We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Nearby Hotels
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calabash Mountain Villa(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
379
114
26
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
114
26
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar experienceluxe lodgebar tourthe beancocoa nibspetit pitonrabot estateinfinity poolguest relations managerst luciasugar beachcocoa treeboutique hotelchocolate treatssunset cruisehotel's boatbeach shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We did not stay at The Hotel Chocolat, but we did go on their "Tree to Bean" tour of Hotel's Chocolat's cocoa plantation. Nisbet, our tour guide, was so incredibly knowledgable and passionate about their cocoa & the plantation! The tour also included a small tour of the Hotel's herb gardens in which we got taste many of the local herbs grown on the island. With the help from other workers on the plantation, each person on the tour drafted a cocoa plant that will be planted on the plantation. Each plant was tagged with your name and if we return to the plantation, the staff promises to show your cocoa plant or tree that has grown. The tour was a little technical for small children, but they seemed to really tasting the inside of the cocoa pods and doing the drafting. Thanks to Nesbit and to all of the very friendly workers who gave the the tour!

(The tour is not well advertised. We found about it because we had eaten at their wonderful restaurant Boucan the night before To find out when it is running, call the Hotel.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Chicopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna f, Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

The 'Tree to Bean' and the 'Bean to Bar' are our signature tours and show the 'behind the scenes' of what is needed to create fine quality and ethical chocolate. Delighted you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having spent 11 days at East Winds Inn (3rd visit) in the north of the island we thought we would try Hotel Chocolat for 3 nights on the way back to the airport.It was our first visit and their first year with guests, I believe. It is a cocao plantation that is expanding into the hotel market but currently it can better be described as a restaurant (with great views of the Pitons) with accommodation close by rather than a hotel. A small pool and lounge area are situated below the restaurant but sadly there is road noise or the continual music from above. We did not use this area but tried to relax in another small decking area and maybe this will be improved for shade when the foliage has grown. The walking in the area, is without doubt, beautiful. I will not dwell on the elegant food as I suffered a severe bilious attack and spent one day asleep. However, I was shown kindness and concern by management and staff alike.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jay057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna f, Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thanks for your notes about the beautiful walks and our restaurant. We do also have complimentary beach shuttles as another option, but your comments are certainly noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

reviews containing nothing but superlatives are boring so i am reminding myself now to end with my one criticism of Hotel chocolat in stunningly beautiful st lucia. the setting is phenomenal. you are situated high up over looking the pitons two beautiful tropical mountainous peaks that plunge into the Caribbean. the rooms are chic as is the entire hotel. "plantation chic" was one description, another might be bob marley fuses with W hotels. the underlying theme of the chocolate plantation with which you are charmingly encouraged to take part of is delightful. Staff could not be better, friendly helpful attentive. the food is amazing, like dining in a michelin one star every night. If you require beach time, there is the free shuttle every morning at 10 a.m. to take you to either of the two world class beaches but a few minutes away. a beautiful walk takes you down to the volcanic mud baths. amazing botanical gardens also around the corner. oh yes, the criticism. late one night 5:30 a.m. a knock on the door. "Sir your car is ready" some nice polite man was saying. "what are you talking about!" I raged. "We're booked for eleven nights!" "Yes sir", he answered again politely, "Last night was your last night." "You mean I have to leave Hotel chocolat?" the nerve of these people!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mully323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Public Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

What a lovely review, it made us laugh, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We were a bit worried about staying at place that clearly cooked around chocolate although I love chocolate and we have been members of the chocolate tasting club for many years we booked b&b only. Out of the 9 days we stayed we ate 7 times at the Boucan restaurant it was so good, local foods including raw chocolate with a Caribbean and European twist.

We wanted to see if the policy of encouraging locals was working and all but 3 of the hotel staff were local. The staff felt like a tight team which was well trained and see,ed happy in their work. We spent some time in the gardens and the plantation even grafted a cocoa tree and made our own chocolate bar.

We wanted to walk the Piton and the hotel organised everything from early breakfast through taxi and great guide. I also climbed thePetit Piton which was not so normal but they still found a great guide who although less than half my age looked after me well.

The hotel organised a boat trip up the coast which was breath taking.

I would go back any time to a truly magic experience.

Room Tip: They are all good, we especially liked the shower which was largely outdoors with great design.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarcWeinzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Having stayed at the Inn at Marigot Bay in St Lucia for 4 nights and then sailed to the Grenadines, before returning home I wanted to treat my wife to a belated 25th wedding anniversary stay for 2 nights / 3 days luxury at the hotel Chocolat back in St Lucia. Despite searching the hotels website and Expedia's we were unaware of building works, even after e-mailing the hotel to ask for a late checkout due to a late flight home. Even this did not reassure us as there was no guarantee we would have somewhere to stay after the checkout if the hotel was busy.
So we arrived late in the afternoon to a nice rum punch. We were then shown to our room ,a new pod luxe room which initially looked great with its great view of petit Piton . The bathroom is great with space and an open shower, where the only drawback was the constant dripping when it rained on the last two days. The bed was lovely and large and storage ample. Ipod was waiting but interestingly no headphones so you both have to listen even at night. The complimentary nuts and chocaltes were a good touch and the day loungers were fine. But where were the Rabot rockers?? mentioned in the room details.
The restaurant served great food and drinks, and the day to day waiters/ waitresses were helpful and attentive.The pool is lovely.
There it stops for the PRO's.
The hotel is still a building site and everytime we visited the main hotel part we had to travel through the works, unfinished paths and stairs. On the first morning we were woken by hammering as they worked on the pods luxe only two down. Day two saw intermittant hammering and the noise of barking dogs. The boucan club bar was closed throughout our stay though staff popped down every few hours. The pool is lovely but overlooked by non hotel guests at lunch.
Activities seem plentiful but the bean to plate experience operates only on a Thursday. The map showing the walks is very inaccurate and dangerous and could get you lost if you do not have a guide. When it rained there is little to do except read. The cacao experience is overhighlighted and over rated .Why not have an area to show the process historically so one does not need the Thursday tour? The cooking is great but variety is lacking, anf forget the chocalate experience dessert as 2 parts are bitter and raw , 3 are just chocalates available in Uk shops for a quarter of the price leaving two mouthfuls not found elsewhere!! The food and cocktails are great and show what could be.
The staff in the restaurant and bar do try and help, but who was Chester? Who was the manager? I may be shy to come forward but in 3 days nobody came forward to ask us how things were. Why should i have to complain when there were only TWELVE guests! So was it worth the money? Not at £600/ night including meals. We visited Jalousie and Ladera and saw Jade mountain, which seem to offer better service for the money.
This could be a great Hotel but at present is not fit for purpose. I note another review still awaits vouchers for its inconvenience, but why at this price should we have to complain whilst on holiday. To see how it could be I suggest the manager visits Nisbet Plantation in Nevis. Forget the corporate theme until the hotel reaches the required standards for its price.m

Room Tip: Wait until its finished, then go for the right hand pod luxe.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Familydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Public Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thanks very much for your nice comments about the quality of our food in this review and your other one under our Boucan Restaurant.
Although we have taken note of all your other comments, several of them do seem a bit on the harsh side to us. However we do accept that there are different subjective opinions about how we do things.

Please do make contact with us if you would like to discuss further. Best contact in the UK is Serena.fidgett@hotelchocolat.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews