We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous vacation in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stevensville, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation in Paradise”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just come back from from 7 days at Fond Doux and it will be a vacation to remember. The cottage we stayed in was the Avacado. It was hidden in the middle of the forest and we did not see or hear anyone except the tree frogs, birds and crickets. i did make a special request to have groceries delivered so my kids and i could stay in our kitchen for some dinners and we received excellent service. The staff and owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. Excellent excursions were offered at very affordable rates. Breakfast was included with our cottage and we had the treat of every day eating by beautiful surrounding outdoors with helpful breakfast staff enjoying local breads, fruit, eggs. The shuttle service to the local beaches worked out well. The drivers provided lots of information as they drove you. Sugar Beach is the prefered location the shuttles brought you a short 10 min drive.
We went to the beach most days as the pools on the property are attactive with a stunning view of the valley but small. Not really for swiming... more for a quick plunge.
The plantation itself is very interesting with all the variety of plants and items grown on the property. I do suggest you take the plantation tour.
The Avacado cottage had constant breeze with the great design of the fret work screens. No matter what room you were in there was a great sight line of the forrest that surrounded you. we did have bug nets over the beds, but we did not see more then 6 bugs all week.
If we returned to St Lucia we would definately stay at Fond Doux again.
Thanks for a great memory.

Room Tip: The avacado cottage was sucluded yet still close to the main reception area. Two full bedrooms, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
THE FABULOUS FAMILY AT OUR PLANTATION PARADISE!!!


Dear Tara J,

Many thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with the rest of the world and it was an absolute pleasure to receive your Trip Advisor posting.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice and we are happy to hear that you loved every aspect of the Fond Doux Holiday Plantation experience, from the hands on personalized service to all the little touches we offer. Fond Doux Holiday Plantation prides itself in providing families with love and appreciation and there is nothing more satisfying when they’ve had a fun filled and memorable vacation at our plantation paradise. We continuously strive for excellence in all aspects of the experience that we create for families and from your review it appears that we have achieved this once again.

It was truly our pleasure to have shared both our Simply Beautiful island of Saint Lucia and our hotel with your family. Your positive comments about all the key features of our plantation paradise including the cottages and staff are all received with highest gratitude.Thank you for your commitment to return and we do look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.

Thank you for your support and encouragement.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    176
    31
    9
    0
See reviews for
156
493
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've just returned from a 5 night stay at Fond Doux on a surprise trip for my fiancee's birthday. The trip and my selection of accommodation could not have been more perfect. The privacy and tranquility of the property is unparalleled. For the majority of the trip, we enjoyed total privacy (even including on site meals) and the grounds and cottages are stunning. We took advantage of one of the hilltop cottages (mango) with amazing views, private plunge pool and a gorgeous outdoor shower. Outside of the private setting, cozy cottage and lush surroundings, the staff at Fond Doux really sets it apart. Brace yourself, I have a lot of praise to sing about the wonderful people who are dedicated to making your experience memorable.

It starts with the girls in the front office. I was in contact with Karan, Eugenia and Tracy upon making reservations. I was amazed at their response time to the many inquiries I had before the trip. I had sent emails to them, some at 6am and others at 9pm, and without exception they replied within 10 minutes. I'm still not quite sure how they do it but I appreciated their responsiveness and they were so helpful when our original flight to St Lucia was cancelled due to a blizzard in Boston. They took away any and all concerns I had.

Kendall, the bartender, took great care of us and was always good for a laugh for our pre-dinner drinks. Regina and the other servers at the in house restaurants were attentive and accommodating as well.

Katrina, who handles all of you off site excursions is amazing. On our first day there, I decided I wanted to take a private boat to Anse Mamin from Sugar Beach. I told Katrina just as we arrived to the front office (5 minutes before the free shuttle arrived to take us to Sugar Beach). She immediately hopped on her mobile phone and haggled with 3 different boat providers until she got us the price we wanted to pay. The private boat was waiting for us when we arrived at Sugar Beach just 10 minutes later!

Breakfast every morning was great. Evancia and Lusca also delivered top notch service. One morning, I was struggling to get sugar out of a packet for the amazing cocoa tea and before I knew it, a separate dish of sugar appeared on the table to ease my difficulty.

Gregor picked us up from the airport. Later in our trip, he made an appearance as the keyboardist for a great live band that played at the onsite restaurant!

Dennis and Phillip took us on the Tet Paul hike (HIGHLY recommended). Dennis was a great tour guide and told us everything about the flora on our way up to what is easily the most beautiful view in the Caribbean.

Fond Doux is a special place where you can get up close and personal with nature and stay away from the crowds when you are on vacation. All this while still having all the comforts of home and easy access to beautiful beaches and hiking. In case you can't tell already, I give it my highest recommendation for a romantic and relaxing getaway.

A few recommendations:
1. Opt for the hilltop cottages- outdoor showers, more privacy and amazing views
2. Go for the all inclusive- meals were outstanding and it was nice to drink and eat to hearts content
3. Take a Boat trip to Anse Mamin- gorgeous and secluded beach a short boat ride from where ou will be dropped by FD's free shuttle. The boat ride itself is memorable with great views of Pitons and the restaurant on Anse Mamin, while pricy, is well worth it.
4. Take a Sunset hike on Tet Paul Trail (maybe a few times!- game changer!)

BR,
Suren

Room Tip: Hilltop Cottages for privacy, outdoor shower and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suren77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
UNIQUE SLICE OF PARADISE REVIEW MOST APPRECIATED!!

Dear Suren77,

Thank you for sharing your review with us, it sure did put a smile on our faces. We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay and thank you for having chosen our plantation paradise as a surprise trip in celebration of your fiancees birthday.

Our property is indeed unique and special in every way and we are happy that you too share the same sentiments. Too often visitors forget that they are on vacation and neglect to appreciate the beauty of the island and the culture of the people. We are delighted that you took the time to discover our property and that you connected with the team here at Fond Doux; part of our efforts is to create an atmosphere of relaxation and enjoyment of the simple pleasures of life- which may be sitting on your cottage porch, taking in the tropical breezes and listening to the sweet sounds of mother nature. What else could be better than that?

We do believe in the saying “first impressions are lasting” and so we try our best to ensure that all enquires are attended to immediately as we do understand that we live in a fast paced world full of latest technologies.
We are pleased that you found our facilities comfortable and accommodating, and that you took the time to mention several of the team members that impacted your stay positively. We will certainly pass on your encouraging feedback to them and commend them for delivering another amazing experience.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are positive that your review will act as a guide for potential travelers to both Saint Lucia and our plantation paradise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to paradise; we will be waiting with smiling faces and arms wide open.

Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We would go back to Fond Doux again at the drop of a hat. I can't really remember when a holiday experience has been so perfect and so complete. The staff have to rate as some of the most cheerful and friendly I have ever experienced and you know that their kindness is genuine, it just emanates from them as an unalloyed joyfulness.

The plantation is a garden of Eden with lush growth producing most of the fruit and vegetables one eats during ones stay. Food cannot have traveled much shorter a distance to find its way on to your table. The sweetness of the fruits at breakfast time is something that will stay with me forever. I have NEVER tasted lemons or grapefruit like that.

The rooms are wonderful, secluded and relaxing. They are so tucked away in the lush greenery that you almost feel you are the only one there. The pool area is so pretty and with adequate shade from the gazebo should you need it.

Lytton and Eroline were perfect hosts. I can't think of more welcoming owners. They are proud of what they have and what they have achieved and they have every right to be. This resort is a gold standard for the hospitality industry in St Lucia.

The guided plantation walk is well worth while in order to marvel at the number of plants and trees that grow there. Have you ever seen a nutmeg tree? You will here. Ever seen a cinnamon tree? You will here.

I'd give it 6 stars if I could.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchovy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Manager at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
THANK YOU FOR THE SUPERB SIX STAR REVIEW!!

Dear Anchovy53,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. The entire team feels humbled receiving your kind words of approval especially coming from a senior contributor with over 25 reviews on this board. We will certainly convey your compliments and comments to the team who continually works hard to meet the standards of excellence. We truly believe in taking the time to learn about each and every visitor as we wish to create a lasting connection with all of our guests and we are happy that Fond Doux Holiday Plantation was able to do its magic once again.

We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and that you would come back to Fond Doux again at the drop of a hat, this is indeed a big nod of approval- that we are certainly doing something right. Thank you for sharing the secrets of our plantation paradise as there are many who are yet to discover our hidden gem. Your positive comments about all the features of our hotel including the rooms and the plantation in general are all received with the highest gratitude. We strive to offer our guests nothing but an exceptional holiday experience in paradise.

St. Lucians are known for their genuine friendliness and warmth and we are delighted that you too share the same sentiments with previous reviewers on Trip advisor.
We do understand that there are many other resorts in the Caribbean and so we feel honored for having chosen our hotel as your vacation home.

Thank you for your unwavering support and we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The setting is fantastic - perfect for a St. Lucia visit. Way more than a plantation - more like a rain forest. Relatviely convenient to all atractions you'd want to see in Soufriere area. Rooms are quite large, bathrooms & showers are nice; a bit dated, but so what. Perfect rooms rooms really wouldn't fit well with the setting. Restaurant was better than expected (approximately 4-stars) - since you may not want to drive around at night, this is a nice feature. Restaurant lunches are huge and have more local ties; we loved the rotis, they also had a buffet one day with typical 'provisions' as sides.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Manager at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT REVIEW!!

Dear BBCP,

Thanks for your feedback on your Fond Doux Holiday Plantation experience.

We are happy to read that overall you had a wonderful experience and that you found everything from the ‘fantastic rainforest setting” to the food and beverage offerings to your satisfaction.

Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is intended to enable visitors to escape to nature, rejuvenate their minds and to reconnect- we are delighted that you were able to do that.

We greatly value the happiness of our guests and therefore welcome feedback as it allows us to provide a better vacation experience for our guests.

Thank you for your encouraging feedback and support.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Absolutely beautiful, and you feel like you're in the middle of the jungle! Great staff, great food, interesting century architecture at one with its environment, paths through the plantation forest, beautiful views - a definite stop for anyone that goes to St. Lucia and wants tranquility at one with nature. As Churchill said "Nature will not be admired by proxy.” Go there!

Room Tip: All room all century old homes saved and redone anew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascalMahvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL ENDORSEMENT!!
Dear PascalMahvi,
The management and staff of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation wish to thank you for such a wonderful endorsement especially coming from an experienced traveler and hotelier like yourself.

Thank you for your commitment to recommend our property for persons seeking tranquility at one with nature and we eagerly anticipate your return visit.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennery Quarter, St. Lucia
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

A very exquisite, private and romantic place. I had a once in a life time experience . Great food, ambiance and staff to compliment . Love the coziness . We were well received by staff members. The place is well kept and maintained. I had the most breath taking experience especially during the night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edmund E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!

Dear Edmund E,

Thank you for taking time out to post such positive feedback about your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We are committed to making every holiday experience a fulfilling and memorable one and so we are delighted to know that your experience was exceptional and that the services, accommodation and amenities we delivered contributed to a wonderful stay. We will continue to do our best to maintain the experience which you enjoyed, and will do our utmost to ensure that your next experience is just as favorable as your last.

Once again, thank you for your encouraging comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A group of family and friends celebrated our son's wedding. Loved our cottage nestled among the lush tropical flowers. Really enjoyed the hike and the tour of the plantation. The wedding dinner and party was memorable. We had a wonderful time. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
WONDERFUL REVIEW MOST APPRECIATED!!

Dear Agnes S,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We are happy that you had a wonderful experience here with us and that enjoyed the plantation tour, wedding dinner party and your cottage. We feel honored that your son chose our plantation paradise from all the other resorts in the Caribbean to celebrate such a special milestone.

Thank you for your support of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience Saint Lucia’s Authentic Heritage.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
3.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.5 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
10.0 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Property: Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Address: Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Green Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing