We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Still Beach House
Nearby Hotels
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$514
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$575
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$816
US$714
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$630
US$600
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$832
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
33
37
21
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
37
21
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinformative drivershort walk from townlocal plantsdiamond waterfallsfresh fruiton a daily basisbotanical gardensanse chastanetplantationpitonflowersislandluciabeachesvolcanoforest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights, at the plantation bit (not the beach resort), with an Explore! group we were travelling with. There is no reception, so on arrival the security guard simply told our tour leader that she had to look for suitable vacant rooms by opening the ones with keys in the doors! This took quite some time and then It turned out that there were not enough rooms. We then learend that the owner had been sitting in one of the rooms all along ignoring us completely. He then came out and said that the fax he received had only made a reservation for 16 people not 19, but refused to show the fax (the same one every other hotel we had stayed at during the past fortnight had accurately received). He was very rude, and was shouting at both our leader and other guests, and telling us that we would have to share rooms. After much argument, he agreed to have a couple of the group stay at the beachside resort where there were rooms available.

The place really needs alot of maintenance work - our toilet did not work properly, the shower leaked, the tiles on the floor outside the bathroom door were all broken, and our bed was flea infested!

On our third day, the restaurant manager from the beach resort offered to make a bonfire and BBQ on the beach for us. She said that she would do seafood platters with prawns, fish, scallops and so on and the she would tell us the price later. Later in the day she gave us a menu and we were a bit surprised to see that she was charging EC$35 for the prawns and EC$70 for the seafood platter, but we thought it would be worth it for some great seafood fresh from the sea and the beach bonfire. However, for our EC$35 (about £7) we got only 3 medium sized prawns, and the seafood platter was disgusting - simply frozen seafood extender mix mushed with some tinned tomato and an extra prawn thrown in! It was the worst tasting meal I had in two weeks in the Carribean and the most expensive. To put it into context, the night before at the fish market I'd had two great pieces of Mahi Mahi, an entire bowl of prawns and another entire bowl of octopus (all fresh!) for EC$80!

Stay away - the accomodation is terible, the owner and staff rude, and completely overcharging for truly bad experiences!

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LoopyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

We stayed at the Still Beach Resort for 5 days in the 2nd week of July. Our choice was totally based on the fact that the SCUBA Dive shop was on location. Chester runs the dive shop and he's a real nice guy. He took us to dive the Pitons and it was beautiful one of the best we have found in the Caribbean. It had been a hard decision between the Still and the Hummingbird Resort "next door". I didn't know until I got there that the two are basically on top of each other. This was good.

I emailed the hotel about a taxi to meet us at the airport. They sent the "guy" they use. His name is Christopher and he his very good. We took the waterfall tour with him and it was great...highly recommended. Our flight came in late and Christopher had sandwiches and beer waiting in the room for us since the restaurant was closed.

We were definitely there off-season. The restaurant was not open in the evenings and there isn't really much of a bar. BUT that's the best part about the Hummingbird Resort right next door. Take the road or just walk down the beach, it's very close. The restaurant was wonderful and the bar was very nice. There is a great boutique on site.

The rooms at the Still were big and clean. Air conditioned bedrooms kept the whole place cool. Nice deck facing the Pitons. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Fresh flowers every day. Big tiled baths with fresh flowers. Full, equipped kitchen. I think we were one of only 3 rooms rented the first night or 2, so it's very quiet..

Walk to town and don't let the locals scare you. St. Lucians are very nice. Yes, there are some beggars but you find that on every island. Just tell them "no" and there off. (If you do give something, they will be your best friend for the rest of the time you are in town.....same with the pot dogs). It's only a couple of blocks across the bridge in town, don't miss Archies. Great place to eat but even better to sit at the bar and watch the main street..

The Still Beach Resort was nice but now that I have been there, I would stay next door at the Hummingbird. It's just as close to the dive shop and the restaurant had wonderful fresh fish dishes. We took many meals there. Plus the bar is very nice and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hesperado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2005

We stayed at the Still Beach Resort for a week in December and really enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The best thing is the view. It's right at the beach and we had a beautiful view of a Piton, Soufriere, and the beach. And all this for $80 a night. Since we arrived late, complimentary sandwiches were waiting for us in our room. We also had always beautiful flowers and fresh fruits in our room. We had a little problem with our hot water boiler once. They fixed it right away, although it was Sunday. We went on a great half-day diving trip with the dive master at the hotel. My husband dived on 2 different sites and I snorkeled there. We only payed $10 for me. They are very flexible about individual wishes. The food in the restaurant was very good. The patio is right at the beach with a great Piton-view.
We recommend taking a rental car so you can see the other beautiful places.
When I read some of the other reviews, I get the feeling those people are better off in a fancy 5-star all-inclusive resort.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gele1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2005

We were appalled by this restaurant. We should have known when we walked in and there was no one there eating breakfast at 930 in the morning. The cream and sugar needed replaced after our first cup of coffee and when the waitress brought out new sugar, it was teeming with small ants(which subsequently got all over everything on the table). Even I know that anything sweet like sugar needs to be sealed well on a tropical island. When I politely returned the sugar to her and explained what the problem was, she said "OK" and walked away. We did get new sugar, but the breakfasts were undercooked and left much to be desired. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

4  Thank StephanieBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
La Mesa
110
Reviewed 9 January 2005

The still beach resort is a 1-star resort with a 5 -star view. We occupied the middle room and had a wonderful view of the Pitons. Unfortunately there was a poop in the toilet when we checked in and the sliding door onto the shared balcony did not lock so there was no security! This motel (not resort) is not for the faint of heart. For that matter, the town of Soufriere takes some getting used to also. Our experience was that the locals stared at us as if we had walked off a spaceship. The grocery store in town only sold liquor and bad chocolate. We once spent an afternoon in town watching three stores in the town burn down. This was the entertainment. Our room neighbours also found the 'still' a little hard to handle and told us of their plan to move to Rodney Bay asap. Guess what? We borrowed their brochure and moved to Rodney Bay the next day. What a relief - the vacation was saved. Most resorts leave chocolate in the room...we got poop!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews