We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...”
Review of Uptown Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Uptown Guest House
Ranked #6 of 9 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Was great room we had the upper rooms which had a great view. Noise was a problem in the night and morning from the town and having guests next to you, you can hear everything. Beds where comfortable and rooms where nice. Cooking was amazingly good if you would afford the prices for breakfast or dinner. But as for prices this place was very highly overpriced.
Next problem was the walking up and down the horrifying hill that was so step that in the evening they would have no lights on to see anything! Was mega scary! The hill even broke my wheel on my suit case!!!
The owner does provide taxi services but over priced again so we only used him once and was very disappointed.
It was such a shame to have such a bad experience here as the view and food was good but unfortunately that's how it goes.
We where greeted daily with smiles and great talks, wife and the workers are very nice people and very helpful.
If you can afford it and its your style, then enjoy...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Yoli302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hosts, the view and the food were all AMAZING. The hotel itself is on the older side but if you are the kind of the traveler that wants an authentic experience this place was great. The hosts Micheal and Andrea are so amazingly welcoming and friendly that we felt right at home. The bathroom is only separated from the main room by a curtain so I would recommend this place to couples or close friends. The food is amazing. Meals are by request so let them know when you arrive if you would like to have dinner and/or breakfast there. Dinners are about $USD 25 including full sides, salad etc. Breakfasts are $20 USD Which we felt was high but was worth it for the FRESH papaya, mango and grapefruit fruit plate. Also her mango juice was indescribably good that the best that we had on the island. They have 2 fridges and were very accommodating when we asked to stores some food (beer). The bed was pretty comfortable and had a mosquito net. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a local experience and an amazing view.

Room Tip: Chose rooms on the middle deck (A, B, C) for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadow124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great location on the perch of Soufiere. I agree with reviewers who say that if you're looking for a 4-5 star sterile resort it's not for you. But if you want to save money, experience local life, hospitality, owner who knows and can drive and show you around, local Creole food and still have a stay with the views of Pitons - it's for you.

We traveled with a 2-year old and she had time of her life playing on the terrace with the owner's cat :) The room and facilities are basic but very clean, you get a little fridge and lots of towels, large shower and a cot or the kid. Michael and Andrea and very hospitable owners, always ready to help, answer questions etc.

Breakfast is included, dinner is $25 for chicken dinner per person and $29 for fish (salad and soup is included). Comparable with prices in town - I think you can find a little cheaper in town but Andrea is a great cook and we suggest trying her food at least once and you'll eat with THE VIEW! We had different breakfast each morning - pancakes, banana mini-donuts, eggs, toast...

One important thing - on Google Maps, this place is located in the wrong spot! It's actually on the northern part of town, not on the south. We were gravely mistaken by the location on Google Maps (they're lying and the owner Michael tried to correct the location but they never did!). So we assumed that we can walk everywhere in town like Diamond Gardens and Falls and other places. However, the Guesthouse is located on the hill and mountainous roads make it difficult to move around and even going into town is tough (especially with baby carriage or stroller). also, what looks like a manageable walk on the map is actually very steep terrain that sometimes hardly looks like paved road. For example, we've been planning to walk to Anse Chastanet beach because it's only 1-2 miles walk. But it's very tough to either walk or drive there - the road is extremely steep, bumpy and scary. We're very fit, mind you. But with the baby and me being pregnant it was too much of a workout.

Driving is not for the faint-of heart. And with renting a 4-wheel drive with insurance and permit it's about $80 per day. We were scared to do it with a 2-year old and lack of experience. What we did we hired Michael and he drove us around and gave us the tour of the beautiful place in his truck. We thought it was a best thing and we got a lot of information from him about local life.

He drove us to Anse Chastanet and back for $25 (worth to spend all day there). Second day we we had a tour with him to Tet Paul Trail, Sulphur Springs, Piton Falls and Sugar Beach for $90.

And on the third day Michael took us Mount Coubaril Estate and Diamond Falls and Gardens. But our favorite part is when Michael drove us to the house he grew up, farther up the hill. You could see the little farm where he grew up, take picture with both Pitons (he knows places where you can see them best!). Again for $90 per day - only $10 more than renting a car!

He will drive you wherever you want and knows all there is around the town and surrounding area. Yes you have to pay entrance fees to volcano and Tet Paul and Diamond falls in addition to that. But we tried to find tours or locals that would do it all for cheaper and we couldn't.

Provided that we didn't need a car all of the days hiring Michael and using him as taxi/information/tour guide was cheaper and way more flexible than anything other alternative. And it saved us tons of nerves by letting us not drive and just enjoy the views.

Andrea's cooking is awesome. Don't forget to get to the market early for some coconut water! Overall, a great time that lets you absorb in the rain-forest based living with rich culture.

One disadvantage that makes me rate it as 4/5: the town is VERY loud at night. Somebody always playing loud music at least until 11pm, then goats and roosters take over and the noise continues non-stop. We had hard time sleeping with all this noise and you can't close the windows because there are no windows :) only wooden shades. But we considered it part of local experience :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thank you had a nice stay and was pleased to be welcomed ...Lovely rooms as whole family had different rooms :)) Food was fantastic lovely flavors and thank you for making what we liked :)) Few things would of liked improved... lighting walking up to the hotel during the night in front of hotel as Hill isn't easy to climb in the dark...towel changing more than once for the time we stayed, we also been taking tours which had been more expensive- airport was 80XCD; trip to village was 15XCD one way 2min drive we couldn't walk the hills, Village Market was 405XCD 7am till 11.30am; but what disappointed me was the boat trip...not friendly locals and overcharge from 10am - 1pm 500XCD when the trip should of been till 5pm and was charged for the trip down to village as well when tried to negotiate no deal actual cost quoted was supposed to be 486XCD, when explained to Micheal didn't even try to help to retrieve loss - better offers can be found...please do not hesitate to go to village below in-front of the Humming bird hotel ask for a local called MJ [Marvin Junior] best deals; last but not least our bags to be helped with on the last day, very minor things but was nice to stay not a wow wow due to being a bit uncomfortable but thank you maybe some better improvements even though moving out of the business would of changed the review ratings...

Room Tip: I was downstairs in Rm E was big enough clean and lovely, daughter was above and she also had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ankica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had booked a stay here for April 15-19 and it is the best money spent on lodging. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel accommodation, this place is not for you. The most amazing part about this guesthouse is the view and the owners. Michael and Andrea (the owners) are just absolutely wonderful people and they make you feel as if you are at home! The view is just beautiful and it's peaceful while laying in bed and looking out. People complain of the noise in the morning, however, i absolutely adore it- my family is west Indian and I greatly enjoy waking up to roosters and soca music in the morning so the noise doesn't bother me. The room is simple but sufficient, with a huge shower and a curtain to allow privacy while using the restroom should you be rooming with someone. There is a ceiling fan and there was always a nice breeze in the room so being hott was never an issue.

The beach is just at the bottom of the hill- approximately a 5-7 minute walk from the guesthouse...going into town is about a 10minute walk from the guesthouse-and the beach is on the way into town. Please advise that the guesthouse sits atop a somewhat steep hill (this is why the view is so magnificent). If you are lazy, this walk is not for you. My friend and i went into town/beach several times a day as we didn't mind the walking. With its location I'm proud to say i didn't feel like i was laying around just being lazy, it was welcomed exercise.

Michael does run a taxi service to and from airport for guests, however, i did not utilize this service as i found a round trip transfer for a significantly lower rate. Please advise taxi services in the island are a bit costly and Michael's rate is lower then what you would find in the airport. My friend and I took the tour that Michael offered which was a good experience and about 80usd just for the driving...admission fees are a separate cost which was okay, just wish that was explained to us before we departed. Andrea is indeed a good cook as the other reviews have stated, however, her meals and services are very expensive in my opinion and equal to or more what i would pay for dinner/services in New York City.- but with that being said, it may be a good experience to try her cooking just once, you won't regret it. My friend and i went downtown and gotten some fresh grilled conch and tuna fillet each and it was about 15usd which was great!

The bus to Castries is about 4usd per person and an hour away. The bigger market is in Castries and for us it was a good experience to go and see what it was like. If you are looking for a huge bus that you may find in America or Europe-think again. The bus over here is a 10 seat passenger van- just a heads up.

The area by the guesthouse is VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY safe....did i mention it was safe?? lol. I travel ALOT and as a female i never felt so safe being out in a different country past midnight, being on the beach at night and out having a few drinks with the locals - who are very very friendly. Yes the streets gets dark and of course you should always be aware of your surroundings but really this area isn't a problem.

I would definitely stay at the guesthouse again in half a heartbeat- no questions asked

Room Tip: ask for an upper room/ tell your taxi driver "talk to me" guesthouse rather then uptown as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MsSpontaneous28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked for 3 nights and if it Was not that we have paíd In advanced we probable would go to another place..the owners, Michael and Andrea were very friendly and perfect hosts..Michael picked us up the evening at the AirPort in his pick up truck and when we told Him we didnt have anything to eat he asked his wife to prepare us some fish and French fríes..we learned That she is a good cook..the guest house is up on a hill and they own this for 15 years..our first impression was " it needs upgrading" the dining room needs new furniture and when we walked to our room there were no lights..we had an upper room and the view was breath taking..the room was big and the shower Old and had a curtain between the bedroom and the bathroom..the basin is Old and as the rest of the place it needs new furniture....there are no Windows to see through, just shutters that cannot open..not long after we went to bed we were woken up with loud músic coming from a disco that went on every night until 3 in the morning..Dogs were barking and roosters compete with each other from below, and no Windows to shut. There are no coffee facilities in the room, and we had to wait for breakfast.
We had the same breakfast every morning for 15 US€, coffee, eggs, toast, fruit and a fruit juice.
The plugs in the room didnt work and when I asked Michael to fix it he clearly knew about it and said he cannot do anything about it..They did change the globe of the bedlight...but we battled to charge our cameras, cell ohones etc..the towels in our room was Old and hard and had holes in..they changed it only after 2 days..we had to ask for toilet paper and only one roll at a time Was available and had to ask for another one everyday..There is no beach close by, although they advertise a beach. You have to walk about 10-15 minutes down the hill and I would not swim there..
Michael Took us on a tour for 80 US€ and we had to pay at each entrance..if you have walking shoes, you can walk to all the main attractions and have plenty of water with you..we had dinner back at the guest house and Andrea made Chicken for us that was just as good as any 5star hotel. The Kitchen is closed between meals and you Don't get afternoon tea/coffee because the owners rest in their room at the top floor..The rooms have no TV but you can get free wi-fi if you can charge your iPad/cell etc..My Fiance picked up a bug at one of the places where we had a salad down at the harbour, and was very sick on the Sunday night..Andrea made him tea and after a piece of toast he started feeling better and could keep his food in.. Michael and Andrea are wonderful hosts, but Will surely get more positive feedback if they are willing to spend some money and upgrade the place..the Kitchen is small but as the rest, everything is Old and worn out..Backpackers or one night Visits advised..thank You to Michael and Andrea for your kindness and the "at home" feeling that we felt all Weekend..

Room Tip: Ask for a top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Assie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you're looking for an extremely friendly experience with two knowledgeable local hosts the Uptown guesthouse may be for you. The owners Michael and Andrea are two of the friendliest, hospitable, and warmest hosts I've ever encountered in many years of world travel. Michael's cheerful personality and Andrea's upbeat attitude along with her tasty Caribbean cooking make your stay enjoyable.The Uptown has a large patio space with plenty of room to lounge around and an amazing view over the Pitons. It is about a 15 minute walk into town and the local beach and restaurants. Other outstanding beaches such as Anse Chastenet are a short cab or boat ride ride away. If your'e looking for a polished high end resort this is not for you. The rooms are clean, basic but spacious with no frills. As far as we could see this is the best value in the Soufriere area.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a better view. It may be a good idea to bring earplugs as sometimes the crowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
7.7 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
1.2 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 9 in Soufriere
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Downtown Hotel
The Downtown Hotel
#4 of 9 in Soufriere
120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
16 mi away
Bay Gardens Inn
Bay Gardens Inn
#1 of 16 in Gros Islet
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uptown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Guest House

Address: Upper Castries Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range: £40 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uptown Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill with stunning views of the ocean and surrounding area, Uptown Guesthouse in Soufriere is only 450 metres from the coast and features an on-site restaurant with Creolean food. The rooms at this relaxed property come with a fan, mosquito nets and stunning views. Every room features a bathroom with a shower and hot water. Very good location: close to nearby attractions, facilities and town and peaceful at night. Sugar Beach (15-minute drive) Humingbird Beach (10-minute walk) Anse Chastnet Beach (10 minutes by water taxi) Tet Paul trail, Sulphur Springs, waterfalls, Botanical Garden and more within 15-minute drive. Uptown Guesthouse also offers a bar, continental breakfast and Creolean dinners. The tour desk can help guests plan tours and outdoor activities and provide taxi service whenever needed. Hewanorra International Airport is 25 km away, and the property offers a shuttle service for an extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Uptown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Guest House St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing