We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary at La Haut”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at La Haut and would recommend to anyone. The views of the Pitons, rooms and service were excellent and, above all, the price is unbeatable (you won't find another resort in Soufriére that offers such high quality and romantic atmosphere at such a reasonable price). All of the staff members were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we were having a pleasant stay. We stayed in the Premium Vista cashew rooms and it was well worth the extra cost - our room was huge, clean, and had an amazing view of the Pitons (although not air conditioned). The Delicé restaurant was also excellent and had a wide selection of entrees, including vegetarian. The breakfast included in the room rates was very good.

The only recommendation we would make to travelers staying at La Haut is to rent a car. La Haut offers a shuttle service to the nearby beaches and Soufriére, but the times are very limited (departing at 10pm for the beach and returning at 4pm). If you want to try other restaurants or travel to other parts of Saint Lucia, you're better off renting a car because the taxi's are very expensive (it cost us $60 roundtrip in cabs just to go to other restaurants within 10 minutes of the resort).

Room Tip: The Premium Vista/Cashew rooms were, in our opinion, the best. Although the room does not have air c...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Jacqueline D,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed all our amenities and exceptional service offered by our team members. It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

Thank you for the recommendation which we really appreciate.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for La Haut Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

La Haut is a fantastic place if you're looking for a small & charming B&B close to all the attractions of Soufriere. We stayed two nights in a superior deluxe room (upstairs) and two nights in the Fond Cannes Units. The unit is a few minutes drive down the road so you're not on the same area as the main buildings and restaurant but the rooms are newer and more modern and we found it quieter even though it was close the road. La Haut is a working farm so if you're a light sleeper, you may be woken up in the morning. It's not a 5 star resort but if you're looking for a nice place to stay without spending too much money, La Haut is a great choice.

Rooms are spacious and of course the views are amazing. The infinity pool by the owner's house is incredible and you can use it during daylight hours. Breakfast is included and was very tasty (I loved the homemade banana jam and made to order omelettes!) and food/drinks were great at the restaurant. Martha's Table near Sugar beach is great for some local fare so check it out if you have time.

If you're a confident driver, rent a car/jeep - we found this to be a great way to see the sights. We got our car rental from Drive-O-Matic and picked it up from the airport and had no problem driving it to Soufriere. Roads are windy and locals would overtake us but apart from that, we had no issues.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We're coming back to St Lucia in Dec to get married and have recommended most of our guests to stay at La Haut.

One tip - go to Jade Mountain for sunset cocktails. Just ring on the day and make a reservation for drinks. $5 beers and one of the most incredible views of the Pitons. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms have A/C so make sure you decide if you'll be okay without. Our rooms only ha...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC_Ozzie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experience at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all what we had to offer, from our spacious and comfortable accommodations to our food and beverage offerings.

Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Don't let the price fool you!!!
My wife and I wanted the longest trip possible and room price dictates that! You want the boxes possible for the cheapest price.
And wow is this resort undervalued!!
Stay in the cashew or honeymoon suites and you will swear you paid $600 a night. Then you walk or drive up to the restaurant and pick anything on the menu. It's all amazing and for only around $19 a plate US. The plated food is absolutely 5-star dining with a view to die for the whole time.
Giant free buffet breakfast with everything and more. (That saves you $12 a day pp right there)
Staff is great.
All food is from their plantation! Vegetable gardens everywhere, they make their own chocolate from the cocoa trees for the chocolate on the desserts. It's crazy!
Will go back there every time.
If Sandals and Mega Resorts with malls and casinos is not your scene. You will be in heaven here. We were!
P.S. Don't stay here without a rental car!!! They're $65 a day and that's what one taxi ride will cost you. Well well worth it.
And don't let the wrong side of the road scare you from getting one. I caught on in 5 min and had a blast on the curvy roads. Only in the towns are they narrow and you have to be careful. The main highways are great.
Stay at La Haut. You won't regret it. Were going to go there next time. It is magical there.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazorNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear RazorNation,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We are especially glad to know that you enjoyed our offerings in the food and beverage department.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

If u are looking for an escape with a spectacular breath-taking view! La haut is the place to be...we enjoyed our hide out, away from city work life and enjoying cottage life , fresh air !...Felt like a home away from home...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Natasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Natasha,

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are delighted to know that your experience here was ideal.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wonderful service, wonderful rooms, wonderful food, wonderful view. We could not have picked a better place at which to get married.
Before we arrived, communication was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with a gorgeous view from the balcony of the two pitons. The food in the restaurant was excellent; our favorite was the marvelous French toast at breakfast, as well as all the homegrown vegetables. We loved relaxing on the balcony and at the pools. The atmosphere is pleasant and laid-back. The staff is extremely service-minded, and quickly learned out names. They felt like friends when we left. They took good care of getting us to and from the places we wanted to visit, and also gave good recommendations for what to see and where else to eat. Cindy managed all the paperwork for the marriage very efficiently. Overall, we felt extremely well taken care of, almost cuddled, which is exactly what we needed during an otherwise cold and gloomy winter.
We are definitely returning to La Haut as soon as we can, probably for each of our anniversaries.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Anders W,

Thank you for choosing La Haut Plantation Resort for your wedding!

It is gratifying to know that you had a wonderful experience and the staff provided exceptional service. We are glad to hear that Cindy showed great attention to make your wedding day magical.

Once again, thank you for your glowing comments and we look forward to celebrating many anniversaries with you.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Plantation was a little different than I expected from the pictures. It's a somewhat sprawling compound with a few different sections. We stayed in the main building near the restaurant, which was very convenient. The rooms were nice. Not ostentatious certainly but very functional. The views from the infinity pool provided some of the greatest pictures I've ever seen. Stunning.

At the time of our visit, the TV system was down but wireless worked for our media needs (for a family of six!).

I thought the service was outstanding. The staff--from the restaurant to the admin to the maids to the owners--went out of their way to get to know us, and we were sad to leave our new friends on departure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlfoster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear tlfoster1,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer especially the stunning views from the infinity pool and efficient service from the staff.

Our rooms have no TV system because cable lines need to be run from town since the Christmas trough. We are working assiduously to have the problem rectified however; we do apologize for the inconvenience.

Once again, thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place is just amazing! food, service rooms! just speechless!
I book in my rooms with Cindy Charles, who was a great help of explaining to and showing us around.
We booked in the Deluxe King Room and my parents in the Two-Bedroom Villa. It was amazing!
By far the best hotel i have stayed in with such great services.
Wanna give a great thank you to the bar and restaurant stuff that made our family holiday amazing, they are: Shareline, Vernite, Aliciea, Jennie and Lauriana.
This hotel had better service then the Ladera hotel! as their cocktails here are better! stuff are friendlier and the rooms are speechless amazing!!
Thank you again for such hospitality! See you next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoli302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Yolie302,


Thank you for your review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!


We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay tremendously and our team members mentioned contributed to an amazing vacation. They will be commended for a job well done.


Once again, thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to your return visit soon.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
949 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range: £97 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing