We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views in cozy atmosphere”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views in cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

La Haut is a place we will definitely return to! Situated on the side of a mountain overlooking the town of Soufriere and The Pitons (a UNESCO world heritage sight) the views are spectacular! The staff was very friendly, welcoming and there was no request they could not accommodate. Our room was very nice, well appointed with a small kitchen (big enough to stock with snacks, make hot tea, coffee, etc.) mosquito netting over the bed and a hammock on the porch. Each day we ended our afternoon laying in the hammock watching the sun set. Each day we took advantage of the complimentary shuttle to either Sugar Beach or Anse Chastanet (both recently voted in top 10 beaches) and either Gus, Paul or Vienny drove us into town for other afternoon adventures or dinner in the evening. I highly suggest getting to know the staff as they are who create your experience and love talking about their home. On our last evening at La Haut the gracious owners hosted guests down at their house for cocktails. Their private residence is where the infinity pool is located and they welcome guests to use during daylight hours. The views from that pool are stunning! For a authentic St Lucian experience that is slower paced I highly recommend you stay at La Haut. Leave your cell phones and digital devices turned off and connect with the experience of La Haut. Order some chocolate tea (La Haut is a working cocoa plantation), lay in the hammock and soak up some sun!

Room Tip: Highly suggest the Cashew Rooms. The first night we stayed in a room by the office but were awakened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberFHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear AmberFHO,

Thank you for your glowing review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

It is gratifying to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations in all areas. Thank you for the recommendation, which we greatly appreciate.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    131
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
57
270
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

La Haut is a beautiful plantation with a good restaurant and access to an unbelievably gorgeous infinity pool.

Staff member, Thecla, was especially helpful and very kind.

The inclusive breakfast was great!

Complimentary shuttles leave at 10am and will take you to the nearby beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VigeeBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear VigeeBlue,


Thank you for your short and sweet review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!


We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and our team member Thecla contributed to a relaxing vacation.


Once again, thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to your return visit.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at La Haut for one night & the room was very clean & bed extremely comfortable.

The grounds were well-manicured & general surroundings well-kept.

The patio had a hammock to laze in, while we enjoyed the Fabulous view.

Staff were very pleasant & helpful which made us feel welcome.

We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The "Cashew" rooms are directly facing the Pitons, which is an amazing, "out of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Jenny C,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and all what we had to offer.

Thank you for the recommendation, which we deeply appreciate.

Once again, thank you for your glowing review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

La Haut is a lovely place--a quaint boutique-style hotel with an old world feel. The beds were SO comfortable! The staff are friendly and helpful. Views are incredible, the grounds are gorgeous, and the restaurant delicious. We highly recommend this resort for folks looking for a more authentic and slower-paced experience in St. Lucia. Can't wait till we are able to return... :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Paul B,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the amenities, staff, restaurant and gorgeous views contributed to a relaxing vacation.

Once again, thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night and really enjoyed it - our room was upgraded to detached pavilion with a large first floor balcony with the most spectacular of the Pitons.

The staff very friendly and sun set reception was nice touch. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear RobertJ55,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. Thank you for the recommendation, we appreciate it.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again perhaps for a longer stay.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at La Haut for 7 days and enjoyed every minute of our stay. From the minute we booked with La Haut, they were extremely helpful. They emailed detailed directions from the airport to La Haut (we rented a car). Upon arrival, the views from La Haut are absolutely amazing! The staff was friendly, helpful, and great. The bed in the room was very comfortable and we had a small fridge and microwave in the room which was helpful for drinks and snacks. We were able to sit on the porch and overlook the Pitons. The restaurant was amazing as well. We had a breakfast buffet each morning with made to order eggs/bacon/ham. If you are looking for a laid back relaxing place to stay, then La Haut is the place. It was not busy with several people like some of the other resorts that we saw when exploring the island. Amazing place that we will return to one day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Kara L,

Thank you for taking time and making an effort to share your experience regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are glad that were able to meet and exceed your expectations in all areas.

Once again, thank you for your glowing review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in La Haut for just one night of our two night stay.
I had booked a King Room with a mountain view, but we got room 6 above the hotel office block.
This room was hot and noisy, although quite large, it had no a/c and heat, noise and insects came through the unglazed windows, the view of the Pitons could only be seen from the room if you sat at the head of the bed.
One night had been prepaid on booking in the UK, when I said we wouldn't stay another night I was asked to pay 25% of the cost for the second night, this was waived after I described the short comings of our stay.
So always ask which room you'll be staying in. Soufriere botanical gardens very nice.

Room Tip: Check your room no. if it's glazed, if it has a/c and a tv if that's what you want as all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear SuGriff,

We appreciate you taking time out to share your experience of your stay at our resort.

The room is our lowest priced because of restrictive views being located towards the back and near the road. Only a few of our rooms are air-conditioned and none have TV since the Christmas Eve storm. However, we did offer you an upgrade to a better room at no additional cost, which you declined. The total room stay is due prior to arrival however in light of your disappointment you only paid for the one night that you stayed.


We regret that your stay failed to meet with your expectation and we hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#3 of 11 in Soufriere
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Property: La Haut Resort
Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing