We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonefield Villa Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at this resort in late November 2013 for two nights in St. Lucia. This resort has the most amazing setting with views of the petit piton from all over the grounds. This resort, in my opinion, is meant for the romantics and newly weds who want to spend most of their time lounging around their villa and with their significant other privately. It really lends itself to that with private patios, private pools and plenty of space for lounging. But, beware of the mosquitoes! Bring your repellant because they do and will bite. The common rooms like living room and kitchen are extremely spacious, but bring entertainment like a computer, tablet (wifi available) or old fashioned books and games for down time and rainy days. There are no TVs anywhere, but there was AC in the bedrooms. The resort restaurant Mangos was delicious, and had incredible views both day and night. Breakfast is included which we never missed, but dinner was pretty expensive. Soufriere has great beaches, zip lining, waterfalls and the pitons. One would believe that the Stonefield would be the optimal place to stay and experience all these things, but from another hotel experience during the same trip we learned a few things... The Stonefield, hands down, had the island living experience for guests figured out to a science, however it was incredibly expensive to do excursions through the front desk. Taxis were the only option for travel (walking is very challenging in St. Lucia with all the big hills) unless you rent a car (which I also don't recommend). Our tab at the end of our stay was more than we had intended on spending and we felt taken advantage of by the resort. The people are incredibly friendly and helpful, the service was great but the prices there matched the slope of the petit piton, STEEP!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bougainvillea Room and had MORE than enough room for another couple! We had an incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I visited St. Lucia for three nights in mid-November. I knew we wanted to stay in the Soufriere area and, after much research, settled on Stonefield. We based our decision on reviews, photos and the fact that the villas have AC which is important because I am a light sleeper. I had a number of questions and requests prior to our visit and was very pleased with Sadia’s prompt reply and attentiveness. We were booked into the Rain Tree ocean view villa.

Upon arrival, Sadia was there to greet us and Amanda showed us to the villa. I have to say that all of the staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The villa was very nice with a great view and the only minor drawback being a portion of the deck area looks out over the parking lot. After the first night, we were upgraded to the Oleander villa (this was a special surprise) and it was absolutely perfect. It is larger, including a sitting area separate from the bedroom, and has an incredible view of Petit Piton and the Caribbean from the plunge pool and lounge chairs. I have a photo from there as the screen saver on my laptop which is probably not a good idea because every time I look at it I want to be back at Stonefield. On the last evening of our visit, we spent several hours enjoying that view.

We ate breakfast each morning at the Mango Tree restaurant which is a very attractive setting (as is the entire pool / bar / restaurant area) and the views are even better than from the villa. The service was top notch and the food delicious. Overall, the hotel lived up to everything we were hoping for and we plan to return for another visit sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNFinLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff at this resort are very good indeed - we were impressed overall with the friendly, personal service. The drink and cool flannel on arrival were much appreciated.
There were some niggles: our pool was not filled when we arrived, a number of light fittings weren't working and needed changing, there's exposed cables in places and the bathrooms could really do with an overhaul. The overall feel of our villa was definitely intended to be rustic and authentic, but that would not need to be abandoned by updating the fixtures.
The bedrooms were good sizes with the smallest being a bit of a squeeze for a couple. The common areas are plentiful, large and sociable, and the outside seating includes both a covered area with a hammock, a table and chairs, as well as sun loungers.
The restaurant was very good and having breakfast included each morning a very pleasant bonus - however, as good as the food is, the menu is somewhat limited and a second dinner at the hotel felt distinctly like deja vu!
There are shuttle buses from the resort down to two local beaches and a larger pool by the restaurant. We stayed in a 3 bed villa so also had a decent private pool; most of the smaller properties appear to have plunge pools rather than ones you can swim in.

Room Tip: We stayed in Plantation - a 3 bed villa. Note this does not have AC and is not glazed so the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nile78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here in October for 3 nights (we split up our time in St. Lucia between the south and the north of the island). The weather was a little psychotic being the rainy season and all (rainy season ends in late November) but I would still recommend it – it would rain for 5 minutes, then sun and 30 min later another round of 5-10 min of rain. Can`t beat a tropical climate ! (temperatures would never go below 20C, even during the night…)

Great and fantastic views from this place with individual bungalows / villas. The hotel / villas are set on a sloping hill-side on the grounds of a former banana plantation apparently (they still have banana trees around). I would recommend renting a car and having one here because otherwise you would feel fairly secluded and would not be able to take advantage of all the neat things in the Soufriere area (the drive-in volcano, waterfalls, cocoa-plantation, trekking site and pytons). Cabs are over-priced and so are “organized trips”. Just get a small vehicle and you will have the flexibility of doing stuff. The hotel is not by the beach but they do provide a daily shuttle to take you to the Jealousie beach (aprox 10 min away) – which is gorgeous and next to the petit pyton. However each villa has its own little swimming pool and garden and we only went once to the beach while in the Soufriere area – this is definitely not a drawback whatsoever.

This place is great for what it is and also the food at the restaurant there is quite delicious with an astounding view. Beware though that the Soufriere area is generally fairly secluded and all the hotels are quite high end and catered to honeymooners or couples and prices do reflect that. Also you won`t be able to find anything else in restaurants around so you are obliged to go for dinner at one of the hotel restaurants. Ah, not to forget – we had breakfast included in our price, and I have to say they offer an absolutely delicious breakfast and coffee at this place. We were very happy with our experience here and would absolutely return (st lucia is now one of my favorite places in the Caribbean), but we were happy not to be there for a full week at the same time (it is a bit too quiet for an entire week –at least for us)

Room Tip: get a villa with pyton / water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A last minute change in plans had us booking an extra 2 nights in St Lucia this past Nov. 8th and we chose Stonefield Estate. We were fortunate enough to be put in the Gingerlily Cottage and loved our private plunge pool. The Villa was dreamy with a lovely outdoor shower and our own kitchenette including a blender! A nice touch if you happen to stop at the store to stock up on some rum and snacks.... Meals were delicious and my husband especially enjoyed their Stonefield Favorite for breakfast - a tasty baguette sandwich. Dinner and service were excellent. The view of the Piton awesome. We liked it so much we extended our stay there for an additional 2 nights in Jasmine Cottage - wow what a view! Neat property. Some stairs and hills of course, but not like some of the other resorts, these were very manageable. (up to the restaurant, etc) Highly recommend for a most memorable trip!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank divasmurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

My bride and I spent 4 wonderful nights here at Stonefield and couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon. We were on a budget, which limited our visits to the higher end prices at the onsite Mango Tree Restaurant. However, breakfast was included and the meals we had there were amazing. The staff was extremely helpful with both room services as well as suggesting tours, setting up taxis (ask for Marcus), and suggesting local sites and food to help us better experience St. Lucia.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Drifter123go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We ended up there in a multi-bedroom villa. The staff were amazing, the wedding planner was the most amaaaaaaaaaazing person, she really worked her *** to please a bride who was very picky, waited to the last minute to make decisions, and was generally really just hard to work with. The food was great, everyone was professional, and I really can't say enough wonderful things. I would go back with a big group (of different people).
Bring bug spray. Apply it religiously. Each villa has a pool and a kitchen, remember, these are open air villas, don't expect A/C in the common areas. Enjoy the outdoor showers and experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahhhnderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Yes, weddings can be a stressful time with so many little details to work out for the "perfect day". We are very happy that our staff were able to meet your needs. See you on your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
988 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
8.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Villa Resort

Address: Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £242 - £1,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing