We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonefield Villa Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Me and my husband came here for 5 nights in January 2014. Below are some of our thoughts and experiences.
Room – Amazing! We loved the peacefulness of the surroundings, the room was clean and the patio was just the best. With a private little pool and a hammock, it made it even more better!
Customer service – Just ok! The day we came, they took us to our room, and soon after we realized that the AC and the fridge did not work. We called them and they said “just wait for an hour; it takes some time to cool”. We waited and it was still the same. Then they sent a technician, and after spending half an hour or so, he agreed that the AC and the fridge did not work properly. By the time we were burning in scorching 90 degrees outside. After he informed the front desk, they said we need to send a specialist to look at the issue. By the time, we were already sitting outside on the patio for 2 hours. The specialist came in and gave the same conclusion. The front desk was not so accommodating. They said “all the similar kind of rooms are occupied”. There is one upgrade available which we can move you for tonight but you will have to empty that room tomorrow morning. By the time it was 8:30 pm at night. We had arrived at 4:30 pm! We had wasted the whole evening and the front desk behaved as if they were doing a huge favor on us to give us a room with AC and fridge for a night, with a condition to move again the next day…
That same very night, when we went to the new room, none of the rooms have blankets. We call the front desk at 10 pm to send in blankets. The person goes “well the maintenance people have left for the day and I am the only one here. Let’s see what I can do” It took her 1.5 hours to send a blanket after 4 phone calls for reminder!!!! Moreover, the blanket we got was so dirty and cheap.
When they moved us back to the original room we were on day 1, the fridge still did not work. The reason they gave was that we replaced a brand new AC for you, but we need time to fix the fridge… We didn’t want to argue with them anymore and spoil our vacation.
Resort – The best thing about the resort was good rooms and location. The resort had nothing additional. The free breakfast that says is inclusive is only one serving. It is not a buffet and the choices are very limited. There is only one restaurant – mango tree restaurant. The food is very mediocre. They do not have any nightly entertainment. We reached there Thursday night, when something was going on at mango tree, but we missed it due to the room change and all that mess. But there was nothing on Friday, Saturday and Sunday! It becomes very dull at night, especially in the Soufriere there is nothing to do after dark. And that’s when you rely on the resort, but unfortunately stonefield estate does not provide any entertainment.
Bathroom – It was a new concept and fun for a few days. However, it rains so often there, that sometimes when you want to take a shower its pouring outside which makes it so tough to use the shower… Plus, the shower is old. Hot water takes 15 mins to come in the shower and it is so slow, it takes you double the time because of the slow hot water coming from the shower. I like the concept of open shower, however an inside shower for bad weather would be a good idea.
We would not go back to this resort again.

Room Tip: Only stay at this resort if all you care about is a good room. It has no other perks that comes with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sweety k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Guest Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Dear Sweety,

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am happy to hear you had an overall good experience.

The one issue you had with the service and the problems in the room were truly anomalies. We are always looking after our guests to the best of our abilities and appears that you met with a not-so-oft problem or hiccough.

In any case, I hope on your next trip to St. Lucia, you will consider Stonefield and give us the opportunity to show you what Stonefield service is all about.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and I had an idyllic week here: secluded villa with private pool and fantastic views out to the sea and the Petite Piton, Excellent restaurant, with great food and more fantastic views! The villa was well equipped,with a lovely verandah, hammock and rocking chairs.The service was excellent and the staff friendly...it was obvious that they really cared for their guests.We were here for our anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with pool and sea/Piton view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFF T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We came here for our honeymoon, and five weeks later we are still in awe at how amazing this place was. We could not have asked for a better location to spend our honeymoon. We stayed in the Frangipani which I believe is the villa that is pictured on the website. We were nicely isolated from the surrounding villas, had our own pool, and an awesome patio with a hammock. The view from our patio was priceless, waking up every morning and looking at the Piton while swinging in the hammock is something we will never forget. The service is also 5 stars, the staff is very friendly, helpful and curteous. The food is amazing; the restaurant is almost tree house like at the edge of the resort, open air with no walls, just a ceiling, with again amazing views of the Piton and water. This resort is not somewhere to take kids. This is definetely a honeymoon/relaxing type of getaway. While we were perfectly happy lounging in the swings/hammocks scattered throughout the resort, drinking tropical beverages at any time of the day and recovering from the craziness of the wedding, people who are looking for a resort with a ton of activities would probably be happier at the Sandals (which after coming here cannot imagine ever going to a Sandals). There are definetly things to do outside of the resort within a five mile radius. We visited the Ladera resort nearby for drinks and dinner (this place is better!) went snorkeling (amazing waters to go snorkeling in), went on several tours including one to see three waterfalls and a nearby volcano, walked through beautiful botanical gardens and took a short though steep walk to the nearby beach. The hotel arranged all the transportation for us anytime we wanted to leave the resort, taking taxis is SO MUCH easier then renting a car and trying to get around the island yourselves, and everything was charged right to our room so we didnt have to worry about having any cash on us or paying the cab drivers (other then tips). There were several other tours/trips the hotel sets up that we didnt make it too, had we had more time and more desire to leave the resort, the island definetely has alot to offer. Would come here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Frangipani which was priceless, probably has the best views on the entire resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived to the north airport knowing we had a 60 - 90 minute taxi ride to Stonefield Estate Resort in the south. What we did not know was 24 hours prior the island was deluged with torrents of rain and many roads were impassable, communications were weak and the main airport was closed. An angel of a man on Earth Stephen Elizee, professional taxi service was the only person outside the airport willing to drive there which took close to 3 hours. If it wasn't for his willingness and knowledge we would have been completely stranded as the phone lines to the property were down but Stephen knew the long way and knew they were open. The property is a complete paradise. The rooms are immaculate. The views are to die for, have to be there to truly appreciate them. The restaurant staff are as fabulous as the food and cocktails they prepare. Management should be quite proud of them all, consistently good service and food. I would highly recommend the tranquil setting for anyone looking to see the true Caribbean. And while we were there it was amazing to see the rapid recovery. Communications came back online in day two as well as the main airport opening and recovery cargo ships were in the harbor on day three.

Room Tip: Ask about specific location of villas on property. Some villas are more privately located whereas ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for seven nights over New Years. We were in Jacaranda. As all have said, the views and location are perfect. It is more peaceful than anywhere I have ever stayed and the villas are very private. We had a car, which was great. If you have done driving in mountainous undeveloped countries before and were okay, then you will have no problem on this island. There was a large storm that came through just before we arrived and even with several bridges being washed out and many places where trees and mud we on one lane of the road, the driving was doable and allowed us to spend a lot of time exploring. The resort itself is very nice, though I would classify as a bit rustic. The villa did have air conditioning, though I do not think it would have been a necessity as we were traveling in January and the weather was great with constant breezes. The air conditioning is only in the bedroom, not in the bathroom or the living area. The shower is outdoors and the only observation is by the resident lizards, but they never come near you. The shower head gave nothing more than a drizzle when we arrived, but my husband massaged the points where the water comes out and we were able to get a good spray going. You do not really get warm water – it is either hot or cold, the good news being there is plenty of hot! There are bugs. The first is the little bitty ants. The first two mornings we were there, when I first went into the bathroom, they were attacking/eating larger bugs (spiders and moths) on the floor. They are vicious little suckers! We just took the broom and swept them outside. We never got any in the kitchen because we kept all open food in the fridge and wiped up any crumbs when done eating. Next is the no see ums. The view from the deck is amazing, day and night (the stars are jaw dropping) and it is where we spent all of our time when at the villa – with this came bites. Day and night. You do not feel them bite often, but rest assured, they are there biting. We spent the first couple days using a non deet bug spray, but were sorry and went to the strong stuff. They still bit, but not as bad. Take cortisone cream with you, as it will be a better product than what you can buy on the island. They provide a citronella candle – but it is dark out there and you get kind of tired of sitting in the dark so you eventually turn on the outside light which does not bring more bugs, but make sure all doors stay closed once the sun goes down. That being said, I would still not go inside! The night time orchestra is wonderful! No other bugs to report. The rooms are very clean! Other critters… we had birds and goats (yep, eating their way through the underbrush around the villa), but the most amazing were the fruit bats which I had not heard about in previous posts. They are huge and plentiful and if you go up to the pool area by the large mango tree you can see as many as 6 in the air at once. They are fascinating to watch and though they will swoop through your balcony on occasion, never really come close to you. There are feral cats. We had one in particular that visited every day. I have seen that some were bothered by them, which I don’t understand because they are very skittish and not bothersome. I happen to love cats though and found a box of Friskies in town that was gone by the time we left. The bed was hard, not at all comfortable and the pillows on it were huge, which was not comfortable for me as I do not sleep on my side. One improvement they could make is to provide a light blanket. I have never stayed anywhere where the only thing to cover up with was a sheet. My husband prefers to sleep a bit cooler than me and I would have liked a blanket. I thought at first that they did that in order to keep people from wasting energy by keeping the room to cold, but every time we let housekeeping in they would leave the door to the front room or bathroom open when done – which let the heat in. Still, service was top-notch by all from the pool guy to reception to housecleaning to the restaurant. All smiles and bending over backward to assist in any way that they can!! There is a hammock on the balcony, but they could improve upon the experience by replacing it with a cloth one (it is macramé and is uncomfortable to lay on when dressed lightly) that could be detached at the house end and hung closed when not in use, as it takes up a large area of the deck right in front of the doors. There is a full stove, coffee maker and full size fridge/freezer. All kitchen utensils are provided along with ice trays. There are three markets in town (that we found, maybe more) and even though it says in the book in villa that all groceries are closed on Sunday, they were open until 1 pm which we were glad to find being that we had come in on a Saturday afternoon. The water is fine to drink. Prices on the island are reasonable for an island. We did not find a lot of fantastic food, but some was very good. I learned about ground provisions and all of the different ways to eat them. We were disappointed in the seafood selection as mahi mahi seemed to be almost all we could find. We did drive one day all the way up north and found and excellent restaurant where we had flying fish and red snapper – but that is a separate review. The restaurant here at Stonefield was okay. We are foodies though, and very hard to please! If you are looking for 5 stars, you may want to consider somewhere else, but I think for the island it comes pretty damn close and for the dollars cannot be beat! I would definitely recommend to anyone and will take with me wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Jacaranda was wonderful. Great view! Had air in the bedroom. Very private! Large. Private stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We couldn't have found a more romantic, private and picturesque villa on this southwest side of the island -- near Petit Pieton. The natural beauty of the setting can't be beat, and who could resist the breezes gently rocking our hammock on the veranda overlooking the nightly sunsets, private pool and comfortable kingsize poster bed draped in mosquito netting. We could have spent our entire trip without leaving our villa. Service was excellent and our hosts friendly and hospitable. Stonefield is conveniently located near wonderful snorkeling at Sugar Beach and Anse Chastanet beaches -- and operates a shuttle that regularly takes you down the dramatic inclined slopes to nearby Sugar Beach. Cocktails and dinner are available at the resort's own restaurant, The Mango Tree, and the resort is well-situated for hikes to the Botanical Gardens and Diamond Falls in the nearby town of Soufriere and memorable evenings of fine dining, exquisite views, caribbean music and dancing at the nearby 5-star restaurant Boucan at Hotel Chocolat (on a cocoa plantation) and Dasheene Restaurant and Bar at the Ladera Resort (also a former sugar, cocoa plantation). We couldn't have enjoyed our trip more! The place was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I spent four amazing days at the Stonefield Resort outside of Soufriere and loved every moment of it. It was like an unplanned second honeymoon. The "rooms" are simply wonderful--actually, large individual villas with private plunge pools, outdoor showers, outside decks, and plenty of space in the bed and bathrooms. The staff were just as great, from the warm welcome upon arrival to the willingness to make suggestions and arrangements. As others have noted, the view from the resort is one of the best in the world, and we've traveled widely. Stonefield provides a shuttle to the Sugar Bay Resort and it beautiful beach between the Pitons and arranged for a taxis to Anse Chastnet--both excellent snorkeling sites. In sum, it was a 5 star experience at a price slightly lower that the surrounding competitors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
981 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,303 reviews
8.7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonefield Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Villa Resort

Address: Stonefield Estate | Saint Lucia, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £241 - £1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 27 lush acres near the rain forest and what is now a world heritage site. It is therefore secluded yet in the heart of all of St.Lucia's natural attractions like the open volcano, botanical gardens, rain forest, waterfalls, and other fine dining to enhance your experience of the island's local flavour. It captures the famous Petit Piton and Caribbean sea. Its villas have an open air design with 4 poster beds, hammocks, private garden showers and private pools. This resort was rated the number 1 resort in Soufriere by discriminating travelers - TripAdvisor. Please note that all guests at Stonefield must be 18 and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stonefield Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Estate Villa Hotel
Stonefield Estate Villa Resort And Spa
Stonefield Estate Hotel
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing