We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Still Beach House
Nearby Hotels
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$630
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$658
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,404
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
33
37
21
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
37
21
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinformative drivershort walk from townlocal plantsdiamond waterfallsfresh fruiton a daily basisbotanical gardensanse chastanetplantationpitonflowersislandluciabeachesvolcanoforest
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Clean, simple and peaceful. The most breathtaking view we could ever have wished for. This property is so close to the sea that you can hear the waves crashing on the shore, a truly soothing sound. Although there is dinner served in the restaurant we only ate there once as there is no atmosphere; we did however appreciate this as it was so quiet in the evenings and easy to get a good night's rest. Try Martha's place (on the road to Piton's waterfall)...food excellent and reasonably priced. Still beach is superb but anse chastanet is an even lovelier beach worth taking the hike for!!
What a great find this place is...couldn't believe my luck every time I sat on the balcony :) :)

Room Tip: Room 1 is next to stairs so there is a little noise as people pass (there is a window to the side as well as overlooking the sea) but the view is superb....you can see the sea as you lie in bed. It had aircon (as did the room next door) but we made friends with people in room 3 and it had a ceiling fan instead. Room 3 is a suite with kitchenette and the bedroom is at the back in this room. The view from the balcony is not quite as good...but hey, the views are excellent to start with!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I spent our first week in St Lucia at Still Beach and we enjoyed it as a relatively inexpensive place to explore the Pitons/Soufriere area from. David the owner was quick to reply to our email reservation requests. While the rooms are not a four or five-star experience, they are clean and spacious and had really nice views of the Pitons across the Bay. We stayed in Room 4 which has a full kitchen. The only real alternative is spending two to ten times more per night to stay at the higher end places, which may only be worth it if you can afford to burn that kind of cash.

Still Beach is conveniently located on the edge of Soufriere, so it was pretty quiet for being so near town, but the beach still had a lively local flavor at times, with fisherman, visiting and local boats at anchor, and boys playing soccer and occasionally hawking trinkets and water taxi rides. One of the most appealing aspects of this Hotel is Thomas, a local guide and self-taught botanist who was always helpful in setting up a water taxi ride, or a guided trip to the mountains or the plantation owned by the hotel owner David. Thomas knew much about the local flora and such, and he knew most everyone in town. He was very kind and informative without being pushy. We highly recommend his services, which were usually very reasonable or even sometimes complimentary.

We used it as base to get to the local beaches and sights from. We walked to town and to Orlando's restaurant. The only less than glowing aspect of our stay was the noted absence of a dedicated Hotel Front Desk & Manager to assist with check-in, orientation, guest services and questions, etc. We got to meet the owner David in town, by chance, and he seemed to be a very nice guy, and we liked the laid-back style of the place. He even made sure we had breakfast food and bottle of rum in the room waiting for us! But we had several questions and minor requests about the restaurant hours, electrical converters, AC and such, but it was never quite clear which of nice employees working there were the appropriate ones to ask, so some questions and requests went unanswered for awhile. Thomas luckily was always there and eager to help us out. If he is not the Manger, he should be!

The food and drinks at the restaurant were great...we had both breakfast and dinner there twice...great views and nice laid-back service. If you want the pool and the higher end fixtures and honeymoon luxuries, this may not be your destination, but if you want the best value on the island, this is it!

Room Tip: Room 4 had a kitchen; all rooms appear to have good Piton views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PalmyraDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After reading multiple reviews and waffling back and forth, we decided to give Still Beach House a try. While there were many positive sides of our stay, ultimately, we were disappointed.

Initially owner, David, was incredibly and prompt and helpful by email, and was even willing to hold a reservation without a credit card on file. When we got there, we found our room simple but nice. Attention was paid to details like fresh cut flowers and baskets of fresh fruit replenished daily. And, as written in other reviews, the view could not be beat- a gorgeous, unobstructed view of Petite Piton met us on our private balcony.

Overall, the staff were very warm and helpful. Whenever we had a question or concern, they did their best to assist or accommodate. (An example, even though cocoa tea wasn't on the menu, they found the ingredients to make it for us to try. They also helped us with directions to local attractions.)

The final pro of Still Beach House (and Humming Bird Hotel) is location. Located directly off the main road and on the beach, it's the best of both worlds. While Soufriere beach is not amazing, the hotel is just off a small road that heads up hill and over to Anse Chastenate and Anses Mamim, GORGEOUS beaches. Sugar Beach is less than 2 miles South, in the opposite direction.

Major Con: The one part of this stay we did not expect, was the lack of interest on the part of the owner in what I'd describe as overall upkeep. Our largest concern during the stay was the lack of hot or even warm water. Staying four nights, we had 2 room temperature showers, and the rest were ice cold. (I volunteered in multiple developing countries and am used to bucket showers, solar showers, and electric showers. These were ice showers.) When we expressed our concern to staff, they were friendly enough but communicated they did not have control over the upkeep of the solar power heaters. The owner visited the hotel every afternoon, but did make any visible effort to fix the problem. The hotel was also without working internet for a third of our stay and the restaurant ran out of most dinner options on a regular basis. Because we never saw David before we squared away our bill, we emailed to explain the situation and asked that he reduce our bill. He conveniently never wrote back and charged us the full amount.

We camp, have lived in various other countries, and generally enjoy being adventurous and "roughing it," but when we spend over $100 per night on a hotel, we do not expect to have to "rough" something as basic as a warm shower. With the chance to redo our Soufriere experience, we would have stayed next door at the Hummingbird (which was lovely).

If you are looking for a generally decent place to stay that doesn't break your budget and you don't mind inconsistent basic amenities- this is probably "still" a good bet. If you'd like to return home from a day of adventuring with at least a luke warm shower, pay the extra $15 a night to stay at Humming Bird. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gl0bal_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This place was awesome because it was just a little beach house with five rooms along the beach with a beautiful view of the pitons. It has two rooms & three suites (has a kitchenette). We were in room five and were on the end, which probably had the most obstructed view of all of them but it was still a pretty good view.
We had seen mixed reviews on trip advisor but still decided to give it a shot. As my boss says, some people want five star service on a white castle budget. I think some people were expecting to go to this $150/night almost guesthouse and be at a five star resort. We really liked this place! It was very chill & low key & everyone there was so nice. Sorry for the delayed review!

Room Tip: Ask for room 3. It's a suite and probably has the best view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_7_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After a beautiful holiday in the northern part of the island, we stayed here just for our last day/night to be closer to the airport and experience some of the South. I have stayed in hostels all over the world that I shared with 20 other perfect strangers that were more pleasant than this place. The only reason I am even giving 2 starts was because of the view. The room was dirty and came with a stray cat. We were also harassed by local teenagers banging on our window and door for about 30-45 minutes. We did NOT want a ride to the street party, but they were relentless and came back multiple times harassing us, calling us names, all 7 of them yelling and banging on our door and window. It was quite frankly scary because the security at this place did not exist. When we went to dinner that night I was scared to even leave the room for fear these kids were going to rob our room. The safe had no door so that was no help. We spent all of our time at the Hummingbird Hotel next door and next time I am in Soufriere I will spend the extra money to stay in a friendly, safe, and clean environment, such as the Hummingbird. I do not recommend this pathetic excuse for a "hotel" at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews