We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Home With Nature - Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“At Home With Nature - Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in St Lucia.We wanted to stay at this end of the island first to do some of the activities and sight seeing, as most of the sights are located at this end of the island. We were really glad we did this and couldn't have wished for a better hotel to stay at.

The accommodation is based on a cocoa plantation 'the rabot estate' which is very unique and lovely in itself. The surroundings/grounds are beautiful with lots of different types of trees and plants. We stayed in a standard lodge (think it was no.4) and we had beautiful views of the pitons. The lodge itself was incredible and we both instantly loved it as soon as we walked in. It was like living in a luxury treehouse for our stay. We loved the openness of the lodge where the shutters could be opened right out. There was a sofa area which we sat at with the windows open and just simply took in the views and beautiful tranquil surroundings. We had two little birds that visited us regularly and a gheko. We loved this and it really did feel like you were right in the rainforest! The rooms were provided with a mini bar and we also had a complimentary bottle of bubbly, local rum and delicious cookies,high quality chocolate and nuts each day. The bed was absolutely amazing. So comfortable and large and having the mosquito net round the bed was a godsend and you felt completely protected from the bugs whilst sleeping! There was also an iPod with music you could use and a telephone to take with you round the estate in case you needed to contact reception for anything. The highlight of the room for us was the incredible open air shower! It was so big and was just so nice to shower there after a long day in the sun. The bathroom itself was also huge and well equipped with ren products, slippers, dressing gown! Top class and the room was spotlessly clean. Big thank you to our cleaner! There is even a free laundry service on offer if needed and free insect repellant! All these little extras make this place stand out above the rest!

The restaurant is in a lovely setting and it's nice to be able to look out over the amazing views of the pitons whilst eating breakfast and dinner. The food was great quality and really tasty. We were on half board basis. The breakfasts were huge!! You could pick and choose what you wanted off of it or even have the whole lot!!! Fresh fruit, warm muffins, toast, porridge, muesli, smoothies, cooked breakfast! What more could you ask for?! Although the food incorporates chocolate into most of the dishes, it wasn't too overpowering. My fave was the white chocolate infused salad dressing! Yum! All our meals were lovely and very filling. The restaurant does get busy and due to this service could be bit slow, but what's the hurry with that view!

The staff were all very polite and friendly and helped us book some excursions hassle free.

The pool/ lounger area is small but was rarely busy and although the pool was very cold it was nice and refreshing and had a lovely view. You could order food to your lounger too which was great.

We booked onto the chocolate tours (both the free tree to bean tour and then the paid for bean to bar tour). Both were really interesting and we learnt a lot. Cuthbert the guide was very informative and friendly and really is a fantastic asset to the hotel. His knowledge is overwhelming and he is very passionate about what he does which shows. We loved grafting our own cocoa tree and mixing/tasting our own chocolate! We would highly recommend these tours!

The spa was nice and I had a great chocolate massage.

All in all we had an amazing stay here, great location, fantastic accommodation, setting and food. Would love to return. Really recommend doing what we did and stay for 3-4 nights if you want a good mix of activities and relaxation as we found this worked really well spending 3 nights here then 7 near a beach on other side of the island. We did think 3-4 days was just right for us here and if were here longer may have become a bit fed up with the chocolatey food. Having said that if you book to stay for 7 nights we are sure you won't be disappointed! How could you be in such a great place with all it's perks! Thank you Boucan Hotel Chocolat for a great start to our honeymoon :0) we loved our stay!

Room Tip: We were in a standard lodge (possibly no.4 from memory).we had a great view of the pitons and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We enjoyed reading your account of your stay with us and it made us feel proud. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    102
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
352
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had lunch at the restaurant at the Boucan Hotel. We did not stay at the hotel.

The food is of the highest quality and very very interesting with extensive use of chocolate (to be expected). The presentation is second to none and the taste follows through. We were a party of 7 and everybody was very pleased with the choices, the fish and chips with chocolate mushy peas were especially enjoyed as was the chocolate fondant.

No review would be compete without a word about the view. It is truly magical overlooking the petite Piton and the cocoa plantation.

We visited from the North of the island as part of a day trip by boat and I would recommend doing that same - not least because the return journey gave me a chance to sleep off the excellent lunch !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Visiting by boat is a great idea. We also have our own 2 private hotel boats, Boucanier I and II which we use to whisk our guests to beaches and coastal experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

First, the view: it is hard not to have a gorgeous view in St. Lucia, but this open air restaurant's vistas are breathtaking.

Their focus on chocolate is never gimmicky...I was initial afraid of that. Everything was not only delicious, but inventive. They started us with bread and three dips, one of chocolate and balsamic vinegar, a butter with cocoa nibs and a pesto of nuts. We were practically fighting over crumbs to dip when the waiter brought more bread.

My wife had the gaspacho, which was bright and flavorful. I had the fishroti, which was fine, but the fish was a bit dry and the whole a touch bland for my taste. The goat cheese salad my daughter had was nice, and the chocolate vinaigrette was a nice surprise without being cloying. My son had fish and chips, which was a bit dry, also ... the fish didn't hold up well to frying, but at least it was local, and the sides were great.

They have a battle of the rum punch, British vs. French, and I tried both. I suggest you do, too.

If my review doesn't sound glowing, perhaps I'm being too nitpicky; the sum is greater that the total of the parts. We enjoyed it immensely. This is definitely worth an excursion to dine.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guests Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We agree, at Boucan the sum always feels greater than the total of the parts - it's magical.
Really appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I went here on the second part of our honeymoon. This hotel is what bumped our honeymoon from "fun and exciting" to "romantic, majestic and breathtaking". When we walked in our luxe lodge, I remember telling my husband that "now I REALLY feel like we are on a honeymoon". The rooms are amazing. Comfortable bed with mosquito nets all around. VERY spacious. The shower alone was about as big as my closet. The views are insane. The food is even more insane. You think you would get sick of chocolate themed foods, but you don't! We did the tree to bar experience which was fantastic. You learn a lot and you get to make chocolate bars at the end. We also did the hike up the pitons. Unless you are in great shape, I wouldn't recommend this. I am in great shape and was having thoughts of honestly not making it back down. For 1/2 the hike I felt like I was rock climbing instead of hiking. I would come back to this resort in a heart beat. Only negative is that this is a quiet resort. There isn't much to do on the property besides relax at the small pool, do the nature walks or the tree to bar experience. This is the perfect location if you are looking to do excursions since you are close to a lot of the experiences St. Lucia has to offer. If you are visiting St. Lucia I would recommend staying at a hotel that is on the beach for a few days and then ending the trip at Hotel Chocolat for 2 - 4 nights.

Room Tip: The LUXE lodges are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afriemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
'Insane views and insane food'! - love it,thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a lovely relaxing stay here. Be aware you are not on the beach and the pool is not great but if you want to relax, enjoy a fabulous chocolate tour with Cuthbert and drink delicious rum punch then this is the place for you. Great view of the Pitons but no direct view of the sea. Bathroom in luxury lodge is great but there is no air conditioning in rooms and high season would be horrendous. Fabulous boat shuttle to beach. Not somewhere you would take the children. Staff were all lovely.

Room Tip: Luxury lodge has great bathroom space and private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks. We are pretty high up and the breeze comes right through even in high season.
Glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked this holiday for a relaxing, romantic and recuperating holiday (7 days). Our intention was to do as little as possible and simply clear the mind...there's no TV, no major hotel entertainments, etc. but don't worry there is free Wi-Fi if you really need it! The travel agent even checked with us before booking that this was what we wanted.
The venue is stunning, the rooms are superb and all the staff are friendly and passionate about chocolate and ensuring you have the best possible time - nothing is a problem - just ask. Tree to bar experience is a must to help you appreciate what goes into a bar of chocolate - your host Cuthbert is a real St Lucian character that loves his profession, and its infectious. The beach shuttle is fantastic, a private (resident guests only) speed boat to the beach...and is included in the price. You can also book the boats for a sunset cruise, we did for my birthday treat and wow what an experience. Attentive and knowledgeable crew, great food, drinks and fizz - just sit back and relax. Take a good pair of trainers to wander the estate trails and take in the breath taking scenery. Everyone we met whilst walking was very friendly and helpful and your room comes with a mobile phone (set up to speed dial the hotel) for you to take on your walk should you need it, but just ask the locals they really are friendly and helpful. The food is to a very high standard and whilst chocolate based, we never felt it was over bearing - even after a week. We understand that some people feel that the food service can be a bit slow at times, but this never bothered us. Our advice would be to take any issues up with the staff who, in our experience, will do their upmost to rectify any problems straight away - they really do just want you to have a great experience.

Room Tip: if you can afford the extra for the Luxe lodges then its worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 288SimonS288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks for describing our beach shuttle. It really is the only way to take your beach time - whisked there by our liveried boat and crew and picked up again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimbledon, london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We really wanted Boucan to be better than it was. We had been previously a couple of years ago and thought it was excellent. This time the service was a bit off and that really affected our experience. Upon being seated we were given our menus, but didn't order drinks until they came back about 20 minutes later. They had run out of mint and couldn't make my friends cocktail, but didn't bring a cocktail menu to the table when hey told him so that he could make another selection. They then Forgot my wife's starter and rather than apologise just dashed about and brought it 5 minutes later.

The chocolate/cocoa flavouring was good, but not as exceptionally as we remembered. Perhaps we hit a bad night, but the experience was so bad that we probably won't go back. A shame really.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
This sounds so unlike us, it definitely was an unusual experience by our standards for which we apologise. Please do come and try us again, we would love the opportunity to 're-prove' ourselves to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
9.2 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
19.6 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Property: Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing