a reservation for 10 days in this place and we were out of there by day 2!

I made new reservations at the Ritz Carlton in Miami- south Beach for the remaining of our trip and we paid $375 a night! WITH ALL THE AMENITIES AND LUXURY that a price like that buys.

If you are into Eco-turism this is the place for you, but I think you can save a lot of money if you check other places.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — It was like camping and paying for it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Read all the reviews you can find before going anywhere.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank travelcriticColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    185
    60
    40
    33
See reviews for
33
967
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

We stayed for a week at Ladera in Dec. 2006 and we were very disappointed - primarily with the service we received. The positives of Ladera are that the view is fantastic and the villas are somewhat romantic - very rustic and unique (don't come here for world-class or luxurious though). We liked the open-air, no fourth wall rooms and did not mind the simplicity of the rooms and the rustic feel of the whole place. It reminded me of my trips to SE Asia (which were about 1/100 of the cost though). Ladera might be nice for the honeymooning couple who just wants to stay in their villa, with a great view and doesn't mind spotty service or having to ask for some basics. Biggest problems: The service was one of the worst I have ever experienced, and I have to clarify that I am not picky, nor do I have great expectations when traveling on islands, which is why I feel I must comment on Ladera “Resort” to warn others who may be lured by CNT’s “Best” rating or reviews from those just visiting for the day. We had booked directly with Ladera over a year in advance to avoid any problems with our reservation. We didn’t ask for much while there but at times felt like we were inconveniencing staff by being there, and had to ask for simple things and experienced some rudeness by staff. Given the rates (and all-inclusive surcharge of $150 per person per day), you should have your frig restocked by housekeeping each day with some water at least, and an equal number of towels in your villa to the number of adults staying there? There were only a handful of lounge chairs by the pool and sundeck, for far too many guests. Or that room service would actually be available anytime as they claim – but was not, when requested at reasonable times. And the bar seemed a popular destination in the afternoon for visitors on tours with other establishments, often so that there wasn't a seat left in the place to sit and have a drink for those paying 2 grand a day to stay at Ladera... again, good luck getting that drink via room service (anytime!). Another bad call by the management: Loud (and awful) music from the bar late _every_ night was not exactly the best way for guests to experience the songs of nature in the evening. Sharing our room with small creatures, and cold showers with low water pressure wasn't even a problem compared to the others. Being trapped up there on the hillside was fine, we wanted to escape and relax - guests can take a shuttle to the two beaches below (the beaches were not as pretty as other islands tho.). The excursions recommended by the hotel were fine, but really expensive for what was provided but seemed slapped together, and not memorable in any way. The food at Ladera's one restaurant, Dasheene was fine, but not amazing as claimed by Ladera or reviewed by others. The were several really bad items served as well. The buffets or bbqs are the best days to eat there. The slow service (often 45 minutes between courses) at the restaurant for dinner was fine – what else is there to do but eat over 2-1/2 hours? But for lunch or breakfast, that seemed odd. To top off the experience, our bill at departure was incorrect in many ways, and they tried to overcharge us for the room rate and for services supposedly covered by “all-inclusive.” The experience of attempting to fix the incorrect bill at the end was no different than the previous week – unsatisfying. This long awaited vacation left a very bad taste in my mouth and I cannot recommend Ladera for anyone interested in St. Lucia - which is very beautiful, and this location is scenic, so consider visiting for a drink to watch the sun set between the Pitons, and dinner at Dasheene (something grilled), but stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — The view from each room is stunning.
  • Disliked — The service was well below average.
  • Tips/Secrets — It's a risk, many people have had a great experience at Ladera, which is a big reason behind our decision to spend the holidays there; unfortunately, we had a very different and negative experience.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ss7stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Ladera is a step above extraordinary. After two vacations, one wedding and a first anniversary Ladera continues to beckon us. The views from the resort are magnificent. The entire staff at Ladera are professional, helpful and extremely considerate to their guests almost so that you feel as though you are the only guest in the resort. Returning guests are often greeted like family. The resort is a tropical paradise for vacationers looking for serenity and tranquility. Ladera boasts their open fourth walls so expect some of natures visitors - that is part of the experience! Each room has it's own unique charm. Their recent award for best resort was well earned. Leave your watches at home, bring your bathing suit, island nice clothes for dinner and enjoy the relaxed pace, fine cuisine and warm hospitality of Ladera.

  • Liked — The views, the open fourth walls with plunge pools, the location, the food, the staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — Expect nothing - enjoy everything. It's an incrdible get away for those looking to do exactly that - get away from the everyday.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pitonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales/Chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Although we stayed at Ladera in April 05 I feel compelled to write a review due to the shocking couple of reviews that have been recently posted. We stayed at East Winds for the bulk of our stay then at Ladera for 3 nights due to an upgrade by our hotel for our honeymoon. This experience really was the making of our trip and Ladera has provided some amazing honeymoon photos. We were given the most 'basic' room- four poster,plunge pool. The design is that the rooms are of a dark wood, FAR from holiday camp- I find that comment unbelievable. Ladera oozes quality and high class. I dont think Princess Margaret of Mick Jagger who have been amongst their many high profile customers would have settled for amything less than the best. The views are breathtaking and for the 4th wall missing, I am THE most creepycrawly phobic person and the first night all the noises worried me and going to the loo terrified me but it was all for nothing. It is so quiet that noise is magnified but the main sound is the tiny little treefrog hiding away somewhere. As for being attacked by moths etc etc !! Well that gave me something to laugh about reading that. As for the wonderful restaurant,the meals were of the highest standard,unusual and so tasty. This really is a unique boutique hotel,exclusive and special. If you are planning to go then experience it for yourself, for the high cost of this hotel then do your research and KNOW exactly what you are getting. Do that and still want to go then you will have the experience of a lifetime.

  • Liked — views,food,room
  • Disliked — pool was a touch chilly!
  • Tips/Secrets — do your research
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank glampuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2006

A place to forget about the world. As soon as you arrived to Ladera you feel the tranqulity, breathing pure air. Its natural atmosphere makes you feel you are having a real vacation.From the bedroom to the restaurant you are always going to have a nice view.We enjoyed the spectacular gourmet food .Its a great place for anyone trying to get away from hectic life perfect for honeymooners.There is no luxury at all its a rustic decor for anyone loving nature its lovely. A little advice take the meal plan its well worth it. Also cooking class with Orlando was fun and good tips.We did our tours privately with a young fellow name Jason with a gold tooth . Most people know him at Ladera. Very friendly great personalty and respectfull .Which you might look at his appearance and say no. His Uncle was the taxi driver in a nice comfortable van and he would just show us around . By the way good driver. We save some money and did it on our own pace.It was a great unforgetable honeymoon to look back at. Enjoy

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — not enough light
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LD323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

We booked Ladera for our honeymoon after Conde Nast rated it the best hotel in the world. It was certainly a splurge and we expected a very unique and luxurious hotel. We lucked out on a number of levels and had a great time, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend the hotel to others.

First, we had booked a "1 bdrm suite with plunge pool" for $490 and somehow got upgraded to the 2 bdrm (actually 3BDRM, 2BTH) villa. Our villa was fantastic, though a bit dated and in need of some upgrading. Given the price, I didn't expect, for example, lots of cracked concrete surrounding our plunge pool. As one couple we met there said, it seemed a little "summer campy" and that's a pretty good way to put it. We did see one of the suites similar to what we had booked, and it was TINY! Definitely not worth the price - and for that matter, the villa wasn't worth its listed price either. Plus, the prices have skyrocketed for next year. So we lucked out - our villa was certainly worth the $490 we paid for it. (I believe it goes for as much as $1200/nite in 2007).

As for bugs and other critters - yes, they're there! Not a big deal in most cases - but the mosquitoes were awful - I counted 26 bites received in a single overnight, INSIDE the mosquito netting. And the birds did make a racket and destroy the creamer/sugar packets in the kitchen area, but that hardly bothered us. I was a little freaked out by the moths the size of pigeons but quickly learned to leave all lights off most of the time.

The $90 drink/lunch/dinner supplement was definitely worth the price, though they don't tell you when you book that if you want to participate in the inclusive plan, you need to do it for 3 CONSECUTIVE days. We talked our way out of that (spread the three days over the 9 days we were there) and felt it worked out pretty well. However, in 2007 the price also jumps to something like $150/pp and I don't think that's worth it at all. Again, we were lucky.

Unfortunately, the food was a huge disappointment (and frankly, Chef Orlando, is a rather arrogant and annoying person). We heard from a chef visting the island that the word in 'chef-land' is that food at the Ladera has really gone downhill in the past year or so. Perhaps we're spoiled, having lived in DC, Chicago, Philly, and NYC, but the food just wasn't very good. In some cases it was actually bad, but in most it was just so-so. The sugarcane steak is one of the better things on the menu.

When you're at Ladera, you are pretty much stranded, and have to call a (very expensive) taxi to get anywhere. Actually, there's not really anwhere to go. We went horseback riding one day (the horses were a bit mangy but the lunch we had at the plantation was quite good) but pretty early on just gave up on activities. We preferred the Anse Chastenet beach over Jalousie because we really liked the beach bar at Anse Chasenet and ended up most days taking the early shuttle to Anse Chastenet, staying all day, having a late lunch there, and returning to Ladera (where we skipped dinner) in time to have sunset drinks at the amazing bar and listen to the live music.

We had friends at Anse Chastenet/Jade Mtn (who had split the trip between there and Ladera) - their room at Jade Mtn was AMAZING! It was brand new and sparkling clean and the infinity pool in their room was full-sized. The view was every bit as fantastic as at Ladera, just from a different perspective. We spent some afternoons over there when we got tired of the beach so got to experience their luxury for awhile...another way we lucked out.

One thing to note, the service at Ladera was FANTASTIC. Sometimes it was a bit slow through meals (don't bother ordering a cappuccino, it takes at least 1/2 an hour) but when you're in St Lucia, what difference does it make? There's no where to rush off to. Peter the bartender was great. Melissa and Maylisa and all the other staff, too, was so friendly - everyone always smiling, asking how you are, etc. Really great people who we were able to celebrate with a bit on our last night there.

My recommendation, overall -- skip Ladera, stay at Jade Mtn, and come over to Ladera one afternoon for drinks and a light snack. Bring a book and relax at the bar for a few hours. Say hit to Peter. That's really all the "Ladera Experience" you need.

  • Liked — The View (of course)
  • Disliked — The Food
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank eai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

We absolutely loved this hotel! We had the 3 bedroom, 3 story villa with a huge pool, and the view is indescribable! It's not for those that don't enjoy the outdoors, as there are no windows, but let me tell you, the service is incredible, and the food is to die for! They have great tours to choose from, but you aren't surrounded by a bunch of "honeymoon couple" activities, which we were very happy about. We wanted privacy and to enjoy each other's company. We highly recommend the Ladera.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank fotioo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.4 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,146 reviews
19.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing