We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jade Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely going back...”
Reviewed 18 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at Jade Mountain in early January and words cannot describe this place. There definitely is a huge wow effect when you set foot into the room for the first time, and any time after that! We cannot say enough about the staff who were very friendly always. We travel a lot and always try to choose the more interesting places but Jade Mountain is one of the most unique places we have ever encountered. Looking at all the snow outside my window, I 'd go back there tomorrow if only I could!! Don't plan on trying to do too many activities before you arrive because you might just end up cancelling them because you are too relaxed to move, I know thats what we did. Also, it would probably pay off to plan some spa treatments ahead of time because the spa seemed very busy and we could not get an appointment on our first day after arrival which is my only little criticism. The dive centre at Anse Chastanet was great, we tried diving with them for the first time ever and we were just blown away. I am ashamed to say it but we never managed to leave the resort. That alone is reason enough to plan a return visit as the island is very pretty and we wanted to hike one of the Pitons originally. This time around, we were completely satisfied just gazing at those mountains from our suite! Absolutely wonderful

  • Liked — The amazing views
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MS268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    94
    26
    21
    6
See reviews for
30
798
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

My wife and I had the greatest stay ever at JADE MOUNTAIN. She
actually burst into tears when she saw the suite for the first time.
The view and the whole setting are amazing. The building needs some
getting used to! It certainly is very modern architecture. We found
the staff to be very attentive and even though the service was slow
at times, we were happy with our dining experience. We did not only
eat at the Jade Mountain restaurant, but also tried out the Treehouse
which is at Anse Chastanet. We went back twice to the Indian
restaurant at beach level. We had planned to eat out more and book
some activities but in the end we could not get ourselves to leave
our sanctuary. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

First and foremost, I think this property may be one of the most stunning properties that I've ever seen. The architecture is gorgeous the rooms are exquisite, and it truly is intimate. Now if only the entire experience was similar...

The check-in process took us about 5 hours due to a "late checkout". It was no problem for the first couple of hours as we enjoyed lunch and the view. Then we were taken to a room that wasn't what we had booked, left there for an hour while they found us another room, and then the bags showed up an hour later after we flagged down a bellman. Minus the rough beginning, we were excited to be there.

The next morning we sat down to sign up for all of our activities (Romance pkg) and was told we couldn't get any scheduled until 2 days later. We then had to struggle to get everything scheduled later in the week. Jade Mtn guests are competing with Anse Chastenet guests for activities, so it may be wise to call ahead and schedule activities if possible -- especially anything that involves the one sailboat the property has. My husband is PADI certified, but I had my first dive here. It was amazing! Anse Chastenet has a coral reef in it's bay, so I had a brief course and walked into the water for my first dive.

The "sanctuaries" were truly built for room service. Even though it states ~30 minutes, allow at least an hour for any orders placed. Service was terrible...no spoon for cereal ordered, wrong order, never on time. Over the 7 days that we stayed there, we probably ate outside the room twice and only 2-3 meals were delivered correctly. Usually not a big deal, however, without any phones - much more difficult. I would expect better service at these prices.

The menu was also small. It is a great menu, however, with only about 10 items, it gets a little monotonous after a few days. They were starting construction on a new kitchen for Jade Mtn when we were there (Nov 2007), so hopefully that will improve the choices.

I would highly recommend this property, however, we will not be returning for awhile in hopes that they will be able to get the service side of the property figured out in the meantime.

  • Liked — views, architecture
  • Disliked — service, variety of room service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ss673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The rooms are fantastic. we can only say wonderful things about the view, the pool, the privacy. You never have to leave the room and if it weren't for the one real negative, I'd go back. Instead, I booked another resort for February.

The negative? The food. Not even average. We stayed for 4 days and started to dread meal times. The restaurant on the beach serves hot, heavy lunches, and the salad bar is beyond amature. The breakfast was ... well, I can boil and egg. Coffee? Not nice. Meals the same in every restaurant.

The upstairs bar at Jade Mountain wasn't open or set up with their beautiful chairs for the sunset. So there really wasn't anywhere to be outside of your room, even to have them come and clean it daily.

The spa was so-so. Lovely masseuse, but absolutely average and not a real 'spa' experience.

The rooms are the reason to go - a lot of cheap, corrugated tin roofing around the rest.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jcal2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We just returned from Jade Mountain and enjoyed 5 great nights at the hotel. Rooms and architecture are fantastic. The views of the pitons, forest and ocean are also breathtaking. Service is 5 star, food great and environment relaxing. Would definitely recommend for those seeking relaxation and water activities. Direct flights from NY make the trip easier.

The walk down to the beach from the rooms takes 7 minutes and is easy. Would recommend the breakfast/dinner plan as we had room service every morning and there are 4 restaurants for dinner so we never had to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2007

Jade Mountain puts the "Wow" in Caribbean Travel. We arranged a transfer from the airport at Castries to Jade Mountain by water taxi -- a 30 minute ride that gave a jump start to our vacation. From the moment we arrived at the beach at Anse Chastanet, we were treated like VIPs, and shuttled up the mountainside to the top, where Jade Mountain perches. Each of the suites, which they call sanctuaries, is huge, with high ceilings and a side open to the most incredible view of the Pitons. The crowning feature is a totally private infinity pool and balcony, from which the Pitons just seem to rise out of the sea. The service is polished and attentive, and the restaurant/lounge ( and large communal infinity pool) on the top floor is simply spectacular. The menu is changed daily, and always includes an abundance of local ingredients. The staff is, without exception, genuinely friendly. This is definitely one of the most unique, luxury properties in the Caribbean, and St. Lucia is a beautiful island. The only caution is that this is not a property for the mobility impaired, or for children.

  • Liked — Amazing view with private infinity pool
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ScubaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

It started well and it stayed that way!

We actually booked ten nights at Anse Chastanet but on arrival were informed that we'd "been upgraded to Jade Mountain - if that's okay with you"... okay? You bet!

There wasn't any particular reason for the upgrade, we weren't on honeymoon and there was no special occasion, we had booked a Premium Hillside room at Anse Chastanet so perhaps that's how the upgrade hierarchy works.

Interestingly the room we were allocated, JF5 on the ground floor, is one of only five rooms, sorry - sanctuaries, in Jade Mountain that doesn't feature an infinity-edge pool. However, the additional frontage that the lack of pool frees up - all 32 ft of it - adds to the sense of space in an already huge room.

There's something about the place, which I think derives from the always-positive attitude of the staff at all levels, that seems to rub off on the guests and encourages idle, relaxed chit-chat between total strangers from breakfast right through to sunset and beyond. A few months earlier we stayed at a similarly upmarket (and pricey!!) property in Crete. It was a wonderful place but way more formal and guests just weren't inclined to socialise. Everything about Jade Mountain seemed to put people at ease.

I mentioned sunsets. Jade Mountain has them in abundance. Every night we would time our routine (what little routine we had) around the sunset, making sure that we were on the top deck at Jade Mountain Club with a glass of wine or a cocktail, relaxing in one of their comfortable Dedon chairs, to watch the sun dip below the horizon in spectacular style, a different type each night. Rotate 90 degrees to see the twin peaks of the Pitons silhouetted against blood-red clouds. Perfect.

This review is not so much about the service, the food, the steep climb or anything like that, but more about the way I felt when I was there, which must be a good thing, because if all of those other things weren't "just right" then I wouldn't have had chance to enjoy the experience. However, for the sake of injecting a few facts...:

Food: Excellent. Many guests were on the all-inclusive program, we did the math and calculated that we saved around 1,000USD by *not* being on it, but on room and breakfast only. You would have to eat a full breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and four course dinner, plus drinks-a-plenty, to break even on AI.

Service: Sometimes "island pace" but that's to be expected, especially considering the steep climbs involved for the staff. They must be some of the fittest hotel workers on the island. Special thanks to Gianluca and Marcella for being utterly brilliant.

Room: Huge. Apparently the record is held by one couple for not leaving their room for four whole days and nights.

Activities: As much or as little as you want. We relaxed, hiked, SCUBAd, snorkelled, visited the volcano, toured the island, went on a sunset cruise, but we didn't climb Gros Piton.

Critters: Repellent is essential, but then I haven't been anywhere tropical where it isn't. Rooms are completely open to the outside so expect tree frogs, moths, birds, lizards and other creatures to pay a visit. We even had a solitary, large cockroach inside for a while. That would really repel some people, but not me. Remember you're in their territory, not the other way around.

There's so much more I could write about this place, but I'm conscious of the fact that this is becoming a bit of an essay so I won't. I hope the photos help to fill in the blanks.

If you're leafing through a few brochures and thinking about going to Jade Mountain, don't ... just go, you won't regret it!

  • Liked — It is so unique, the staff are very friendly
  • Disliked — Leaving...
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank JakePerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
2.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,162 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
14.8 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Resort

Property: Jade Mountain Resort
Address: 100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically above its 49 room sister resort Anse Chastanet, a 600 acre beach front property, Jade Mountain is a cornucopia of organic architecture celebrating St Lucia’s stunning scenic beauty. The 29 luxury suites are called sanctuaries, sweeping spaces where bedroom, living area and an extravagant private infinity pool glide into one another to form extraordinary platforms floating out into nature. With the fourth wall entirely absent, Jade Mountain’s sanctuaries are stage-like settings from which to embrace the full glory of St Lucia’s Pitons World Heritage Site and the Caribbean Sea. Jade Mountain has set a new standard in the Caribbean whether it is for modern design, luxury living or unique resort and guest service experiences.Wrapped around an infinity pool with a dazzling kaleidoscope of colors, the Jade Mountain Club restaurant caters exclusively to resident guests, celebrating James Beard Award winner Chef Allen Susser’s “Jade Cuisine.” Hovering in space above the Jade Mountain Club is the Celestial Terrace, perfect for sunset cocktails or star-gazing.A wide range of spa services can be enjoyed in the privacy of the Jade Mountain sanctuaries or at Kai en Ciel, Jade Mountain’s boutique spa and fitness studio. The resort major domos and a dedicated resort team ensure outstanding service around the clock.Guests may enjoy the exclusivity and privacy of Jade Mountain plus access to all of Anse Chastanet’s facilities and services: Nestled amidst a lush tropical 600 acre tropical estate with two soft sand beaches bordering pristine coral reefs, Anse Chastanet is right in the heart of the island’s marine reserves with St. Lucia’s legendary twin peaks, the Pitons, as the dramatic backdrop.The active will enjoy the resort’s amazing range of adventure facilities. Facilities include 4 restaurants & 3 bars, professional spa, PADi 5* scuba centre, water sports with kayaking centre, 12 miles of private biking and hiking trails with mountain bike rental, sailing yacht, 3 boutiques, library and art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jade Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Mountain Hotel
Hotel Jade Mountain
Jade Mountain St Lucia
Jade Mountain Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing