We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
648
200
32
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
648
200
32
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagescinnamon cottageafrican tulipangelina cottagemangost luciasugar beachshort hikebedroom cottagebamboo restaurantoutdoor showertet paul nature trailfree shuttlerainforest experiencemade to order eggscocoa treehoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We spent four days here and loved Chashew Hilltop cottage. The gardens and grounds are stunning, lush and green. The food was excellent which was important as we are veggie. The staff very friendly, the pool area peaceful and a lovely hike from the door of the cottage to see one of the Pitons. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Hilltop cottages are the best!
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lizzie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Fond Doux - Great Place to Simply Relax!

Dear Lizzie082,

Thank you for sharing your review following your stay at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort.
We are happy that you had a wonderful stay at our beautiful resort and that our amenities and surroundings met your expectations. Also very pleasing is the fact that you enjoyed your dining experience and that we were able to accommodate your dietary needs.
Our team members will be delighted to read your glowing comment regarding their warmth.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for some more relaxation in stunning surroundings.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

What an amazing property this is! My Husband and I stayed here in July, I was a little worried about having no AC but don't let that stop you!!!! I didn't even miss it , the ceiling fan as well as a stand fan in the room was all we needed. We stayed in the hilltop Orange and were very pleased with the beautiful decor of the four poster bed and the unique outside shower. We had a beautiful porch that looked over the lush green plants and palm trees and our own private plunge pool was a nice touch. There are so many walking paths and a nice hiking trail that looks over the Pitons and Sugar Beach. The staff was amazing! They really get to know you and you feel like your staying with close friends rather than a hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good and filling with lots of different options including an omelet station, great way to start the day. They have a shuttle to Sugar Beach which is convenient and a nice place to spend the day swimming and snorkeling. The restaurant was very delicious and we ate there every night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a unique experience, a secluded private getaway in a friendly atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JerseyNancy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank You for your Amazing Feedback!
Dear JerseyNancy3,
Thank you for joining us at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort for your island holiday! We are happy that your vacation experience was truly one to remember and that you enjoyed every minute of your stay -which is precisely the type of feedback we love to hear!
The Hilltop Orange was indeed a wonderful choice, as you were able to enjoy the breathtaking rainforest scenery whilst relaxing in your private plunge pool.
We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful feedback, and we sincerely hope you will visit us again for another unforgettable Saint Lucian vacation!

Best Regards,
Eroline Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

whatever the occasion,Fond Doux Plantation is the perfect destination. Our night at the Hillside Guava cottage was a wonderful experience. It was my husbands birthday and I must say for such short notice everything was on point. Service was excellent excellent excellent. The staff is awesome. Everybody is walking around with smiles. I love it!

Room Tip: Air conditioned room and heated pool would be a plus but the room is amazing. Everything was so neat and in place. Breath taking view.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sodrinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

The Perfect Place for Peace and Relaxation!

Dear Sodrinaj,

Thank you for your short, but excellent review of your husband’s birthday celebration at our plantation resort. The hilltop accommodations are our top sellers and are best known for breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains.

We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed the experience in the Hilltop Guava and that you received excellent service from the team. The Fond Doux team is well known for their authentic Saint Lucian hospitality and are indeed a great credit to the resort.

Thank you for your confidence in our resort. We are certain that you will return and we would love to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at the Fond Doux Plantation for only one night before we headed to Rodney Bay for the remainder of the film festival. I only had enough time here to enjoy dinner and to get a little rest before we left for a different part of the island. I stayed in the Bamboo Cottage which is located on the ground which was very much appreciated. I was told to pack comfortable shoes before I arrived by other festival attendees as the rooms were up steep hills--I'm thankful I was able to dodge that hiking portion of the trip. The cottage was very quaint. The walk way was kinda creepy in the dark, but it was well lit. The shower is beautiful, but it's outside. I was joined by a lizard the night I arrived. There was no television in the room I was assigned, and the WiFi connection was poor. I highly recommend using bug spray and the bed netting at night as there are quite a few spaces that connect directly with the outside and bugs will find you at night. The food and drinks were good. Edmund Modest did a great job taking care of us. I would recommend this hotel for couples who need to reconnect and if you are looking to relax. If you're looking to turn up, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Lots of walking at this property--ground level cottages no hills. Rooms with private splash pools up the hills, though.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

A Warm Welcome to Paradise in the Rainforest!

Dear Rosie313,

Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent stay with us at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort.

It was indeed a pleasure having you and we are most delighted that for the most part your short visit was a memorable and enjoyable one, to include the beautiful rainforest scenery, comfortable accommodation, great food and beverage offerings and the genuine care and attention from the Fond Doux team.
We have expressed our disappointment with the local internet provider about the fluctuations in the service at the resort and they are currently looking into this. As soon as they have sorted out the issue on their end then the surfing experience will be much better.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We spent five nights at Fond Doux Plantation and Resort in late June 2017 as part of a longer, 10-day trip to St. Lucia. Fond Doux is comprised of 15 spacious and private cottages set amidst a 135-acre rain forest of lush vegetation, exotic fruit trees, and colorful birds and flowers. The resort is still a working cocoa plantation, so be sure to take their free and informative tour of the beautiful grounds, and buy some delicious dark chocolate from the gift shop.

Our cottage, named “The Avocado House” was an exceptional deal, with two large bedrooms (each with a large bathroom), a full kitchen, a living area, and a wonderful, huge wooden porch with rocking chairs. Our two teenage daughters appreciated the fact that the cottage had free wi-fi that was always working, and my husband and I loved the exotic jungle environment, as well as the spacious and private accommodations. And because we were there during the off-season, at times it felt like we had the place to ourselves. In fact, there were one or two nights where we were the only guests! (June is start of the low season in the Caribbean.)

One thing to keep in mind is that Fond Doux is not on the beach, although they have a shuttle to the nearby Sugar Beach Resort, albeit with limited run times. Also, there is no where to eat within walking distance beyond Fond Doux's own restaurant (which has a lovely atmosphere and friendly staff, but the food is so-so and you may not want to eat at the same place every night!). So, unless you have a rental car (which we thankfully did), you’ll need to arrange a taxi to come and go, and that can get expensive.

Being in the jungle is, in my opinion, a wonderfully exotic experience, but the nights are surprisingly loud with the cacophony of bugs and other rain forest critters. Unfortunately, we did not find the earplugs until the last night. You’ll also want to have plenty of bug spray, and be prepared for the possibility of geckos or bugs getting into your room . . . this is the rain forest, and it’s hard to avoid the residents!

Overall, I would say Fond Doux is a great place for families because of the size of the accommodations and the reasonable price you pay for that space. There’s also a buffet breakfast, which is mediocre, but free! The location is excellent because it’s near most of St. Lucia’s most popular attractions, such as the sulfur mud baths, drive-in volcano, waterfalls, and of course the twin Gros Piton peaks. That said, none of these attractions are in walking distance, so if you don't have a car, you'll need to hire a cab (and I think the hotel has excursions). And as mentioned above, it’s not on the beach, which was fine with us because we had a rental car and also spent the second part of our trip in the northern part of the island at a beach resort. Staying in both the rain forest and then at the beach allowed us to fully experience all that St. Lucia has to offer.

Room Tip: We had the Avocado cottage which was perfect for a family of 4!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Fond Doux – Perfect Family Vacation Rainforest Retreat!

Dear KarenBakar,

It is always a great pleasure to hear from our guests, and we thank you for this comprehensive review of your stay which really sums up the family experience at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort.

We’re always happy to welcome families to the resort and welcome the opportunity to cater to different personalities, palettes and age groups. There is no better place for a family vacation than Saint Lucia and after a full day of excursions Fond Doux is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the company of your family.

We would like to thank you for expressing wholeheartedly your satisfaction with the property and team. We all hope to welcome you back for another amazing family holiday on the beautiful island of Saint Lucia.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews