We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 December 2013

met up with a friend from the u.k. to spend a week in the avocado cottage (2 br/ 2 ba) - the cottage provided perfect accommodation - plenty of space and very comfortable. initial concerns re: no air conditioning proved to be (thankfully) no problem. we loved the front porch with its rocking chairs and daily a.m. visit from a plantation cat. we opted to have only our breakfasts included and took advantage of the on site restaurant (cacao) and other nearby dining options for both lunch and dinner. food at cacao was varied and tastily prepared. service was just right - both slow and attentive, Caribbean style. staff made an effort to get to know our names and preferences which was very nice. the grounds are fabulous. the resort is small, but very lush, and we often felt as if we had the place to ourselves as we could not see any other cottages from ours. our package included a few local excursions which were well planned and lots of fun -- a couple of short hikes, zip lining and snorkeling. if there was a negative at all, it was related to the lack of transparency regarding various transportation charges and some confusion with the bill at check out (charges had been incurred in the local currency and then converted to u.s. dollars and then back to local currency), but in the end it all worked out just fine. I would recommend the resort for singles, couples, families -- it's a great place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosehips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Rosehips,

We greatly appreciate the wonderful review you have posted on your recent holiday experience at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. It is clear from your posting that you had a relaxing stay here with us and we are delighted that were able to meet your expectations.
As a senior reviewer on this website, with reviews of which cover six cities, confirming that Fond Doux Holiday Plantation “is a great place for a relaxing break” has special meaning. Receiving high praise from experienced travelers is always rewarding, and we thank you very much for taking the time to once again reaffirm your positive feelings about Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. Thank you sincerely for all of the positive comments you have made, covering everything from the cottage, the food, staff, grounds and the activities which were included in your package.
We are delighted to read that you had no problems with the fact that we have no air-conditioning in the cottages. Fond Doux is at high elevation so it is extremely cool here and it gets a lot cooler on evenings.

We are in the process of examining our transportation charges and will be upgrading our reservation system so hopefully on your return visit you will get to see the improvements made in light of your concerns.

Hopefully, you will return again soon, and join the many visitors who have finally discovered their own little piece of paradise. We thank you for your enthusiastic and continued support.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 4 nights in one of the bungalows with plung pool. They are extremely private nestled within the plantation on the hillside. The room was splendid with lots of space, character and privacy. The plantation is well cared for and has been sympathetically modified. The pool area is great and whilst the hotel is in the hills it is no distance to Sugar Beach.

The staff were very welcoming, dinner very tasty and you are not too far from the delights of the Ladera bar with its stunning view of the Pitons and the Boucan restaurant with its great, chocolatey food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

CHARACTERFUL AND RELAXING REVIEW-MOST APPRECIATED!!
Dear Michael M,
We are so pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay at our plantation paradise. Thank you for making such positive comments relating to the cottages, pool area, hospitable staff and our food offerings.
We are happy that we were able to deliver another great experience and we will be sure to pass on your comments to the entire Fond Doux Team.
Thank you for such an enthusiastic and positive posting – we greatly appreciate your support of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We just returned from our vacation in St. Lucia where we stayed at the Fond Deux for 7 nights. The moment we arrived they offered us a cold drink and time to relax after traveling all day. We stayed in the Treehouse cottage, which has a private pool and an outdoor living area. Highly recommend that you look into the upgraded cottages. The privacy and amenities are well worth the price.

Our vacation was all-inclusive so we ate in the restaurant for every meal. The food was outstanding with several choices at each meal- fresh catch of the day, chef specials and great dessert. You will not be disappointed if your plans included traveling the island by day but returning to Fond Deux to eat at night. It was one of the best dining experiences of our life.

We decided to take the free shuttle to Sugar Beach most days, but did end up taking a water taxi to Anse Chastanet one day to experience the black volcanic sand beach. Fond Deux offers several excursions that looked great, but we only went on the sunset cruise. That trip was well worth the price. The only other travel tip is to have the hotel pick you up at the airport. The price is more than reasonable given the proximity of the airport to the plantation.

Finally, I would suggest that you read all reviews and look at photographs. We felt like those gave us a great idea of what to expect from the Fond Deux. Its a rustic, jungle setting on a working plantation- nothing like the sterile resorts you might be used to. We loved every minute of our time at Fond Deux and will recommend it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

RUSTIC, JUNGLE LUXURY REVIEW- MOST APPRECIATED!!
Dear Matt D,
We are delighted that your stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation was to your expectation based on all the positive reviews and photographs posted on this board. It is certainly a challenge to meet or exceed expectations when new potential guests have based their decision to come to Fond Doux primarily, in many cases, on posted reviews such as yours. In your case, it seems we have certainly accomplished that objective, and we thank you wholeheartedly.
We greatly appreciate all your positive comments especially the comments about our food offerings- “It was one of the best dining experiences of our life”- this is definitely a great testament to live up to. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our culinary team and commend them for a job well done as they go above and beyond to create exceptional dining experiences for all guests.
Thank you for clarifying that our tours, taxis and excursions are reasonable- as you so rightfully stated “well worth the price”. Thank you for your commitment to recommend our “Tropical Garden of Eden” to your family and friends . Thank you for your ongoing support – you are among a rapidly growing group of discerning travelers who seem to have found paradise.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just finished a week at Fond Doux staying solo with 2 friends. All the staff,
regardless of their job, and the owners were wonderful. Always a "hello", "how
is your day?". The Bamboo cottage was private but not isolated. The food was
superb and the service top rate. I would recommend the all inclusive package
because the food prices are on the high side. Just remember that they and YOU
are on island time. There are a variety of tours you can book if lazing around
the pool is not your ideal. No rushing, no TV, no phone, no WiFi and no
stress. Just a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Kat N,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent holiday experience at our Tropical Garden of Eden.
We are pleased that we were able to share a wonderful experience with you and that you enjoyed a relaxing stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about the management and staff, cottage, the superb food and top rate service. Just to clarify we do have telephones in the cottages and Wi-Fi in certain areas on the property.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Just finished a 4 night stay at Fond Doux. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The cottages were awesome. We were in hilltop papaya with a plunge pool and the outdoor shower. Very romantic and quaint. The hotel pool was also very nice. However the communication at the hotel was a bit lacking. We were invited to a Caribbean meet and greet followed by a buffet and and dancing. No pries were mentioned in the letter delivered to our door. And upon discussions with other guests we came to the conclusion that it was included. Most guests did all inclusive but we didn't. Even if we had to pay it was fine. But when we checked out we were shocked to see a charge for over 150$ US! For what we were served that was ridiculous. All they had to do was put a note in the letter indicating the price, and we would've eaten somewhere else. Also the excursions were very overpriced and included very little. We had stayed in Rodney bay previous to here and found the prices reasonable but because its more remote at fond Doux they seemed to really go for all you had. Our advice would be to try and get a good driver from the airport and use them while touring around the island. Our driver said he would charge 20$ an hour and even with entrance fees we cildve saved quite a bit. Overall the hotel is very nice but watch your wallet!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djpelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!

Dear Djpelly,

Thank you for providing your feedback following your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. We truly appreciate your comments about our super friendly and helpful staff, awesome cottages- quaint and romantic and the pool area.

We would like to apologize for the disappointments that you have highlighted. We are very concerned about your comments regarding the level of communication at the hotel as the team members at Fond Doux are usually highly praised by our guest for the high quality of service that they offer.

We wish to clarify that the only thing complimentary was the cocktail hour which included drinks and finger foods. We do understand that there was no pricing for the buffet in the invitation letter however; we find it quite surprising that one would think that dinner along with live entertainment would be included as part of a cocktail hour unless one is on an all-inclusive plan. There were guests who joined us for the buffet dinner who were not on the all- inclusive plan, and were aware that the dinner was not part of the complimentary cocktail. It is quite disappointing that you made no mention in your review that upon querying the dinner price, that the buffet dinner amount including your beverages was deducted from your total bill.
We have met with our Front Desk team and have addressed your comments with regards to the price inclusion on the invitation letters.

In comparison to the other resorts both in Soufriere and St. Lucia in general, our prices are extremely affordable. Transportation in the small Caribbean islands is quite costly due to the implementation of the Value Added Tax (VAT) and the high fuel prices. The distances may appear close in terms of miles however; due to the mountainous terrain it makes it a very long and expensive drive.

We trust that apart from the disappointments that you highlighted, you enjoyed the time that you spent with us. Once again, thank you for your comments and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I spent five days at Fond Doux plantation in early November 2013. Staff were great, cottage was lovely and the location was quiet and tranquil. I would recommend this location. Note there was no wifi/wireless in our cottage, no telly and no air conditioning. Not a major problem but means you have to go to reception for internet and we asked for a fan to cool the room down. Never missed the telly!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!
Dear Mark A,
We are so pleased that you had a great stay here with us – thank you wholeheartedly for this concise, but powerfully positive review. We are pleased that you found the staff to be great, lovely cottage, quiet and tranquil location. All of these are Fond Doux’s trademarks as identified by so many visitors to this “island paradise”.
Presently, we have two cottages with Wi-Fi (Hilltop Papaya and Mango) however, we are in the process of expanding the Wi-Fi over the entire property and hopefully on your return visit you will get to experience this added feature.
We are truly hopeful that from all your positive remarks, you will join the legions of guests who have become part of the Fond Doux Family. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I joined two of our friends for an amazing week at Fond Doux! We found the beautifully restored cottages to be so charming with the gingerbread wood cut outs in the walls, the high ceilings, and front porch (where I was able to spend several mornings painting pictures of the cacoa tree, banana tree, and flowers surrounding the cottage). Beautiful paths through the rainforest led to the wonderful Jardin Cacao restaurant, which had great food and the best natural ambiance of any restaurant we saw in St. Lucia. The pools, though small, were in a beautiful jungle setting, so private, just lovely! We would highly recommend this resort! It is not your typical lodging, and is in a great location near the PItons and other places of interest. I would recommend renting a 4 wheel drive SUV to be able to drive to these sites, and to the nearby beaches of Sugar beach and Anse Chastenet. These 2 beaches were great for snorkeling - we saw many colorful fish and coral- and held the breathtaking views of the huge Pitons. Loved, loved , loved Fond Doux!

Room Tip: If you do not want to climb a lot of stairs to your cottage, the Bamboo is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602Artistkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

THANK YOU FOR YOUR CHARMING REVIEW!!

Dear 602Artistkathy,

Thank you for your honest review and we are so pleased to read that you had an amazing week here with us. Your review is concise and simple; it definitely covers all the elements which make Fond Doux Holiday Plantation a unique property unrivaled in its offerings.
We are delighted to read that you were able to paint pictures of the flowers and trees surrounding your cottage. The Fond Doux Family is constantly growing with artists, painters, photographers and novelist, - the magical rain forest ambiance does create an atmosphere where artistic and creative ideas bloom.
The favorable comments about the charming cottages, great cuisine, natural rainforest ambiance, beautiful jungle setting and the pools are greatly appreciated.
It is through positive reviews from guests that we are able to maintain our standard and ensure that we provide the best value. Thank you for your endorsement and support, we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise.
Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
3.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,184 reviews
17.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Address: Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: £134 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing