We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calabash Mountain Villa(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$658
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,404
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
381
114
26
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
114
26
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar experienceluxe lodgebar tourthe beancocoa nibspetit pitonrabot estateinfinity poolguest relations managerst luciasugar beachcocoa treeboutique hotelchocolate treatssunset cruisehotel's boatbeach shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First impression was WOW what a view of the Piton as soon as you reach the top of the stairs – made climbing the steps from the car park after a 2 hour drive from Rodney Bay worthwhile!

Our first time to Boucan restaurant, we arrived for lunch - pleasantly surprised to find it not packed to the rafters with cruise ship tourists

Customer service
Excellent –We were looked after from the time we arrived, to the bar area – chocolate daiquiri mmmmn - to the end of the meal, no pressure time-wise to order or vacate the area, and perfect timing in-between courses. Everyone very friendly, polite and helpful. Also going the extra mile with one waiter going out of the restaurant to put together 3 different brochures on the hotel when I asked if there was any information.

Atmosphere
Very relaxing, comfortable, cool and fresh – gorgeous decor

Food
Every dish was Delicious – the complimentary bread and dips were a surprise and a brilliant first experience of cocoa infused savoury food – cocoa and balsamic who would have guessed!

Though a little expensive the cost was justified with the generous portion sizes, to the extent that I could not fit the complimentary truffle in at the end – which is unheard of for me with anything chocolate!

A couple in our party like to score restaurants out of 10, and despite the fact they had initially given a’ -1’ due to a dish on the menu being unavailable they scored it 12 out of 10! They also booked lunch again for the following week as they had guests coming out to their yacht for a holiday and felt the 2 hour drive over from Rodney Bay was worth the trip to enjoy the Boucan experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Really appreciate your detailed review and analysis of the key things - service, food, atmosphere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A group of friends and I stayed at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat for 5 nights at the end of May. We stayed in the regular lodges which were beautiful, always clean and very comfy. We dined almost every night at the hotel's restaurant, we had breakfast included as well and were always impressed with service. There was only one meal I sent back but it was just because it was too spicy for my taste. The menu and especially desserts were exceptional. The view alone from the hotel is well worth a trip down or visit at the hotel. The hotel was in the perfect location with a shuttle allowing you to visit Sugar Beach a few minutes away. It was the best of both worlds. The staff were more than willing to assist us and were extremely helpful and lovely. Probably not a kid-friendly hotel, but if you are looking for an escape, Boucan by Hotel Chocolat is the place to go!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lodge 1 and it had a good view, luxe lodges are higher up with a better view but you certainly are not missing out.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaNowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

'If you are looking for an escape Boucan by Hotel Chocolat is the place to go' - made us all smile when we read your words. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat for 7 nights from Sat 14th June in Lodge 3. We had an awesome time, the staff were very friendly, attentive and made our stay very comfortable. We dined at the restaurant 6 out of the 7 nights, we loved every part of our dining experience. The breads and spreads at the start always went down well, the amuse bouche between courses were to die for! We tended to have a main course and a dessert most nights, i think between us we tried almost everything on the menu and i can say that i enjoyed everything apart from the 'Magnificent Piton' - which i thought lacked substance and flavour. They have 'Sticky Toffee' on the new menu, which was really tasty but the size was very small - it was only two mouthfuls worth! My favourite main meal was the duck and fav dessert was the chocolate tart (which isn't on the new menu which started half way through our stay.) but the creme brulee was pretty amazing. The breakfast was good quality and very tasty - the highlight everyday for us was the homemade smoothie - it was yum! Even tho i enjoyed it, after the 4th/5th day i was feeling like i needed something different - it would have been good if they had offered different cereals or pastries maybe?
We tried most of walks on the estate which were enjoyable, the hotel will give you a map & a bit of guidance. We did ask how to get to the 'old sugar mill' but no one seemed to know. We did try and find the tracker point but we had no luck. It would be nice if the tracks were maintained so guests can find them.
Club boucan was ideal for us, most days we had the pool and sunbed area to ourselves. We loved the view and tranquility of the place. The pool is nice but very refreshing! I had to wait until i was very hot before i took the plunge! Club Boucan offer happy hour Thurs-Sat 5.30-6.30pm, we made the most of cocktails in this hour because we thought they were over-priced. Don't get me wrong, they were delicious but very small and basic for $14-$16. Would have been nice if they made more effort with the appearance like putting sliced fruit on the side.
Our room was great, we loved the outdoor rain shower and the big bed. The best thing is the daily treats, we couldn't resist the cookies - yummy! Occasionally we got a little pot of chocolate as well! We enjoyed letting the birds in to eat the leftover crumbs/nuts.
We enjoyed a spa treatment each during our stay, i had a facial and my husband has a massage. Both were really good, the facial made my skin super soft and left it smelling like chocolate!!
The best thing that we done on our trip was the 'bean to bar tour' we throughly enjoyed learning the processes and history of the cocoa pod. We had Cuthbert and the new tour guide Kurtis, both were very passionate and made the experience very enjoyable for us. And you get to take away your own chocolate bar!!
You can purchase a view gifts from the restaurant like wine, port, nibs and tea but i know a lot of people were wanting to buy chocolate - i know this would be hard as it very hot but maybe it something they should look into. Even maybe being able to purchase the cookies that you supply as daily treats?
Overall, we had a great stay at Hotel Chocolat and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazzle0mazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for your lovely and observant review. Have taken note of the points you made, for which we thank you, and are delighted your honeymoon was 'perfect'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had lunch at Boucon during our stay in St. Lucia in May. The food and wine were divine, nothing fancy, just quality food packed with flavour.....and chocolate. The views were simply stunning. Well worth the drive down the island for the most amazing experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tottycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

The views are truly amazing, glad you enjoyed lunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I dined here one night while staying at Fond Doux. When we walked up the stairs to the dining room, I was in complete awe, the view was totally breathtaking and to our surprise we arrived right at sunset. The food was interesting and we enjoyed the chocolate concept in each of our dishes. We are big foodies and enjoyed the dining experience, the food was good, but nothing completely outstanding in my opinion (not sure if the authentic flavors were toned down for tourists), but we enjoyed the meal. The view really sold us, and given a chance to be back in Soufriere I would love the stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SappiNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews