We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Stay and Vacation”
View from villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from villa
Exterior Livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
View from villa
Exterior
Livingroom
Dinning table
Pool area
pool
Bedroom
View from bedroom
Pitons Mountain View from Tower
From Tower
pitons-stargroves-floor-plan
pitons-stargroves-floor-plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne R
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay and Vacation”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The service from Mary and Pius was excellent. They really made us feel at home and fixed any issues that we had. The property was beautiful and well-kept. The design and wood-workings are absolutely amazing!! You really feel one with nature here.

The view of the Pitons never got old and every morning we awoke to birds singing and the sound of the wind. And every night we would look at the stars from the watchtower. In bed, the mosquito netting became romantic, and we (my husband and I) slept with the sounds of crickets, frogs and the wind blowing through the trees to keep us company.

The location is perfect, as it is located on a hill and the wind keeps you quite comfortable without AC. I preferred it actually. You are on a hill so driving is an asset. We did not drive and made the trek down to Sugar Beach (20-25min walk downhill)...it's a good work out. We did attempt to walk back up, but not suggested unless you are active individuals!!! You can always call Pius and he picks you up with a car for a small fee.

Around the area we suggest going to Sugar Beach (bring your own blanket as chair rentals are expensive), Sulphur Springs (Skip the tour, but do the bath), check out Soufriere, and every Friday evening in Anse La Raye has an event called the Fish Fry.

For lunch/dinner, check out Boucan Restaurant, Dasheen Restaurant at Ladera (If going to dinner, please call and make reservations in advance) and Petit Peaks in Soufriere for St. Lucia cuisine.

The best part was the view. Even with the design of 3 walls we never got wet and it rained almost every day. If you can get used to some flying bugs, lizards and beetles, then your set. Remember to use minimal lighting especially at night to decrease the bugs.

We recommend this location for families (not with small toddlers due to the pool and watchtower) and for couples or groups of friends. Perfect if you want to be away from all the distractions of city life but still close enough to restaurants and other amenities (if you drive).

Overall, great experience and wouldn't change a thing about our honeymoon at the Piton Stargrove.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 3 wall design that showcased the spectacular view of the Pitons
Liked least: All the creepy crawlers and flying beetles
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven R
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our new home away from home in St. Lucia”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Wow. Pitons Stargroves is an amazing place -- unlike any other home I have ever stayed in or seen. Built into the side of Gros Piton, it has a breathtaking view of Petit Piton. In fact, I'd rank it as one of best views in the entire Caribbean. The hand-crafted, two-storey home is completely open to the northwest and still provides shelter from rain and sun. The home's architect also built Ladera, the well-known and expensive resort similarly located between the Pitons.

We arrived hot and tired, but Mary, the housekeeper, and Pius, the caretaker , welcomed us and made us feel comfortable instantly. You'll never meet two nicer, more accommodating people. While the airy home is so open that you might feel insecure about leaving your valuables at the house, there are no worries with Mary and Pius around. Anytime we left the house, Pius magically appeared to see us off and to give some tips on our plans. And he was always there to welcome us back when we returned.

And lastly, the house is located in the middle of the fun things to do in St. Lucia. Anse des Pitons, Sugar Beach, and some of the best snorkeling in the Windward Isles is just a steep walk/drive down the hill. We did not hike the challenging Gros Piton trail, which is only a fifteen-minute walk from the house. But we did hike the fabulous Tet Paul Nature Trail, which was a fifteen-minute drive away. At one point, the trail looks out over the Gros Piton with Pitons Stargroves directly below us! We yelled for Pius, but we were too far away for him to hear, especially with the constant breeze rushing between the mountains.

That same day, we also toured Sulphur Springs at the Drive-In Volcano and took mud baths, which were very fun. We dined at Petit Peak Restaurant in the charming little town of Soufriere and bought some provisions there as well. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the nearby Anse Chastenet and its great beach, snorkeling, and resort, Morne Coubaril Plantation/Zipline, and Diamond Falls and Botanical Gardens. Too much for a three-day stay, that's for sure! So I guess we'll have to go back! Yay!

If you are lucky enough to get a reservation at Pitons Stargroves, take it. It's great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding views, unique home design, Mary and Pius
Liked least: Non-working indoor waterfall, non-locking doors between bedrooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PujolsAdv...
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incomparable view,amazing house, perfect hosts, perfect serenity!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at "Pitons Stargroves" for our 20th wedding Anniversary!
We had originally been going to book at Ladera, however they were closed for renovations! How lucky for us! The home, the privacy, the spectacular views. as well as our gracious hosts, Mary and Pious could not have been better!
Our daughter came all the way from California as a surprise, so we decided what a perfect time and place to renew our vows! She picked Flowers from the garden, and decorated the "tower" for our little ceremony. Then we had a champagne toast on the "Top of the World". One little tip for those coming here. Make a comprehensive list of things you will need at the grocery store and get as much as you can in Vieux Fort on the way in. Once you are there, going out for that "missing item" is not a simple proposition, and you don't really want to leave anyway! Enjoy!
Jean Michel & Cher Pujol Sarasota, Fl.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and open wall concept, amazingly not a single mosquito that we saw!
Liked least: It would be great to have a 1/2 bath on the main living level. It seams there is plenty of space to
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusl...
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise!!!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Stargroves for 8 nights and we could not have been happier!!! All the pictures and reviews do nothing to prepare you for the sight when you walk in to the front door. Mary and Pious are absolutely wonderful people who are there for anything you need but also give you all the space in the world! Mary cooked us an amazing local meal of goat, beans, rice, and fried plantains!! Definitely make sure and stop at the grocery store on the way to the house, however we liked the grocer in Soufriere because it felt less Americanized and you can get amazing, fresh local produce and meat. The house is a short drive from all of the attractions you'd like to see, and make sure you eat a cacao infused dinner at Boucan! Also, book a trip with ZIon Lion Farm, you get your own private beach for a day and get to learn so much about St. Lucian lifestyle and cuisine. All in all, we wish we never had to leave this perfect place and we wouldn't think of staying ANYWHERE else except "The House Of The Stars"!!!!!! Thank you for such an amazing trip!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open air rooms
Liked least: Stairs at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anony m
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for three days in June, 2012, after several days in Marigot Bay. Piton Stargrove is quite stunning. Wish we had more time to stay there -- the photos do it justice, but only partly. Our family could not understand people's complaints about the nighttime "noises". Nature is nature, and we did not even notice - certainly did not disrupt our sleep. Mosquitoes, etc were a non-issue for us. One day was noisy as the groundskeepers were at work for quite a while, but otherwise quite relaxed & secluded. David and Mary & Pious were very nice, helpful and accommodating. Mary made us a dinner that is still memorable

Two pieces of advice. Because it is so secluded, be sure to get groceries on the way there -- the taxi who led us there did not. Pious was great taking us back to town to get groceries, but it meant about hour or more, round trip, Also, we would advise bringing some reading lights/flashlights. There are many different floor levels, about one to three steps between them. It would great if David were to put s string of LEDs at the step edges to see them in dim light. But meantime, bring a light and also for reading in bed.
Then wake up and enjoy the incredible views!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unique open-air experience and views
Liked least: Getting to & from
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney...
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pitons Stargrove was wonderful!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic experience at the Pitons Stargroves. Mary and Pious made our stay enjoyable and relaxed. And Mary is a fantastic cook! She even had cold fresh coconut water waiting for us when we got back from hiking Gros Piton! We enjoyed the beach at Jalousie Plantation, had a wonderful dinner there one night in the Great Room, and another delicious dinner at Dasheen Restaurant (at Ladera). We ate at Martha’s (which was fantastic!), went to the “drive in” volcano, and explored Soufrière on a couple of times (for groceries). All in, a wonderful relaxing island vacation we’ll always remember.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wentmissi...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Location--House is a destination of itself”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Really, this house has the best location possible---when we were boating around the island we looked up between the Pitons and there, smack dab in the middle, we saw the tower of the house sticking up above the palms on the ridge. It is an eccentric house--no walls, minimalist and organic architecture. It was a perfect rainforest experience---the insects' night music, waking up to a rainbow arced between the Pitons, the birds flying through during the day---we felt like kids in a tree-house on a hidden adventure. We were traveling with another couple---the house was perfect for 2 couples, with separate sleeping wings, bathrooms and balconies. We had other friends staying at Jalousie and Anse Chastenet---they came over one night for Mary's home-cooked meal of fish and chicken---it was the best meal we had on the island, and the home's premier location and unique ambience made the night a treasured travel experience for all. The house really made St. Lucia a stand-out trip from our other Caribbean trips. Mary and Pious were great ambassadors of St. Lucia, making us feel welcome and safe---they were always there when needed but unobstrusive otherwise. We had plans to tour the island, but when we arrived at the house, we felt no need to do anything but stay there, relax and take in the view---it was the perfect getaway. Tips: rent a car, but have it delivered to the house so that you take a txi (Ben's) to and from--it's hard to find; have the driver stop at the grocery becuase once you arrive you are not going to want to leave; definitely have Mary cook for you; bring a little travel torch so that you don't have to break the rainforest spell of darkness during the night if you need to visit the WC etc. The only hesitation I would have about booking would be if there are people with mobility problems or tiny tots in your party: the home has lots of stairs and balconies. (Actually, I would not recommend St. Lucia in general to people with mobility issues--the island is very hilly, with steep, rough roads.) So, assuming you are fit and grown, I can't imagine a more perfect place to stay on St. Lucia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wall-free architecture and the premier location/view
Liked least: can't think of anything I didn't like----it was a special place
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing