We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good service”
Review of Jade Mountain Club

Jade Mountain Club
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

So we walked up to the restaurant one day, unplanned. Apparently its advised you make a reservation. I was unaware that would be expected for lunch, but they "worked us in." Mind you there was only one other couple there when we arrived. Anyhow, they were very nice and the view was amazing. I would recommend this place for lunch if you not into spending too much on the meal, but want to see the view. The view from the top floor was one of the best views of the Pitons while we were in St. Lucia. I thought they were extra nice since it was the day before our wedding at Stonefield. They brought us an extra piece of fish to try and a complementary drink. It was very nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NightnurseDNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    35
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Incredible Food and Views but Exclusive Attitude is Ridiculous”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We called the night before to see if Jade would take reservations from outside guests (we were at Stonefield) for sunset (around 5:30pm). They said they only take same day reservations and to call again at 7 am tomorrow. When my boyfriend called again at 7 am, they said they were fully booked but they would call us to let us if something opens up later. We never heard back so thought we could at least head on up to Jade Mountain for drinks.

So we drove there around 5pm to get there in time for sunset and got to the parking lot. The guards kept asking us if we had a reservation (to grab drinks?) and gave us a hard time. Finally, they called the restaurant upstairs and got us permission to take the shuttle up the mountain...

When we got to the top, we were the only people in the entire restuarant! Fully booked???? Wow, what a complete and utter lie!

However, the restaurant staff all introduced themselves to us at this point, including the restaurant manager. They welcomed us and took our drink orders. We sat and enjoyed the sunset and at 5:45pm we were still the only people at the restaurant so we asked if it was possible to have dinner there.

They made a big fuss of it and while some staff were happy to have us, one manager made it a point to say "we don't usually do this as we are fully booked."

However, I guess being fully "booked" wasn't enough to stop them from giving us the table with the best view in the whole restaurant. We proceeded to order, and only one other couple was there.

While the drinks and views were fantastic that point our experience was about 2/3 stars due to the attitude. :(

Thankfully, once they sat us for dinner, our experience shifted completely to become extraordinarily positive! Our servers came around and were friendly and fast, the food was fantastic, the views were great, the drinks were delicious. We took our time, my boyfriend bought some Cuban cigars, and we spent the whole evening having a great time. I think this was easily our best dining experience in St. Lucia. However, at no point in the night was the restaurant more than 60% full. I have to take off one star for the elitist attitude.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank xsearingheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, scary drive”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

First things first, while Jade Mountain is in a lovely setting, getting there by car is a bit hair raising. The road up from Soufriere is a heavily rutted single track that you really need a decent 4x4 to get up. I wouldn't drive up it ... get a taxi driver or go by boat.

On to the food. This place has the best food we've tasted in St Lucia.

My partner had a chicken boullion, a pineapple salad, grilled kingfish and then a vanilla panna cotta.

I had seared scallop, duck breast salad, wood grilled lobster and the same panna cotta.

We also had a citrus cerviche as an amuse bouche.

Every dish apart from the panna cotta was excellently prepared and had a good balance of flavours.

The wairing staff were also attentive with some good relaxed chat.

The view from the restaurant is spectacular. You really do appreciate the setting if you get there for the 1815 dinner sitting. Watching the sun set with the Pitons in the foreground is something not to be missed.

Pricewise, the set menu (apart from a surcharge for the lobster) is $95 a head. Pretty reasonable compared to other restaurants in the area.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank JimmyMcFatboyfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dinner at Disneyland”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The first time we attempted to visit Jade Mountain for sunset drinks and appetizers we were rebuffed at the gate and told that there was no room in the bar. Two nights later, after having been told that reservations were generally available for 6:30 or 8:30, but on that evening only for 6:30, we arrived as the first guests on a roof-top lounge with a capacity for 50+. (Although we we ultimately joined by others, in light of our inability to get in two days earlier, we were surprised that there wasn't a crowd!) The view from the multi-storied garage-like structure atop a high hill was spectacular, the furnishings were contemporary, chic and comfortable, the service was affectedly hospitable, but there was a somewhat strange,stage set and theatrical quality about the experience. The menu in the covered, spacious, open-air restaurant was up-scale international with a Caribbean flavor and the wine list was extensive. We had no difficulty ordering! All meals met or exceeded expectations and although very pricey, $750+ for four including $225 for two bottles of good wine (one a 2011The Prisoner marked up to $130), we did enjoy one of our better meals in Souffriere. Overall, however, the experience at Jade Mountain was somewhat surreal. Having dined there once, we found no need to rush back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnisquamAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable views and a room fit for royalty!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Unbelievable views and a room fit for royalty! We dined for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the customer serv

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Mountain Club also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Jade Mountain Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing