We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Anniversary”
Review of Still Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Still Beach House
Ranked #5 of 9 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I just returned and we want to go back! It was a very relaxing and beautiful place to be. We do not prefer the resorts:we prefer to meet the local people and eat the local foods.Everyone here were so friendly and helpful.Thomas took us snorkeling with Joseph,our water taxi driver and we visitedB.Garden,Ruby Estate,and had a special local lunch.We swam every day. On Sunday we visited a very nice Baptist Church.They welcomed us with open arms. We walked to town several times to buy bottled water and snacks. We were the only hotel guests for two days so the staff were not always available to fix our meals, but we could eat in town or next door at the Hummingbird. I asked Pinky to make some banana pancakes one morning and she did. They were delicious. Lucia even made a special message on the bed with pink cattails and flowers to celebrate our special day. I was afraid the mosquitoes and sand flies would be bad,but they were no problem with our bug repellent bracelets at dusk. If you need great water power and luxurious accomodations don't come here. All we needed was AC,good bed,fridge, TV,and shower. The flowers,fruit basket,and wonderful people were a definite plus++.

Room Tip: Room #1 close to the steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Still beach house was kind enough to allow us to celebrate our quarterly staff awards dinner at their establishment.
On entrance one is captivated by this newly refurbished and lovely outdoor covered restaurant with views of the Pitons with the beachfront immediately to the front of their doorsteps. The tables were nicely set and laid with fresh flowers, around the restaurant one could see tons of pots filled with tropical plants and foliage..
We were warmly greeted by the staff and management. We enjoyed the sumptuous creole food which was served and to sum up all our staff including other diners loved the food, the ambiance and atmosphere.
The twinkling lights of some divers on a late night dive, hovered on the water and soon enough they too joined in the fun. Lovely, lovely night and dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here one night before checking into a resort up the hill. We had no expectation of this hotel but had a wonderful stay. It was very clean with a comfortable bed. We had a wonderful porch that was ocean close. We were put In touch with a great young man who took us out on the water and showed us around. Owners are extremely nice. If you do not need the full resort treatment, this is a good alternative. We would stay again

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Caroljdavis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a good value alternative to the ubiquitous large anonymous resorts that are hermetically sealed from their surroundings.

The Beach House is right on the beach. We loved getting up early to watch the fishermen doing their thing before we went for a dip in the sort of surroundings you normally only dream of. We could only pinch ourselves on day one when we found ourselves in calm chest high water with cliffs to one side and Petit Piton to the other while the window blew blossoms on to the sea surface. You'd pay a fortune to replicate that kind of experience in a spa, but you couldn't replicate the view.

The hotel is locally operated and small enough to get to know people a little. There was a large double bed with mosquito net, ensuite, a good sized fridge, a full fruit bowl and a large bunch of fresh local flowers.

Take advantage of the unique offer of a tour of the owner's working plantation (US $20), not only did we get to see a huge range of fruit and spices growing we got to taste a lot of them too.

Finally, the hotel is only a few minutes from the centre of Soufriere where you can buy fresh fresh supplies as well as souvenirs. Some were even made while we watched. We really appreciated the friendliness of this warm community and were very sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at The Still for three nights. We heard that it could be hit or miss, and came without expecting too much, but had a really good time there. At a very reasonable price, you get the comfortable room with working AC, decent water pressure, and tea kettle/toaster/cups and plates; the beach with good (plus free and unadvertised) snorkeling; and of course, the famously gorgeous Piton view from the balcony. We also enjoyed a tour of Ruby estate - thank you Thomas!

A couple of things that did bother us, but not enough to take away a star:

- glitches in communication - we requested a kitchenette suite, got an email saying we could have it, but only a few days before our arrival, were told the suite was no longer available. We never got an explanation, let alone an apology, but the room we ended up with was quite satisfactory, so we let it go.

- the breakfast situation - the discounted rate advertised on their website at the time of our booking said "breakfast included", but we had to fight for it! Unfortunately, it wasn't worth the fight: the breakfast only included toast (the untoasted sliced baguette), butter (of the I-can't-believe-it's-not variety) and coffee. A piece of fruit please? - "We are out of fruit" (umm, in St Lucia?) Eggs and ham? - 14USD... so we decided to stick with fresh pastry from Purity Bakery and our own tea.

- the beach may get crowded and littered on weekends, and the loud music from "pleasure boats" may disrupt your siesta :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank didobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

There is only a buffet table with lots of local foods, green papaya, local fish, chicken and the most amazing beans or lentils. Dessert is a big boring with only a strawberry ice cream. A local flavor ice cream would be a better choice in my view, coconut, mango etc..
Very friendly staff. all you can eat buffet and very casual with an amazing view of the Pitons.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank suedegrandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in Soufriere where we wouldn't need a car and that had a fully equipped kitchen so that we could make our own meals. If you are looking for a touristy resort with everything included, this is probably not for you, but it was perfect for what we were looking for. The property is right on the beach where local kids come to play. Men trying to sell us various things got a little annoying, but it was easy enough to ignore them. It was only a short walk into the town itself, which was also nice.
Our suite was very spacious and the balcony. Waking up with the view of the Pitons was absolutely amazing. The kitchen had a stove, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and all the dishes we needed for the week. We had lunch at the restaurant a couple of times and the food was great. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A very friendly resident cat even joined us for morning coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babicka_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.9 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Beach House

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range: £141 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Still Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Still Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Beach House Hotel
Still Beach House St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing