We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crystals St Lucia
Nearby Hotels
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$514
US$499
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$575
US$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$816
US$714
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$630
US$600
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$924
US$832
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
377
46
18
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
377
46
18
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar canecoconut pancakessilver palmtreetop barrum punchcalabash cottageevery morningcocktail hourhis guitarrain waterst luciatree housecooked dinnerour honeymoonprivate poolamazing viewssailing trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2008

Wow, it has been since July 2007 since we visited Crystals, and have been lazy about writing a review, but after reading the last two I feel it neccesary to clear a few things up. Yes, you are in the rainforest, yes there are wild animals, and yes the experience is trully unique. We are also very independent travelers, we book all of our own vacations, no Sandals for us (we did a Resort once-never again). We loved to see animals scurry around, and yes we loved the location, we went in July of all times, hot, humid, and I am sure vermin-a-plenty, but that is what you get in the rainforest, and for that matter anywhere on an island that is tropical and/or remote. The accomodations were what we expected, beautifully decorated, and one-of-a-kind. I will say that don't break anything, no matter what! We broke a vase by ACCIDENT, and were charged for it, I am still on the fence about that one, as a business owner myself I am not sure I would charge for it, c'est la vie. So be sure when you are maneuvering your luggage to do so carefully, there are collectibles everywhere! Somehow all the other guests knew about it even though we hadn't mentioned it at all, that was annoying. We stayed in the Sugarcane and it was awesome to wake up and look over and view the Pitons. The room was beautiful, the small pool was nice after drinking all night. Martin and Monica are a hoot, and tons of fun. Be sure to hit her rum punch first, because it usually gets the last hit in at the end of the night. The rooftop bar was a great place to meet other travelers, we actually met a couple from NYC we still visit and keep in touch with. There are lots of couples that visit there and it offers a great social atmosphere. The rooms were cleaned regularly, we DID make breakfast and eat the local fruits that were provided, we had no problems in cooking, cleaning, and making sure food was put away. The staff was always willing to help, you have to hire a jeep, and definetly have a chicken roti with hot sauce in the town. Take the rainforest hike, but make sure you wear comfortable shoes, and are in somewhat decent shape, the pool at the end is bliss. Make sure you hangout with Ja'bliss and ask him about his wisdom. Martin plays guitar and few other instruments so be sure to listen to him also, Monica is a great host making sure your glass is always full. We definetly recommend this trip for the adventure minded.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dharmadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

We have just returned from a holiday in St Lucia which included a 4 night stay in Kalabash cottage at Crystals. Our decision to stay at Crystals was very much based on the excellent reviews posted on Tripadvisor. I therefore whish to add our experience to the list of reviews.

Martin and Monica are superb hosts; very welcoming and generous. eg, providing a bottle of sparkling wine in the cottage for guests upon arrival, ensuring that the fruit bowl is filled, free welcoming drinks. Monica has gone to great effort to decorate and furnish the cottages in a unique style, clearly spending a significant sum of money on furnishings; upon arrival at Kalabash we were immediately impressed by the decor and the great views from the balcony.

What became quickly apparent however was the impracticality of much of the furniture and some of the shoddiness of the finishes in the cottage; the wardrobe contains only shelving therefore clothes cannot be hung up, the windows have no mosquito screens and the french doors which lead onto the balcony have no handles therefore once the bolt has been undone the door remains open, the toilet is not bolted to the floor and the plugs in the bathroom sinks do not work. These small issues in themselves did not irritate us greatly, however their cumulative effects were slightly wearying.

Our first night sleeping in Kalabash was quite an experience. Rather naively we had left on a kitchen surface, a plastic container of nuts, sealed with a plastic lid. During the night, a rodent (we presume a rat) gnawed through the lid, scattering the nuts across the kitchen and also storing nuts behind cushions in the cottage. Initially we found this a bit funny, kicked ourselves for leaving out the nuts and ensured we did not repeat this mistake! We mentioned to Monica that a rat had visited the cottage and she replied that she advises all guests to keep foodstuffs in the fridge - unfortunately she had forgotten to remind us.

Our preventative measures over the next 3 nights made no difference in terms of deterring vermin from entering the cottage. Every night, the rat/s scampered around the cottage, leaping across surfaces and gnawing noisily on anything and everything. One night my soap dish was even prised apart by the rodent and the soap carried away to be chewed in another part of the bathroom. We remained stoic about the scenario and used our earplugs to ensure a decent night's sleep. We did not use the kitchen facilites at all however.

I would therefore recommend anybody considering staying at Crystals to be aware that the accommodation is rustic and has a faintly grubby air about it. eg although Kalabash cottage contains beautiful Oriental rugs, they are only swept, not beaten and appear a bit matted and dirty; the bathroom shower is built in a sort of rock waterfall style - again difficult to clean due to the abundance of nooks and crannies, and it houses frogs and cockroaches. There are also very large gaps where the wooden walls of the cottage end and the roof begins - it is therefore inevitable that rats, mongooses etc can access the cottage.

I realise that our experience bears no resemblance to those posted on this website; we are a bit surprised by this, particularly as guests are paying $250 a night to stay here. In our opinion, this does not represent value for money.

Finally, and before we are acused of being "Sandals lovers", I would like to stress that we have travelled independently to all parts of the world and have stayed in a diversity of accommodation, including very basic places with a wealth of fauna. I think our concern is not primarily the fact that Crystals is "different" and that its jungle location invetiably attracts associated fauna/creatures, but more to do with the price guests are being charged for the privilege of experiencing this. Once again I would like to stress that the owners are fantastic and despite some of the issues we had, the views and scenery are superb - but manage your expectations and lock away any food.

Julie and Gareth, Ilkley, UK

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julesandgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles3, Charles owner at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2008

First of all I would like to stress we are in the rain forest and at times we get creatures wandering our grounds it is not like every night all the cottages are swarming with rodents this is totally untrue if the odd mouse or cockroach appears this is life in the tropics and happens at all hotels on the island

ref to rate's, for our type of property our rates are extremely competitive for this open rain forest experience several hotels are triple.

It does not mean that the hotel is or dirty , St Lucia is a tropical island and soufriere is very much in the rain forest , if food is left out it is like an invitation.

Martin and I take cleanliness very serious and ensure that not only are all our cottages cleaned daily but all floors and surfaces are disinfected and our rugs beaten

Once again being in the rain forest is a great experience and Martin and I along with our very hospitable staff are there to offer advice and ensure that every one is well looked after.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

My fiance and I booked a week's holiday from 4 December 07. During our email correspondence we enquired about a wedding ceremony at Crystals but decided to book just the accommodation. However Monica Charles took a deposit for the honeymoon package (ie to include a wedding ceremony) which was the more expensive option. Despite ackowledging her mistake in writing, when we regrettably had to cancel our booking, she refused to give us a refund for the correct amount and has since refused to acknowlege our correspondence.

The booking and cancellation policy is definitely something to be aware of. At the time of our booking, we had to pay a deposit of 50%. When we asked about the cancellation policy we were advised we would receive a 25% refund of the deposit if we cancelled 6 weeks before arrival (which we did). The website now states 8 weeks! Otherwise you will receive no refund at all. Not your typical booking policy! And even if the owner acknowledges, as in our case, that she has taken the incorrect deposit amount, you may find that she won't refund the correct amount.

I would therefore suggest caution when making a booking at Crystals unless you know for sure that you won't have to cancel!
N.B. I have copies of correspondence from Crystals acknowledging their mistake in booking the wrong package.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank pcs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles3, owner M Charles at Crystals St Lucia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2008

Crystals is a small property booked up 90% of the time and due to this factor our bookings system is very tight .

Yes a 50% deposit is require our website is quite clear and states our policy, however as a rule even if canceled a few weeks prior to arrival we still do at times 50% refund(our policy does indicate 8 weeks).

Guests requested honeymoon package rate and wedding package booked and paid 50% deposit
Then requested no wedding but wanted to keep the honeymooners package ?

I said well no it would not be a honeymoon so a different rate would be applicable,
then another request a couple of weeks later requesting cancellation and wanted a full refund ?

When pointing out our cancellation policy I was informed of action would be taken?



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

My husband and I found Crystals on Trip Advisor. We had no problem booking directly with Monica and Martin. Before we arrived we found them very helpful through e-mail contact. Any questions we had they answered promptly .
Upon arrival,everything was as expected. It is exactly as shown in the pictures you see on their website as well as Trip Advisor.
Monica makes you feel very welcome. Martin, her husband is also very gracious. Our cottage, Coco Palm, was extremely spacious. The view from the bedroom is incredible. Waking up to see the mountains and rain forest is spectacular.
What is so wonderful about the place is that you are treated so well. We were welcomed with champagne in the Tree Top bar, a bottle of champagne in the fridge, breakfast the first morning and much more. We enjoyed a Christmas morning brunch, a Christmas Eve get together for the guests, and we were even invited to a wedding (see Rachel's review). We made some wonderful friends while at Crystals.
Terry and Val, Fresno, CA
It is very accurate to say that the short road to Crystals is a little rough and does need work. As Monica will advise it is best to rent a 4WD to get around the roads on the island. Monica hooked us up with Benni the jeep man. Great service.
The employees of Crystals are so helpful. Arlette and the lovely ladies who clean and cook and smile so beautifully are terrific.
Anista went into town with us on the first day (another extra Monica includes) and showed us around. Ras, takes you on a mountain hike and you can even go on a sail, which again Monica sets up for you to enjoy the island of St. Lucia.
Our last night, the wedding, was so much fun and so special it made it hard to leave.
We truly had a lovely expericence at Crystals. Crystals is a gem and Monica and Martin make it shine. I can say we had an absolutely fabulous Christmas vacation at Crystals. We plan to be back hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank treasure59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

My husband and I (the Irish/American couple - as referenced in the ‘peterad99 write up’) really enjoyed our week at Crystals over Christmas and New Year’s. We loved St Lucia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crystals!!! We stayed two nights in the Mango Cottage, then moved over to the Sugar Cane Cottage. Each cottage was tastefully decorated and comfortable for the week. As one must remember, you are staying in a rainforest…so it is inevitable for mosquitoes… so be prepared. After our first night, we asked the Crystals staff if we could have a fan which would help blow the mosies away….by that afternoon, the fan had arrived at our doorstep. We appreciated our requests being taken care of so quickly. All beds were very comfortable (nothing worse than bad mattresses on holiday!) and a mosquito net around the bed was needed and already provided in both of our cottages.

Monica and Martin go above and beyond with welcoming their guests!! They hosted a ‘happy hour’ for all guests on many nights (Watch out for Martin’s Rum Punch-it can make you legless!), a lovely staff member came to our cottage on our first day to cook us breakfast and a delicious Sunday Brunch was prepared for all guests by Arlette & staff. Monica also booked a sailing/snorkel trip ($35 USD) and a rainforest guided hike (Free) for all Crystals guests!!!! We were even invited to a beautiful wedding and reception that was being held at the property…all the best to ‘Rachel06’!!

Crystals is charming, romantic and unique!! It is not a ‘condo at the beach’ or a ‘Four Seasons Resort’. The worst part of the trip was the mosquito bites and the rocky bumpy road leading up to Crystals; however the best part of the trip was the wonderful scenery, friendly local people & guests, delicious seafood & spicy Caribbean food and the welcoming hosts Monica, Martin & the Staff of Crystals.

Thank you and we will tell all of our friends about your wonderful St Lucian hospitality!! See you again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank EGKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews