We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance, beauty, and outstanding people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romance, beauty, and outstanding people!”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We spent five nights in the Hillside Guava this June for our wedding, and it was an experience we will surely never forget. We began planning our wedding with Fond Doux last year, and were amazed with the personalized and timely responses we received from their staff. Indira was amazing in helping us plan out and organize all of the little details for our wedding and in assuring us that everything would go smoothly. We always received an email response from their staff immediately after we contacted them for any reason--usually within 24 hours, and many times within only a couple of hours.

Upon arrival, we were astounded with the beauty of the plantation--the tropical flowers and plants, the fruits, nuts, and spices, and of course the cocoa making process. The staff members were all extremely friendly and fun to get to know. Our food was always excellent. We had around 15 guests at our wedding, all of whom stayed at Fond Doux. Everyone was more than pleased with the beautiful plantation, the staff, the food, and the wedding.

Everything was planned out and followed through perfectly for our wedding, and in fact, it turned out a lot more beautiful then we could have ever imagined. Donny, the general manager, did a fantastic job in assuring everything was perfect. Our wedding was held on the Hummingbird Beach and the setup was breathtaking. A gorgeous arch of tropical flowers, beautifully decorated and arranged seating, amazing floral arrangements down the aisle, and breathtaking bouquets. The setup for our dinner back at the plantation was perfect as well. The bands that were hired were simply perfect, the dinner was delicious, and the atmosphere was so fun. The staff were dancing with us late into the night, as well as the owners--Eroline and Lyton! The owners made a point of meeting and greeting everyone in our group, and they were simply wonderful people. It was a pleasure getting to know everyone at the plantation and getting to experience such an amazing, peaceful hideaway in St. Lucia.

Our only complaint is that we had to leave St. Lucia, and that we will miss the staff and the plantation and the fun that was had during our time at Fond Doux. Thanks so much for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plevafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for your review of your wedding and stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We try very hard to give a personal service, weddings can take a lot of time and planning to organise on your side, and it was great to read that everything went just as you imagined it and more.

The grounds are looking very colourful at present and the fruit trees showing some beautiful produce. We are using a lot of the fruits in our cooking. Chef will be pleased to know your enjoyed the food and we will pass on your positive comments to the rest of the kitchen team.

We have around three bands we use on a regular basis and when we see them next we will let them know that you enjoyed their music.

Thank you again for your comprehensive review and thank you very much for your very kind comments towards all the team here at Fond Doux.

Best Regards,
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    177
    31
    9
    0
See reviews for
157
499
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The plantation tour was brilliant. My husband and I had our own guide who was very attentive. Following the tour we had an excellent value gourmet lunch. Highly recommended and have told all of our family and friends. We have family living on the island so we'll definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for the time taken to write your comments about your guided tour and lunch at Fond Doux.

We appreciate that you did not stay with us this time but hopefully on your return.....

Best Regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This place has passion. We had such fun staying at the Fond Doux for a recent friends' wedding! The staff is tremendous and they seemed to appreciate our antics and humor. They even made us Pig Tail Stew for breakfast on our final morning! We came to appreciate them even more when we spent time at the beach at the Jalouise Resort during our visit. If there is a band playing at the restaurant/bar-Get Ready to Move! And get ready to move with the staff as well as they will dance the night away with you. One minute they are serving you an elegant dinner and they are dancing with you the next. The cottages were more than adequate and the mini fridge gets stocked with Piton Lager! I was a little scared when I saw the mosquito net but it was not necessary though it's fun to sleep with a mosquito net over your bed so do it anyway. The computer with internet is a nice touch near the pool in case one needs to keep in touch with reality. Oh, and Bounty the Dog is really nice too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for your kind review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and got to mingle with the staff as well. They do like when there is a band playing !!

All the cottages do have mosquito netting and of course the netting around the windows, just to make sure you have a good night’s rest. You sound as if you needed it after all that dancing!

Thank you for your appreciation and we will pass on to the staff, oh and to bounty as well !

Best regards

Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This was our first trip in the Caribeans and we had the most wonderful experience.

The cottages are very beautiful and spacious and right in the middle of the magnificent trees and flowers of the plantation, with the exact distance between them allowing you to enjoy some privacy without feeling lonely. The food is great, either cooked and served to you in the restaurant or picked up directly from all those fruit trees everywhere. The location is perfect, close to very nice beaches but nevertheless far enough in the mountain to enjoy cooler temperature and great views (especially from the pool or higher up in the mountain), and avoid the crowd.

Last but not least, everyone in the plantation - Eroline and Lyton showing the way and everybody else following - is so welcoming and friendly and makes you feel at home, just as if you had always known them. We won't forget Philip, the way he loves this place and shared his love with us and especially the kids. The guests were all as kind as the hosts, and we were fortunate enough to meet the First Family (see their review).

To be sure, we loved Fond Doux Plantation!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ANM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
Thank you for your very comprehensive review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

You came at a great time of year when many of the fruit trees are beginning to bear fruit. At the moment we have some beautiful Guava, Love Apple, Mango and Star Fruit. We do harvest all year round but May can be very special. We are pleased to read that you could escape the heat up to the cooler pool deck area, it has been very hot this past week and it’s nice just to cool down on occasion.

Thank you for your kind comments towards all the staff here and we will certainly pass this on. Our team really love to get involved and interact with our guests and it’s great to here they are well received.

We wish that your first visit to the Caribbean will be one of many and we hope to see you at Fond Doux again soon,



Best regards

Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasilof, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This was a wonderful experience. We booked 4 nights and extended for one more. Loved the cottages. The food was exceptional...some of the best we've ever had. People were very helpful and friendly. The pool area is very unique and enjoyable. Birds, animals, flowers made it a great rain forest experience. Would love to go back and will definitely recommend to our friends. The owners were very personable and stopped to chat and make us feel welcome and appreciated.

Room Tip: Tree House & Guava cottages are both great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJewellak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
We appreciate your recent review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. It is great to know that you even had two favourite cottages ! The Tree House cottage is especially popular with our Honeymoon guests.

Just a few months ago we employed a new Head Chef so I will pass on your appreciation of his teams culinary work to him.

We are truly blessed with such a natural and quiet setting. The magical sounds the birds and other wildlife make are truly unique.



Thank you again and we hope that you are able to return to Fond Doux.



Best regards

Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My teenage daughter and I spent a week here and loved every minute. The Lamontagnes were so warm and welcoming and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very active vacation that included hiking, volcanos, ziplining, spa, shopping in Castieres and wonderful dining experiences, oh yeah and the beach! The staff at Fond Doux were there to help us every step of the way. We will definitely go back to St. Lucia and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is great, too!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salladeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments and review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

It is great to read that you made time to see and do so many things while you stayed with us. Hopefully you had some time to relax...! We are happy that the staff were able to help you out when required and we will pass this on to the team.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you both again soon.


Best Regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Our Family has been coming here since there was only the Angelina cottage provided. Now there are plenty more cottages to pick from, and a wonderful pool to sit by while the kids have a swim. Any of the best beaches, the volcano and the hot springs are only a few minutes away by vehicle So there is always something to do during the day. The crickets, frogs and other creatures sing us to sleep in the evening, In the morning, we are regularly greeted by an assortment of tropical birds, joyful staff, and wonderful smells coming from the cookhouse. Although we have been to other places on the Island, our hearts always beckon us back to Fond Doux. We have always felt taken care of, and welcomed. The people are beautiful and warm, so that even if the day becomes rainy, there is always a reason to leave the cottage. Our kids and I feel that this is our home away from home. Our daughter has celiac desise, and we were provided a room with a kitchen so we are able to follow her strict diet. Although we need to bring most of her starch foods, the availability of fresh fruit and vegetables from thier gardens make this place completely unique and convenient . The beautiful trails around the property to give our kids the opportunity to adventure through them on thier own, while we have a tropical drink. The kids go back every year looking forward to seeing the staff, knowing them by name, planting trees, and picking fruit. My kids are now experts on how to pick a good cocoa pod and the process to making cocoa sticks. This place is truly wonderful! we have seen many places in the world, This is by far, one of our favourite places in earth, not only because it is everything that imagine paradise to be like, but mostly because the people are genuine and very special to us. We have to give a huge thanks to the staff there and especially to the owners Eroline and Lyton, who are always welcoming us with warm smiles and big hearts. I am so blessed to be able to spend time in this place with all of these beautiful people once a year or so. May God bless them abundantly!~

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yahfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
Greetings:
Sometimes the written word does not capture all the nuances of expressing gratitude.This "First Family of Fonddoux" has simply afforded us so much joy and laughter over the years.How can our staff begin to say "Thank you".This Holiday Plantation allows our staff and ourselves to connect in a special way with family and friends and to open our lives positively to an exchange of culture and adventure.

Did it start with "Halloween" at Fonddoux when the BBQ picnic turned into loud shrieks when Julian and another grownup who shall be nameless showed up in frightfull wigs and masks,draped in white bedsheets scaring the daylights from the staff and other guests? or perhaps when your daughter (the scientist) put that lizard on that same grownup's hair or when we all ziplined on the east coast. There are so many memories that we treasure of the children as they grow up and our civic minded male adults as they reorganise and shape the world during their long discourses at dinner.

We look forward to implementing Julian"s blueprint for the next phase of Fonddoux's development since he has seen its progression as a boy and has now made recommendations as a young adult.The saddest part for us was to learn of the devastation in your city recently and to pray for a return to normalcy and to offer any help that our staff and ourselves can give in return.
Best Regards: Lyton and Eroline Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
3.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
935 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
720 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Property: Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Address: Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing