We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Day of our Lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystals

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soufriere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystals
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Indpls, IN
Level Contributor
1 review
“The Best Day of our Lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

After several months of searching for a wedding destination, we found this romantic
paradise hidden in the mountains of Soufiere among papaya, banana, mango, coconut and many other tropical trees and flowers. The cottages have a magnificent view of the Pitons and Caribbean Sea. We stayed in Sugar Cane and felt very comfortable and relaxed without having that "hotel" feel. The decor was remarkable and impressive to say the least. We enjoyed the private plunge pool that had a great view of the Pitons and tropical hillside. Breakfast was brought to our cottage every morning with fresh baked breads by Arlette, who was always very personable, fruits and always something different each day with a warm greeting. After meeting Monica and Martin, we felt as though we'd been friends forever. They are both great fun and entertaining and we enjoyed all the times they spent with all the guests in the Tree Top Bar, words cannot describe what an amazing fun place it is. We decided this was the ultimate wedding/honeymoon location after viewing pictures and speaking directly with Monica. After several emails and questions, she said "darling" don't worry she would handing everything, and she did. She made our beach wedding a magical nite that was more than we could have ever imagined. She personally handled everything from the paperwork, preparing our "wedding dinner", (homemade french onion soup, coconut chicken and rum wedding cake with homemake coconut ice cream), doing our flowers, which words cannot describe how beautiful they were. All local tropical flowers in pinks, reds, whites, oranges and greenery, all very contemporary. The small reception was held in the Tree Top Bar and decorations and flowers were very romantic and straight from the rainforest. They had a small band and Martin joined in for some island songs, dancing and of course "RUM PUNCH". Martin was very fun and played some music on his guitar, bongos and keyboard. What a nite to remember. Both of them have exceptional talents that come together that made our wedding seem like a fairytale. We are looking foward to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby-Gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    45
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
311
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Our trip was quite some time ago, but every once in a while, I check in to the reviews to see if anyone had similar experiences. I feel it is time to share ours. My husband and I booked a week at Crystals in early July in the Calabash cottage for our honeymoon. We booked Crystals solely because we did not want to stay in some overpriced luxury resort. We wanted a private, rustic, relaxing location. The pictures and reviews online could sell anybody!

We generally had an overall good experience with Crystals and the staff, but there were a few missing accomodations that we weren't prepared for after reading the glowing reviews. After travelling all day, we arrived into Castries in the early evening. We were picked up at the airport by a very nice gentleman from Crystals and driven about an hour and a half down the coast to the hotel. My husband and I were very hungry after our travels, since it was near 7 pm when we arrived and we had been airport hopping all day. Monica met us at Crystals, and was very lovely and inviting. She asked us in to the bar for some rum punch (which I was excited for after reading all the great reviews on it!). We were also hoping for dinner when we arrived, only to be told that they didn't have any food on the premises. We were a little disappointed, and I really thought that after traveling all day, they could have supplied a little something for guests that they knew would be coming in later in the evening. But, thankfully they called one of their drivers, who nicely came to pick us up and take us to a local place to get us something to eat. (Sunday's - in Soufriere). At this point, it was close to 10. This was also the only time during our week stay that we were invited in for rum punch - we were dismayed to come back every night from our travels to find the bar dark and quiet.

It also must have been the low season for bookings, as for most of the week, it was just us and one other couple staying there. Monica was lovely when were able to find her. But usually, it was difficult to get ahold of Monica if we had any questions or issues. She was often in Castries. And an inquiry into the front desk (which was often staffed by a young boy) only ended with him saying he would give her a call and someone would find us and tell us an answer. And sometimes that answer wasn't until the next day. Just made any kind of planning difficult. There were no in-house cell phones provided. So, we fended for ourselves, which was quite alright. We booked a car for our entire trip, which is a must if staying in Crystals. We drove all over the island, spent some time in Soufriere - great, inexpensive restaurants - hiked to numerous waterfalls, enjoyed some fruity cocktails at various beaches, and snorkled. It was a lovely time.

That being said, we really did not spend much time at Crystals. After the first night or two, we decided we would just pack a bag for the entire day, travel around, and return at night. Our balcony had amazing views, but we enjoyed much more our time spent on the beaches. The cottage was accomodating, but not comfortable. Everything was a bit musty, which I just attributed to the dampness from the humidity. We slept with the doors closed and the air conditioner on (which leaked) - it was the only way I could survive the mosquitos (my husband never got bit...just me!). Our pool was pretty, but the chlorine smell was very overpowering, and there was no filter running. There was a white film all over the deck from it. My husband jumped in once, only to have to shower afterwards to get the stench out. Shower pressure was low, and the hot water was sparse. Most days I just showered in the ocean! Breakfast was wonderful every day, and I wish I could find some of that bread up here in the States!

Overall, we had a nice time. Would I go back? No. I understand the pull of places like Crystals. It is kind of a diamond in the rough, really. I think we just hit it on an off week. But in the end, it ended up just not being for us. Live and learn! But plenty of other people seem to have really enjoyed themselves. So, to each his own.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ern626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles3, owner at Crystals, responded to this review, 11 March 2010
Sad to hear that Erin was not 100% pleased with Crystals, mind you it is impossible to please everyone,even though we try, but so happy to say 95% are, and we have a lot of repeat Guests.

First of all I have to stress the concept of Crystals is not like a normal run of the mill hotel and by the way we do not even have a reception desk, Martin and I live on property and any Guests is allways welocme to knock at my door.

Plus at times we have in house Guests who do not want to hang out at the bar every night, and like to take advantage of their private decks, and this is fine, as we never did see our Charming Guests at the Bar at night we thought they just wanted to be on their own.

we are a self catering villa property ,not a fully fledged restaurant, in fact the first two years we were open did not even have a restaurant.
Now we offer lunch daily and dinner on reservations only.

Being only 6 cottages and villa and not open to the public, and every unit has a fuly equipped kitchen, we do not do dinner every night and encourage our Guests to try the restaurants in the area to make their stay as enjoyable as possible,....when we do have dinner all our Guests will tell you it is an event and we go all out, however if anyone would like dinner every night we do this as well, most of our Guests like to do their own thing, wednesday, hummingbird for the live band and great food, Thursday Mango tree for the limbo show and BBQ and yummy creole delights, Saturday ladera for "show time" Sunday for Fond Doux for the superb dinner and ambiance.
Every Guests is informed on arrival on bar and restaurant situation , bar is open most nights from 6 and we close when ever, no real time, could be 8 we close or 3 in the morning depending on who and what is happening, at times Martin will sing and play all night, other nights every one is off out for example so do not come to the bar.
If we do not see any one we close.
We can as well provide dinner every night just have to make a reservation , Guests can as well have dinner or lunch provided at no extra charge in their villa, if they would rather than the restaurant.
Saying we are not round is false we live on property ,and yes we do leave at times of course quite normal, then we are back at 6, plus I have My Assistant manager round if I am not on property .
Plus cell phones................., we provide free of charge a cell phone....
water pressure...................., a notice is in the room, we run Crystals on rain water IF the pressure is low let us know straight away as it is due to leaves at times block the pipe so it takes two minutes to fix this.

Hot water,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, we have water heater you get hot water 24 hours here .( or all the hot water used up so perhaps would have to wait ten minutes)

Air condition leaking.................., if an air conditioning unit is kept on for 20 hours at a time you do get condensation and the room will get musty
90% of my guests in the day and most at night open all windiws and doors to get the nice fresh wind blowing into the cottage ....wonderful

Here at our unique property we arrange all trips and tours and inform all Guests of this on arrival, as well a notice is in every room.

plus having 14 staff on property and all very willing to reply to any questions or help in any way.

ref last July, we were in fact fully booked all of July and had a few weddings, but as all of our villa and cottages are desighned for privicy ,you could be here all week and not see another Guests if you so wished, most of our Guests in fact like the idea it is very private here.

Crystals is a cottgae/villa property and we offer a great service , that is why we have kept here small, and special .

I am sure you will all be reading in the near future some positive reviews, and let me take thank Erin for His review and wish you all the best for the rest of the year and I wouls like to as well thank all My Guests who have sent in reviews
Hope to see you all back here again one day
Kind Regards Monica and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

My husband and I planned a trip to St. Lucia and were looking for good value and a unique place to stay. I found Crystals on trip advisor and was impressed with the number of positive reviews so I booked it. We were not disappointed! We stayed for a week in Papaya. It's not a room but a whole house with a huge deck overlooking the mountains and the caribbean sea. The breezes blow frequently making the place cooler than the beach far below. There's a roof over the porch area if you want to be outside but still in the shade. At night, we hung out together in the large hammock and watched the thousands of stars you could see all around you. We hardly wanted to leave the place because it was wonderful just being there! There's a full kitchen too so some nights we made salads and just ate in. There's a little place in Soufriere called Piton that makes terrific, huge lunches with barbecued meats and a large variety of side dishes. Portions were huge so we split or took it home. We loved Hummingbird Restaurant at the bottom of the hill-food was Caribbean style and very well prepared. Nice view of the water too.
Monica is extremely friendly and accommodating as well as Martin. It's truly like staying with friends. The decor of each house is very unique--I'd say Indonesian style with beautiful and unusual furniture.
One night there was a small wedding celebration in the bar area. Monica went out of her way to make it both beautiful and comfortable. Beautiful floral arrangements, table settings and ambience with candles and such. Overall, extremely well done and unique.
We loved staying at Crystals!
One thing I would recommend is that at night, use the mosquito netting. The buggers do exist there. After a few bites the first night we closed the doors once it got dark and we turned the lights on inside the house. We opened the doors again when we went to bed to get the breezes and used the mosquito netting and never had another problem. It was okay to leave the doors open during the day and at night as far as security goes. It was refreshing to not have to worry about that.
This hotel is not for you if you're looking for the perfection of a Hilton or a Marriot. However, it is spectacularly beautiful, friendly, safe and special--everything you don't get at the Hilton or the Marriot.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocky535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Crystals is a well hidden jewel sitting just above Soufreire. Each of the six very private cottages has magnificent views of the Pitons and every comfort one might need. Each cottage is decorated artfully in a way that feeds the soul as well as the being a visual treat. From the moment of arrival when greeted by Monica to the moment she hugs you when you leave, all was just perfect. There are people when you need them for something and there is total privacy when you want that as well. Gathering in the Tree-Top for cocktails and then dinner is a great treat. The conversation is always lively and the food is out of this world. All is done with both warmth and elegance from beginning to end. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bote13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

.....great while you find in life that very special place and experience that makes you
feel know that life is good!! Monica and Charles have created such a place .......one that astounds your senses with views , and incredible romantic furnishings and some of the best food in all soufriers. while also being probably the best value Most of all is the generosity and graciousness of your hosts.....passionate , fun loving and in all ways there their guests. Monica knows what service truly means......ensuring that your stay is whatever you want it to be.We have stayed in some truly unique and special places around the world and Crystals is definitely at the top of our list...Imagine a rainforest treehouse that is adorned with antiques and rugs from indonesia and thailand and the most romantic ornate furnishings inside these handcrafted dwellings built on the side of a mountain overlooking the pitons.........fellini meets tarzan and your senses are wonderfully seduced by monicas inablility to stop buying yet another victorian lamp ....charles entertains with his music and cocktail hour is a nightly ritual where guests and hosts drink rum punch and laugh and share stories..........as you look around the treehouse restaurant they have and wonder.....AM I DREAMING? monica all dressed up as if she is some upscale bohemian parisian bistro.....martin playing his keyboard and dancing as he sings.......everything!!

truly a memorable stay for those who love the road less travelled........if you want a traditional resort , big screen tv;s to watch the game , and all inclusive boredom ....go elsewhere.....if you are one of those that still believes in magic and love.......stay here...
crystals is a gem

rob and uschi

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

My husband says that when he dies and his life flashes before his eyes, our Crystals vacation will be one of the major events he sees. The views were outstanding from every cottage. Each cottage had its own private swimming pool which meant we never used our bathing suits. Monica and Martin were charming, knowledgeable, helpful, and delightful hosts. Christine was a marvelous chef. Every morning we had fresh baked bread and just picked fruit and more delivered to our room. We always wanted to experience the Caribbean as a native would and got to do that on this trip. We shopped in local grocery stores and mingled with the island people. Soufriere is in the center of the island and offers the majority of the sites and experiences without the congestion of Castries, the capital city. We rented a vehicle and had no problems driving on the left or getting around. We ate at a number of local restaurants and enjoyed them but found dinner at Crystals with Monica and Martin and our fellow guests to be the best of all. The people who stayed at Crystals were the kind you would like to get to know better. If you are looking for a "Sandals experience" this is not the place to be. If you want to have a real island cultural experience in a lavish setting, this is the place. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

After extensive research using this site and others, we settled upon Crystals - and what a gem we discovered. In fact, I was so impressed that it has prompted me to sign up to trip advisor and add my comments to the other reviews. Everything positive you read about this place is true. The wonderful cottages and treetop bar (the photos give you an idea but cannot fully capture the magic of the place), the friendly staff who are so helpful and always with a smile - and of course, Monica and Martin, the owners who welcome you like friends and by the time you reluctantly have to leave, feel like friends. Our cottage was spotlessly clean - and this was done every day. 5 star? In my opinion yes! Crystals has a quality that you can't buy and won't find in any of the big corporate hotels and the charm of the people and location may well make me return - and this is from someone who never returns to a holiday place or writes reviews. That's how special this place is. Go, relax, enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysterymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
1.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
2.3 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystals

Property: Crystals
Address: Colombette Drive, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#8 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystals is a one of a kind Tree House property with a cluster of unique cottages and Villas built into the trees. It is nestled away in the hillside of Soufriere with most spectacular views of the piton mountains, ocean and the picturesque town of Soufriere. Crystals is not an all inclusive resort. Here, you can take advantage of your own BBQ and full kitchen, or enjoy a wonderful feast at our Treetop Restaurant. Private chefs are also available. Our one of a kind cottages and villas are equipped with Air Conditioning and stylishly furnished with 4 poster king size beds, art from around the world, private pools and offer amazing, panoramic views of the ocean, the majestic Gros and Petit Piton and the drive-in volcano. Visit Crystals soon and allow yourself a moment to relax in a hammock and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of your lush surroundings, or get pampered with a full body massage in the privacy of your own cottage. Then join us every night for complimentary cocktails at our tree-top bar and dance the night away to the rhythms of a local band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystals Hotel Soufrière
Crystals St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing