We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Haut Resort
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calabash Mountain Villa(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$630
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,404
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
274
142
36
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
142
36
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscashew roomsowner's houseinfinity poolsuperior deluxe roomst luciamain buildingworking plantationstunning viewssoufriere areasmall kitchenettegreat balconyfresh fruitrental caranse chastanet beachmain poolmosquito nethoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The view is amazing at this place, but the rest of it ranges from average at best to horrible. The setting is beautiful--- way up in the mountains with incredible views. That is where the "great" about this place stops. First of all, our accommodations bordered on slum-like. I am not kidding. The people who say this is so nice have 2 star standards-- maybe 1 star. It's a pit. The owner lives on the property in a nice house about a 5 minute walk down a dirt road. And clearly uses this hotel to subsidize his lifestyle. The main resort is a dump. When you look at the infinity pool pics, it is at the owner's house, and you can go down there and use the pool. (How weird is that?) The room we were in had no A/C, and the fan did not work. We were in room 7-something. It was disgusting-- dated, a dump, a total dump. Broken glass in the windows, for example. Off the charts bad. The staff would not get our bags out of our room to bring down to the front-- they said the taxi would do that. What the heck? You get the idea...this is a super low class "resort". I don't know how we got tricked into booking this. The dining setting is nice-- outdoors, campy, but nice view-- but they were out of CHEESE for omelets, for example. Food was low mediocre. Lots of German hiking tourists and that sort. I would never go there again.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room in the front of the main building. Better yet, do not go there.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank irish570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at La Haut and would recommend to anyone. The views of the Pitons, rooms and service were excellent and, above all, the price is unbeatable (you won't find another resort in Soufriére that offers such high quality and romantic atmosphere at such a reasonable price). All of the staff members were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we were having a pleasant stay. We stayed in the Premium Vista cashew rooms and it was well worth the extra cost - our room was huge, clean, and had an amazing view of the Pitons (although not air conditioned). The Delicé restaurant was also excellent and had a wide selection of entrees, including vegetarian. The breakfast included in the room rates was very good.

The only recommendation we would make to travelers staying at La Haut is to rent a car. La Haut offers a shuttle service to the nearby beaches and Soufriére, but the times are very limited (departing at 10pm for the beach and returning at 4pm). If you want to try other restaurants or travel to other parts of Saint Lucia, you're better off renting a car because the taxi's are very expensive (it cost us $60 roundtrip in cabs just to go to other restaurants within 10 minutes of the resort).

Room Tip: The Premium Vista/Cashew rooms were, in our opinion, the best. Although the room does not have air conditioning, the room has a ceiling fan and the room is very breezy when you open the door to the deck. The room had a stunning view of the Pitons and a hammock, and was close to the infinity pool. If you want air conditioning, you should stay in the regular room and request a room with AC (there were a few standard rooms with with air conditioning on the first floor).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Jacqueline D,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed all our amenities and exceptional service offered by our team members. It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

Thank you for the recommendation which we really appreciate.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

La Haut is a fantastic place if you're looking for a small & charming B&B close to all the attractions of Soufriere. We stayed two nights in a superior deluxe room (upstairs) and two nights in the Fond Cannes Units. The unit is a few minutes drive down the road so you're not on the same area as the main buildings and restaurant but the rooms are newer and more modern and we found it quieter even though it was close the road. La Haut is a working farm so if you're a light sleeper, you may be woken up in the morning. It's not a 5 star resort but if you're looking for a nice place to stay without spending too much money, La Haut is a great choice.

Rooms are spacious and of course the views are amazing. The infinity pool by the owner's house is incredible and you can use it during daylight hours. Breakfast is included and was very tasty (I loved the homemade banana jam and made to order omelettes!) and food/drinks were great at the restaurant. Martha's Table near Sugar beach is great for some local fare so check it out if you have time.

If you're a confident driver, rent a car/jeep - we found this to be a great way to see the sights. We got our car rental from Drive-O-Matic and picked it up from the airport and had no problem driving it to Soufriere. Roads are windy and locals would overtake us but apart from that, we had no issues.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We're coming back to St Lucia in Dec to get married and have recommended most of our guests to stay at La Haut.

One tip - go to Jade Mountain for sunset cocktails. Just ring on the day and make a reservation for drinks. $5 beers and one of the most incredible views of the Pitons. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms have A/C so make sure you decide if you'll be okay without. Our rooms only had fans which was fine but it did quite warm if the doors/windows were not fully opened.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC_Ozzie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experience at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all what we had to offer, from our spacious and comfortable accommodations to our food and beverage offerings.

Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Don't let the price fool you!!!
My wife and I wanted the longest trip possible and room price dictates that! You want the boxes possible for the cheapest price.
And wow is this resort undervalued!!
Stay in the cashew or honeymoon suites and you will swear you paid $600 a night. Then you walk or drive up to the restaurant and pick anything on the menu. It's all amazing and for only around $19 a plate US. The plated food is absolutely 5-star dining with a view to die for the whole time.
Giant free buffet breakfast with everything and more. (That saves you $12 a day pp right there)
Staff is great.
All food is from their plantation! Vegetable gardens everywhere, they make their own chocolate from the cocoa trees for the chocolate on the desserts. It's crazy!
Will go back there every time.
If Sandals and Mega Resorts with malls and casinos is not your scene. You will be in heaven here. We were!
P.S. Don't stay here without a rental car!!! They're $65 a day and that's what one taxi ride will cost you. Well well worth it.
And don't let the wrong side of the road scare you from getting one. I caught on in 5 min and had a blast on the curvy roads. Only in the towns are they narrow and you have to be careful. The main highways are great.
Stay at La Haut. You won't regret it. Were going to go there next time. It is magical there.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazorNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear RazorNation,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We are especially glad to know that you enjoyed our offerings in the food and beverage department.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

If u are looking for an escape with a spectacular breath-taking view! La haut is the place to be...we enjoyed our hide out, away from city work life and enjoying cottage life , fresh air !...Felt like a home away from home...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Natasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Natasha,

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are delighted to know that your experience here was ideal.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews