We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for your Hospitality :))”
Review of Uptown Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uptown Guest House
Ranked #6 of 8 Soufriere B&B and Inns
In-Nadur, null, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thank you for your Hospitality :))”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thank you had a nice stay and was pleased to be welcomed ...Lovely rooms as whole family had different rooms :)) Food was fantastic lovely flavors and thank you for making what we liked :)) Few things would of liked improved... lighting walking up to the hotel during the night in front of hotel as Hill isn't easy to climb in the dark...towel changing more than once for the time we stayed, we also been taking tours which had been more expensive- airport was 80XCD; trip to village was 15XCD one way 2min drive we couldn't walk the hills, Village Market was 405XCD 7am till 11.30am; but what disappointed me was the boat trip...not friendly locals and overcharge from 10am - 1pm 500XCD when the trip should of been till 5pm and was charged for the trip down to village as well when tried to negotiate no deal actual cost quoted was supposed to be 486XCD, when explained to Micheal didn't even try to help to retrieve loss - better offers can be found...please do not hesitate to go to village below in-front of the Humming bird hotel ask for a local called MJ [Marvin Junior] best deals; last but not least our bags to be helped with on the last day, very minor things but was nice to stay not a wow wow due to being a bit uncomfortable but thank you maybe some better improvements even though moving out of the business would of changed the review ratings...

Room Tip: I was downstairs in Rm E was big enough clean and lovely, daughter was above and she also had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
10
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had booked a stay here for April 15-19 and it is the best money spent on lodging. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel accommodation, this place is not for you. The most amazing part about this guesthouse is the view and the owners. Michael and Andrea (the owners) are just absolutely wonderful people and they make you feel as if you are at home! The view is just beautiful and it's peaceful while laying in bed and looking out. People complain of the noise in the morning, however, i absolutely adore it- my family is west Indian and I greatly enjoy waking up to roosters and soca music in the morning so the noise doesn't bother me. The room is simple but sufficient, with a huge shower and a curtain to allow privacy while using the restroom should you be rooming with someone. There is a ceiling fan and there was always a nice breeze in the room so being hott was never an issue.

The beach is just at the bottom of the hill- approximately a 5-7 minute walk from the guesthouse...going into town is about a 10minute walk from the guesthouse-and the beach is on the way into town. Please advise that the guesthouse sits atop a somewhat steep hill (this is why the view is so magnificent). If you are lazy, this walk is not for you. My friend and i went into town/beach several times a day as we didn't mind the walking. With its location I'm proud to say i didn't feel like i was laying around just being lazy, it was welcomed exercise.

Michael does run a taxi service to and from airport for guests, however, i did not utilize this service as i found a round trip transfer for a significantly lower rate. Please advise taxi services in the island are a bit costly and Michael's rate is lower then what you would find in the airport. My friend and I took the tour that Michael offered which was a good experience and about 80usd just for the driving...admission fees are a separate cost which was okay, just wish that was explained to us before we departed. Andrea is indeed a good cook as the other reviews have stated, however, her meals and services are very expensive in my opinion and equal to or more what i would pay for dinner/services in New York City.- but with that being said, it may be a good experience to try her cooking just once, you won't regret it. My friend and i went downtown and gotten some fresh grilled conch and tuna fillet each and it was about 15usd which was great!

The bus to Castries is about 4usd per person and an hour away. The bigger market is in Castries and for us it was a good experience to go and see what it was like. If you are looking for a huge bus that you may find in America or Europe-think again. The bus over here is a 10 seat passenger van- just a heads up.

The area by the guesthouse is VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY safe....did i mention it was safe?? lol. I travel ALOT and as a female i never felt so safe being out in a different country past midnight, being on the beach at night and out having a few drinks with the locals - who are very very friendly. Yes the streets gets dark and of course you should always be aware of your surroundings but really this area isn't a problem.

I would definitely stay at the guesthouse again in half a heartbeat- no questions asked

Room Tip: ask for an upper room/ tell your taxi driver "talk to me" guesthouse rather then uptown as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MsSpontaneous28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked for 3 nights and if it Was not that we have paíd In advanced we probable would go to another place..the owners, Michael and Andrea were very friendly and perfect hosts..Michael picked us up the evening at the AirPort in his pick up truck and when we told Him we didnt have anything to eat he asked his wife to prepare us some fish and French fríes..we learned That she is a good cook..the guest house is up on a hill and they own this for 15 years..our first impression was " it needs upgrading" the dining room needs new furniture and when we walked to our room there were no lights..we had an upper room and the view was breath taking..the room was big and the shower Old and had a curtain between the bedroom and the bathroom..the basin is Old and as the rest of the place it needs new furniture....there are no Windows to see through, just shutters that cannot open..not long after we went to bed we were woken up with loud músic coming from a disco that went on every night until 3 in the morning..Dogs were barking and roosters compete with each other from below, and no Windows to shut. There are no coffee facilities in the room, and we had to wait for breakfast.
We had the same breakfast every morning for 15 US€, coffee, eggs, toast, fruit and a fruit juice.
The plugs in the room didnt work and when I asked Michael to fix it he clearly knew about it and said he cannot do anything about it..They did change the globe of the bedlight...but we battled to charge our cameras, cell ohones etc..the towels in our room was Old and hard and had holes in..they changed it only after 2 days..we had to ask for toilet paper and only one roll at a time Was available and had to ask for another one everyday..There is no beach close by, although they advertise a beach. You have to walk about 10-15 minutes down the hill and I would not swim there..
Michael Took us on a tour for 80 US€ and we had to pay at each entrance..if you have walking shoes, you can walk to all the main attractions and have plenty of water with you..we had dinner back at the guest house and Andrea made Chicken for us that was just as good as any 5star hotel. The Kitchen is closed between meals and you Don't get afternoon tea/coffee because the owners rest in their room at the top floor..The rooms have no TV but you can get free wi-fi if you can charge your iPad/cell etc..My Fiance picked up a bug at one of the places where we had a salad down at the harbour, and was very sick on the Sunday night..Andrea made him tea and after a piece of toast he started feeling better and could keep his food in.. Michael and Andrea are wonderful hosts, but Will surely get more positive feedback if they are willing to spend some money and upgrade the place..the Kitchen is small but as the rest, everything is Old and worn out..Backpackers or one night Visits advised..thank You to Michael and Andrea for your kindness and the "at home" feeling that we felt all Weekend..

Room Tip: Ask for a top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Assie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Soufriere hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you're looking for an extremely friendly experience with two knowledgeable local hosts the Uptown guesthouse may be for you. The owners Michael and Andrea are two of the friendliest, hospitable, and warmest hosts I've ever encountered in many years of world travel. Michael's cheerful personality and Andrea's upbeat attitude along with her tasty Caribbean cooking make your stay enjoyable.The Uptown has a large patio space with plenty of room to lounge around and an amazing view over the Pitons. It is about a 15 minute walk into town and the local beach and restaurants. Other outstanding beaches such as Anse Chastenet are a short cab or boat ride ride away. If your'e looking for a polished high end resort this is not for you. The rooms are clean, basic but spacious with no frills. As far as we could see this is the best value in the Soufriere area.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a better view. It may be a good idea to bring earplugs as sometimes the crowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Uptown Guest House was charming and simple. If you like sterile resorts then this is not the place for you! Michael and Andrea were fantastic hosts and were very helpful when it came to local knowledge and Andrea's cooking was first class ( the Kingfish was particularly good). Soufriere is a very laid back town. A worthwhile trip would be to hire a water taxi and visit Anse Chastanet ( take a picnic as the only restaurant is very expensive )

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 602eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had high hopes for this place based on the other reviews. We were shocked, The room was beyond awful. My fiancé took one look and wanted to leave immediately. We ended up staying for one night. They charged us three nights stay despite the stated policy of one additional night charge if you leave early. What was wrong? Well, let's start with the peeling plaster on the walls and ceiling, bare lightbulb illumination, bathroom area separated from bed area by a curtain,not a door, no sheets on bed, front door that opened only about a foot before jamming, very noisy (the city is only a few hundred feet away), strong sulfur smell, and on and on.

Great views, though, and the food was good also.

Room Tip: For god's sake don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Owners Michael and Andrea are just wonderful! Andrea is an AMAZING cook!
The rooms are basic and very clean. You can't beat the value for the money.
Ask for one of the upper rooms.
Truly a Hidden Gem!

There are rosters that inexplicably crow at 4:30 a.m., but this is not the fault of Uptown Guest House. I am thinking of offering Michael $50 USD to go into town and murder all the roosters.

Notes on Soufriere, West Indies:
Never have I been in a place where the people are so friendly. It is not a wealthy place, but the people embrace life with a calm and innate rhythm that I can only compare to dolphins I have seen in the ocean. A beautiful simplicity coupled with a fervor and joy that can only be explained by having had the shear luck to be born in paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VigeeBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.5 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Downtown Hotel
The Downtown Hotel
#4 of 8 in Soufriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.6 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 8 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uptown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Guest House

Property: Uptown Guest House
Address: Upper Castries Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Uptown Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill with stunning views of the ocean and surrounding area, Uptown Guesthouse in Soufriere is only 450 metres from the coast and features an on-site restaurant with Creolean food. The rooms at this relaxed property come with a fan, mosquito nets and stunning views. Every room features a bathroom with a shower and hot water. Very good location: close to nearby attractions, facilities and town and peaceful at night. Sugar Beach (15-minute drive) Humingbird Beach (10-minute walk) Anse Chastnet Beach (10 minutes by water taxi) Tet Paul trail, Sulphur Springs, waterfalls, Botanical Garden and more within 15-minute drive. Uptown Guesthouse also offers a bar, continental breakfast and Creolean dinners. The tour desk can help guests plan tours and outdoor activities and provide taxi service whenever needed. Hewanorra International Airport is 25 km away, and the property offers a shuttle service for an extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Uptown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Guest House St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing