We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Amazing We had to Come Back”
Review of Crystals

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soufriere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystals
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So Amazing We had to Come Back”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After getting back from our first trip to St Lucia, we immediately booked a return vacation back to the beautiful island. We had such an amazing time at Crystals during our first visit that we decided to spend our vacation there again. Crystals' staff met us at the airport and transported us up to Crystals. Upon arriving to Crystals, Monica and Martin greeted us into a fun and loving atmosphere. We chose to stay in the Papaya Cottage for this trip and it was beyond expectation. The view of the Pitons from the deck was breathtaking. The cottage was beautiful inside and out. It was set up with an airy open layout that gave a feeling of being outside. The outdoor shower was amazing and the bathroom was stocked with clean towels and toiletries. At night, Monica and Martin entertain the guests at their Tree Top Bar. Monica always had fresh bakes or fishcakes prepared to accompany the drinks severed by Martin (try his rum punch). Martin is also a well inclined musician and treated us to songs on his guitar or keyboard as he sang along. The energy and atmosphere was truly amazing. It was a great way to unwind from the exciting adventures that were done during the day and to share in laughs with Monica, Martin, and the other guests. Sadly, our vacation had to end. We arrived at the airport to depart on our return flight; however, we ended up being bumped from our flight. The next flight would not depart for two days. At a time of stress and panic, Monica and Martin were there to save the day--picking us back up from the airport and returning us back to Crystals. A few more days in paradise can't be bad. Back at Crystals, we had the nightly drinks with Monica, Martin, and the other guests. Additionally, Monica prepared a five-course meal that would rival any five star restaurant. Monica, Martin, and the whole Crystals' staff not only made the stay fun and exciting, but they also made us feel like family! We cannot thank them enough for all that they did and we will be returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
First of all I do thank you for your very kind review and returning to visit us again and again it is indeed a real pleasure to have you both here.
Our dinner and cocktail nights are a bit of a blast i have to say, its so nice to mingle with different people from all round the world.
Hope we see you again SOON
ALL THE BEST
from all of us here at Crystals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    45
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
318
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We've been to Crystals several times and it's truly one of our favourite places ever. The cottages are all different, all beautiful, quirky, charming, extravagant and super-comfortable. It's really hard to find the words for this place because it is so unique. Monica and Martin are great, the staff are lovely, having breakfast brought to you every morning is really special, the views are spectacular, the dinners that happen are delicious. If you're a creative person you'll absolutely love this place and if you're not…then in might just inspire you to be more creative! For an uber-chilled getaway this is definitely a must-do! Not to mention the 6pm happy hour everyday! They really know how to spoil their guests! Our most recent visit we were so lucky to be able to stay in the New Villa. Oh my gosh, what a stunning place! Thank you Monica and Martin!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodieyogachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Oh thank you Guys for your very positive and kind review.

Indeed we did have some fun at dinner and I am happy to hear you enjoyed our home cooked food.

As always a pleasure to have you Guys here I hope you will continue to visit and stay with us at Crystals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I can share most of the enthusiasm about this place. All that has been written about Jessica is absolutely true. She is an exceptional hotel manager who never gets tired to advice you and help you. Crystals is very special and the first impression when you enter one of the cottages is that this is just unbelievably beautiful and spacious. We chose Mango as we are a family of four and because Papaysa second bedroom doesnot have a real big bed and no mosquito nets. And you need mosquito nets, believe me, especially if you have hot nights with no wind, which is not the case normally. In such nights the disadvantages of the cottages come to light: not all windows are protected against mosquitos, but you have to open them anyway as there is no ventillation or climatisation in some of the rooms. As the apartments are full of decoration and dark corners you will not get a mosquito free room, no matter how hard you try. That shouldn't keep you from coming. We loved Mango as it has two floors and has not only Piton views like Papaya but also wonderful mountain and sea views in three directions. Amazing. Beds are very good, water pressure was very low so that you could not use the shower in the second floor. But thats not an issue as this is normal for an eco-resort depending on rain water. What really disappointed us was the quality of the food which gets praise in this forum. We took two dinners, they were nearly identical with no variation, and were certainly not as good as the food you get in town, at "Petit Peak" for exemple. Nevertheless its quite ok as all drinks, even wine and rum punch are included, as are some beignets for starters and an excellent dersert. As has been mentionned before you will not only need a car but a jeep to come here, but its easy to rent one through Jessica, and St. Lucia roads are excellent, far better than I thought (we have been to Tobago before,where roads are half the size...). We took a taxi all the time for reasonable prizes, thanks to Jessicas negotiations.
Soufriere certainly is the most spectacular part of st. Lucia and the views are breathtaking. But it is also the most overrun place you can imagine. To visit the mud baths between 12 and 3 pm certainly is not a good idea, you will be together with several hundred American cruise ship passengers. All the usual attractions are terribly overrun so its not easy to find a cozy plaze. Besides Crystal, which is a lovely refuge from the tourism madness in St. Lucia.
All in all a clear recommendation, with a little reservation about the mosquito situation and the food.

Room Tip: Mango if you are more than two - Papaya if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stefandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystals-Soufriere, Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments.

I do not understand why you just did not close your windows and put on the air conditioning unit that would have solved any mosquito problem.

This time of year mind you every where on Island has Mosquito's

Papaya back Bedroom does have screens on the windows and doe have a mosquito net.

We have been open 9 years and everyone raves about our dinners night so one complaint in 9 years and the ref in a good eating establishment is petit peak, well that might say it all, we are not a burger and fries place and offer organic fresh food and authentic creole cuisine with a french fusion. Of course this might not be your kind of food.


Happy you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to have you all here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this holiday to celebrate my fiftieth birthday and we weren't disappointed.

Crystals is quirky, romantic, fun complete with a fabulous breakfast, my husband speaks highly of the coconut pancakes, with a good time and spectacular views added.

Monica and Martin and their staff make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive and the day after we arrived you get a tour of the area with one of the staff. This is a really good idea as the give you tips on where to go, and where everything you need is. There is also drinks at about 6.30 when the rum punch follows and if lucky Martin which play his guitar.

Whilst we were there on two occasions, Monica had two dinners which were fantastic and also we had the opportunity to mix with the other guests.

I would heartily recommend Crystals who doesn't want to stay on one of the resorts as it had everything we wanted.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystals-Soufriere, Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Guys

thanks a million for your very kind review so appreciated, and may I add how great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our dinner nights.

Crystals is not a resort but a friendly Family run boutique villa hotel, we try to run it as a go green property so use nothing in a packet, nor ketchup here i am afraid.

we use rain water, solar heating fresh produce from the property, we keep Crystals simply and authentic

Hope we see you Darlings back her again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Crystals, 10 nights in Sugar Cane and 1 night in Silver Palms, and we had a wonderful time. Right off the beaten track, it's an oasis in the middle of the jungle. Both rooms were great, and having a private pool at both was fantastic, and certainly helps blow off the cobwebs after a night on the rum. The food was great, the drinks were great, the rooftop bar is amazing, and Monica, Martin & Jessica were very welcoming hosts. I would not hesitate to recommend this place, and already have done to several people I know.

Thanks guys - a truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LimeyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystals-Soufriere, Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Guys
Just a few lines to Thank you for your review we appreciate the time you took to send one in.
Glad you enjoyed your honeymoon and our evenings in the restaurant , yes Martin Rum punch to pack a punch, hahah.
It was a real pleasure to have you both here and I hope you will come back as promised and celebrate an anniversary one day

all the best and take care

from all of us here at Crystals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

How to sum up Crystals. Do you like resorts? If the answer is no, then you must stay here. This is the most amazing place you can stay. The views are to die for, it's hidden in the forest and the delicious fresh breakfasts are delivered to your cottage. Monica and family were fantastic hosts who were able to arrange anything and also did a cocktail evening. They also prepared a lovely dinner one night with all the guests that was all local, fresh, very tasty and great value.

We stayed in Mango which was stunning and had plenty of facilities if you wished to cook. Sitting on the balcony in the evening taking in the view was an absolute pleasure. 4 wheel drive is a must and you really need a car to explore the island. Soufriere is a lovely area with a lot to see and do.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystals-Soufriere, Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and a joy to hear you enjoyed the Mango Cottage it is indeed a beautiful cottage full of arts and crafts with amazing views.
Pleasure to hear you enjoyed our dinner, it takes a bit more effort to use all fresh local grown produce but I think the end result is worth it.

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope one day we will see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I do not ever write in reviews and my relationship with TripAdvisor is basically looking for somewhere to eat /stay and that's petty much it . This was so taken aback and impacted my family and I that I just had to .

Crystals ( the name speak for its self) is a gem right in-the center of heaven, from the bumpy road to the rustic tree top bar held up by mango trees. My two teenagers and my Husband stayed 3 nights inthe Papaya and 4 nights inthe Silver Palm in March. The rooms were beyond words . It was large and very spacious , luxurious furniture , AMAZING VIEWS, the architecture is amazing like something you would see in a fairy-tale. My favorite was probably the outside garden shower . How skilled is the owners Monica & Martin who builds and designs all out of handmade tools and natural rocks and other commodities of nature, The bed was so soft , and the natural sound of the rain-forest came in sync with the atmosphere . What amazing nights.

My husband and I were in awe of the breath taking natural beauty not only of the pitons but the sea view and the lush greenery , the kids of course were too stunned by our private pool . The one in the Silver Palm definitely had an affect on them 35 ft pool. We had to drag them out upon departure.

Breakfast at Crystals is amazing , yummy coconut pancakes , eggs, fruit plate with something called sour- swop ( native fruit). , some local made biscuits (most delicious thing ever) and local bread ............Delicious! This was served to us-at anytime of our request

We did have a problem with out water pressure once however this was fixed in a few minutes . Jessica pointed out that sometimes leaves get into the system .

We really loved that crystals had 2 dog on property a little black poodle named storm and a playful German Shepherd called Sheba. It made us feel like we were back at home except in a more relaxed , adventurous state of mind
Crystals offers complimentary cocktail nights, you sit inthe tree top bar and socialize with other guest and Monica and Martin , who has such fascinating stories to tell . The kids loved the fresh squeezed juices and we absolutely LOVED the rum punches, which has a bit of a kick warning .... it can make you see double Sheba's.

Definitely rent a jeep ! Taxi's could be expensive and some of the best attractions require vehicle access. If you are not a driver I guess Jessica can set up a unlimited taxi for you like she did for the other couple from Switzerland.

Thank you Martin , Monica , Jessica and all the staff of Crystals for an amazing vacation!
We will be back next year ...!
Love Ellen , Marcus , Avery and Adelyn xoxoxoxo

Room Tip: The Papaya has amazing piton views , but the silver palm is stunning, it also has sea views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie25elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystals-Soufriere, Guest Relations Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Ellie and Marcus

for your wonderful review and may I say we are honored that in spite of the fact that you do not put reviews on you did for Crystals.

You and your Family were a real delight and it was a pleasure to hear how enthusiastic you all were about visiting all the off the beaten track places, using our suggestions rather than just the run of the mill places that every one knows.

We do run our property off rain water so yes at times sediment might get into the taps o one might get low pressure but as you know it takes one minute to fix this and all is back to normal, part of the slight inconvenience for going green.

May I as well say thank you for re booking with us for next year its nice to know that we made a good impression and you enjoyed our property, we are looking forward to welcoming you all back here again soon

All the best for the rest of the year from all of us here at Crystals

Monica Martin Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
3.1 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
934 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystals

Property: Crystals
Address: Colombette Drive, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystals is a one of a kind Tree House property with a cluster of unique cottages and Villas built into the trees. It is nestled away in the hillside of Soufriere with most spectacular views of the piton mountains, ocean and the picturesque town of Soufriere. Crystals is not an all inclusive resort. Here, you can take advantage of your own BBQ and full kitchen, or enjoy a wonderful feast at our Treetop Restaurant. Private chefs are also available. Our one of a kind cottages and villas are equipped with Air Conditioning and stylishly furnished with 4 poster king size beds, art from around the world, private pools and offer amazing, panoramic views of the ocean, the majestic Gros and Petit Piton and the drive-in volcano. Visit Crystals soon and allow yourself a moment to relax in a hammock and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of your lush surroundings, or get pampered with a full body massage in the privacy of your own cottage. Then join us every night for complimentary cocktails at our tree-top bar and dance the night away to the rhythms of a local band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystals Hotel Soufrière
Crystals St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing