We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the highlight of our trip!”
Review of Zion Lion Farm

Zion Lion Farm
Ranked #11 of 44 things to do in Soufriere
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bon jou! Zion Lion Farm is located at Yukahu Bay - Saint Lucia's most beautiful undeveloped beach - in The Pitons World Heritage Site at the foot of the Gros Piton. Each day is blessed according to Jah plan and for you & yours to experience in peace. There may be (or not) some Lucians fishing from open "gommiers", setting lines from shore, gathering dry coconuts, heading up the mountain with guests... We offer a full-day total immersion "CastAway Tour" all-inclusive of World Heritage Coast Cruise, Swim/Snorkel the Marine Reserve Reefs, Zion Lion Farm Tour, Carib Cuisine Workshop, organic Sea n' Farm-To-Table Carib Beach BarBQ Feast, Bush Doctor Walkabout to the Rainforest Mineral Springs and so much more... Or a half-day "Splash ~ Feast ~ Play” all-inclusive Adventure (round-trip water taxi transport, authentic Carib Beach BarBQ Feast and any of our "CastAway Activities" mixed & matched to your schedule and budget... Mystical. Delicious. Super Natural. Dreamland. Bless up! Paul
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visited St Lucia over a year ago and still cannot stop talking about our experience. It was by far our best vacation yet! We wanted to hike the Gros Piton and upon the suggestion of fellow TA members, were referred to Paul at Zion Lion Farm.
Paul is one of the warmest, friendliest people I have ever met. He picked us up at Sugar Beach (Formally Jalouise) on his boat and from the moment we saw him we knew it was going to be a great day.
We arrived on his secluded beach within minutes and our guide Martin had us on our way up the mountain while Paul prepared for our return.
The hike itself is quite difficult. I recommend hiking as early as you can as it gets quite hot in the late morning and afternoon and take lots of water.
Once we returned from our walk, Paul had prepared us a lovely lunch on the beach. We had fish with rice, salad, juice, and cashews. All fresh and all delicious.
Paul then took us on a tour of the grounds. He showed us his garden and took time to really explain each item planted. We appreciated this as we are gardeners ourselves. We then went to a little waterfall where Paul so graciously took photos of us and on our way back he broke open a coconut for us to enjoy.
Before we left for the day we enjoyed some homemade star fruit wine and St Lucian rum.
Paul really is a special person. I hope to one day see him again. He is a beautiful person that loves his land and loves what he does. Do not hesitate booking this experience. It was amazing!!

2  Thank blu4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congomon, Owner at Zion Lion Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bon jou Jennifer A, and mesi for this surprise review!

Yes, Anse L’Ivrogne / Sevoigne is a unique place in St. Lucia and the Caribbean and we happy you enjoyed a fully (v)ital day on the mountain, beach, farm & spring.

We grateful to have encountered positively energized friends like you two along our way.

Bless up! Paul, Martin & the Sevoigne Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"castaway tour"
in 10 reviews
"coconut rice"
in 11 reviews
"coal pot"
in 13 reviews
"organic garden"
in 7 reviews
"slice of paradise"
in 3 reviews
"water taxi"
in 9 reviews
"organic food"
in 2 reviews
"herbal medicine"
in 2 reviews
"meet paul"
in 2 reviews
"peaceful beach"
in 2 reviews
"gros piton"
in 9 reviews
"eco tour"
in 3 reviews
"fruits and vegetables"
in 4 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 6 reviews
"medicinal plants"
in 3 reviews
"bat cave"
in 6 reviews
"st lucian"
in 5 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Nice way to get a view of the island from the water. Paul picked us up from Marigot Bay and showed us various sites on the way to the beach. Being able to see The Pitons from the water was great. Paul cooked us a nice lunch on his coal pots on the beach, and made us a nice rum drink. Also had a few Pitons. Enjoyed a lazy day on the beach and a short hike up to the natural springs. Paul also showed us various plants and fruits that he had growing in an area behind the beach. Nice way to spend a day in St. Lucia.

Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congomon, Owner at Zion Lion Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bon jou Ingram75, mesi for your words and sharing a special honeymoon day with us… Next time we’ll have a coal pot boxed up for you to grill island-style at home!
Highest Blessings! Paul, Nickey & the Sevoigne Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed outside of Soufriere and arranged for Paul and his nephew Nickey to pick us up at 9 am. The boat ride to his beach is one of the most spectacular ways to see the coast, it really gives you the full perspective of the Pitons! When we arrived to his farm, we were immediately given the most refreshing starfruit key lime juice and coconut water and flesh. They then allowed us to hover over them in their open air "kitchen" on the beach and ask any questions we wanted about the ingredients and their preparation, because we want to take this knowledge of Carribean cuisine home! After the freshest, best meal we've had on the island, we then took a beautiful hike up to their home village and got to tour Aunt Leo's pottery house, where they hand form and fire amazing coal pots, which is the only thing Paul uses to cook his food. On the way back, we got to bathe in an amazing spring coming straight from the earth, an absolutely amazing experience. We then spent the rest of the day snorkeling among the biggest schools of fish we have ever seen, it felt as if we were in a National Geographic episode! After one more cocktail, Paul and Nickey dropped us off back in Soufriere, after showing us the "bat cave", where millions of fruit bats wait for the sun to go down to start swooping over the island for dinner. When we were done, we we certain that we had made life-long friends with two of the friendliest souls we have ever met. Paul and Nickey have the most amazing knowledge of the island, literally knowing every answer to the questions we asked. If you want the MOST AUTHENTIC St. Lucian experience, do not hesitate to become friends with these men, as your trip and your soul will be eternally grateful!! Thanks again!

Thank nautiluslove22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congomon, Owner at Zion Lion Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bon jou nautiluslove22, and mesi for the Big Love. Feels so good to meet real people that genuinely want to know how we live on this little rock in the sea…

Thankfully Lio, one of the best (& last) potters in La Pointe, is still going strong creating the beautiful clay pieces we use everyday.

Yes, the Rainforest Mineral Springs are amazing - running free 24/7 from deep in the mountain, hrough hurricanes, landslides, earthquakes - always fresh, delicious & revitalizing!

We happy you enjoyed snorkeling the wild Marine Reserve Reefs... all-the-shades-of-blue and so rich in sea life.

Island Blessings to both of you! Paul, Nickey & the Sevoigne Crew

PS: Little starfruits just starting to grow again…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having read the previous reviews I knew that a visit to St Lucia wouldn't be complete without a visit to Paul's Paradise. Staying at Sugar Beach we arranged for Paul to meet us at 8am and take us in his boat to the farm where he arrange for his friend Joseph to be our private guide up Gros Piton. It is fair to as that I am not in good shape at all, and with the added complexity of rain during our climb Joseph was an absolute gentleman throughout the hike allowing me to stop every 30 minutes for a rest and answering all of our questions on the way. Our climb took about 2.5 hours up and 1 hour down (a very leisurely pace) but with Joseph's help we made t to the summit (at times I had my doubts!!).

On our return to Paradise Paul had some wonderful fresh punch ready for us and after taking time to chat with us and generally socialise, he produced an absolutely marvellous meal consisting of a range of his fresh produce and some fresh fish from a neighbouring fisherman. All served in the local tradition and methods with more fresh juice!!

After our meal we had time to explore the tranquil beach, speak with some locals, and generally unwind aft the busy morning. Wen we were ready Paul took us back to our resort in his boat, stopping for photos and to explain various bits of heritage and knowledge along the way.

Paul and his team were soo friendly, polite and happy throughout our day with them, my only regret is that the day passed so quickly. By far the highlight our our second week in St Lucia and I could not recommend more strongly that people get in touch with Paul (Congomon) to see what bespoke day n paradise he can arrange for them.

Thankyou for a wonderful experience!

Thank floppyarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congomon, Owner at Zion Lion Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bon jou floppyarms, and thank you for these thoughtful words!

Joseph is one of the best guides on the mountain… steady easygoing pace, knows the Gros Piton since youth and he happy that you reach the heights.

And we happy, after the Gros Piton Hike, you could take your time to relax on Sevoigne’s peaceful beach with cold drinks and a Carib Beach BBQ Feast, of course!

Blessings! Paul, Nickey, Joseph & the Sevoigne Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This was truly one of our favorite scheduled activities. When planning our trip I really wanted to embrace and learn about the St Lucia culture and experience a rich and unique experience I could remember for a lifetime. We did the all-day private Cast Away Tour with Paul and his crew member Niki. My husband really wanted to hike the Gros Piton so we did this as part of our day. We were picked up promptly at the scheduled time of 8:00 am from the Soufriere marina. We arrived at the Anse L’Ivrogne/Sévoigne and prepared for our hike. We entered the hike from the ocean side. Once the hike was completed we were provided with natural homemade refreshments made from fresh pineapples and limes. (Without rum by choice since we were so dehydrated from the hike) I think we had like 2 glasses each. Then Paul and Niki showed me how the food was cooked in the clay pots. Then it was feast time. The food was absolutely amazing and fresh. The fish (Black Tuna) was just caught and flavored to perfection with garlic and herbs. So delicious. The vegetables were also amazing, plantains, banana, and sweet potato. The meal was prefect and helped us recover from the hike. Then my husband decided to snorkel while I was lazy. Perfectly relaxing. As a final thing we went around and toured the garden where Paul showed us all of the many fruit trees, herbs, and everything thing they maintain at the farm. AMAZING. One of my favorite parts of the tour. I never saw a real up close pineapple tree before. Paul gave us a pineapple and some mangos for when we got home. That pineapple was the best I have ever had. We walked all the way to the natural springs and filled up all our empty water bottles with the fresh clean water. We talked about the St Lucia culture and of course some mixed European soccer talk. We left just about when the sun was beginning to set. I got some AMAZING pictures of the pitons on the way back. Thanks Paul and Niki for such a wonderful day. I will always recommend you guys to everyone if they go to St Lucia.

P.S. Make sure you get some more strawberries. Your little plant needs some friends. ;)

1  Thank MrsSandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congomon, Owner at Zion Lion Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Mési, Mr. & Mrs. S... for sharing that twè joli jounen (very pretty day) with us!

Yuh dun kno it was our pleasure to offer you real good Carib cooking.

We eating dozens of pineapples right now in Sévoigne and still surprised by the intense flavor in every juicy bite!

Blessings to both of you! Paul, Nickey & the Sévoigne Crew

PS: Never could find a mate for our little strawberry : (

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zion Lion Farm also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 

Been to Zion Lion Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing