We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Spot in Soufriere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot in Soufriere”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant during a weekend in Soufriere and it was great. We really enjoyed the use of local cocoa thorugout the menu. The view is absolutely stunning and every course was just delightful! Our only disappointment is not being able to purchase the wonderful chocolates that Hotel Chocolat is known for. Great spot in Soufriere!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashelltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We'll settle for 'every course just delightful' and 'view is absolutely stunning' - thank you very much indeed. We would like to stock more of our Hotel Chocolat creations in our little gift shop but focus more on things we make on the estate. We are currently building a chocolate factory on the estate so will have a larger local-made range when this is running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    104
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
359
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My fiance and I stayed here on our engagement trip and it was truly the best resort I have ever stayed at. The resort had a nice, intimate feel to it, the views are breathtaking, and the pool was amazing. The service was fantastic - everyone was lovely. We are serious foodies and the food here was by far the best of any of the resorts in Soufriere (we tried a number of the others and nothing compared). The beach is exquisite and just a short trip by shuttle from the resort. We went on a lovely tour of the estate to see the cocoa growing and also went on one of their snorkeling trips. Hopefully we will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lec2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for highlighting in your review our beautiful pool, the beach access and the warmth of our lovely team - really appreciated. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadhurst
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked on the Chocolate Tasting Club week at the end of September and it was a marvellous seven days. The food was particularly memorable, just one gorgeous meal after another (we paid for it by gaining several pounds over the week!). We were in one of the Luxe lodges and saw many amazing sunsets from the balcony. The staff were all friendly and helpful and made all the excursions and activities a delight. The agronomist, Cuthbert, was a real enthusiast and made the Tree to Bar so interesting. I think the best part of the holiday was learning about the growing and making of chocolate and the way in which Hotel Chocolat's "engaged ethics" programme is being implemented. Certainly one of the best holidays we have had.

Room Tip: The Luxe lodges are a bit of a climb from the restaurant and pool - good exercise after the lovely f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
One of the aims of Boucan is to offer guests a balance of hedonism and learning experiences. Sounds like you achieved this and, thanks for lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were picked up from the airport by the hotels organised transfer and it was only about 40 minutes to the hotel. We were greeted with complimentary cocktails and drinks in the bar over looking-amazing view. It is exactly as appears in the photos, the view is absolutely breathtaking.

I stayed in a Lodge (number 2 i think) very spacious and clean with modern twists on the traditional Caribbean buildings that i imagine were there in the past. Lovely bathroom with a rainforest shower which is semi-outdoors, however the bathroom does flood on occasion if you're not careful as the taps are a bit temperamental and do not always switch off properly. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel put an extra bed in the lounge area for us so we could accommodate everyone. One thing that we were very surprised about was how loud the wildlife is at night - earplugs are provided by the hotel and a lovely soothing 'sleep playlist' on the iPod which is docked in your room. A mobile phone is also provided so that you can call the hotel whenever you need anything and especially if you go off site - a really nice unique touch.

The food at Boucan was great, surprisingly it was not overly chocolatey or rich but was a 'light healthy' menu served in the restaurant by very good staff. My only negative is that the slates which they serve the food on were not warm enough and so the food got a bit cold. Breakfast was my favourite with platters of fruit and amazing Hotel Chocolat granola to indulge in as well as cooked breakfast if you wanted one.

The pool area was lovely as can be seen in the pictures. Lots of space to sunbathe although we did find that we had to dodge the rain a fair bit; luckily the hotel has undercover sun loungers too so you can still enjoy the view even when the rainforest lives up to its name. This is a very relaxing spot and very quiet too however the hotel can arrange activities such as beach trips and even zip-wire excursions for you off site if you're feeling more adventurous. They also offer walking tours and the excellent Tree-to-Bar experience which is a must do to find out more about the cacao growing and ethical schemes that Hotel Chocolat have as well as getting the opportunity to make your very own chocolate.

I would recommend staying here for just a few nights whilst you are in St Lucia. 4 nights was more than enough, i would suggest coupling it up with another hotel on your trip for variety as it is such a quiet location. Definitely worth a visit though! Gorgeous scenery and very good staff to make your stay enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and it was a very special place which i would love to go back to again, just a few tiny areas that could be improved upon to make this even more perfect than it already is.

Room Tip: Lodges are more than adequate however do not have a balcony for you to sit outdoors in private in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharCharCharChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks for highlighting the amazing Boucan Breakfast, all included in our room rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat for 7 nights and it was the best trip either of us have been on. We did the 'Everything Straight Up' package and 100% got our money worth and then more... included were daily spa treatments, 3 gourmet meals daily, plenty of activities, $100/day beverage credit and access to the pool area.

Room - We stayed in a Loge. The room was clean, shower was open air and fabulous, soaps provided were luxurious and we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Room was cleaned daily, was generally bug free and was stocked with towels, robes and slippers. We did not have a chance to see the Luxe Loge so we don't have a comparison but the Loge was perfect for us as we were in there very little. My only suggestion is an additional fan in the room - it got hot at night.

Food/Drinks - We are major foodies and this place really nailed it. The food was amazing in terms of presentation and taste. The service was second to none...the staff professional, courteous, knowledgeable and friendly. I loved how they incorporated some form of cocoa into every meal... I have read reviews that people got sick of it but I never felt that way. My favorite meal was breakfast (fresh smoothies, tropical fruits, eggs, toast) and my husband loved dinner (he got the filet almost every night). The drinks were also great... unique, local and fresh! Shout out to our favorite bartender Cornell who remembered all of our drink orders day after day!

Excursions/Activities - I would suggest the tree to bar experience (plant a cocoa tree, tour the estate, make your own chocolate) and the underwater explorer excursion (snorkeling, beach visit and lunch). Our favorite part of the week was learning about and making chocolate with Cuthbert. He was so friendly and absolutely knew his stuff! We also did a cocktail making class and a sunset cruise. The taxi drivers that we had for each of these excursions were set up by Boucan and made us feel extremely safe when leaving the estate!

Spa - We had a spa treatment everyday on our trip. We had facials, a wrap, a skin exfoliation treatment and massages. All treatments were wonderful. The three spa technicians were professional and really good - massages were some of the best I've ever had. The spa setting is very unique with an open air feel.

All in all, the atmosphere of the place is completely luxurious while still being easy going and extremely relaxing. We returned rejuvenated! Thank you Marguerite, Keelan and the other managers for a FABULOUS trip. Such a great group of people and an amazing place to visit. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelschlather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
CocoaJuvenate, our exclusive spa, certainly helps our guests slow things down to the pace of ripening cocoa pods. Very glad you enjoyed your stay so much and please do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at Sugar Beach and only visited Hotel Chocolat to do the tours which were fabulous. The guide was knowledgeable and entertaining and took time to answer all of our questions. I don't understand why they don't advertise the Tree to Bean tour targeting newlyweds. As part of the tour you graft a tree which is registered with your name and the date, the tree is later planted on the plantation and you can go back and visit it next time you're in St Lucia. We also did the Bean to Bar tour which was fun if you're into chocolate :) I'd thoroughly recommend this experience - it's something a little different.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandarina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
It's a unique experience, that's true, all about our efforts to connect the world of cocoa agriculture with the world of chocolate luxury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The food, accommodation and views are wonderful, but it's the people that make or break a holiday and Hotel Chocolat has a wonderful bunch of people who seem determined to make a positive effect on your experience without getting in the way.

We were met at the airport, on time and were provided with refreshing towels and chilled drinks for the journey, and were checked in and made to feel very welcome whilst our bags were delivered to our room.

Anything that we arranged was done efficiently, transport was on time and the drivers careful and courteous, and enthusiastic about their island and the hotel.

Hotel Chocolat isn't a cheap holiday but we felt that the price of everything was fair, and appeared competitive with the other establishments that we visited. Overall we enjoyed our stay, we will go back but will ensure we avoid the rainy season next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
'Its the people who make or break a holiday....' - we absolutely agree with you and thanks for all the nice comments. Inspires us to keep trying to improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Property: Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing