We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A last minute change in plans had us booking an extra 2 nights in St Lucia this past Nov. 8th and we chose Stonefield Estate. We were fortunate enough to be put in the Gingerlily Cottage and loved our private plunge pool. The Villa was dreamy with a lovely outdoor shower and our own kitchenette including a blender! A nice touch if you happen to stop at the store to stock up on some rum and snacks.... Meals were delicious and my husband especially enjoyed their Stonefield Favorite for breakfast - a tasty baguette sandwich. Dinner and service were excellent. The view of the Piton awesome. We liked it so much we extended our stay there for an additional 2 nights in Jasmine Cottage - wow what a view! Neat property. Some stairs and hills of course, but not like some of the other resorts, these were very manageable. (up to the restaurant, etc) Highly recommend for a most memorable trip!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank divasmurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    146
    35
    20
    8
See reviews for
49
480
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

My bride and I spent 4 wonderful nights here at Stonefield and couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon. We were on a budget, which limited our visits to the higher end prices at the onsite Mango Tree Restaurant. However, breakfast was included and the meals we had there were amazing. The staff was extremely helpful with both room services as well as suggesting tours, setting up taxis (ask for Marcus), and suggesting local sites and food to help us better experience St. Lucia.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drifter123go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We ended up there in a multi-bedroom villa. The staff were amazing, the wedding planner was the most amaaaaaaaaaazing person, she really worked her *** to please a bride who was very picky, waited to the last minute to make decisions, and was generally really just hard to work with. The food was great, everyone was professional, and I really can't say enough wonderful things. I would go back with a big group (of different people).
Bring bug spray. Apply it religiously. Each villa has a pool and a kitchen, remember, these are open air villas, don't expect A/C in the common areas. Enjoy the outdoor showers and experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahhhnderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Estate Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2015
Yes, weddings can be a stressful time with so many little details to work out for the "perfect day". We are very happy that our staff were able to meet your needs. See you on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I will preface this by saying we specifically searched for properties that had AC. That is a must-have for us. The day after we reserved our Hillside Oceanview with private pool.
The room was fabulous---even had a mini kitchen. The bedding was nice quality and good mattresses. The outdoor space was great---private pool with view of the Pitons and the ocean. There was covered outdoor space for rainy days so we could still be outdoors. Very cool outdoor shower!
Due to overbooking we had to move to the Plantation Villa for part of our stay. It is lovely and had a larger pool and spectacular view. But---no AC and one of the walls is actually metal gates. So lots of wildlife---including feral cats came in the unit. It wasn't the best unit for us due to no AC. We would have preferred to stay in the Hillside unit.

Our transfer driver stopped at a small store on the way to the resort so we could get some wine, bread, cheese and snacks for the room.


The location of the resort is beautiful and the views are amazing.

Breakfast was included and was very nice---again eating with a beautiful view. Dinners we at at the resort were okay. But I would recommend trying some of the truly spectacular restaurants if you are interested in fine dining. We ate at Orlando's and it was spectacular and an incredible value--I think around $75/pp with wine pairings. We also ate at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat and it was amazing. We did the Prix Fixe meal that had chocolate in every course. It also had beautiful views.

We took the shuttle down to the beach and it was very nice---open air restaurant for lunch.

Overall we loved the resort--especially the Hillside villa. As long as you understand that you do not have a walk-to beach you will be thrilled.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend the flamboyant villa...we had seen a few others and this one had the most amazing views and the sunset is unbelievable! You do have to walk up and down the hill so do not bring heels with you it will be very difficult. The only downfall to staying here is you either have to rent a car or get a taxi everywhere which is costly! This place is definitely a spot for honeymooners for couples very romantic.....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grassdagostino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend at this property. The change of pace was perfect for a quiet and romantic birthday.
We stayed in villa Oleander with hammock and pool - the view of the petit piton was just as advertised. The resort and its grounds were kept in immaculate condition and the the staff we interacted with were very friendly especially at the Mango Restaurant.
We loved the outdoor bathroom and the bed was huge and comfortable.
We would definitely recommend Stone field if you are looking for a quiet and uninterrupted time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Realdeal9412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stopped for 10 nights in June on our delayed honeymoon, having first spent 5 days in New York. The change of pace was just what we needed - from the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. We stopped in the Oleander Villa with views over the sea and Petit Piton - absolutely stunning.

The room cleanliness was great, and the private plunge pool and room were cleaned daily. Other reviewers have stated here that wi-fi is only available at reception and in the restaurant - whilst generally true we could get a signal from Oleander by the pool. Having said that, unless you really need to be connected for business then put the laptop away and soak in the superb atmosphere of this place and the views to die for.

The villa has an outside table and hammock big enough for two, private plunge pool with loungers, a lounge and kitchen and the bedroom. Bathroom has double sinks and an outside shower. All rooms were of a great size. The villa is totally private with no overlooking views from other villas. There is no phone in the villas - you are given a mobile phone for your stay with which to call reception which worked just fine.

Some work was being carried out on an adjacent villa during our stay which was occaisionally intrusive but not sustained or loud enough to cause a major issue. The loudest noise we had during our stay was the cicadas and frogs at night - the villas are set into mountainous jungle after all. They were seriousll loud, which we foudn very restful, but might not be to everyone's taste.

Stonefield is one of 5 or so luxury complexes in this the west part of the island, the main party centre is in the north of the island over an hour away, so if you want real party atmosphere this is not the place for you. Stonefield is right on top of the majority of the natural attractions in the area such as the (extremely) hot springs, various walks, plantation tours etc. It's worth mentioning that in some of the other luxury resorts in the area Aircon is not always available - It was very hot & humid when we visited and I was very glad that our bedroom had a very modern efficient (and near-silent) aircon unit.

The hotel is on the mountainside and does not have its own beach. A free shuttle van is run several times a day down to Sugar Beach (part of the Jalouise resort) and back, but we found hiring a car was the best option. The main roads here are of decent quality and lit at night, though they are twisty and have steep dropoffs. Anyone used to driving in the UK countryside would have very little problem, but those use to large wide straight roads might want to think carefully before hiring a car.

Anyway, back to the hotel - staff are very friendly and helpful with any queries. There is a lovely communal pool which is very underused, superb views from here and the restaurant also. The restaurant food was great - we ate here a couple of times and had breakfast each day (which was superb) - evening meals were pricey but not outlandish given the quality of the food and resort.

Overall, a great experience - we would happily go again.
Paul & Jonie

Room Tip: Oleander has wi-fi by the pool (just).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madforitdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
8.6 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Property: Stonefield Estate Resort
Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing