We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh! Chocolat! Yeah!”

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even if you’re not a chocaholic, then you’ll still love dining at Boucan. For those who love and crave chocolate, you’ve reached your nirvana. The restaurant itself has a cool, open-air warehouse vibe. Inside the restaurant, they’re actually processing the cocoa for use. The wait staff was exceptionally attentive, friendly and eager to serve. The cocktail menu was outstanding. We chose the Chairman’s Punch (made fresh with plenty of kick) although the cocoa-based drinks sounded very interesting. We started our meal by having the Sharing Platter because we couldn’t make up our mind for appetizers. The Pulled Pork Fritters were a first for us (even though we come from BBQ country); the Gin-Infused Mahi stole the show; and the gazpacho shots were a nice refreshing respite. The Sweet Potato chips were kind of blah – seemed like they needed some seasoning or dip. We also received a complimentary cold mango soup topped with cacao nibs which was a really interesting combination that we enjoyed. For dinner, we had the seven-hour braised lamb shank and 12-hour marinated chicken. Both dishes were freshly prepared and quite good although the white-chocolate mashed potatoes that came with the chicken were outstanding. If ever you thought about ordering something chocolate for dessert, then this will be your “Happy Place.” We figured since we’re on a volcanic island and eating at a working cacao plantation, why not the lava cake (which has a 25-minute wait but well worth every last bite). By far, one of the most refreshingly interesting menus backed up by excellent food preparation and service in Soufriere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gobeach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great feedback, we strive to create unique and interesting dishes using local ingredients where ever possible, roasted cocoa is so versatile and can be added as a delicate spice or as an infusion but when we turn the beans into chocolate then we are able to create the piece du resistance the lava cake - delighted you enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner here one night and was not dissapointed. Food was fantastic, great drink menu and the view is over the top!

Thank BretteParrish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting our slice of paradise. We think this is one of the best spots in the world to dine and we love sharing it with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I heard about Boucan Restaurant & Bar from our driver Miguel from Majestic Taxi and Tours. We were so excited to find out it was a short walk across the street from our hotel (Ladera), so we made a reservation and got dinner the same night. The food was outstanding. They use parts of the cocoa bean in every dish they make, which made everything unique and delicious. As hard-to-please foodies from NYC, we were worried the food might favor gimmick over taste, but every single thing we tried was amazing.

Starting with the bread, which was accompanied by a dark chocolate dipping oil, cocoa-tinged pesto, and cacao butter, we were blown away. We ordered the Sharing Platter, which had a sampling of chocolate-inspired appetizers. The Cacao Gazpacho shots were good but just a bit spicy for my tastes. My husband really enjoyed the Cacao Gin Cured Mahi-Mahi. We both thought the Cacao Marinated Chicken and Papaya and Sweet Potato Strips were excellent. I had the Beef Fillet for my entree, which was perfectly cooked in a delicious red wine dark chocolate gravy. The pumpkin carrot mash provided a yummy contrast to the filet. My husband ordered the Chicken Roulade, which he enjoyed about as well. We also ordered the White Chocolate Mashed Potatoes, which were out of this world. It was the dish Miguel had mentioned to us and it was definitely worth its reputation. For dessert, my husband had the Chocolate Genesis. He was glad he ordered it to be able to sample all different parts of the chocolate process, but some parts weren't his favorite. I had the Rabot Chocolate Lava, which takes 20 minutes to make and is worth every second of that. It was the perfect amount of chocolate without being too sweet or rich. The drinks were as delicious as the food. My husband absolutely loved his Rum Old Fashioned, which had chocolate bitters, and I very much enjoyed my Banana Chocolate Daquiris.

Our immersive chocolate experience was so delicious that we returned the next night for dinner again! For our second dinner, we ordered the Beef Tartare (excellent), the Duck Confit (very good), and the Cacao Beer Jerked Pork Tenderloin (I think this was my favorite entree). We had the Rabot Chocolate Lava again for dessert because we loved it so much the night before.

The service was excellent both nights. The hosts were friendly and efficient, and our waiters friendly and attentive. The price was reasonable. The ambiance was lovely.
Overall, it was one of our favorite dining experiences of the trip!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for such great feedback, we strive to create unique & innovative dishes with a cocoa twist. Absolutely blown away that is was your favorite dining experience during your trip and you had our piece du resistance - chocolate lava cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ate lunch here after the chocolate tour. Coco nibs and chocolate used tastefully in several dishes without being over powering. Service was also very good and excellent drinks

Thank Travelrasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great way to incorporate the learning element of tree to bean tour to then see the magic we can make on our plates, brimming with flavors of our cocoa estate , thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our favorite restaurant in St. Lucia by far. Very romantic, modern environment with an open kitchen. The menu has good variety and creative interesting twists incorporating chocolate in interesting ways.

Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting us, ambience is key it's something that's either there if not .........Glad we have it wrapped up in the Boucan and you enjoyed the experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing