We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days in Paradise”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wonderful service, wonderful rooms, wonderful food, wonderful view. We could not have picked a better place at which to get married.
Before we arrived, communication was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with a gorgeous view from the balcony of the two pitons. The food in the restaurant was excellent; our favorite was the marvelous French toast at breakfast, as well as all the homegrown vegetables. We loved relaxing on the balcony and at the pools. The atmosphere is pleasant and laid-back. The staff is extremely service-minded, and quickly learned out names. They felt like friends when we left. They took good care of getting us to and from the places we wanted to visit, and also gave good recommendations for what to see and where else to eat. Cindy managed all the paperwork for the marriage very efficiently. Overall, we felt extremely well taken care of, almost cuddled, which is exactly what we needed during an otherwise cold and gloomy winter.
We are definitely returning to La Haut as soon as we can, probably for each of our anniversaries.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Anders W,

Thank you for choosing La Haut Plantation Resort for your wedding!

It is gratifying to know that you had a wonderful experience and the staff provided exceptional service. We are glad to hear that Cindy showed great attention to make your wedding day magical.

Once again, thank you for your glowing comments and we look forward to celebrating many anniversaries with you.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Plantation was a little different than I expected from the pictures. It's a somewhat sprawling compound with a few different sections. We stayed in the main building near the restaurant, which was very convenient. The rooms were nice. Not ostentatious certainly but very functional. The views from the infinity pool provided some of the greatest pictures I've ever seen. Stunning.

At the time of our visit, the TV system was down but wireless worked for our media needs (for a family of six!).

I thought the service was outstanding. The staff--from the restaurant to the admin to the maids to the owners--went out of their way to get to know us, and we were sad to leave our new friends on departure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlfoster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear tlfoster1,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer especially the stunning views from the infinity pool and efficient service from the staff.

Our rooms have no TV system because cable lines need to be run from town since the Christmas trough. We are working assiduously to have the problem rectified however; we do apologize for the inconvenience.

Once again, thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place is just amazing! food, service rooms! just speechless!
I book in my rooms with Cindy Charles, who was a great help of explaining to and showing us around.
We booked in the Deluxe King Room and my parents in the Two-Bedroom Villa. It was amazing!
By far the best hotel i have stayed in with such great services.
Wanna give a great thank you to the bar and restaurant stuff that made our family holiday amazing, they are: Shareline, Vernite, Aliciea, Jennie and Lauriana.
This hotel had better service then the Ladera hotel! as their cocktails here are better! stuff are friendlier and the rooms are speechless amazing!!
Thank you again for such hospitality! See you next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoli302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Yolie302,


Thank you for your review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!


We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay tremendously and our team members mentioned contributed to an amazing vacation. They will be commended for a job well done.


Once again, thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to your return visit soon.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

In terms of value for money, don't stay at La Haut. Though you are paying hundreds of dollars, this resort does not do anything special. While we had no single terrible experience that was glaring, everything was subpar and disappointing. We did not feel taken care of at all. For example, when we came home one evening, there were no sheets on our bed. While the staff fixed it when we brought it to their attention, there were no apologies for the inconvenience of having to walk back to the office in the middle of the night and wait 45 minutes to get sheets on our bed--which shouldn't happen at a resort with this rate/price. When we arrived, the safe was not working, and it wasn't till we pushed back substantially that they fixed it with a master key. Other customers had no safe for the duration of their stays because they didn't bother to come in with a master key to reset the safes in between customers. Also, while you will see TVs and large bed posts in the room photos listed, there are no TVs (just empty TV stands) and no bed posts in the rooms.The view from the restaurant was lovely, but they could cut back some overgrown hedges and make it spectacular. They also had florescent lighting in the restaurant because their other lighting system was broken for the duration of our stay. When you charge $30 plus for an entree and $8 for a bottle of water, you should take care of these details, don't you think? Lastly, they quoted us in US$ on the credit card statements, but then charged us in Caribbean $ which gave us big foreign transaction fees that could have been avoided if they'd quoted us in Caribbean in the first place.

If you stroll down to the owner's home, everything is immaculate and beautiful. If the owners spent a little of their time and money making the resort as lovely as their home, it would be worth the price. But as is, it was tremendously disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IS-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your recent stay at our Resort!

We greatly appreciate guest comments as it helps us to improve our service and product.

After leaving the property you made many unhappy telephone calls to us about the exchange difference on your credit card statement. You objected to being quoted in US$ and then charged in EC$ on your credit card statement. When the payment was processed by us on your credit card, it was evident when you signed the credit card slips that it was in EC$. You had no objection to this at the time. It became an issue when you got your credit card statements from your bank and there were exchange differences. We are fixed to the US$ in St Lucia but we have no control over the exchange fluctuations and differences of other countries when they convert the EC$ to US$ on your credit card statement. You are the first guest to vehemently oppose the exchange difference which is beyond our control.

We benefit from constructive criticism and factual information. Clean bedsheets were provided in your room at all times. The problem one evening was with a duvet cover which was immediately rectified by the senior staff on duty. The issue of your safe being set with a master key was correct but there was no delay as it was done at the time of your check-in. Furthermore you are assuming that the problem with the safes in the other two rooms was the same situation and in all due respect it was not. The other room safes had a technical problem requiring them to be replaced which they have been. (We live on a small island and often when you need to replace something it is unavailable on the island- it is a fact of life in our region). Regarding the furnishings in the rooms, If you look at the rooms pictures on our website, you will see that each room has different furnishings.

Our TV reception is brought by us personally from the town of Soufriere to the resort as the provider have no service in our area. As a result of damage due to the tropical trough in December, our entire system needs to be replaced. This has to be done in conjunction with the service provider. We agree that this should have been brought to your attention when you booked if it was known at the time.

We deeply regret that you failed to enjoy your stay with us as it is not in our interest to have unhappy guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Truly paradise. The location is perfect for hiking and spending the day at the beach. The view is unbeatable, truly the best in St Lucia. We used a Groupon which made our last minute (truly!) honeymoon really affordable. The included breakfast buffet was delicious and generous. We ate an incredible dinner there as well. The owners are incredibly friendly, interesting and graciuos. They open their pool to you during the day as well as invite you into their stunning home for cocktail hour on Mondays. They have a free shuttle to one of the best-known beaches on the island and are very close taxi rides to the volcanic mud baths, hot springs and Pitons. We will definitely go back to celebrate an anniversary there. Thank you for all your hospitality!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraMc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear LauraMc68,

Thank you for your short and sweet review regarding your experience here at La Haut Plantation Resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel amenities, food and beverage offerings, Manager's Cocktail and everything else that we had to offer. We value your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your glowing comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for your anniversary.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We just returned from a trip to St Lucia during which we spend the 1st 4 days at La Haut and it was wonderful. We used a Groupon (which went smoothly) and brought the nightly cost to about $120 + tax which is a steal for St Lucia. We had a superior deluxe room on the 2nd floor of the main guest building with views of the Pitons. We stayed both here and at a large all-inclusive (Sandals) and of course it is two vastly different experiences - neither for better or worse just different. This is a classic B&B, cozy, friendly and you'll likely get to know everyone else staying here. We had a rental car and La Haut was our base for exploring the many natural wonders in the Soufriere area which beats having to be bussed down from all the resorts in the north of the island.

I personally wouldn't do the all-inclusive deal with La Haut simply because that would take away from exploring all the local options and they only have one restaurant which may get old. However, we had dinner twice at the restaurant and loved it. Great service, great view, and delicious food (Chicken Callypso - have to try it). Also much better pricing than other resort restaurants in the area with no penalty in quality and more generous portions. Also watch out for the complimentary rum and punch on arrival - it will sneak up on you! We did not use the available shuttle to the beach since we had a car, but others did. We would recommend the complimentary plantation tour which was more interesting than expected and you'll actually learn what's on the breakfast table. (which by the way was fresh, hearty, and excellent - best French toast and banana fritters around).

The best thing about La Haut is of course the view - especially the one from the infinity pool. If there is a better view from any pool on earth, please let me know. You can easily see the Pitons, Soufriere, the Caribean Sea, and steam from St Lucia's volcano from your pool chair high on the side of the mountains.

There are a few quirks about La Haut (which didn't bother us but be aware). The infinity pool is a few hundred yards down a driveway at the owner's house from the main guesthouse. If the owner has company they may all be at the pool (rare though) - but we felt like we were treated as welcomed guests regardless and didn't feel awkward. There is no TV (who need's it with the view from your balcony). WiFi worked fine. No A/C which had us a little worried but open the windows and the mountain breeze cools things off quickly - mosquitoes were not as bad was what we worried about. Also, it's a working plantation, so you may here people working outside in the morning if you're a late sleeper. We loved this place and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Nick M,

Thank you for providing us with your detailed review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to say how glad we are that we were able to create a memorable experience for you and that you were satisfied with all our offerings especially in the food and beverage department.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

La Haut is a place we will definitely return to! Situated on the side of a mountain overlooking the town of Soufriere and The Pitons (a UNESCO world heritage sight) the views are spectacular! The staff was very friendly, welcoming and there was no request they could not accommodate. Our room was very nice, well appointed with a small kitchen (big enough to stock with snacks, make hot tea, coffee, etc.) mosquito netting over the bed and a hammock on the porch. Each day we ended our afternoon laying in the hammock watching the sun set. Each day we took advantage of the complimentary shuttle to either Sugar Beach or Anse Chastanet (both recently voted in top 10 beaches) and either Gus, Paul or Vienny drove us into town for other afternoon adventures or dinner in the evening. I highly suggest getting to know the staff as they are who create your experience and love talking about their home. On our last evening at La Haut the gracious owners hosted guests down at their house for cocktails. Their private residence is where the infinity pool is located and they welcome guests to use during daylight hours. The views from that pool are stunning! For a authentic St Lucian experience that is slower paced I highly recommend you stay at La Haut. Leave your cell phones and digital devices turned off and connect with the experience of La Haut. Order some chocolate tea (La Haut is a working cocoa plantation), lay in the hammock and soak up some sun!

Room Tip: Highly suggest the Cashew Rooms. The first night we stayed in a room by the office but were awakened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberFHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear AmberFHO,

Thank you for your glowing review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

It is gratifying to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations in all areas. Thank you for the recommendation, which we greatly appreciate.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range: £92 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing