We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“anse mamin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anse Mamin

Anse Mamin
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An old sugar plantation with a knot of bike trails along the estate.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“anse mamin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Anse mamin is not only for the tourists.It is a gem of a beach,kept clean from the hotel employees and boasts bathrooms and a little eatery.Go there preferably by boat and dont forget to explore the surrounding areas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank charliebrownish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    79
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet beach and amazing burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This beach is a short (ten minute) walk from Anse Chastanet resort. It's a smaller alternative to the main beach and is very secluded and beautiful. It has some good snorkelling and sun beds available. The jungle biking is brilliant with about 5 or 6 excellent trails for all different abilities. The bikes are top of the range and the hire facility is just behind the beach. Tyson who works there was very helpful.

Food-wise the cold juices and cocktails are nice, and the beach burgers are gorgeous. We had the spicy one with smoked cheese, it was actually quite mild but delicious anyway. The only downside is that the bar closes at 3pm and on the day we went back, especially for another burger they wouldn't serve us because they had already started to clear away for the day even though it was before 3pm, so get there in plenty of time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Out of the way gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were staying at Sugar Beach and had heard of Anse Mamim, so we grabbed a water taxi ($140 EC rt for 2) and headed to Anse Chastenet. From that beach it's a short 5-10 minute walk to Mamim. Aside from being a great secluded beach with very few patrons (even though it is part of Anse Chastanet), it has a large amount of trails in the little valley behind the beach. I went exploring for about 45 minutes back there through the trees and 18 century sugar mill ruins.
They have a great little bar (shack) that made a mean mojito and a grill that is famous for its burgers. I had read that the burgers were to die for and were as good as anything in the states. Naturally, I had to try one. Was it the best burger in the world...no. Was it the best on St Lucia....probably. In any case, it was darn good and I devoured it!
In sum, a great place to get away and well worth the cost to try something different.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KailuaBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our favorite beach in St. Lucia - beautiful palms, light sand and beautiful clear waters. We got there right as the jungle bar closed unfortunately and didn't get our cheeseburger in paradise, but aside from that - nearly perfect spot! Super romantic and private.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, Beautiful Beach Just a Short Walk from Anse Chastanet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I don't have too much to add to other reviews here. But my friends and I were staying at a villa just up the road from Anse Chastanet, so the additional 5 minute walk to this beach was more than worth it. It was very quiet, with lots of shaded areas where you could set up a towel or chair (since we were not guests at the resort). The water was very nice and clear, though the black sand did get pretty hot in the afternoons. We spent 3 afternoons there the week we visited St. Lucia and really enjoyed every minute. Try the "Coco Loco" from the Beach Bar!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anse Mamin also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 

Been to Anse Mamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing