We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a cosmetic makeover.”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Needs a cosmetic makeover.”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Whilst working in St Lucia stayed 3 nights at La Haut in late July over a weekend and it should be noted that is was low season.
Positives -
Views to die for, fantastic scenery. Two nice swimming pools including the owners infinity pool with the Pitons as a backdrop.
Service - Very polite and efficient, the food was fantastic.
Negatives
Was resonably priced as we stayed in one of the more basic room and found the decor and fittings to be very basic and shoddy.
Had an ants nest in my bathroom which for some reason attracted to the bathroom mat. That got chucked out.
Now this might just be me but found the room to have a strong chlorine type smell. A work collegue suggested that this may have been the Lilly plants that were resident there!! Who knows.
I have to agree with others that the communal areas, like the decking and around the pool were in a desperate need of decoration.
The swimming pools needed additional cleaning as at times were very uninviting due to the pollen seeds and other follage in them.
I would like to add on a positive note, if I was back in St Lucia I would definately return for a few days as hopefully the faults can easily be rectified. What you cannot replace is the absolutely fantastic views and the service that the staff endevour to provide.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarletfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    130
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
57
269
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Often hotel photos only show A great view that it is just possible to see and a room that is nothing like the one you end up in. Well don't worry, the view of the Pitons is truly amazing from wherever you are on this plantation and the photos are exact. We stayed in the end room on the first floor of the plantation house. Fresh fruit was supplied daily, water in the fridge on arrival and hibiscus flowers adorned the room and bed. The view was amazing, sitting on the balcony was so relaxing. Walk the owners property and see all the animals. Take a torch at night and investigate the sound of the night creatures and insects. Watch out for large land crabs! This is not Rodney bay or a commercialised area, that's why we loved it.Staff very friendly, restaurant superb with only fresh local produce served. breakfast was cooked to order, with local fruit juices, tamarind and sugar apple were in season in August, make sure and have the creole bread.

Room Tip: I think there were other rooms elsewhere on the property, don't know if they had air conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charencol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vieux Fort, Vieux-Fort, St. Lucia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

OMG!!!!! Wonderful scenery and view from our room. Very helpful and courteous staff(Cassandra and Glenda) Very nice and scrumptious creole breakfast. Fresh fruits in the room daily was an added plus. I really didn't wanna leave LOL, but we are denifitely going to return soon. Thank you guys for all you did to make our stay special!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha_D_12627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

What can i say, thought i had saw everything,, but the view of the piton's was breath taking.... the plantation and its staff were great... the owners inifinity pool just made us speechless.... food was first class and seeing the animals and the fruit growing on the plantation was something i will always remember,,, we stayed at cashew number 1. a lovely room with a four poster bed, mosqi net and everything. only thing was that due to the heat we would have needed 2 ceiling fans as one was not enough.... or air conditioning would help. all in all one of my best holidays. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broxi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Absolutely fabulous views and location above st Lucia with stunning vista to the Pitons. The room was huge, very clean and well laid out, with a wonderful balcony where I parked my bicycle ~ the bike has never ever had such a glorious resting place! Staff were lovely, and the infinity pool is a magical experience, watching the sun set whilst in the pool was one of the best memories I have. The food is clean and healthy and tasty. As a picky single female traveller, this was an ideal place to stay and I felt very privileged that this was my first place to stay in st Lucia. It started my holiday in the best way possible, and contributed to the great time I had whilst travelling round there. I would wholeheartedly recommend La Haut.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

You will not find a better place to view the beautiful Pitons. But I did not sleep well at all in our room. We were in the Cashew rooms which provide great views but no AC. I have read in other reviews that there are rooms with AC but they do not have as good or any views of the Pitons.The room had a fan but was so noisy we had to turn it off. We heard our neighbors from about 1am to 3am. We had a great big patio and a large room I just wish there was a standing fan or AC. We used the owners vanishing edge pool, which has amazing views. Dinner was good not great, the free breakfast was good. Great views from the restaurant. Overall, the room and property are very pretty but the lack of AC will make me try somewhere new when I return to St.Lucia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinDelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at La Haut 10 nights in April/May and truly enjoyed every bit of it. If youa re looking for a fancy exclusive place this isn't it but for us it was exactly what we were looking for. Wonderful property and great friendly staff. We had the Cashew1 room and we believe it is the best room on the property. The view is unbeatable! Air condition would be great but not having it didn't take away from our great experience. We loved the plantation settings and enjoyed the farm feel with the animals. We would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: The premium vista rooms, especially Cashew 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeylore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Property: La Haut Resort
Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing