We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$630
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$589
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calabash Mountain Villa(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Dauphine Estate(Soufriere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
636
194
32
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
194
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagescinnamon cottageafrican tuliphillside guavaangelina cottagest luciamangobamboo restaurantsugar beachshort hikebedroom cottagetet paul nature trailoutdoor showerfruit treesfree shuttlemade to order eggscocoa tree
Filter
Updating list...
708 - 713 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This place has passion. We had such fun staying at the Fond Doux for a recent friends' wedding! The staff is tremendous and they seemed to appreciate our antics and humor. They even made us Pig Tail Stew for breakfast on our final morning! We came to appreciate them even more when we spent time at the beach at the Jalouise Resort during our visit. If there is a band playing at the restaurant/bar-Get Ready to Move! And get ready to move with the staff as well as they will dance the night away with you. One minute they are serving you an elegant dinner and they are dancing with you the next. The cottages were more than adequate and the mini fridge gets stocked with Piton Lager! I was a little scared when I saw the mosquito net but it was not necessary though it's fun to sleep with a mosquito net over your bed so do it anyway. The computer with internet is a nice touch near the pool in case one needs to keep in touch with reality. Oh, and Bounty the Dog is really nice too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cat0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Thank you for your kind review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and got to mingle with the staff as well. They do like when there is a band playing !!

All the cottages do have mosquito netting and of course the netting around the windows, just to make sure you have a good night’s rest. You sound as if you needed it after all that dancing!

Thank you for your appreciation and we will pass on to the staff, oh and to bounty as well !

Best regards

Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This was our first trip in the Caribeans and we had the most wonderful experience.

The cottages are very beautiful and spacious and right in the middle of the magnificent trees and flowers of the plantation, with the exact distance between them allowing you to enjoy some privacy without feeling lonely. The food is great, either cooked and served to you in the restaurant or picked up directly from all those fruit trees everywhere. The location is perfect, close to very nice beaches but nevertheless far enough in the mountain to enjoy cooler temperature and great views (especially from the pool or higher up in the mountain), and avoid the crowd.

Last but not least, everyone in the plantation - Eroline and Lyton showing the way and everybody else following - is so welcoming and friendly and makes you feel at home, just as if you had always known them. We won't forget Philip, the way he loves this place and shared his love with us and especially the kids. The guests were all as kind as the hosts, and we were fortunate enough to meet the First Family (see their review).

To be sure, we loved Fond Doux Plantation!

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank ANM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Thank you for your very comprehensive review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

You came at a great time of year when many of the fruit trees are beginning to bear fruit. At the moment we have some beautiful Guava, Love Apple, Mango and Star Fruit. We do harvest all year round but May can be very special. We are pleased to read that you could escape the heat up to the cooler pool deck area, it has been very hot this past week and it’s nice just to cool down on occasion.

Thank you for your kind comments towards all the staff here and we will certainly pass this on. Our team really love to get involved and interact with our guests and it’s great to here they are well received.

We wish that your first visit to the Caribbean will be one of many and we hope to see you at Fond Doux again soon,



Best regards

Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This was a wonderful experience. We booked 4 nights and extended for one more. Loved the cottages. The food was exceptional...some of the best we've ever had. People were very helpful and friendly. The pool area is very unique and enjoyable. Birds, animals, flowers made it a great rain forest experience. Would love to go back and will definitely recommend to our friends. The owners were very personable and stopped to chat and make us feel welcome and appreciated.

Room Tip: Tree House & Guava cottages are both great!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJewellak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

We appreciate your recent review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. It is great to know that you even had two favourite cottages ! The Tree House cottage is especially popular with our Honeymoon guests.

Just a few months ago we employed a new Head Chef so I will pass on your appreciation of his teams culinary work to him.

We are truly blessed with such a natural and quiet setting. The magical sounds the birds and other wildlife make are truly unique.



Thank you again and we hope that you are able to return to Fond Doux.



Best regards

Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My teenage daughter and I spent a week here and loved every minute. The Lamontagnes were so warm and welcoming and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very active vacation that included hiking, volcanos, ziplining, spa, shopping in Castieres and wonderful dining experiences, oh yeah and the beach! The staff at Fond Doux were there to help us every step of the way. We will definitely go back to St. Lucia and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is great, too!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salladeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Thank you for your very kind comments and review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

It is great to read that you made time to see and do so many things while you stayed with us. Hopefully you had some time to relax...! We are happy that the staff were able to help you out when required and we will pass this on to the team.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you both again soon.


Best Regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Our Family has been coming here since there was only the Angelina cottage provided. Now there are plenty more cottages to pick from, and a wonderful pool to sit by while the kids have a swim. Any of the best beaches, the volcano and the hot springs are only a few minutes away by vehicle So there is always something to do during the day. The crickets, frogs and other creatures sing us to sleep in the evening, In the morning, we are regularly greeted by an assortment of tropical birds, joyful staff, and wonderful smells coming from the cookhouse. Although we have been to other places on the Island, our hearts always beckon us back to Fond Doux. We have always felt taken care of, and welcomed. The people are beautiful and warm, so that even if the day becomes rainy, there is always a reason to leave the cottage. Our kids and I feel that this is our home away from home. Our daughter has celiac desise, and we were provided a room with a kitchen so we are able to follow her strict diet. Although we need to bring most of her starch foods, the availability of fresh fruit and vegetables from thier gardens make this place completely unique and convenient . The beautiful trails around the property to give our kids the opportunity to adventure through them on thier own, while we have a tropical drink. The kids go back every year looking forward to seeing the staff, knowing them by name, planting trees, and picking fruit. My kids are now experts on how to pick a good cocoa pod and the process to making cocoa sticks. This place is truly wonderful! we have seen many places in the world, This is by far, one of our favourite places in earth, not only because it is everything that imagine paradise to be like, but mostly because the people are genuine and very special to us. We have to give a huge thanks to the staff there and especially to the owners Eroline and Lyton, who are always welcoming us with warm smiles and big hearts. I am so blessed to be able to spend time in this place with all of these beautiful people once a year or so. May God bless them abundantly!~

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank yahfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Greetings:
Sometimes the written word does not capture all the nuances of expressing gratitude.This "First Family of Fonddoux" has simply afforded us so much joy and laughter over the years.How can our staff begin to say "Thank you".This Holiday Plantation allows our staff and ourselves to connect in a special way with family and friends and to open our lives positively to an exchange of culture and adventure.

Did it start with "Halloween" at Fonddoux when the BBQ picnic turned into loud shrieks when Julian and another grownup who shall be nameless showed up in frightfull wigs and masks,draped in white bedsheets scaring the daylights from the staff and other guests? or perhaps when your daughter (the scientist) put that lizard on that same grownup's hair or when we all ziplined on the east coast. There are so many memories that we treasure of the children as they grow up and our civic minded male adults as they reorganise and shape the world during their long discourses at dinner.

We look forward to implementing Julian"s blueprint for the next phase of Fonddoux's development since he has seen its progression as a boy and has now made recommendations as a young adult.The saddest part for us was to learn of the devastation in your city recently and to pray for a return to normalcy and to offer any help that our staff and ourselves can give in return.
Best Regards: Lyton and Eroline Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews