We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome....We hope to make Laderia an annual treat!”
Review of Ladera Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ladera Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My husband and I love to travel...and are fortunate to do so often....I read reviews frequently, but have never felt compelled to write a review - until Ladera! It's truely that special. The rooms are so unique and fabulous....the views are breath-taking....the staff is very attentive and professional....the food is delicious and beautifully presented. We booked the 3 Night Great Escape Package that includes all meals, drinks, airport transfers, and spa treatments. It was a great value and I would highly recommend it.
Bottom line - Ladera was our most romantic vacation in 28 years of traveling together and we look forward to going back next year!!
For those who would like a little more detail.... Ladera feels very personal and private. There are only 33 rooms with 4 of those under repair after damage from huricane Thomas last fall. (don't worry we never heard any construction noise from our room). The rooms are open on one side, facing west, for amazing views of the Pitons and sunset. It rains frequently for very short periods of time (5-10 mins) but the rain does not come into your room because the winds blow east to west. It's really tranquil to hear and watch the rain pass by as you enjoy the view from your room. The best way I could describe the room is to say I felt like I was in a 5-star tree house...but don't worry, I did not see a single bug.
The staff is very friendly and professional. From Holly, the owner's representative, to Michael, the restaurant manager, to Schol, the young man who showed us to our room, every one was very polite and personable.
The restaurant, Dasheen, was fantastic. We did not see any reason to go to any other restaurant while in St. Lucia. Breakfast, lunch and dinner all exceeded our expectation. It is expensive, so be sure to do the all inclusive.
While there, we did a little sight seeing. The botanical garden and Diamond waterfall were nice and worth the trip. I would skip the Piton waterfall and mineral bath...as I found them to be disappointing. We booked a sunset sail & snorkel on Mystic Man's Serendipity Catamaran through the hotel and it was well worth the $65 pp charge. Also, be sure to take the Laderia van down to the beach (a 10 min drive). You can check out snorkel equipment at no charge at Ladera to use in the designated snorkel area at the beach along the base of the Petit Piton.
Thanks to Holly and her team for making this one of most memorable and enjoyable vacations ever. We hope to see you again next year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WNHTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

Ladera is one of the nicest resorts my wife and I have ever stayed at. The rooms are spectacular with a breathtaking view of the Pitons, private pools, incredible decor, eco friendly, and very private. The restaurant is top notch (try the lobster!) and service is impeccable. The employees are well trained, very friendly (but professional), and have great personalities. The stay is one of those lifetime experiences that one will never forget. I work in a high pressure industry and found myself totally relaxed within a day of my stay. The hike of Gros Piton was truly remarkable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

During our honeymoon in december we stayed at Ladera resort for a few days and we have to say "Wow"!

The resort and the staff had suffered from the hurricane just one month earlier and in spite of this they turned out to be the best hosts imaginable.

From the wery first minute we were pampered and we immediately felt like we belonged to some sort of family staying there. I t was a perfect combination of privacy and socialization.

It felt genuine whenever they asked us how we were doing or helped us in some way. We have had the pleasure to enjoy good service before but these guys took it to the next level. The didn't just do what we asked them to, they did what we didn't relize we wanted :-)

Apart from the staff we have to mention the fantastic site, luxourous rooms, lovely food and innovative concept that the resort represents.

We will suggest to everyone we can to pay Ladera a visit when they want romance, and comfort......

And don't forget! Superman landed on just by the pool in superman II from 1980......

Hanna and Daniel

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honemooners_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Ok, so I NEVER write reviews, but I read them. However, I just HAD to write a review this time b/c it is THAT good. I was so unsure because of some bad reviews, but we finally decided to do it. We stayed at Sandals resort the first part of the trip--blah, boring. But then...Ladera....wow! We stayed 4 nights, and yes, by the fourth night, I was sick of the bug bites. I wouldn't stay a week at Ladera, but it is a MUST for 2-4 nights. The view is un-matched by any other resort. Is is brand new? No, but who cares? Also, for people on a budget...do NOT get the all-inclusive option. While Dasheen is super expensive, there is a 'small bites' menu at the bar with 10 dollar meals. We did eat at Dasheen twice to treat ourselves, but otherwise, the small bites menu served our needs. You have to ask for this menu, though, its not well advertised for obvious reasons. If you are there on a Friday and want to do the Friday fish fry, make sure to take a water taxi. It will take FOREVER by taxi with the winding roads...by boat, 10 minutes----and it is awesome! Just go to the beach one day, and start asking people that work down there about someone who offers water taxis---they'll find you one. Negotiate with them...and always make the 1 mile taxi road from Ladera down to the water dock part of the deal...the water taxi and regular taxi people all know each other, so they'll work together and split the money. If you do go to the fish fry, please go to the karoake bar in Soufriere after the fish fry. This was so much fun, especially since we met 2 other couples at Ladera who went to fish fry and karoake with us. Ok, so who should NOT go to Ladera? Any honeymoon, young couple looking to drink, party, and meet lots of other young people...ya'll should go to Sandals. By the way, for reference, we are 30 years old and went to St Lucia for our 4 year anniversary.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank josephdcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

my husband and i had a great time at ladera, mostly due to the personalized attention we got from the staff. holly, the manager, went out of her way to make sure we got everything we needed. the views are amazing - there is nothing else quite like it. the rooms have a rustic feel - don't expect to get modern amenities, but they are spacious and nice. the restaurant is very good - we had the best filet mignon we've ever had. the massage at the spa was amazing - the best i've had in a long time. for activities, we did the soufriere tour and loved the warm waterfalls and mineral baths. the beach at jalouise was great. we also went to anse chastanet, not for the beach but we did a tour of jade mountain and got some great pictures.

cons: with the open wall concept, yes there are mosquitos, even with the spray and lighted coil. i think if we had stayed just 3 or 4 days, it would've been fine, but after 5 days there, we were covered in bites that made us really ready to leave.

overall, it was a great experience and we would highly recommend it to honeymooners seeking privacy and a serene retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We went to ladera for lunch after a arm bath in the sulphur springs of soufriere. The resort has a very rustic feel, wooden all over, and looks wonderful. We had lunch on the top part of the restaurant which had stunning views of the pitons and the valley in between. The view was honestly breathtaking. The staff were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The food was very creative and tasty. We also got to meet the executive chef who came out to ask if everything was ok an that we were happy with the food which was a lovely personal touch.
Highly recommended for a special meal with a special view.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseekerette10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Ladera is a beautiful, intimate and special place. I'm confused as to why it only has an 85% review compared to other resorts such as Discovery Marigot Bay, which is not even in the same realm. The hotel grounds are breathtaking and you literally can't beat the view. We have travelled the globe and didn't think it could get more beautiful than Bali, Indonesia, but I have to say the view from our room at Ladera was better. Every morning we woke up to a rainbow between the Pitons, a wonderful hot breakfast, and greetings from the long time owners, who understand and value their patrons, much more than most resorts I've visited.

Ladera is a must stay. Service is 5 star and the food is incredibly good. We ventured out a few times, but were sadly disappointed. My suggestion, book 5 nights here, enjoy the combination of nature and serentiy, sit back and enjoy your special time at Ladera.

Thanks to Holly, Michael (restaurant and bar manager) and the staff at Ladera for letting us enjoy a little peice of paradise. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passivetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
16.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 15 in Gros Islet
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,224 reviews
1 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
761 reviews
9.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladera Resort

Address: Rabot Estate, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £427 - £745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ladera Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera is the pioneer of the open air three-walled concept in St. Lucia and has since been distinguished by a wide range of international publications, awards and accolades from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, Forbes Life Caribbean Travel and Life, Brides Magazine and countless others. Ladera was once part of Rabot Estate, one of Soufriere's oldest plantations, which still borders the resort. In the late 1960's a parcel of land was sold and developed into a small cluster of condominiums and christened Dasheene, named after the thousands of large, glossy-leafed dasheen plants (also known as elephant ears) harvested on the site. In 1982 it was transformed into a unique resort and changed hands a number of times before emerging as Ladera under the current private ownership. The mission has always been to offer an unparalleled guest experience that is quintessentially Saint Lucian, one that embraces the magnificent views and offers harmony with the surrounding natural beauty and rich bounty of the island. Today, that commitment to sumptuous authenticity is evident in everything from the innovative renderings of fresh local dishes at Dasheene restaurant, to the use of Caribbean timbers, stone and tile work used in the guestrooms and public areas. Yet it shines through most effectively with warm and welcoming Saint Lucian staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ladera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladera Hotel Soufrière
Ladera Resort Soufrière
Ladera St Lucia
Ladera Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing