We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Order their local freshly-made juices! The jerk may be too hot for tourists! Be warned of the local hagglers!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Front De Belle View

Water Front De Belle View
Ranked #18 of 33 Restaurants in Soufriere
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Facing the harbour, a few buildings south of Mystic Man Tours
Trinidad
Level Contributor
691 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Order their local freshly-made juices! The jerk may be too hot for tourists! Be warned of the local hagglers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We ended up at De Belle View as it was packed across the road at Petit Peak at lunch and resulting service was disastrously slow. You wouldn’t expect a restaurant to be up some wooden staircase at the end of a dark narrow passageway!

We got a table by the farthest window along the front with a view of the taxi rank and bay. The restaurant was packed with questionable characters, many of whom were tagging along with tourists or buttering up to them to get free drinks, cigarettes or money. We felt that management should deter these unscrupulous characters from sitting around the restaurant bothering patrons as is the policy as other establishments in the area.

One of them sitting at the bar made some unsavoury remarks to my sister as she passed by him, which was quite disturbing to her. Again, the lady behind the bar said nothing to this man who delighted in ‘sweet-talking’ the female patrons.

There was much variety on the menu which we liked including mainly local / creole food options. The prices were very reasonable. We ordered two jerk-stew chicken meals and it was the hottest jerk we’ve had anywhere!

Service was fine. I most loved their freshly-made local juices! The ambience here is not as nice as Petit Peak across the road but the food options are better and the meals here very tasty.

And there are lovely views of the Petit Piton from the restaurant’s balcony. Good location to see snippets of local life in Soufriere including the taxi drivers playing raucous rounds of dominoes!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    19
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eufaula, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We asked for recommendation from Tet Paul Nature Trail guide and she recommended Belle View restaurant. It was a little difficult to locate at first, but after asking for help we thankfully found this gem of a hideout! It was fantastic local creole cuisine. VERY good!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelissaBenefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I ate here for lunch and loved the food. We preferred this to La Petit Peak because it was very authentic and there was barely any American food on the menu, yay! The fish and jerk chicken were so good and all the sides were very good. Go here for a very authentic lunch for a great price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shadow124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Creole Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a wonderful lunch with friends at this restaurant. It was a bit overpriced which can be expected at such a touristic spot.. The waitress was not too friendly. (she actually rolled her eyes when I changed my order of water to coffee). The food was delicious,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 04Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Awful" "Flaming Awful"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

DONT go there!!!! PLEASE!!!
You have to walk pass the toilet which stinks of "you know what..."
As you go upstairs the stench disappears,
The waitress is lovely and thats the only time you will hear me use this word. She needs to go to a decent restaurant, she is wasted there.
The owner is a pig of a man and his l suppose wife.
Four of us ordered our food and 3 of us got what was not on the menu. l spoke to the owner and told him that what we ordered was not on the plate as we ordered a chicken and cheese dish and he said that there was cheese l said there was not. He apologised. Then said that he would see that we would get cheese, then said that they had run out of cheese. l said then why did you take our order then. he said he will get some cheese but didnt, then rice was put on our plate which we didnt order as we ordered mash potato. Where is the mash as we did not order rice. we got rice. l said surely even YOU would complain if what YOU ordered wasnt correct. Then he said the customer isnt always right. Well l said l wasnt wrong about my order yet you cocked it up. Then he started quarrelling with me. ....This went on. l did not have any of my meal but sat there waiting for my friends to finish. My wife felt ill in the morning. l wonder why!!! For your health customers please just go and enjoy your holiday and keep away from this sewer restaurant. You will be in hospital as you dont know what you will get.. l paid the bill regretfully but the waitress needs to work elsewhere. Best island l have visited but this place made it the worse place to eat in all the 6 islands l have visited.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lester789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Front De Belle View also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Water Front De Belle View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing