We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful church!”

Ranked #21 of 36 things to do in Soufriere
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An imposing Catholic Church looming over the Soufrière town square.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful church!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We attended Mass here while on our honeymoon. The priest was awesome! He spoke to us afterward, offered us a blessing, and then gave us advice about things to do around Soufriere!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty Catholic Church”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

As a church goer, I walked past on Sunday and wished I'd walked into town earlier and attended the service. Such lovely singing was coming out. Situated in the square it is right at the heart of Soufriere which is lovely.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

the service started on time. there were many parishioners and lots of enthusiastic singing. the sermon was uplifting and dynamic so we stayed awake through it although it is obvious that a new sound system is needed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Creole Catholicism”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

It was fairly difficult to get out of our resort and go into Mass, and we weren't really even sure what time it started but we made it happen. We saw somewhere online that there was an 8:30 Mass which turned out to be sort of true. I think that's the official start time, but they didn't get started until 8:45. It fits the laid back culture. The church is a beautiful old French colonial building and they had put up a bunch of plaid to celebrate the Creole Fest that was going on that day.

The music combined traditional organ hymns with an African-rooted spiritual. It was gorgeous and the congregation mostly sang with.

We thought we were in for a long day when they did the first reading in Creole, then the psalm and second reading. Creole is a broken French and we couldn't understand any of it. Luckily they did the Gospel in both English and Creole and the pastor gave his homily in English (not usual, evidently). The pastor was a great speaker and gave us insight into the community and the state of the church on the island, which evidently is not so good.

If you're in Soufriere, you should definitely do your best to go to Mass here or stop by another time. It's is a wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, TN.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful church.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were there just before the 12:30 mass. Very sweet people and the interior was breathtaking. Seats 2000 people and was told that on Sunday there were no empty seats.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of the Assumption also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Church of the Assumption? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing