We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Estate Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I spent four amazing days at the Stonefield Resort outside of Soufriere and loved every moment of it. It was like an unplanned second honeymoon. The "rooms" are simply wonderful--actually, large individual villas with private plunge pools, outdoor showers, outside decks, and plenty of space in the bed and bathrooms. The staff were just as great, from the warm welcome upon arrival to the willingness to make suggestions and arrangements. As others have noted, the view from the resort is one of the best in the world, and we've traveled widely. Stonefield provides a shuttle to the Sugar Bay Resort and it beautiful beach between the Pitons and arranged for a taxis to Anse Chastnet--both excellent snorkeling sites. In sum, it was a 5 star experience at a price slightly lower that the surrounding competitors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here after a week near Marigot Bay, because we wanted to experience activities near Soufriere. We really enjoyed our privacy and magnificent views. Nothing better than lounging on the hammock, watching the sunset in the shadow of the Pitons!

Our villa was gorgeous, so romantic and private. Having a large pool all to ourselves was wonderful. The outdoor shower is spacious and beautiful; I could only wish for a bit more hot water in the morning (solar heated!).

It's an easy 20-minute walk downhill to Soufriere, and a short taxi ride back up the hill to the resort. Try eating at some small local restaurants; they're delicious and reasonably priced.

Free shuttle service to the beach at Jalousie between the Pitons was convenient, and the views at the imported white sand beach are NOT to be missed.

Our only (slight) complaints are: the kitchen didn't have a good variety of cooking pots and utensils; the paint on the bottom of the pool rubbed off on our feet; the isolation means that if you don't have a rental vehicle, you have to hire a taxi to get pretty much anywhere else. But we picked it because of its isolation, so we were prepared for that last one. We got turn-down service one night, when they also sprayed indoors for bugs -- but just one night, out of the four we stayed there...not sure why....

Breakfast every morning was included at the Mango Tree restaurant, which was delicious, and the views are breathtaking. Lunch and dinner also available for purchase.

In short, if you are looking for a romantic island hideaway, I highly recommend this place! We loved it here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We as always chose to stay away from the tourist traps and take in the quality of the beautiful island and local foods..just amazing! The Stonefield is one of the two resorts on the island owned by a ancestor if Carib..they built one villa at a time...the villas are perfect, and we stayed in the smallest which was more than spacious a beautiful beautiful view as the restaurant - all built in the mountainside rain forest with beautiful views if the ocean Pitons and the lush tropics. I can not say enough about this perfect location and beauty!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjrichards33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights as the second stop on St. Lucia after five nights of an all-inclusive experience on the northern end of the island. I couldn't wait to see our room, because I just couldn't imagine how it could ever live up to the pictures we'd seen here and on the hotel website. It did.

The Room - We stayed in Frangipani, and I would highly recommend it. The pool is larger than most of the other units, it's very private, and the view is astounding (see the pictures). The room was clean, the outdoor shower was fun, and it made for a very romantic and relaxing trip to be able to relax by our own private pool and soak up that amazing view.

The Service - Service was excellent, the room was cleaned and the minibar restocked daily by an attentive staff. A note on the minibar - this was the first place I've ever stayed where the prices weren't a ripoff.

The Mango Tree Restaurant - After some of the reviews here, I expected the food here to be just average, but I was completely wrong. We ate here two nights, one night at Ladera, and one night at Chocolat. I would say that the Mango Tree was the best meal out of all of them. Everything we ate was creative, unique, and delicious. The prices are quite high, but then again they seem to be high at all of the restaurants in the area.

Some notes: Like others have said, beware of mosquitos. They're everywhere. We ended up paying $20 for a small bottle of bug spray at the front desk. We visited the Sugar Beach to use their beach, weren't that impressed. You have to park by the entrance and then walk a good 1/2 mile down a very steep hill. Once at the beach you kind of feel like a second class citizen since you aren't a guest.

Room Tip: Frangipani has one of the largest pools and an amazing view. It's very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chmeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a truly beautiful resort with lots of colourful flowers in lovely gardens. Each villa felt very private and we loved having our own pool. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean with great facilities.
The food was usually excellent and the breakfasts were wonderful. The staff were very well trained.
Excellent resort.

Room Tip: We were in Casuarina and liked it very much, but I'm sure that they are all as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had our own private swimming pool, private spacious veranda with a hammock, exotic outdoor garden shower and spectacular views. We were in the Tamarind Villa - and it was beautiful. There is no TV nor Internet (WiFi is available in the main lobby areas and at the restaurant), so it was nice to "unplug" and truly relax. We were given a prepaid cell phone to use to contact the front desk or security, if needed. Breakfast is included with your accommodations and available at the onsite Mango Tree Restaurant. We woke up every morning to the strong sulfur in the air and a gorgeous view of the Pitons and Caribbean Sea down below.

The area is studded with fruit trees and "local wildlife" (read: many feral cats.) We had a banana tree at our villa and a papaya tree at the restaurant that they used to make the jams we ate at breakfast. The only negative is the BUGS. I brought citronella bug-repellant bracelets and used citronella candles, but they were not strong enough. Highly advise using strong bug spray repellant with DEET. Especially on your legs.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View upgrade. It was not crowded when we went, so were able to get upgraded complimen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatMickyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at this resort in late November 2013 for two nights in St. Lucia. This resort has the most amazing setting with views of the petit piton from all over the grounds. This resort, in my opinion, is meant for the romantics and newly weds who want to spend most of their time lounging around their villa and with their significant other privately. It really lends itself to that with private patios, private pools and plenty of space for lounging. But, beware of the mosquitoes! Bring your repellant because they do and will bite. The common rooms like living room and kitchen are extremely spacious, but bring entertainment like a computer, tablet (wifi available) or old fashioned books and games for down time and rainy days. There are no TVs anywhere, but there was AC in the bedrooms. The resort restaurant Mangos was delicious, and had incredible views both day and night. Breakfast is included which we never missed, but dinner was pretty expensive. Soufriere has great beaches, zip lining, waterfalls and the pitons. One would believe that the Stonefield would be the optimal place to stay and experience all these things, but from another hotel experience during the same trip we learned a few things... The Stonefield, hands down, had the island living experience for guests figured out to a science, however it was incredibly expensive to do excursions through the front desk. Taxis were the only option for travel (walking is very challenging in St. Lucia with all the big hills) unless you rent a car (which I also don't recommend). Our tab at the end of our stay was more than we had intended on spending and we felt taken advantage of by the resort. The people are incredibly friendly and helpful, the service was great but the prices there matched the slope of the petit piton, STEEP!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bougainvillea Room and had MORE than enough room for another couple! We had an incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
8.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Estate Resort

Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £228 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonefield Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing