We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get much better than this”
Review of La Haut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Haut Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you want a five star, Waldorf-Astoria, cookie-cutter, could be anywhere in the world resort, this is not for you. Better you should go to Sandals. But if spectacular views, friendly and helpful staff, some local flavor, and motivation to explore off of the property is what you are looking for, you will be hard-pressed to find better than La Haut. A working farm, you get superb food, a rooster to wake you in the morning, and milk for your coffee that was still in the cow a few hours earlier. Everything is open-air. No a/c in the room, but who cares; the fans and mosquito netting are perfect. You have to wait a minute or two for hot water in the shower, but who cares; the shower window is enormous and looks out on the Pitons. No tv in the room, but who cares; we didn't travel 3000 miles to watch Jerry Springer. You can hear the reggae from town every evening because you are halfway up the mountain. The bartender can make your drink even if you can't describe it or name it; just tell her/him what you're trying to get to. Because there aren't many guests at any one time, you will meet them and so will your kids.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view....they are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Marc B,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay here with us.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    131
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
57
270
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a wonderful 5 day stay at La Haut. It is a beautiful property with a great staff. We stayed in a superior garden view room. The room had a/c but no tv. No tv was not an issue for us. (I think tv service was interrupted during December storm so should be restored in future). We enjoyed sitting in rockers on porch each morning and evening reading, talking and enjoying the view. Wifi worked fine. Rooms are a little outdated but they were clean and comfortable. Beds very comfy. Could use a little more lighting over table in eating area. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors. Can also hear staff arriving in morning. Not a big deal for us as we were getting up fairly early each day but could be issue for some I guess.

Breakfast was a nice buffet. Made to order omelets and fresh fruit and juices, pancakes and french toast with sugar cane syrup made on property, cereal, yogurts, mashed banana parfait as well as coffee and cocoa tea. We only had lunch there once but was good also. The other days they prepared lunch packs for us with sandwiches, fruit, yogurt, cake and bottle of water to take to beach and on our tour. Dinner was really good! My favorites were spinach crepes, seafood chowder, chicken calypso and the mahi mahi and coconut ice cream for dessert. The staff at restaurant was super. Melisa was especially sweet.

There are 2 pools. One is by restaurant and the other is down at owner's house a short walk down the hill. This is the infinity pool. Both pools have great views but infinity pool was our favorite.

The grounds are great. Lots of mango trees. They also grow their own produce so there are wonderful gardens. They also make sugar cane syrup. Fun to watch the process.....and they made us a drink with rum and the sugar cane juice...yummy!

We took the shuttle to the black sand beach at Anse Chastenet. Nice beach but only 3 cabanas for rent to public. All others are for guests of Anse Chastenet and Jade Mountain. You can also use the bar/restaurant there. The beach was just a little rocky in spots but we were way down at end past last cabana and perfectly rock free down there. There is also a 2nd beach a short walk down a path.

Our driver was fantastic! Viennie(sp?) Was our driver day of our tour and was so fun! He even brought us to town one evening for a medicine run. And he came with us into grocery store to help us find our items. We were also lucky enough to have him drive us back to airport. We arranged airport transfers through La Haut and they were wating right outside terminal.

We truly had a great experience at La Haut. From the booking process to our drive back to the airport everything was great. Glenda answered all of my emails with tons of questions. Cindy was also incredible!

If you are looking for a smaller property where you can unwind and relax with great service I suggest staying at La Haut. I will be back!

Teresa D







Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied and enjoyed everything we had to offer as we try our utmost to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay. The team will be happy to read your glowing comments.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The view is amazing at this place, but the rest of it ranges from average at best to horrible. The setting is beautiful--- way up in the mountains with incredible views. That is where the "great" about this place stops. First of all, our accommodations bordered on slum-like. I am not kidding. The people who say this is so nice have 2 star standards-- maybe 1 star. It's a pit. The owner lives on the property in a nice house about a 5 minute walk down a dirt road. And clearly uses this hotel to subsidize his lifestyle. The main resort is a dump. When you look at the infinity pool pics, it is at the owner's house, and you can go down there and use the pool. (How weird is that?) The room we were in had no A/C, and the fan did not work. We were in room 7-something. It was disgusting-- dated, a dump, a total dump. Broken glass in the windows, for example. Off the charts bad. The staff would not get our bags out of our room to bring down to the front-- they said the taxi would do that. What the heck? You get the idea...this is a super low class "resort". I don't know how we got tricked into booking this. The dining setting is nice-- outdoors, campy, but nice view-- but they were out of CHEESE for omelets, for example. Food was low mediocre. Lots of German hiking tourists and that sort. I would never go there again.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room in the front of the main building. Better yet, do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irish570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at La Haut and would recommend to anyone. The views of the Pitons, rooms and service were excellent and, above all, the price is unbeatable (you won't find another resort in Soufriére that offers such high quality and romantic atmosphere at such a reasonable price). All of the staff members were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we were having a pleasant stay. We stayed in the Premium Vista cashew rooms and it was well worth the extra cost - our room was huge, clean, and had an amazing view of the Pitons (although not air conditioned). The Delicé restaurant was also excellent and had a wide selection of entrees, including vegetarian. The breakfast included in the room rates was very good.

The only recommendation we would make to travelers staying at La Haut is to rent a car. La Haut offers a shuttle service to the nearby beaches and Soufriére, but the times are very limited (departing at 10pm for the beach and returning at 4pm). If you want to try other restaurants or travel to other parts of Saint Lucia, you're better off renting a car because the taxi's are very expensive (it cost us $60 roundtrip in cabs just to go to other restaurants within 10 minutes of the resort).

Room Tip: The Premium Vista/Cashew rooms were, in our opinion, the best. Although the room does not have air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jacqueline D,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed all our amenities and exceptional service offered by our team members. It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

Thank you for the recommendation which we really appreciate.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

La Haut is a fantastic place if you're looking for a small & charming B&B close to all the attractions of Soufriere. We stayed two nights in a superior deluxe room (upstairs) and two nights in the Fond Cannes Units. The unit is a few minutes drive down the road so you're not on the same area as the main buildings and restaurant but the rooms are newer and more modern and we found it quieter even though it was close the road. La Haut is a working farm so if you're a light sleeper, you may be woken up in the morning. It's not a 5 star resort but if you're looking for a nice place to stay without spending too much money, La Haut is a great choice.

Rooms are spacious and of course the views are amazing. The infinity pool by the owner's house is incredible and you can use it during daylight hours. Breakfast is included and was very tasty (I loved the homemade banana jam and made to order omelettes!) and food/drinks were great at the restaurant. Martha's Table near Sugar beach is great for some local fare so check it out if you have time.

If you're a confident driver, rent a car/jeep - we found this to be a great way to see the sights. We got our car rental from Drive-O-Matic and picked it up from the airport and had no problem driving it to Soufriere. Roads are windy and locals would overtake us but apart from that, we had no issues.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We're coming back to St Lucia in Dec to get married and have recommended most of our guests to stay at La Haut.

One tip - go to Jade Mountain for sunset cocktails. Just ring on the day and make a reservation for drinks. $5 beers and one of the most incredible views of the Pitons. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms have A/C so make sure you decide if you'll be okay without. Our rooms only ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_Ozzie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experience at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all what we had to offer, from our spacious and comfortable accommodations to our food and beverage offerings.

Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.


Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Don't let the price fool you!!!
My wife and I wanted the longest trip possible and room price dictates that! You want the boxes possible for the cheapest price.
And wow is this resort undervalued!!
Stay in the cashew or honeymoon suites and you will swear you paid $600 a night. Then you walk or drive up to the restaurant and pick anything on the menu. It's all amazing and for only around $19 a plate US. The plated food is absolutely 5-star dining with a view to die for the whole time.
Giant free buffet breakfast with everything and more. (That saves you $12 a day pp right there)
Staff is great.
All food is from their plantation! Vegetable gardens everywhere, they make their own chocolate from the cocoa trees for the chocolate on the desserts. It's crazy!
Will go back there every time.
If Sandals and Mega Resorts with malls and casinos is not your scene. You will be in heaven here. We were!
P.S. Don't stay here without a rental car!!! They're $65 a day and that's what one taxi ride will cost you. Well well worth it.
And don't let the wrong side of the road scare you from getting one. I caught on in 5 min and had a blast on the curvy roads. Only in the towns are they narrow and you have to be careful. The main highways are great.
Stay at La Haut. You won't regret it. Were going to go there next time. It is magical there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear RazorNation,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are pleased to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We are especially glad to know that you enjoyed our offerings in the food and beverage department.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

If u are looking for an escape with a spectacular breath-taking view! La haut is the place to be...we enjoyed our hide out, away from city work life and enjoying cottage life , fresh air !...Felt like a home away from home...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaut_Plantation, Front office at La Haut Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Natasha,

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at La Haut Plantation Resort!

We are delighted to know that your experience here was ideal.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#3 of 11 in Soufriere
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Resort

Property: La Haut Resort
Address: PO Box 304 West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Haut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing