We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon - MAJESTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I went here on the second part of our honeymoon. This hotel is what bumped our honeymoon from "fun and exciting" to "romantic, majestic and breathtaking". When we walked in our luxe lodge, I remember telling my husband that "now I REALLY feel like we are on a honeymoon". The rooms are amazing. Comfortable bed with mosquito nets all around. VERY spacious. The shower alone was about as big as my closet. The views are insane. The food is even more insane. You think you would get sick of chocolate themed foods, but you don't! We did the tree to bar experience which was fantastic. You learn a lot and you get to make chocolate bars at the end. We also did the hike up the pitons. Unless you are in great shape, I wouldn't recommend this. I am in great shape and was having thoughts of honestly not making it back down. For 1/2 the hike I felt like I was rock climbing instead of hiking. I would come back to this resort in a heart beat. Only negative is that this is a quiet resort. There isn't much to do on the property besides relax at the small pool, do the nature walks or the tree to bar experience. This is the perfect location if you are looking to do excursions since you are close to a lot of the experiences St. Lucia has to offer. If you are visiting St. Lucia I would recommend staying at a hotel that is on the beach for a few days and then ending the trip at Hotel Chocolat for 2 - 4 nights.

Room Tip: The LUXE lodges are great!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afriemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

'Insane views and insane food'! - love it,thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a lovely relaxing stay here. Be aware you are not on the beach and the pool is not great but if you want to relax, enjoy a fabulous chocolate tour with Cuthbert and drink delicious rum punch then this is the place for you. Great view of the Pitons but no direct view of the sea. Bathroom in luxury lodge is great but there is no air conditioning in rooms and high season would be horrendous. Fabulous boat shuttle to beach. Not somewhere you would take the children. Staff were all lovely.

Room Tip: Luxury lodge has great bathroom space and private balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks. We are pretty high up and the breeze comes right through even in high season.
Glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked this holiday for a relaxing, romantic and recuperating holiday (7 days). Our intention was to do as little as possible and simply clear the mind...there's no TV, no major hotel entertainments, etc. but don't worry there is free Wi-Fi if you really need it! The travel agent even checked with us before booking that this was what we wanted.
The venue is stunning, the rooms are superb and all the staff are friendly and passionate about chocolate and ensuring you have the best possible time - nothing is a problem - just ask. Tree to bar experience is a must to help you appreciate what goes into a bar of chocolate - your host Cuthbert is a real St Lucian character that loves his profession, and its infectious. The beach shuttle is fantastic, a private (resident guests only) speed boat to the beach...and is included in the price. You can also book the boats for a sunset cruise, we did for my birthday treat and wow what an experience. Attentive and knowledgeable crew, great food, drinks and fizz - just sit back and relax. Take a good pair of trainers to wander the estate trails and take in the breath taking scenery. Everyone we met whilst walking was very friendly and helpful and your room comes with a mobile phone (set up to speed dial the hotel) for you to take on your walk should you need it, but just ask the locals they really are friendly and helpful. The food is to a very high standard and whilst chocolate based, we never felt it was over bearing - even after a week. We understand that some people feel that the food service can be a bit slow at times, but this never bothered us. Our advice would be to take any issues up with the staff who, in our experience, will do their upmost to rectify any problems straight away - they really do just want you to have a great experience.

Room Tip: if you can afford the extra for the Luxe lodges then its worth every penny.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 288SimonS288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks for describing our beach shuttle. It really is the only way to take your beach time - whisked there by our liveried boat and crew and picked up again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We really wanted Boucan to be better than it was. We had been previously a couple of years ago and thought it was excellent. This time the service was a bit off and that really affected our experience. Upon being seated we were given our menus, but didn't order drinks until they came back about 20 minutes later. They had run out of mint and couldn't make my friends cocktail, but didn't bring a cocktail menu to the table when hey told him so that he could make another selection. They then Forgot my wife's starter and rather than apologise just dashed about and brought it 5 minutes later.

The chocolate/cocoa flavouring was good, but not as exceptionally as we remembered. Perhaps we hit a bad night, but the experience was so bad that we probably won't go back. A shame really.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

This sounds so unlike us, it definitely was an unusual experience by our standards for which we apologise. Please do come and try us again, we would love the opportunity to 're-prove' ourselves to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed in a standard room....probably should have upgraded to a lux room. Had a really good time, although the chocolate menu got a little big too much after a week. Very relaxing.
The Tree to bar experience is a must do.
Some good walking around to the volcanic springs is worthwhile.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Getting close to nature and completely chilling is indeed what it's all about. Thanks very much and very glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

First things first: This tour was brilliant! You must go!

We had no idea what to expect but it exceeded all expectations anyway.
Cuthbert is a FANTASTIC tour guide, so, so knowledgeable and extremely interesting to listen to and watch. The tour is jam packed with super interesting information and is very interactive which is always fun.

Hotel Chocolat is a self sustaining project, growing cacao, fruits, vegetables, and they give so much back to the environment and the local area and people. It was a pleasure to be a part of it, right down to planting our own cacao tree, with our names on, that we hope to revisit in a couple of years.
We also got to make our own 65% chocolate bars, delicious.

We had lunch afterwards in the Boucan restaurant which was excellent.
Every item in the menu has cacao involved, white chocolate dressing on the salad was my particular favourite!

All in all great day had, thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Making our unique Tree to Bar experience both informative and great fun is a balance we always keep in mind. Very appreciative of your comments and support for our Engaged Ethics' project for sustainable cocoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

As a chocolate-loving vegetarian who appreciates nature and environmental ethics, booking a stay at Boucan seemed to tick all my boxes - and I wasn't disappointed. What an incredible place.

First, be warned - if you're looking for an identikit corporate resort, you won't find it here. But if you're after a unique and beautiful boutique hotel with a great restaurant, amazing personal touches at every turn, and the most welcoming staff I've encountered in a long time, you're in the right place.

What's so great:

- the accommodation. The lodges are gorgeous, with open aspects that really let you appreciate the surroundings. So open, in fact, that quite often you might find frogs, lizards and small birds popping in to visit - but once you get used to this, it's very entertaining (just think Snow White). The rainforest showers are just fantastic, and the beds incredibly comfortable. And as soon as you venture out of your lodge, the infinity pool and 'tranquility' lounging areas are beautiful and were never crowded - one of the benefits of being at a smaller boutique hotel.

- the staff. Without exception, everyone we met was enthusiastic, friendly and couldn't do enough to help make our stay perfect. Much as I'd like to, I can't pick out individuals for special praise as I'd end up listing the whole team!

- the food. While there's obviously a cocoa theme, don't let this put you off if it isn't your thing. The food was lovely and we ate at the restaurant all week without getting bored. The views are beautiful and the ambience great - and the fire-eating and acrobatics on the BBQ night were a slightly strange but hilarious change from the norm.

- the Tree to Bar tour. An optional extra (in part) but you should absolutely make this part of your trip. Head grower and tour guide Cuthbert is quite frankly a legend; knowledgeable, enthusiastic and entertaining, with a huge passion for cocoa growing that you can't help but share by the time the tour is done. A real asset to the hotel.

- the small touches. For me, this is what really made our stay at Boucan so amazing. Everywhere you go, it's clear a huge amount of thought has gone into making the hotel something different. Whether it's the pre-loaded iPod (with some great chill out/ acoustic music in addition to the traditional reggae), the REN toiletries (ethical and high quality), the complimentary chocolate, wine and (lethal!) rum punch in the rooms, or even the free insect spray and earplugs to help you acclimatise to the rainforest . . . no expense is spared, and it really is appreciated.

What could be great:

- the spa. The facilities were fantastic (lovely clean treatment areas, partly open to the surroundings but in a discreet way), and the therapists lovely - both Barbara and Agnes did a great job with my two treatments. But the treatments were a little basic and not always enjoyable - it's admirable to use only natural ingredients, for example, but I'm not sure vinegar is the nicest astringent to use in a facial? The spa area and its therapists are a fantastic asset to the hotel, so it would be good to see the same effort invested here as has been in the lodges and restaurant, to really do it justice and allow it to compete with other luxury spa experiences.

- the beach shuttle. Being away from the local beaches, it's great that the hotel lays on a shuttle service to Sugar Beach - and the speedboat ride there was brilliant. But the Sugar Beach resort itself is clearly very protective of the best areas of the beach, meaning visitors from other resorts are shown to the allocated 'visitor area', complete with drainage pipes, grotty loungers and constant diesel fumes from the mooring boats. I appreciate that this is most likely beyond Boucan's control - but some forewarning would have been good, as we would far rather have stayed in Boucan's own gorgeous infinity pool for the day instead!

Neither of these points should detract from the overall experience of staying at Boucan. The resort is fantastic, beautiful, individual and tranquil, and I'd return there like a shot. But with just a couple of tweaks as above, it could be truly spectacular.

Overall, a fantastic experience that I'd recommend to anyone who wants something a little different from the corporate-chain resort holiday.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

A review for our hall of fame! Deeply appreciate your kind compliments and are already making plans for your constructive points too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,271 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £160 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing