We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Caribbean experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed Stonefield. The staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful- staying at a smaller place like this is ideal if you want personalized service. Our bungalow had a perfect view of Petit Piton- I wouldn't have traded that view for anything! It was amazing to lay in the hammock, use the outdoor shower or hang out in the plunge pool with that view. The kitchen was basic but everything you need to cook something simple or make a drink (ours had a blender!). Some people have complained about mosquitos, but we didn't have any problems. There are some lizards that wall come in when you open the doors, but they don't bother you. We didn't sleep with the mosquito net down because it blocks the breeze and the fan. The open air bungalow is noisy at night though- there are so many frogs singing! It didn't bother me though because I liked the experience of sleeping in the tropics, although I know some people like to sleep in complete silence.

It may not be the hippest, coolest resort on the island but it has a GREAT location (right down the road from some great restaurants, Jalouise beach, the volcano, Pitons, shopping in Soulfiere). The vegetation and amenities are beautifully maintained and tropical. The breakfast at The Mango Tree is pretty good. We have no complaints about the service, everything came out fresh and relatively quickly. The drinks at the bar are good and strong. We did eat at The Mango Tree a few other times but you are so close to a few other notable resorts that we enjoyed trying out their restaurants as well.

We recommend Stonefield to everyone who wants a nice relaxing tropical vacation with friendly service!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank machita75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Stonefield Estate Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed here in June 2012, and it was a very nice getaway. The resort is in a great location, and is very close to many tourist attractions. The staff is friendly and professional, and the food on the property was very good also. The view from the Casaurina villa was absolutely spectacular, and the view from the dining area (The Mango Tree) is as good as it gets anywhere. There are no TVs, and the Wi-Fi is terrible... but I guess that adds to the secluded, somewhat rustic appeal of the resort. Make sure you protect yourself with insect repellant and Anti-itch cream, mosquitoes can really do a number on you if you aren't prepared.

Also, I would recommend taxi drivers "Super Dave" or his brother "Super C". They are nephews of the Prime Minister of St. Lucia, and know the attractions on the island very well. They are professional, very reliable, and will give you great recommendations and deals on the best tourist attractions on the island. If you don't believe me, just google "Super Dave Taxi St Lucia" and read the reviews.

Super Dave Cell# 1 (758) 726 - 2959

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-Cutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Staying at Stonefield Villas for a couple of days was an enjoyable experience. The villas are a little bit dated, but overall quite comfortable, the fact that you have your own private pool is a big plus. Breakfast is normally included and is, on the whole, a good selection of nice fruit drinks and coffee/tea with a selection of either a savoury option (eggs etc.) and pancakes, we sampled both options and enjoyed both. The evening meal seemed rather on the expensive side and did not provide as varied a menu as some of the surrounding restaurants (think Hotel Chocolat, Jalousie etc.) who provide more variety and are slightly better value for money. Overall though it seems a good value for money option, it is not as trendy and luxurious as some of the alternatives on the west coast of St. Lucia, but you won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMGroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived friday afternoon a 3pm Paul the General Manager was here to welcome us with a big smile, he cracked some jokes to relieve us from the trip and accompanied us personnaly to our villa. The photos were no jokes! That villa was amazing. 5 bedrooms and at least 6 bathrooms, 2 huge terrasses overlooking the amazing pitons and even a private terrasse for one of the rooms. You have plenty storage space in each room for the whole family. We came 10 people and some kids... the experience was fabulous. we went down to the restaurant by monday morning and were served like kings. The service was really fast (the kids got their plates in less than 10mns) and the food was delicious. I would recommend the burgers wether it's fish or meat as they are succulent, but u can of course indulge in more "fancy food if you'd like! The bill was very correct and I do not understand much of the other comments about the food too expensive. What do you expect people? you are in the middle of nowhere... on an island, most of what you eat have to be imported! come on! anyways, we enjoyed ourselves. Some of my friends where really good cooks, so we didn't get to go out much and stayed in the villa. The pool was huge and we had a remote control for the gate. there was a Jaccuzzi as well. We spent my friends and I 4 days to remember! Thank you Paul (the General manager) your hotel worth the trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

went with Family and friends, it ws fan. A fantasitic villa, pool, view, service. everything here is relaxing, our young daughter had fan in the pool and eated all the fruits from the awesome gardens. after excercising, or walking in the country side, or climbing the Gros Piton, Fruits were picked up from garden and reasdy to eat on the large kitchen table. very simple and efficient. you want a BBQ , they bring it for you , more coals, not a problem. some thing not working, they fix it for you with a smile. Excellent management. will go back ASAP. thanks to every one there who made it Happens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raoul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Writing this review is difficult because there are really good things to say about this place and really bad things.

First and foremost, let me say that the staff is excellent! They were super helpful and very able to arrange tours and day trips for guests.

Upon arrival we were very happy. We had never been to St. Lucia before and the drive to Stonefield is beautiful as you drive the narrow roads around the Pitons. We got fresh grapefruit juice upon arrival and were escorted to our villa. The view we had was fantastic! We had a near unobstructed view of petit piton and a clear view out into the Caribbean Sea. The Villa at first glance was just as described, basic "rustic", which normally would be fine with us since we were expecting it, but seemed to be a little outdated as far as appliances went and certainly did not air on the romantic side of things.

There were two heart shaped cookies on a plate wrapped in plastic wrap onthe dining table that we thought was really cute (since it was our honeymoon and all) but after opening it up and taking a bite of cookie and placing it back on the plate while we took in the view, we came back to find it completely swarming with these menacingly fast mini ants. I mean completely covered with what looked like hundreds of these things. Looking around we saw that these ants were nearly everywhere. Outside, inside, all over the table, on the counters, in the cupboards, in the bathroom. We stopped off at a grocery store before heading to the villa since a lot of reviews suggested it. Unfortunately the ants got into most of our stuff. (NOTE: bring bag clips and ziplock bags!) This was a pretty gross find, especially since I personally dislike bugs. But hey, we are in the tropics in an open air villa so what can you expect right?

So gross bug infestation aside, we decided to not unpack our stuff from our suitcases because we didn't want these things getting into all of our stuff. That's ok because we've lived out of our luggage before. No biggie. Im just excited we got here and it's our honeymoon. We paid extra for a villa with a private larger pool and hammock so we both hit those up and go for a dip which was great. We took a bunch of photos and then headed to the resorts Mango Tree restaurant which has a really high vantage point with great views of the petit piton and Caribbean sea. It also has a communal pool and chairs to take in the view. We spent a lot of time up here :)

Dinner was nice but nothing to write home about. I wanted to order a lot of seafood while we were in the country since its a major fishing island. Mango Tree overcooked my fish every time to a dry almost chicken like state. Kind of meh. There are two cute cats that live under the mango tree restaurant though. One is a little mean, but the orange one who we named "Dirty Harry" because he has a dirty nose is a delight and will gladly eat up any scrapes or food that falls off the table. He is adorable. I wouldn't Pet them though...

(NOTE: mango tree has a very small dinner menu and it is really expensive compared to other really great restaurants in the vicinity. They have a much larger lunch menu and breakfast is complimentary so I would suggest eating dinner elsewhere. It's really more about the view rather than the food. Plus the wait staff dips out regularly for long periods of time and you will get stranded).

Speaking of breakfast, the next morning we woke up early to get started on our first full day in St Lucia. We went to mango tree for our free breakfast. My eggs were fine, but my wife had flies (which are everywhere on the island, kind of fruit fly/gnat like) in her little breakfast rolls which was unappetizing. We ended up tossing these on the ground for Dirty Harry the cat to eat up which he gladly did. About half way through her pancakes that she ordered she found a small thing of clear/whiteish plastic in her pancake. She put it aside and asked if she should say something. I thought, well if we find any more then we will. A few bites later she found more and slid the plate away, no longer hungry to eat. It was like the string you wrap around Xmas presents before putting the bow on. Not sure how this ended up in pancakes...

We decided to let is slide since we just got here and were about to start the first full day of our honeymoon together and didn't want to cause trouble. Not to mention its kind of awkward being like wtf is this plastic in my breakfast when it is actually happening. It was just reflected in the tip.

On the subject of money, US dollars are perfectly acceptable here. In fact, some places we went wouldn't even take EC$. (NOTE: exchanging $200 USD should be plenty to fulfill cab tips, local purchases etc. otherwise, any place you are going to be dropping major $ at will take USD or major credit cards). On average lunches went from $20-40 USD and dinners $100-160 USD. These prices are based on two adults. They are expensive. Taxi rides from airport are between $60-80 USD one way and local taxis from resort to wherever were about $12-36 USD there aren't many places that you are Able to walk to from Stonefield and it does not have beach access. Some chose to rent cars (NOTE: they drive opposite side of the road UK style so be prepared for that. Also the roads are very narrow and they follow. Very strange driving protocol when driving in towns. Imagine two way traffic on one way roads and cars meeting nose to nose and neither person budging. Personally I would rather take a taxi).

Speaking of the beach sitch, you will need to take a taxi to get there. The closest and best beach is Jalousie beach which is on the Jalousie estate, an amazing resort and definitely has a monopoly over the beach as it is located directly between the two pitons and sports beach cabanas, chairs, restaurants and bars. Very nice place. Unfortunately you not being a guest, will have to pay $20 USD a chair for these dinky old blue beach chairs that are off to the side near the dock and the haggling taxi hagglers people that are just as bad as gypsies or Canal st vendors in NYC. These people will hunt you down and pick you out as they are not allowed to bother the guests of Jalousie. but since you have been cast off to the other side of the beach away from the Jalousie folks, you are an easy target and no one is goin to look after you or keep them from bothering you. They will try to sell you drugs, taxi rides, water taxi rides, haggle you to get into their boat etc. just try to steer clear of them.

When we were ready to leave we called Stonefield to send a car to get us. The car was late, but we eventually got back to our villa. There was a managers reception with complimentary drinks so we attended. The manager was a great guy and very friendly and there was a steel drum band which was awesome. We decided to eat dinner at mango tree again since it was getting dark. Same deal with the dinner. Overcooked. Disappointing. Expensive. We sucked in as much wifi as possible to post photos, check up on emails etc. (NOTE: wifi is only available at reception and mango tree (top of a very steep hill) and gets shut off as soon as the staff leaves for the day, so any hopes of reading reviews, planning activities or googling anything is hopeless between 10pm and 7am which is sucky). Does it really need to be turned off at night???!!! Maybe they don't want you to book ctivities outside of what the resort offers in their overpriced packages which only run on limited days. Better to map out all of the places you want to contact and do activities with ie: sailing, snorkeling etc otherwise you will run the risk of inflated prices, minimum persons requirements as well as limited days available. Also, the resort says all taxis must be booked through them, but there is no law saying you cant call your own cars. We found this to. E cheaper by about $2-3 USD each way which really adds up.

After 7pm or so when it starts to get dark you will find that it is very very dark and the sounds of the wilderness come alive. It's pretty loud but since we are from the city we didn't mind too much. You will also find that your private pool that you paid extra for has a pool light! Yay! But the resort turns off your pools jets and filter at night around 7pm so by the time you switch that light on, your pool is full of hundreds of bugs. Not sexy. I remind you we are on our honeymoon.

The lighting inside the villas is also terrible and not sexy. It's almost entirely compact fluorescent bulbs, exposed with no coverings or diffusers and were the color of insane asylum white at what seemed like 1000watts a bulb. So not sexy, overly bright and a giant bug attractor. To compensate, we kept the porch and pool light on at night to keep the bugs away and make it somewhat relaxing and ambient on the inside. There was a netting around the bed, but it had holes in it and didn't seem to really close completely anywhere. We got bit up badly even when sleeping covered in big spray. Also not sexy :/

We woke up regularly to geckos in our bed. They didn't bother us but it was kind of gross. I complained about the pool jets going off at night and the front desk seemed surprised that it happened so I assumed it was a fluke and said they would send a pool cleaning guy to clean it up. He did and it looked great. I was happy until it happened again and again each night. I later learn that it is on a timer and that's just how it is. The pool guy also doubles as a mango fruit collector from the trees inside your villas fence in case you are wondering why there is splattered mangos all over the place when you come home later which must also attract the heck out of bugs.

Anyway... By this point we kind of decide to do as much as possible away from Stonefield and just worry about sleeping there which isn't really why we spent so much money to stay there for a week but it's just not fun to be at for long periods of time.

By mid week things that we had been pushing aside really started to bother us. More so because it rained all day long and there was nothing to do or go to. We woke up and figured well, this is Stonefield villa and SPA so we will drop a few hundred at the spa and pamper ourselves. After all, we just got done planning a big wedding and spent all this money to get to St. Lucia, and it's a rainy day. But the Spa was closed that day and the masseuse was pregnant. :/ that's great and everything, but it's villas and SPA! that means it should be available everyday!

That night we lost hot water and our ceiling fan broke. It gets hot there and the fan was also helpful for keeping bugs away. The hot water made the outdoor shower not only not sexy, but not usable for even showering! It was cold water. I brought this up discreetly at the front desk since there was a new couple arriving and I didn't want to cause a scene. We took off for the next 3.5 hours hoping to have it resolved by the time we got back. It was not. We went to bed so disappointed that night, the "mood" was completely gone. None existent. I felt like I was arguing with my landlord on our honeymoon trying to get things around the apartment fixed.

The next morning we woke up and called the hotel/restaurant we ate at the night before (Hotel Chocolat) which we thought looked amazing and had a spectacular view and what looked like modern day ammenities to see if they had anything available for our last day in st Lucia and they did. We checked out of Stonefield early and called a taxi to take us away after discussing all of these issues with management who seemed uninterested in any reviews we might share as we thought we deserved some kind of refund. She only offered to upgrade us to another villa, but we had had enough. We left and it felt great to be away. It was like ending a dying relationship with someone and it was exhilarating. Hotel Chocolat was amazing, had all of the things we wanted and was super understanding of our situation (apparently this happens a lot and people run away from their resorts to go to them). Check out their reviews and make the decision for yourself.

Hotel Chocat salvaged our Honeymoon and made the trip not only end on a good note, but makes us want to come back again!

*please excuse typos as this was written from my phone

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Tiffilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonefield R, General Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Stonefield Estate Villa Resort & Spa Management truly believes that all our valued Guests feedback is of great importance for improvements on service and property amenities. We have to concur with this post that encourages all visitors to please visit and read as much reviews as one could and most importantly "filter". Majority of reviews have some great information and valuable suggestions to enjoy our remarkable Resort and remarkable Island of Saint Lucia. Our satisfaction rate is currently at 91% on TripAdvisor and we have recently been awarded for 2012 with Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor, this award is achieved by only 10% of all Properties listed on TripAdvisor. Sadly on this occasion, Stonefield Estate Villa Resort & Spa Management is forced to inform that this review is very disturbing and misleading. Management our any member of staff never received any complain from mentioned Guest. I personally asked Guest several times during their stay if all was to their complete satisfaction. Reply was; Great, fantastic, food is very good (restaurant rated number 4 out of seventeen resorts in Soufriere). On their last day at Resort Guest informed that room was not totally to their satisfaction and if we would not discount on rate they would post a "very bad review on TripAdvisor". We don't and will never agree to any situation of such nature and truly regret that some will.

Paul Simoes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Stonefield Estate and Villa is the definition of paradise on earth. It had everything our hearts and heads ever desired. From private outdoor showers to knotty pine (my personal favorite wood) and stone walled villas to wrap around jalousie windows to a delicious and well maintained plunge pool at our beck and call. We were always amazed at how gently satisfying the resort was.
The unceasing beauty of the views of the Pitons and Caribbean and the lush estate replete with humming birds and symphony of birds from all around and what they all do to the spirit makes the vacation last beyond the days spent there.
The Mango Tree Restaurant is tops for its varied breakfasts. Dinner is truly an exceptional experience and our host (Theo) and hostesses were so pleasant and at ease with us whether a small group or just the two of us.
What a lovely and gracious reception we received upon arrival too and as the week wended on we got to know our hosts at the front desk even better that the first day. Responsible and dependable women, Karan, Suzan and Valna. The manager, Paul, is an experienced international asset to the resort and Denalia, the assistant manager also keeps the estate and the affairs of the guests well served.
We won't ever forget you and look forward to seeing you again someday.

Room Tip: We saw Machineel and Limemill. We adored both. Both were surrounded by beauty and the approach priva...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle48702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
949 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,178 reviews
8.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £253 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing