We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

My teenage daughter and I spent a week here and loved every minute. The Lamontagnes were so warm and welcoming and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very active vacation that included hiking, volcanos, ziplining, spa, shopping in Castieres and wonderful dining experiences, oh yeah and the beach! The staff at Fond Doux were there to help us every step of the way. We will definitely go back to St. Lucia and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is great, too!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salladeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments and review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

It is great to read that you made time to see and do so many things while you stayed with us. Hopefully you had some time to relax...! We are happy that the staff were able to help you out when required and we will pass this on to the team.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you both again soon.


Best Regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    169
    31
    9
    0
See reviews for
152
487
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Our Family has been coming here since there was only the Angelina cottage provided. Now there are plenty more cottages to pick from, and a wonderful pool to sit by while the kids have a swim. Any of the best beaches, the volcano and the hot springs are only a few minutes away by vehicle So there is always something to do during the day. The crickets, frogs and other creatures sing us to sleep in the evening, In the morning, we are regularly greeted by an assortment of tropical birds, joyful staff, and wonderful smells coming from the cookhouse. Although we have been to other places on the Island, our hearts always beckon us back to Fond Doux. We have always felt taken care of, and welcomed. The people are beautiful and warm, so that even if the day becomes rainy, there is always a reason to leave the cottage. Our kids and I feel that this is our home away from home. Our daughter has celiac desise, and we were provided a room with a kitchen so we are able to follow her strict diet. Although we need to bring most of her starch foods, the availability of fresh fruit and vegetables from thier gardens make this place completely unique and convenient . The beautiful trails around the property to give our kids the opportunity to adventure through them on thier own, while we have a tropical drink. The kids go back every year looking forward to seeing the staff, knowing them by name, planting trees, and picking fruit. My kids are now experts on how to pick a good cocoa pod and the process to making cocoa sticks. This place is truly wonderful! we have seen many places in the world, This is by far, one of our favourite places in earth, not only because it is everything that imagine paradise to be like, but mostly because the people are genuine and very special to us. We have to give a huge thanks to the staff there and especially to the owners Eroline and Lyton, who are always welcoming us with warm smiles and big hearts. I am so blessed to be able to spend time in this place with all of these beautiful people once a year or so. May God bless them abundantly!~

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yahfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
Greetings:
Sometimes the written word does not capture all the nuances of expressing gratitude.This "First Family of Fonddoux" has simply afforded us so much joy and laughter over the years.How can our staff begin to say "Thank you".This Holiday Plantation allows our staff and ourselves to connect in a special way with family and friends and to open our lives positively to an exchange of culture and adventure.

Did it start with "Halloween" at Fonddoux when the BBQ picnic turned into loud shrieks when Julian and another grownup who shall be nameless showed up in frightfull wigs and masks,draped in white bedsheets scaring the daylights from the staff and other guests? or perhaps when your daughter (the scientist) put that lizard on that same grownup's hair or when we all ziplined on the east coast. There are so many memories that we treasure of the children as they grow up and our civic minded male adults as they reorganise and shape the world during their long discourses at dinner.

We look forward to implementing Julian"s blueprint for the next phase of Fonddoux's development since he has seen its progression as a boy and has now made recommendations as a young adult.The saddest part for us was to learn of the devastation in your city recently and to pray for a return to normalcy and to offer any help that our staff and ourselves can give in return.
Best Regards: Lyton and Eroline Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Among the most memorable and enjoyable vacations I've ever been on. Three cheers for Carl and Brooke! And three more for Eroline and Lyton!
(note: a good rain coat is useful, just in case, but Fond Doux is exceptionally beautiful rain or shine)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlenmoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and sharing your experience at Fond Doux. We had a great time whilst you were all here and three cheers to you !!!

Rain was a bit of an issue that week but we are glad you just got on with it.


Thank you again

Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

The Fond Doux Holiday Plantation creates a lovely experience, amidst a lush, tropical, sprawling garden, with a terrific and friendly and attentive staff, and consistently good food well-presented. We were part of a joyous wedding party, and this ecologically sensitive environment was perfect. The cottages are distinctive and each offers a wonderful view in a charming setting with privacy. Check it out!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalParadise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for your comments and thank you for praising the staff, we will pass it on. The wedding was a wonderful occasion and it was the guests that played the major part in that.
Great to read that you liked the grounds and cottages. It is important for us to share our vision of an ecologically friendly resort.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Best regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Very cool, locally run resort in the middle of a cocoa plantation. A great place to relax. We rented one of the cottages in a jungle area, which was spacious, nicely decorated, and very quiet. The plantation has a decent restaurant, with good seafood, specialty drinks, a tasty breakfast.

There was also a nice little pool/patio area surrounded by lush forest, tropical flowers, and views. Great spot to lounge

Will say we got a little creeped out at night. It was very dark, with lots of strange noises coming from the surrounding forrest. Had an eery, almost haunted feeling about it. Lot's of fun though!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Thank you for your review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you were able to relax by the triple pools.

The natural rainforest that we are encircled by does produce some wonderful and unique sounds at night, usually the chirping of the tree frogs.

We hope you were not too spooked!!

Thanks again for the review.

Best Regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay at Fond Doux in Hillside Guava Tree cottage. Staff were so friendly and helpful; location amongst the many flowers, trees, birds, insects, etc. was idyllic; walks were fun, especially the rainforest trail up to a great view of the Petit Piton; three tier pool was a novelty. Our cottage was high above the trees and the verandah was a lovely place to sit and relax. Pick up from the airport and drop off at our next location was managed well [thanks Jerome].
The only quibble was a long wait for lunch one day when they were very busy.
We hope to be back, but it's a long way from Scotland!
Peter & Lynne

Room Tip: 2 hillside cottages have views and a great breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterrickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Thank you for your time taken to write your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind comments towards our staff.

The trail walks are very soothing on the soul, especially when the Humming Birds and other wildlife are out enjoying the sunshine!

We were disappointed to read that you had to wait for lunch, busy or not, we expect the same high standard of service towards our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can monitor it a little more closely.

Thanks again for the review, it is a long trip from Scotland but we are happy you made it to Saint Lucia.

Best regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

The Plantation was excellent. We stayed at the Banana Tree and it was very secluded and peaceful. The room was clean and the balcony was perfect to relax with nature.
Location was within walking distance of the walk-in volcano and mud bathes.
The food at the resort was very good, but also expensive. We made dinner reservations at Hotel Chocolat and Ladera- both a 5 min taxi drive away from Fond Doux and well worth the drive. Hotel Chocolat and Ladera's prices were lower than Fond Doux (not by much, but the view from the restaurants was amazing!).
The staff at Fond Doux were very helpful and were able to accomodate any of our requests. We were able to relax and get away from our NY life and get to know the real culture in St. Lucia.

Room Tip: We loved the Banana Tree room- secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sms20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Goodday,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Fond Doux. We are happy to be informed that you were able to relax and enjoy our peaceful setting. We are sorry that you found our prices a little expensive, we have our A La Carte menu but we also have nightly specials.
Thank you for your comments and we will of course pass your thanks to all the staff.

Best Wishes
Eroline Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
3.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
10.0 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Property: Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Address: Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing