We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jungle Paradise”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I just went to Fond Doux for a six night stay and had an amazing time! We were a little worried because mid May is verging on the rainy season, but we had no problems at all. If anything it was better because there were not a ton of tourists and we got a couple of mid day rain bursts that cooled us down and lasted no longer than twenty minutes. Anyways the estate was fantastic. From the point of arrival we were greeted with a the tasty, local rum punch and taken to our cottage. I literally let out a yelp of excitement when we walked in to this amazing jungle cottage----it was so much more than I expected. First off it was HUGE. The bed was the most glorious that I have ever slept in, king size with four posters and light white fabric hanging down from the tops of them, talk about romantic. The room had all the necessary amenities and open windows everywhere to take in the jungle noise and breeze. On our huge front balcony/porch we had two big comfy chairs and a hammock and the view was just surrounding jungle with papaya and banana trees, hummingbirds flying about, and mountains and palm trees in the background. There were some cool trails you could hike around and plenty of friendly staff who were willing to answer any and all of my questions about St. Lucia history and flora and fauna. One day we hiked a mere 20 min to watch the sunset from the mountain top and it was glorious. There are three quaint pools that are surrounded by jungle as well and when we weren't at the beach we loved hanging here. The beach is a short drive on the free shuttle and sooooo gorgeous with white sand and a fancy cocktail beach bar. And the snorkeling here is incredible----we saw so many fish including a few varieties of parrotfish, eels, a sea snake, sea urchins, crabs, flounders, and on an on. Lastly, I was so pleasantly surprise with our all inclusive package which usually means crappy buffets and watered down drinks. Not here. For dinner there was a seasonally rotating three course meal with options for you to chose from for each course----all fantastic----and the drinks were as strong or light as you wanted them. The staff was incredibly sweet and helpful, the bartender gave us a rum tasting the first day when we showed interest and the own took my husband around town showing him the local spots. All and all I would recommend this to everyone and anyone, really no complaints!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Banana Tree and it was more isolated and fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanmcsorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank You for your Review!!!!!

Dear Shanmcsorley,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this wonderful review about your recent stay at fond Doux Holiday plantation.

It is heartwarming to read that you had an amazing experience and that your overall expectations were exceeded. We are committed to providing our guest with the highest level of service and try our best to ensure that we help create fulfilling and memorable experiences. We are happy that we were able to do just that and will commend our dedicated team for a job well done.

It is guests like you who appreciate what we do here and so we thank you wholeheartedly for your unwavering support. We hope that you to will become part of the ever expanding Fond Doux Family.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    175
    31
    9
    0
See reviews for
156
492
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Fond Doux over the past two years and we love this plantation. Fond Doux is an exquisite property. There is a natural warmth to this plantation.


You are greeted like an old friend every corner you turn with a smile and hello. My cottage was one of the newly built cottages Hilltop Papaya. This honeymoon suite is hidden in the hills of the plantation were it is peaceful, nice and quiet and you can enjoy looking at this beautiful tropical paradise from your balcony. This cottage was incredibly comfortable with a gorgeous outdoor shower.

We did not expect less from Fond Doux the location, staff and service says it all. If you are looking for Beauty,Elegance and a Romantic setting we recommend Fond Doux. It's one of the reasons we keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
BEAUTY, ELEGANCE AND A TOUCH OF NATURE REVIEW - MOST APPRECIATED!!!
Dear Nikita S,
We were extremely pleased to receive the wonderful review of your return visit to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We are aware that there are many choices on where to spend a holiday in the Caribbean, but when guests return to the same resort and are happy about every experience, that really says something. You have clearly come to appreciate the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, and for all your contributions to our success, we are forever grateful. Thank you ever so much for your loyalty and patronage of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation – “Saint Lucia’s True Heritage” which you have come to know so well.
To cap off your review with the warmest of words “If you are looking for Beauty, Elegance and a Romantic setting we recommend Fond Doux”, “It's one of the reasons we keep coming back” is a testament to having your expectations consistently met.
All we can hope for is that you will return for your third visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your strong support of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

this was my first time to this side of the island and such a excellent choice of destination, spectacular setting with nature around the plantation setting and the rooms are so nice with the heritage , great food and service all the staff are friendly and nice make you feel welcome, it's a home away from , they give you a feel like no other, the beauty was the open air , the rooms are very spacious, and well appointed,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!
Dear Adrian D,
We truly appreciate your posting related to your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We are committed to making every holiday experience a fulfilling and memorable one and so we are delighted to know that your experience was exceptional and that the services, accommodation and amenities we delivered contributed to a wonderful stay.
Once again, thank you for your encouraging comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at Fond Doux for a week for our first Caribbean getaway in a few years.

LOCATION AND TRANSPORTATION: The plantation is beautifully situated on a hillside just off the main road that runs around the island, and is only about a 40 minute drive from the international airport in Vieux Fort. The fact that it is on the main road (but with no noise--you don't even know the road is there once you're on the property) proved to be a real plus throughout our stay because we like to explore.

The south-west part of the island where Fond Doux is located is absolutely tops in terms of natural beauty. The plantation is very near the Pitons, Diamond Botanical Gardens, the sulphur springs, and other gorgeous natural attractions. This was a definite plus for us. The downside is that restaurants and shops are few and far between--the more heavily touristed part of the island is far to the north. So if having lots of restaurant options and more tourist-oriented commercial areas is important, you may want to think about staying closer to the Rodney Bay area.

If you're not interested in exploring but prefer to lounge by the beach and the pool most of the time, Fond Doux is a good option because there is a daily free shuttle to beautiful Sugar Beach (departing 10am and returning 4pm) and wandering the plantation property when you're not at the beach is lovely.

If you ARE interested in exploring and you're comfortable driving the windy and steep roads (and driving on the left), then you should definitely rent a car, as cabs add up fast. We were able to rent a car from Avis for a week for about $350. Rent a 4-wheel drive if you want to really get off the beaten path. Roads other than the main road are really rough and rocky.

OUR ROOM: LOVED it! We stayed in Hilltop Coconut, which, as other reviewers have described, is up a steep and difficult flight of steps cut into the hillside. It is one of the cottages that is highest up on the property. The climb up to the cottage did get old by the end of the week, and visitors with any physical impairment would likely find the climb extremely difficult if not impossible (the hotel's website discloses this information and cottages that do not require a climb are also available). Nevertheless, I don't think I would have traded the views or the breezes that we got by being up so high. It was a heavenly place to wake up every morning, and we loved spending parts of the afternoon and early evening out on our porch overlooking the forest.

We loved the blending of indoors and outdoors in our room. You'll get geckos and, if you leave the doors open, the occasional bird in your room, but it didn't bother us at all. The cottage is designed and situated to take advantage of the breezes and we kept the doors to the porch open most of the time during the day to catch the most air. Even at night when we closed the porch doors, we got plenty of breeze, and the temperature was always quite comfortable.

The sounds of the forest create an absolute symphony at night--I found the noise to be like a lullaby and miss it now that we're home!

HOTEL STAFF: The staff at the hotel was very helpful--they answered our many questions, took care of dinner reservations, helped provide us with directions, etc. While this is not a "white glove" kind of hotel (nor does it claim to be), we really enjoyed the low-key attitude and that in no way affected the friendliness and competence of the staff.

OTHER ASPECTS: Do be sure to take advantage of the complimentary plantation tour, for which guides are available between 8am and 4pm daily. You'll be taken on a walk up to a ridge with a fabulous view of the Pitons, and then around the property to learn about the various plants and trees grown there, as well as about how the cocoa pods grown on the property are processed.

The pool is small but very pleasant and certainly does the trick, and we loved sitting in the covered area adjacent to it to stay out of the sun (or, as was the case during our trip, the rain!) and read or visit with other guests. There is also a computer there for guests to use, along with wi-fi if you have your own device. (Wi-fi is also available in the restaurants and the reception area.)

The one disappointment at Fond Doux was the food. We had breakfast there each morning and it was fine, but not memorable. We had dinner there two nights and the food was again, fine, but not great. Given the limited number of dining options around the hotel, we had hoped to want to have dinner there more often, but we found ourselves going out to nearby resorts most nights. (We liked Ladera for dinner, and Boucan at Hotel Chocolat was excellent--both are about a 3-minute drive from Fond Doux.)

COST: I thought Fond Doux was a really good value. We booked a 7-night package which came to about US$2,100 including taxes. This included not only the room and breakfast each morning, but a number of other valuable extras such as a very good couples massage; entrance to the Pitons (normally US$35/person); dinner one evening, entrance for two to the sulphur springs and the botanical gardens (about US$25/person value); and several other opportunities, not all of which we ended up taking advantage of but all of which looked great.

Room Tip: If you can manage the climb, get one of the rooms up above the level of the pool. The breezes and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
LOTS OF THANK YOU’S !!!
Dear TripsPlease,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review following your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. The care you have taken to point out so many positive experiences during your stay is most appreciated. It encapsulates all the important elements of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation so accurately and will serve as an excellent guide for any person considering staying with us. The fact you chose Fond Doux Holiday Plantation as a Senior Contributor on this website, with 47 reviews to your credit covering hotels in 33 different cities, gives that selection a great deal of meaning and we are also honored to have received such a good rating.
We are delighted that your experience was exceptional and that the services, accommodation and amenities we delivered contributed to a wonderful stay. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team.
We have noted your comments regarding the food as this is an area that we are continuing to work on. Most of our guests have mentioned that our food is ‘good”, however we are looking to take it to “Great”. We are presently working with a consultant executive chef and hopefully on your return visit we can share first hand improvements made in the light of your concerns.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I found out about this resort though a Living Social deal. We did extensive research through Trip Advisor and found it had amazing ratings. Everyone of them was right on point! We had an amazing time from the pick up at the hotel by Happiness to the drop off at the airport and everything inbetween.
The resort is lush and beautiful and we chose the Coconut cottage at the top of the hill. The views were amazing, with a wonderful night time breeze! Do be aware of the jungle creatures that might be in your room (lizards, frogs, bugs). They did not bother us and we even gave the lizards names!
The beach was a short 10-15 minute ride by van. Although, our beach adventure was different due to some celebities being on the island, the staff at Fond Doux was quick to accomodate and take us to another beach about 20 minutes away.
I was lucky enough to spend my birthday here and was treated like a queen the entire day, with massages, a boat trip up the island and a birthday dinner by candlelight, with the band and everyone singing "happy birthday."
We had an amazing time and would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a little getaway that is a hide-a-way gem.

Room Tip: The spa and massuses were amazing! I would highly recommend a massage if you have the time. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
RELAXING JUNGLE OASIS REVIEW –MOST APPRECIATED

Dear Michelle S,
We are happy to read that you chose Fond Doux Holiday Plantation based on the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor and that you found the reviews to be right on point.
We try to offer our guests nothing but the best quality in all areas, from our accommodation and facilities, to the services we offer and so we are delighted to read that you had an amazing experience. We go the extra mile to help create memorable experiences for our guests and so it is heartwarming to read that you felt like a queen on your special day. The fact you loved every moment is satisfying for all who helped make it happen, and the fact that you would recommend our property to potential travelers to Saint Lucia is a great validation of all your positive comments.
Thank you again for your kind and thoughtful comments, and we do hope to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend our 5 year wedding anniversary at Fond Doux in March. Upon arriving to the plantation we were immediately awed by the beautiful grounds and friendly staff. We stayed in the African Tulip cottage which was perfect for just two people. While it didn't have sweeping views like some of the others, the inside was beautiful and the hammock on the porch was the perfect place to read a book or take a nap.

During our 4 night stay we relaxed, drank wonderful cocktails, ate delicious food and just enjoyed ourselves. The service and staff were wonderful as well. We were always greeted with a smile at breakfast and friendly attitudes at dinner. The front desk staff were always willing to help us book a taxi for wherever we wanted to go.

We couldn't have asked for a better base for our vacation to the paradise that is St. Lucia. We have been recommending Fond Doux to all our friends and family and cannot wait until we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCUfrog07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Manager at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear TCUfrog07,

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!

Beginning your review by stating that you felt lucky to be spending your 5th wedding anniversary at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is an excellent way to summarize a positive experience. We understand the fact that there are many choices on where to spend a wedding anniversary in the Caribbean and so we are indeed happy that you chose our “Little piece of paradise” to celebrate such a special occasion.

Your comments regarding the cottage, food and beverage, staff and service are received with the highest level of gratitude. It is clear that you have discovered the homelike atmosphere of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, the wonderful staff and all they do to make your holiday memorable.

Thank you for your commitment to return and for recommending Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to your family and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Fond Doux and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a truly unique experience. We stayed in the Banana Tree Cottage which was spacious, spotless, cool and comfortable. It is conveniently located to the gorgeous three tiered pools and the restaurants and bar. Surrounded by beautiful fruit and flowering trees, it is truly a scene from a picture postcard. This is one resort that is exactly as it appears on it's website. We can't say enough good things about the staff and owners Eroline and Lyton. Everyone treated us so warmly, the staff is kind, courteous, helpful and go above and beyond anything we expected. I didn't realize that my curling iron wouldn't fit into the resorts outlets, staff member Happiness went out of his way and brought me an adapter so I could use my curling iron. Unbelievable service. The food is fantastic, every meal was unique and delicious. Best vacation ever!

Room Tip: All cottages are great, choose one to accommodate the number of people in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVM425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR BEAUTIFUL REVIEW!!
Dear KVM425,
We were extremely pleased to receive this wonderful review following your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We are delighted to learn that your experience was exceptional and that the services, accommodations and amenities we delivered contributed to a wonderful stay. We have a dedicated team on board who go above and beyond and so we are therefore happy to read that they exceeded your expectations especially Happiness. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team and congratulate them for a job well done.
We are so pleased that you feel comfortable in recommending Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and are hopeful that you too will become part of the ever expanding Fond Doux Family.
Ending your review by stating that this was the “Beat Vacation Ever” is gratifying for everyone who helped make it happen.
Thank you for support, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
3.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
10.0 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Property: Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Address: Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing