We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique experience!”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A very unique experience!”
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Just got back from my first visit to St Lucia and a 3 nights stay at Ladera. I agree with most of the reviews I read, it is a very unique special place, the magic of being at 1100 ft with the ocean and the Pitons in front of you and with the forth wall missing does not compare to any other place I have stayed before.

It is very romantic, ambiance here is second to none, I love the layout of the resort, the way the suites have been designed, we stayed at a Gross Piton Suite with a seatting area and plunge pool downstair and a loft 2nd floor with a 4 posters bed, from every corner of the room the views were stunning. The sound of nature during the mornings and are night add magic to your stay, and if you add the sound of your pool waterfall....

Upon arrival we were greeted with a refreshing lemon /ginger drink in the gracious open air receiption, someone took care of our lugagge and later park our car in the parking lot. We were scortted to our room and briefly explained some basics, attention in the resort is courteus (not the best but not bad ). We changed, took a shower (the bathrooms are a bit outdated and there is not much water pressure) then dress to go to dinner at the famous Dasheene resort restaurant (people do dress a bit to go to Dasheene, a summer dress the ladies, pants and collared shirt men). We spent an hour in the bar /lounge area where we experience a beautifull sunset zipping champaign, after we proceeded to dine, the views from the restaurant are gourgeos as well, ask for a table in the edge, it's worthy, if not available wait for it! The food was good, there is a special menu that changes every day and there is the regular menu, a good variety and mix of flavors. I specially loved the Seventh Heaven Sweet Potato Soup (sweet potato and a ginger liqour are the main ingredients here)from the regular menu and a mahi encrusted in plantain from one of the daily menus, we ordered house wine every night and it was good as well. The cheff Orlando goes around the tables and graciously salutes and talk to his guests, a very nice note. Service in the restaurant is very island style, slow and not the best, but again with that view you don't care much!

After dinner friday and saturday there was live music for a while, though most of the guest retired early to their suites. Breakfasts were great, again the view in the morning, the birds...there is an a la cart menu (my room rate included breakfast though), you can go with a continental breakfast or what I ate every single day, a full breakfast, fruit platter, chesse platter, assorted charcurterie, eggs, sausage, bacon, fried sweet potato (i love it) pumpkin pancapes (my favorites), roasted tomatos, etc or you could have an omelette made to your taste. During the day there is no much to do in the resort but that is the idea to relax, read, enjoy the view and disconnect from the real world. There are shuttles that go during the day to the Jalousie beach or to Soufriere and Anse Chastanet beach, the take snorkle equipment and beach chairs for u.There is a spa, I did not go,there is a bath with mineral waters, and in the lounge/bar area there are a good selection of games and books. Overall this is a great experience to be done at least once in a life time, waking up to the sound of the birds and the smell of the morning, though even though you are paying the rate of a luxury hotel keep in mind, this is not luxury, is a great property ,has a great location, has every thing it needs to be the best.... but the service and attention to detail you find in a 5 star will not be found here, no fancy toilettries or towels, not a fancy stocked bar (you'll find it empty and have to go to reception from 9 to 5 to request to have it stock from a very limited selection ). In my case for example one chair was missing a cushion case, there was only one cream package to prepare coffe, that I consumed the first day and was never refilled, no chocolates with your turndown service, etc, etc.... but I do recommend it as overall it was a great experience, at least to be experienced once in your life..

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — Poor minibar selection
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eleang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    188
    60
    40
    34
See reviews for
34
986
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Anse, Grenada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2007

Where to begin....when we mentioned to employees of Sandals Regency in St. Lucia that we were only staying with them for 6 nights and then were headed to Ladera, every reaction was the same: heads snapped around and eyes got very wide. As they were employees of Sandals, many were hesitant to offer an opinion of a competing property on their island, but most did anyway. The central theme was that words can't describe Ladera. After just returning from our vacation, I agree but will do my best anyway.

The property itself is 27 rooms that seem to be built into a ridge about 1000 feet up from the base of the Pitons, and right between them. From our room (room O), we had a very clear view of Gros Piton (the larger one) but just a hint of Petit Piton. If possible, try to stay in a room from about A to L if you want the whole view. The rooms are like staying in a tree house, the wall facing the Pitons and Gulf of Mexico are missing - and it drops right off from the edge of your private plunge pool. Really, the Pitons look like they're about 1/2 mile away, but actually are a bit more than that, probably about 2 miles, but they loom so large that it's almost like you could reach out and touch them. So, the view is absolutely breathtaking, both from your room, as well as the pool deck and the restaurant Dasheene.

Our room was great, a musquito net covered king sized bed on a raised platform, plunge pool that was just the right temperature to cool you off, a bathroom with a faucet that had a conch shell where the water came out, and an outdoor shower (raised high above the walkway below so nobody could peek in). We entered by walking up a dark, almost midevil stone stairway, and it opened into this naturally lit room created out of stone and wood. Rustic feeling, but very high end. A word of warning, no TV and no phones at Ladera. You communicate with the restaurant and reception by 2-way radio if you need anything. Kind of cool, and nice if you want to get away from it all.

We decided to opt for the all-inclusive plan for dining. Breakfast is included, but adding the other meals and drinks worked out well for us so we didn't have to be concerned with how much food costs - and it is rather expensive. It was a simple matter of signing everything to your room, and we didn't encounter any surprises when we checked out. The only limitation is that wine and champagne by the bottle isn't part of the deal. Those would be extra if you decided to splurge. We drank wine by the glass for most dinners, and found the choices to be more than just acceptable, they were all very good.

The restaurant on the property saw us for all meals, we saw no reason to go anywhere else to eat because this place is first rate. The wait staff is very well trained, friendly, and attentive to your needs. Courses are well planned, and never did we have the next course brought while still enjoying the previous one. They pay attention, which in our opinion is very important when dining in a restaurant of this caliber. Food was out of this world...think french with a carribbean influence. Spices were used extensively, but never overpowering and always took you through a number of different tastes. Shrimp Dasheene was to die for (their signature dish), but all entree's were top quality, presented well, and wonderfully flavored. In fact, one night, the restaurant sort of closes down and does a buffett. You might think that it could mean a lower quality of food would be served, but you would be wrong. The executive chef himself was carving the sirloin and suggesting the correct sauce for all the items on the buffet. Mahi Mahi, seafood kabobs, jerk chicken, sirloin were the main items we could remember, and the dessert buffet even included bananna's foster. Everything was very good and prepared just perfect.

Breakfasts and lunches were great too, menu items had a lot of variety, a favorite of ours ended up being the deep fried feta cheese. Had that a couple of times it was so good.

Pool deck was nice, as was the infinity pool. They have a guy that takes care of things around the pool, drinks, munchies, and even cool, peppermint-smelling face towels to freshen up before lunch.

Went on the rainforest tour one day, and our guide Valerie was just great. Picked us up at the resort, and within a mile or 2 we had her Landrover in 4WD and were climbing. Got out and hiked a bit (not for those with a heart condition), and saw tremendous views from high above the island. In fact, from one point we could see the Atlantic in one direction, and the Gulf in another. Valerie also helped us gain an understanding of daily life on St. Lucia, and also got into the agricultural aspect of the island. She'd stop along the roadside, grab a handful of leaves off a tree, and ask us to tear them and smell to identify the spice. Or, ask a roadside vendor for a coconut and cut the top off to allow all 6 of us to taste the water inside. Things like that really made the trip interesting. Be warned though, a few mosquitos can be found on this trip so bring some bug dope just in case.

This place doesn't really fit the profile of being a good "value". It's more expensive than most people would be able to handle. But we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary so we pulled out all the stops, and Ladera was the perfect place to help us remember why it was that we've enjoyed each other's company for the past 25 years. Very private, quiet, and some international guests made this a very nice spot to help us celebrate. If you're looking for a "special" hotel, this is the one.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank martinelli5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2007

From the very moment we arrived at Ladera for our 7 day honeymoon, we were in heaven! The staff met us at our car with rum punch and took us to our beautiful suite (T). It was nothng short of amazing. The view was truly out of this world. Each morning we had breakfast delivered to our room. It was more food than the two of us could possibly eat!!! We spent our days lounging at the pool ( we had it to ourselves each day)! The staff waited on us hand and foot. The food was outstanding! Very fresh fish and great steaks! The seafood pasta was sublime. The spa had a variety of treatments AND the sulphur baths were energizing. It did take a while for dinner each night, but who really is in a hurry? We cannot wait to go back again!
P.S. Try the Piton beer, its really good.

  • Liked — Plinge pool
  • Disliked — leaving at end of honeymoon
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank psu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2007

If you only stay at the Ritz or Four Seasons when you travel, please save yourself the money and don't bother. You will be very unhappy at this resort. While my husband and I have stayed at many of the finest hotels in the world, we are also charmed by small boutique hotels that have something more to offer us than generic furniture, a flat screen TV, marble baths and wall to wall carpet. The CONS are that the restaurant and bar service is typical for the islands - slow. This didn't bother us, as we expected it and the whole point of a vacation like this is to slow down. The pool area could be bigger and we preferred to go to the beach during the day. The biggest disappointment for us was the food. Dinner was expensive - even for 2 New Yorkers. We would have been fine paying $36 per main course if the food was memorable, but it was usually mediocre. However, we did not travel to St.Lucia to eat. Ladera's other charms outshined the cons for us. the PROS: Our room - the most standard suite - was amazing. The decor is what I would describe as rustic chic with a lovely sitting area and cozy couch and a romantic bed covered in mosquito netting. The bathroom is spacious and we loved the shower with its stone walls and mosaic flooring. Comfortable robes and slippers are provided along with ear plugs for light sleepers, eye masks, a star chart and other thoughtful amenities. Due to the open air floorplan and proximity to neighboring suities, we did hear our neighbors a few times, but we found privacy by flipping on the switch to our private waterfall for our plunge pool. Yes, the wildlife gets noisy after dark, so the ear plugs came in handy. Although the service can be a bit slow, the staff at Ladera is overall very warm and charming. The Jalousie beach is a must for those seeking tranquility in a spectcular setting. This is a very quiet and small beach with beautiful calm waters for swimming and snorkeling. Overall, our stay at Ladera has been a highlight in our travels, and certainly outshines our vacations at the Ritz and other luxury chains. It's definitely not for everyone, but we'll be back!

Helpful?
10 Thank Maxandklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

We loved our room, after asking to be switched from A1 to T. They had given us an upgrade and A1 is a villa (and was larger) but T had a much better view and was further from the pool/restaurant area. Perfect for honeymooners!

Pros: the view, the laid-back feeling of the resort, the room, the wine list, the chocolate mousse, the staff was very professional, the spa was really great

Cons: the food service (sometimes it was fine, once it was just so slow we got really impatient), the cost, the shuttle to the beach, the buffet was disappointing, we thought the food at Ti Kaye Village was better

I would stay here again, but only for three days. It’s a unique treat, but not for everyone and certainly would not be good for a long stay. I would choose Ladera for a few days, and then a resort on the beach for a few days. Also, get the Petit Piton suite or go all out for the hilltop dream suite. The Gros Piton has a bedroom at the back of the room, rather than at the front with the view!

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Beach Access
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Suze123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

We booked this for our honeymoon and the pictures seemed perfect. Upon our arrival which was very late they took us to our room and when the door opened we could not believe how romantic the room was , a private pool and stairs leading to the bed covered by a light netting. The staff perfectly gave us a complimentry dinner for two due to the plane arriving so late. We had a fantastic lightening storm that night and not a drop of rain entered our room , it was very exciting and we awoke to the most fantastic view it almost unbelievable. Each morning you awake to a different wonderment as you may wake to clouds passing through ,or bright beautiful skies beaming out over the sea. Then take a morning dip in your private pool and enjoy a cup a coffee before stepping out for the day. The beach area was perfect and protected by a cove, great for snorkeling. The resturant very romantic and the staff always seemed to seat us right at the edge of the cliff it was perfect nothing else like it in the world I have highly recommended this beautiful place and hope to return on a anniversary some time in the future. Sharon MacDonald

  • Liked — Fantastic Rooms with a VIEW loved the openess and pool
  • Disliked — nothing it was great.
  • Tips/Secrets — dress lightly ,enjoy your room, relax ,a great place to focus on you loved one.
  • Stayed March 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgirlOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

What a dissapointment! Nobody mentioned the fact that this was an eco turism kind of place, and they charge you like $450 a night?
Like other people mentioned, this place doesn't have a phone, or a fan, a TV, nothing! The room has a little tiny refrigerator that doesn't get cold enough to keep your food and drinks. Let me remind you that you are in the caribbean, so it is hot all the time.

The stuff was not very friendly, everything is far away and they charge you even for breathing! Really! A tax of 18% is added to everything.

One of the things that MUST BE MENTIONED is the fact that the moment the sun starts going down, the beautiful chorrus of frogs starts their singing until the sun rises again.
It was really hard to fall asleep with all that noise (not just a little nature sound- a chorrus!!!) and to make it even better, the rain and wind move the net above your bed, so God help you!

There is only one restaurant at the resort (the food was not spectacular- not even the bread) and if you want to go somewhere else, be ready to take a 45Min trip to the city.
The bar is ok, but all the drinks taste the same. The music and atmosphere is VEEEEERY RELAXED, too much for us.

We had a reservation for 10 days in this place and we were out of there by day 2!

I made new reservations at the Ritz Carlton in Miami- south Beach for the remaining of our trip and we paid $375 a night! WITH ALL THE AMENITIES AND LUXURY that a price like that buys.

If you are into Eco-turism this is the place for you, but I think you can save a lot of money if you check other places.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — It was like camping and paying for it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Read all the reviews you can find before going anywhere.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank travelcriticColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#3 of 11 in Soufriere
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Property: Ladera Resort
Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing