We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to celebrate a wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent 6 wonderful days here when our daughter was married last week. From the moment we arrived we were looked after and it was a relaxing, luxurious vacation. Judy took care of all the details and our daughter's day was simple but elegant the way she wanted it to be. The food and service was excellent....a little bit of chocolate heaven at every meal! The chocolate scented massage, the hiking in the hills, the sound of the birds and rain showers from the open air luxe lodge makes it one of my top vacation memories! It is very quiet and relaxing so if you are looking for a party you won't find it here. Just relaxation, beauty and chocolate, chocolate, chocolate !

Room Tip: The luxe lodge was an unexpected treat....the regular rooms didn't have the same view but were j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was a very lucky girl indeed to be able to celebrate my 50th Birthday at the Hotel Chocolat, it is a beautiful place to stay. The staff are out of this world, friendly informative and there to ensure you have super time. We stayed for 4 nights in the regular villas and 3 in the luxury villas, both were spectacular and each had it's own plus points! It is certainly the little things that make all the difference at this hotel, they really get that right. Situated on a chocolate plantation there is little tasters of the chocolate grown in your room every night along with amazing home made miniature cookies and nuts - Yummy!

The rooms are spectacular - both types, beautiful furniture high quality bathrooms and well laid out for you to relax with plenty of room. The luxury lodges have the views, but the regular lodges are cool and a great place to retreat to after a day by the pool or out having an adventure.

The breakfast here is second to none - I have never had better, it is the only way to start the day and there is no need for lunch! The restaurant in the evening is also spectacular and the food very good, see my restaurant review. I had a facial on my actual birthday and the spa was small but lovely, great staff again and a very good facial.

I can't wait to go back!! We also climbed the Grand Piton - see that review and we did the tree to bar experience with Cuthbert - do not miss that!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sand64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Well done for climbing the Gros Piton. Must have been fuelled by the legendary Boucan breakfast - complimentary to room guests every morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, but we did take the Tree to Bar tour, which was so informative and so much fun. The first part of the tour (tree to bean) is in the cacao orchard (see be prepared for some walking in the dirt), where you learn all about growing the cacao on the plantation's Eco-practices. You also learn about the harvesting/processing process. In addition, you get to graft your own cacao tree, which is planted and you can later visit. On the second part of the tour (bean to bar) you make your own chocolate bar from the raw ingredients, which you get to take home once cool. I recommend a drink in the restaurant during the cooling process.

We booked ourselves directly with Hotel Chocolat. If you book via your hotel or an agency, make sure you are getting what you want, because several couples who booked that way ended up with just Bean to Bar when they wanted the entire tour.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DM_Travels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Yes, it's our unique tour we have been doing for three years now, showcasing the environmental and ethical side of growing some of the worlds best cacao, and then turning it into your own bar of chocolate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from a 6 night stay here and have arrived back home relaxed, rejuvenated and romanced by the beauty of this place. Great service, laid back but attentive, and the rooms are stunning - making the most of the very dramatic setting. They are comfortable, well appointed and the luxe lodges at the top are very private. I was concerned that I might miss a beach setting but it is quick to get to Sugar Beach by taxi and powerboat and once there, it was easy to rent a sunbed for the day (sharing our strip of beach with a party of Russians who had moored in a super yacht just off the shore!) We also went on a day trip up the coast by the hotel powerboat, stopping off to swim to the shore of our own deserted beach on the way back. It doesn't get much better than that! Thank you to all at Boucan for making our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: Luxe lodges are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Glad you made full use of our hotel boats to explore the coast and beaches. It's the best way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beautiful rooms with nothing to improve on, Ren products in the bathroom, a bottle of sparking wine and a bottle of rum punch courtesy of the hotel on arrival, free chocolate pieces, homemade cookies and coffee from the estate, all re-stocked every day. Nothing was too much trouble. The open air shower was wonderful as were the views of Petite Piton from our room.
The Bean to bar was full of information and well worth doing and free to people staying at the hotel but we did have to pay for the part which included making the chocolate to take away. Personally, I could have skipped that part, $60ish each for half an hour making a chocolate bar was a bit steep.
The restaurant is a great setting, some dishes are better than others on the evening menu, I didn't like the chocolate pasta but loved the hot pot which was not too chilli hot at all. Breakfast was fabulous.

Room Tip: Lodges 4 and 3 have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks. Love it when our complimentary details are noticed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you are visiting St Lucia, make time to book this tour of the Rabot Estate. It takes you through the chocolate making process and includes grafting your very own cocoa bean tree.

Cuthbert was the guide and he was superb - informative, knowledgable and above all fun. That's not to say the other staff weren't great - they were, but he is a star.

Miss the tour and you miss out!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thesetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

You heard it here - don't miss it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were a party of 4, and had really high expectations after reading the reviews.
Real story is that the service is good but we did have to wave our arms in the air more than a couple of times to get our servers attention.
Beautiful dining room, nice architecture. Some plates worked, others didn't with their chocolate inspired theme.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EveandWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Comments noted and thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £143 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing