We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Montréal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We just retuned from a very pleasant stay of one week to Stonefield Resort. While we had reserved for a basic villa, we benefited from a free upgrade in villa with a sea view. Comfortable villa air-conditioned with private terrace and swimming pool, porch, outside shower. Stonefield Resort turns out to be a location built on a green isolated hill. The site remained in the natural state sometimes making an impression of neglected but of rustic character. We were welcomed by the warm staff who offered us wet cool towels and fruit juices.
Positive points: private surrounding of every villa, tranquillity, cleanliness, security, romantic, reliable service of shuttle up to the beach, the polite and smiling staff, specially the staff of the reception as well as the majority of the staff of the restaurant.
In our villa Bamboo: wonderful view of the sea and the Piton, the big porch, hammock, the private swimming pool, the outdoor rain forest shower, firm mattress, coffee / tea, air conditioning. The restaurant: pleasant view, comfortable furniture, highlighted by the local cuisine, the fresh food.
Negative points: the room service in the villa (various missing items every day as by examples, replacements of the items of the mini bar, the towels of bath and beach, bars of soap). We had to communicate with the reception to obtain the missing items with delay. The old-fashioned decoration of the villa, the pressure of water and water. To the restaurant: variable quality of the service, the yellowish lighting which gives a beige color to all the dishes, the prices highly exaggerated for the quality of dishes.
Global impression: ideal place for the romanticism and the tranquillity in a private, simple and natural environment. The facility of the site dates many years'. Although it is obvious that Mrs Brown (owner) assure a regular maintenance of the installations, the site accuses its age and would deserve some renovations to correspond to the standards of one four stars.

Room Tip: Bamboo villa : excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danieljpoulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    146
    35
    20
    8
See reviews for
49
480
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a very expensive hotel and we booked it with confidence, feeling that usually, you get what you pay for. What I learned at Stonefield: Not always.

When booking, we were led to believe that although the hotel is not on the beach, the staff would provide easy and free shuttle access to a sister resort where we could enjoy being on the water. In fact, that access was three vans a day, and only three. Want to go at another time? You have to take a cab, on which the hotel charges a commission. When you get to the beach, you are not allowed to sit where the hotel guests sit; you have to take the inferior chairs, for which there is a charge of $20 pp.

The "resort" itself is little more than a cluster of buildings, a front desk counter and a swimming pool. There is no common room, lobby, pretty outdoor areas aside from the pool.

The restaurant, which was supposed to be excellent, is less than mediocre. For breakfast, my daughter was served canned evaporated milk instead of fresh milk, and the "fresh juice" of the day was made from syrup and water. A fruit plate is two slices of anemic watermelon, a piece of grapefruit and cantaloupe cut with an onion knife, making it inedible. The dinner menu is very expensive and the food no better.

The rooms are basic in a way that I don't actually mind and they do have lovely views; however, some of the simplicity is actually disrepair and cheapness pretending to be "natural." My daughter was furnished with a rollaway bed (costing us $$) which had missing slats so it collapsed when she sat on it. Although large, the room was dark and unattractively lit. There are no phones, TVs or wireless. Perhaps the biggest surprise was that the shower was outdoors, which I guess could have been charming, except that there are mosquitoes and bats and there is no hot water if it hasn't been a sunny day.

Finally the service at the hotel was poor, with a tone that was somewhere between unconcerned and disdainful. The staff was never overtly rude, they just seem generally disinterested. Although we reached out to the hotel management a number of times, we could not resolve our issues, so we forfeited a large sum of money as penalty and moved to a better hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank bonnyr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonefield R, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the resort, and we do note that clients did not forfeit a lump sum.

Clients spoke to management who showed much concern and attempted to assist as much as possible on several occasions. Clients were offered a complimentary upgrade to a 2 bedroom, as there were four individuals in a 1 bedroom.

However the offer was declined by the guest. We offer shuttles to the beach at various scheduled times,however in order to always ensure our guests are happy we extended an additional service to the guest other than the various allotted times.

We do note on the website and make sure all information is clearly noted that we have outdoor showers which a lot of our other clients welcome.

We understand that the resort caters to clients who would like a laid back,quiet and serene and lush green environment .

Despite the sereneness and the great views, we have a variety of weekly entertainment for the clients who would like to come out of their haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Flamboyant Villa, which seems to have the best view of all, and we could not have asked for more. The villa was great. Our covered porch, hammock, and pool had the most amazing view of the Petit Piton and the Caribbean Sea. The forest around us gave us complete privacy. The food was incredible. Every single night we were amazed at what the chef made. Especially loved the local daily homemade jams at breakfast.
The best part about this resort is that you are not staying in a giant hotel or surrounded by people that you don't want to be around. If you wanted, you could spend all your time here and be completely satisfied. We hopped down to Jalousie Plantation(2 minute shuttle ride) a couple of times to enjoy their luxury beach amenities. Great snorkeling, Cuban cigars, friendly staff, beach beds with chair side service.
Another great thing about Stonefield is that it is right near all the adventure tours like the Sulfur Springs, botanical gardens, waterfalls and hiking the Pitons. There are also a couple of very luxurious resorts right down the road where you can expand your appetite at their restaurants.
Stonefield is incredibly unique. The staff, especially Lisa, was so nice and very helpful. Highly recommend Stonefield to anyone who wants to get away from the crowd and enjoy a top notch resort at the same time.

Room Tip: Flamboyant was our room and it was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMiller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonefield R, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi,
We thank you for your comments, we are a small personal boutique resort. The resort does cater to individuals looking to getaway and relax and retreat .

We look forward to welcoming you soon to Stonefield Estate Resort and to St.Lucia .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIMA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

All I have to say for this magnificent resort is that overall is totally recomended. Our vacation (me and my wife) was superb. Our Villa (Frangipani) was a dream, with a fabolous view of Petit Piton, the ocean, and all the green flora of the island. Mango tree restaurant was formidable, and considering myself a very critic on cuisine (we live in Peru and food quality is all) the service we had was outstanding. Breakfast and dinner over the top: gourmet plates, fresh fruit, cold and refreshening drinks and healthy water.

The staff of the hotel were very nice and always helping us providing information and advice about tours and/or things to do. I have read some commentaries of other people complaining about the bugs, the rain, the privacy some villas dont have (maybe on the pool, but the Villa is private, unless peolpe are exhibisionist), and the fact that the restaurant is so far and in hill area. All I have to say is that all those reasons doesnt desqualify the quality of the resort. Bugs as in all hot countries are common. Bed has nets and room has a candle to keep away mosquitos... of course, every traveller must bring their own repelent. Rain is mother nature and thats it. Villas are private; and in all trips there is always a walking, especially on an island... if not, then better stay on a city, in which you can have your elevator and your macdonalds right after the corner.

We enjoyed climbing the Gross Piton, visiting Sulphur Springs, Diamond falls. We took water taxi to Anse Chastanet one day and Reduit Beach at Rodney Bay on other. Jalousie beach was a dream also, sorrounded by the shadows of the Pitons. Cant say too much, the place leave me speechless. We had our New Year Eve on the hotel also, with fireworks right from the restaurant.

Thank you to everybody at the resort. We will definitivily return in a future. I have so many things to say but my memories and commentaries will rest on my mind and my pictures.

Room Tip: Check all options before booking a Villa. Garden villas are at the bottom, and the ocean view and Pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANIEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonefield R, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi,
It was our pleasure to have hosted you and we do hope to welcome you soon.
All the best this 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place is exactly as the reviews read: Exact opposite of Sandals, which is what we were looking for. Met some great people when we did go out, but if you can go a few days in paradise without meeting anyone (except at breakfast time, but everyone really keeps to themselves) and stay in your own private pool or in a hammock drinking Piton beer, why wouldn't you want to stay here?

A few things about reviews posted, here's what's true:

1-NUMBER ONE: BRING bug repellent AND double the lotion for bug bites because you WILL get bit, just make sure you have the medicine to put on the bites. They charge $15 for a small OFF spray in the room so bring your own. Spray down RIGHT when you get to the room. We went to eat lunch at Mango Tree and got bit so much that we were itching every night, so bad that we could hardly sleep at night.
SN: you can also find bug bite lotion at the little tourist hut on the left side of Jalousie Beach (along with Cigars, candy, small home made souvenirs and other "local medicine sellers" who will try to sell you stuff, but easily back off when you tell them no)

2-All Inclusive Deal: don't do it, you're not going to spend $300+ a day for the 2 of you. Do the "Breakfast Included" plan and the "Piton Classic" breakfast EVERY morning with freshly squeezed juice. You usually go without lunch OR you can walk up to the Mango Tree restaurant (which is fairly priced for the other places around Stonefield. We went to Ladera one night and while it was a great experience and much nicer than Mango Tree, the food was about the same and double the price. There are a few other places that we wanted to go eat at, but never made it because "Ehh...why get ready, we're on vacation".
SN: After you arrive, the arranged Stonefield taxi driver will take you by a small store or gas station if you ask, but only buy drinks and beer. You can get liquor at Tax Free for cheap on the way over. Don't buy drinks at Mango Tree, it's not a hangout spot, it's a 1 or 2 couple dinner each night, 4 if REALLY busy. We bought food and snacks, but besides the cookies, we didn't eat anything else.

3-We stayed in the most secluded flat: Jacaranda. There is a private staircase that leads to Mango Tree from the back of the unit and while people will venture down to you, it only happened once while we were swimming. (they need to put a gate or something up instead of just a sign saying "private Jacaranda suite" so people don't go down there) This place is surrounded by trees and bushes that nobody can see you while you lay out or go swimming. Just saying.

Daily fyi's:
-They will be there to clean the room if you need or you can leave the beads on the door and they won't come in.
-You'll wake up early, because you'll RARELY go out too late because of the bugs and you'll go to bed earlier because no TV or internet access. (you might get access once or twice at Mango, but this IS a getaway and if you REALLY need it, then go to Jalousie and they have wireless)
SN: Coffee and an iPod with a blanket to keep the bugs off and you can spend the first few hours of the day staring at absolutely nothing, but water and clouds and loving every minute of it.
-You won't go swimming at night, too many bugs.
-bring board games, cards or books if you want something to do together at night. We played a LOT of UNO and solitaire.
-They do have a small kitchen: fridge, blender, coffee maker and a few pots and pans, but we didn't cook. The fridge had drinks and beer in it, but they charge for it. We used the blender a few times and the coffee maker every morning.
-They have a spa, but we didn't go there so I can't speak on that.
-LOVED the outside shower, especially when it rained.
-You are in the wild, so if you're a light sleeper then bring earplugs because EVERYTHING comes out at night
-There is an iPod deck in the room, which we moved by the pool window to listen to good music while swimming.
-Most suites have an AC unit, but MAKE SURE you stay in one of these. Turn it on and close all the wood windows to keep the cool air in.


Go to Jalousie Beach and pay the $20 a person for comfortable chairs and servers to serve you. $5 beers were there non stop (thanks to Edan), but there wasn't much to eat there except for small personal pizzas (which they need to get away from that tourist crap and cook something homemade and from the island. I'm from the States, I don't want pizza in paradise. They have local water taxi's that will want to talk to you up and down the beach, but once you say no a few times they let you be.
SN: this beach is AMAZING! We went 2 of our 5 days. The water is so clear, that you don't need goggles (the salt doesn't even bother you). If the beach is so amazing, then not stay at Jalousie? Stonefield's view and solitude is 100x better than Jalousie.


Karen and the girls at the front desk will set up anything you need and while I do regret not doing much when we were there, we've never been so relaxed and loved it. If you need a taxi, they'll set it up. If you need reservations at another hotel restaurant, they'll call for you.

The Mango Tree restaurant was actually REALLY good, although not much changed with the menu, but enough choices to eat something different 5 nights of the week. The waitresses were a bit slow, but there's actually a reason for it. Apparently Stonefield trains new servers before sending them to other restaurants so 75% were always new at their job. Be patient, you're on vacation.
Lisa and Desiree were fantastic and always made us feel "very welcome" when we ate with them. The breakfast was a great way to start the day EVERY day with the best view you could wish for.

The drivers were great. Darius picked us up from the airport and stopped at a store for us (btw DON'T forget to buy your driver a soda/juice if he stops for you). He also was our driver numerous times over our visit and probably the nicest kid we met on our visit to St. Lucia. Eli and Darrian were great also.
SN: DO NOT give business to this Junior guy that people posted on here. He works for Stonefield, but is real shady especially to women while he's driving. Didn't get a good vibe from him and I would avoid giving him business.

Other than that, this place was amazing and memorable. No regrets booking with them at all. We would DEFINITELY go back and suggest this for anyone that wants a private pool and an incredible view. (plus thumbs up to any place that has a hammock, a fridge and AC)

Room Tip: Jacaranda was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDCognac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonefield R, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi,
Stonefield does cater for complete relaxation and quiet. Your very own private villa with pool and great views and daily full breakfast.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This was our last resort we stayed at on our honeymoon. My wife and I really did not want to leave Sandals Grande so I was hoping that this place would live up to tripadvisor reivews. And I do have to say that it did. The ladies at the reception were great to work with. The view of the Piton was great. The great thing about staying here is you are close to many of the highly ranked attractions and restaurants in St Lucia although you have to pay quite a bit in taxis to get to and from. We booked a "Cosol Tour" (which was by far the best money we spent on the island) and that saved us a ton of money if we would have done them individually.

All in all with your private pool and nice condo type room it was great. After we left we were very happy that we stayed here because we do not think that you can enjoy this wonderful island by staying only on the northern part.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ctoc9680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

From the moment we arrived at Stonefield we knew we'd made the right choice! The grounds are lovely (although be prepared for walking up and down very steep hills!), our private villa was definitely the most beautiful place I've ever stayed and the staff were friendly and helpful. I could have happily spent all of my time in our villa looking out at the views across the ocean and Pitons, but we did drag ourselves away to visit Jalousie beach, the volcano and the beach below the hotel. Breakfast overlooking the ocean is not to be missed, as are the banana pancakes! Yum! All in all, this place is idyllic ..... but bring lots of mosquito repellent - they seemed to love me?!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
8.6 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Property: Stonefield Estate Resort
Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, West Indies, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing