We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an incredible honeymoon destination”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My wife and I enjoyed 7 nights in St. Lucia on Ladera's "peak to beach" package, a joint booking with Cap Maison on the northern tip of the island. There is so much to enjoy at Ladera, so I will break it down by category:

The airport transfer: Ladera makes all the arrangements and sends a private car to pick you up and return you to the airport. The driver was great and showed us around the island on the way to the resort, pointing out things of interest along the way. I was nervous about this part, but it was very relaxing and comfortable (unless you get carsick...so be prepared)

The resort staff: The staff at reception is very courteous and professional. They welcome you with rum punch and show you around the resort and your room. The restaurant staff is just as friendly and welcoming every time you see them. They will learn your names and get to know you during your stay.

The room: As Ladera advertises, there is no other view like the one they offer. The open air concept with the view of the pitons will take your breath away every time. We were able to see 3 different rooms while we were there, and each was nicely furnished but very different. I had looked at the website every day for 3 months and seen the photos of the rooms so often that my expectations were a little higher than they should have been. The resort was originally built around the view and the five star accomodations followed, so I believe that the rooms got nicer and nicer over the years. Room B was our favorite, and we were fortunate enough to spend our last night in this room. Request it if you can!

The food: We couldn't stop eating all week! Chef Orlando is very talented and he will impress you with every meal. The menu is varied enough that you can try something different every night. You can also get the kitchen to pack you a lunch if you are going an adventure.

The beach: There are 2 beaches to which the Ladera shuttles will take you. We went to the Jalousie beach and decided that we didn't need to try the other. It was easily the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. The imported white sand sets it apart from other beaches on the island, and the majestic Petit Piton sits just beside the beach. This beach is shared with another resort, and the bar there isn't part of the all-inclusive plan. The bar at Ladera will pack a cooler for you though! This beach is definitely a must see.

The adventures: We climbed Gros Piton, which is a 30 ride from the resort and about 2 hours to the top. It was amazing and we needed the exercise after eating as much as we had. The hike was pretty strenuous but the view from the top was worth it. Ladera arranges everything from the shuttle to the guide and the sack lunch if you request it. They do the same for a number of other adventures all over the island.

The locals: One of my favorite things about St. Lucia was the people. I was blown away at how kind and friendly everyone is. If you venture out to the markets or city streets, you will see what I mean.

Bottom Line: This place is a must-see. Photos on the internet don't begin to do it justice. The view is breathtaking, the staff will do anything you request, the food is incredible and the rooms are a welcome departure from life with four walls. You will not want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cochrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

948 - 954 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

We were looking for an amazing place to celebrate our 20th anniversary and found it here. As everyone says, the view from the room is unbelievable. We also enjoyed the little touches, like rose petals on the bed the first night and when we felt like having cheese and crackers which was not on the menu, room service said "no problem" A highlight was meeting Chef Orlando and his suggesting he plan a special menu for our anniversary dinner. He reserved the best table, with rose petals, and prepared a wonderful dinner. Having a variety of musicians play each night in the bar area was also a real plus.

Because we like to adventure out beyond a resort and experience a variety of places, we asked for suggestions at the reception area of restaurants in the area. They reserve a taxi for you and make the reservation. We ate at Gees and the Hummingbird which were both very good and beautiful restaurants and would recommend that guests explore places like this. The tours we did were also very good including the waterfalls, horseback ride with picnic lunch and day trip via boat to the island of Martinique.

We were glad we got to see and learn more about the island thanks to one very good taxi driver called Baby Schaq. You can request him as your driver in the reception area and we highly recommend you do that.

We have great memories. The people of St. Lucia are the best!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serendipity96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

If you are considering this hotel, you must go! It's more than a resort, it's an experience like no other. Excellent views, rooms, attentive staff, privacy, beautiful beach & great snorkeling. You won't regret it! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llp711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I was absolutely blown away by Ladera. This resort is hands down the best resort I've stayed in in 46 years (and I've been to some pretty fabulous places!) I'm not sure you could get a better view anywhere in St. Lucia. If you are a nature-lover, this is the place for you. We never wanted to leave our room. We were upgraded to a Hilltop Dream Suite which was two story with open air bedroom and plunge pool. Really?!?! I had to pinch myself to make sure I wasn't dreaming. We were not bothered by any unwanted visitors, but they provided a basket of essentials for dealing with the idea of no 4th wall. We didn't need any of them. Not the water gun, not the mosquito repellent... nothing. Why anyone would use the ear plugs they provided is beyond me. The nightly chorus from the rainforest creatures was fantastic. So let's talk about the restaurant... I was a little nervous about there only being one place to eat on the resort. Well, I could've eaten there 3 meals/day for a month. Dasheene is beyond 5 star. Every bite was better than the last. My husband said it was the best lobster he'd ever had in his life. And lastly... the service. Holy Moly! I know it's a small resort, but is it really possible that we felt like we were the only people staying there? Holly, and the entire staff, went out of their way to treat us like rock stars. We are already talking about going back for our 5 year anniversary. This was absolutely the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mship100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We went to Ladera for the first leg of our honeymoon expecting a nice relaxing stay and something a bit out of the ordinary...and we were not disappointed!

To start off, after arriving via cab from the airport we were greeted by Holly (she runs the resort), the staff, a towel soaked in menthol(??? - it was refreshing whatever it was) and a nice tropical drink. We were provided the maps of the resort, a walkie-talkie type device (Firefly) and then shown to our room.

As soon as the door was opened, our jaws dropped. It was absolutely beautiful! The pictures that you see are amazing, but do not do it justice at all. The view is something to be seen with your own eyes.

We stayed in room 'S'. The mosquito netting covered bed was situated 3 steps down from the main living room. The plunge pool (4 ft deep) was situated near the edge of the room and up a natural stone staircase. It was a bit chilly, but after being in the hot sun it was a welcomed relief. The bathroom faucet was created out of a conch shell...very cool. And then the shower was created out of stone and was open to the air (as is the whole room).

We did the all-inclusive plan and it was worth it. Chef Orlando is a GENIUS! The flavors just explode in your mouth. Whether it is lamb chop lollipops, jerk chicken, garlic butter lobster, fresh and locally harvested chocolate mousse, or the shrimp dasheene -- you just can't go wrong. If I could afford him, I would hire him as my own personal chef!!! And to top it all off, he is the nicest guy. We forgot our camera charger and he just happened to own the same one, so he allowed us to borrow his to charge up our batteries.

Everyone is worried about the bug situation since it is open. I've got to tell you, don't be. There are a few moths at night if you turn all of your lights on, but absolutely NO mosquitoes. There are tree frogs, but they are tiny and harmless. You just don't want to step on one of them when you go to the bathroom at night.

We are city people and are used to sirens and loud noises at night, so it took some adjustment to get used to jungle noises, but it was absolutely soothing!

Everything about this place is wonderful, from the sulphur baths to the gorgeous views, to the wonderful and attentive staff. I urge you to go to this awesome resort, it's a stay that you will not soon forget!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B_RBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This place is just out of this world... We stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon. From the moment you arrive here it feels like a dream.. our villa had two bedrooms and a cooling room and a fab pool. To be honest my husband was quiet nervous about this place because I am not a fan of spiders or creepy crawlies... but we tucked in the mosquito net under out mattress and not one thing got near us either night.. it was great.. I didn't see one spider, big or small.. there were a few gekos on the walls but they run off once they spot you.
Night time is certainly not the frightning experience someone has mentioned. You just have to be careful about leaving on lights. we went for dinner both nights, had some drinks n then went to bed when we came back so it wasnt really an issue for us. In fact the first night there was a huge thunder n lightning storm but it just added to the excitement of the place!! However the frogs are very loud.. but if you use the ear plugs provided you should sleep fine. It just adds to the outdoorsy feeling of the place.
Having your own little garden is really special..We had an orange tree :) and the views are just spectacular..
The food is unbelievble.. there is a great choice for breakfast with delicious breads and jams.. mmm yummy!!! unfortunately, afternoon tea is just that, tea with some biscuits.. however you can buy sandwiches n bugers in the bar.. delicious but a bit pricey if you were staying a week.
They staff are so friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable, although to be honest everything you need is made available to you.
Overall we had a wonderful stay..( but we were happy enough to move on to Rendezvous after two nights.. a week might be a bit long here.)
Amazing!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymooners024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Breathtaking. Magical. Relaxing. Memorable. My husband and I decided to celebrate our honeymoon at Ladera over Labor Day weekend. The only thing we would change is a longer stay! We chose Ladera because we had limited time to travel and St. Lucia is a quick flight from New York.

We booked an all inclusive Great Escapes Package, which included breakfast, lunch, dinner, afternoon tea, light bites, drinks, cocktails, 2 massages, airport transfers, etc. We didn't have to think...other than juggling the tours we wanted to participate in and scheduling our naps ;) The staff was fantastic. Everybody seemed happy to work there!

Barbara, the spa manager and massage therapist, and Lindsey, massage therapist, were therapeutic therapists who gave great massages. I would highly recommend taking in a treatment or two. If you book a massage, make sure to book at least one outside. We had a couples massages in the paradise pavilion and it was wonderful to be outside for the treatments at the open air resort.

Our days started at 7:30am (the sun rises at 6) and ended around 9:30pm (we ate dinner earlier and earlier every night!). Because there are no TV's in the room and the sun sets early, there's really not much to do at night besides hang out by the bar or enjoy the peace and 'chirping' in your room.

We spent time at the beautiful beach the resort shuttles you too; we enjoyed snorkeling (it was my first time!) and drinking fresh coconut juice from coconut man. We also participated in the Soufriere experience and visited botanical gardens, waterfalls, natural springs and a volcano. Everything was coordinator by the resort. We just had to show up!

Our honeymoon truly was a great escape!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveNlaureNsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
880 reviews
1 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £444 - £918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing