We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Our Cup of Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jade Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Not Our Cup of Tea”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

St Lucia is a very beautiful Island/country but is expensive. This resort is outrageously expensive. We stayed at its older sister resort, Anse Chastanet which is below Jade Mountain Resort and had a lunch and breakfast at the Resort and took the tour offered to Anse Chasanet guests. Jade Mountain does not have rooms or suites. They have 29 "sanctuaries" which I find narcissistic and ostentatious. 24 of the 29 rooms have private infinity pools. The resort is extremely proud of the recycled glass tiles in the pools which are very pretty. Each room is different (we were shown 3) and all have fantastic views of the Pitons across the bay through the open wall. There is no A/C or TV. The resort shares the beach and other activities such as scuba diving with Anse Chastanet. Guests at each resort can dine in any of the resorts' restaurants with some restrictions for the lower class rooms.

Before our tour, we had lunch in the Jade Mountain Restaurant. The view was fantastic. The food and presentation was exquisite. The service was exceptional. And the mango passion fruit cannolis and mango cheese cake for dessert were memorable. On the day we left, we had breakfast at Jade Mountain again. We were joined by 2 other couples with whom we had been diving all week but had not been there before. We were badly disappointed. The service was inferior to that of the buffet at the Treehouse restaurant at Anse Chastanet. Coffee was served after we ordered and it was lukewarm. The cups were filled only halfway which made sense because they were very large cups but the waiters did not keep them filled. We had to ask for more coffee. The food was not hot when it was served. And the presentation lacked any garnishments other than being served on fancy plates. I don't know if it was because we were from the basement rooms or the fact that there were 6 of us and they are geared to serve only 2 at a time. It likely was the latter because we ordered 2 belgium waffles and 4 omelets and the kitchen probably had only 2 omelet saute pans and 1 waffle iron. Also the kitchen is not adjacent to the restaurant and it was raining so every plate was wrapped in plastic which had to be removed before it was served. Unfortunately this was our last meal at the resort and will be the last memory we took home with us.

Jade Mountain may be a great place for a romantic vacation or a discreet affair where you never leave your room but it is not the kind of place where we would be comfortable even if we could afford it.

Please read our review of Anse Chastanet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    94
    26
    21
    6
See reviews for
31
805
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I just returned from a 5-night honeymoon at Jade Mountain. My husband and I had been anticipating this resort for months and often looked at pictures on JM's website or Trip Advisor. Our reactions when we walked onto the property and in our room, which I'm told are typical of other guests, were of pure shock. We were stunned by our room, the beauty of the Pitons/Caribbean from anywhere on the property, the service we received, and the quality of every detail that has gone into this amazing resort.

The staff truly blessed us all week by their kindness and eagerness to serve us. "You are on vacation!" was a phrase we heard frequently to encourage us NOT to do anything for ourselves. The excursions through JM/Anse Chastenet were so much fun (we did the jungle biking, half-day of sailing, and snorkeling), and the treatments we got at the spa (mud baths, hot stone massages, swedish massages) were superb. Not to mention, the service at the Anse Chaenet beach was awesome as well.

To top it all off, this place is a foodie's dream. Four-course dinners every night with impeccable service, stunning sunset views from the Jade Club, and an excellent selection of wines and cocktails spoiled us!

Stop what you're doing immediately and look into this resort. It is worth every penny, and we have already started saving for a return trip on our 10-year anniversary!

Room Tip: We were in JE3 and LOVED it. One of the staff told us that JE3 and JE1 are her favorite rooms. Our o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brooke8580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. We went here for our honeymoon. It's exquisite. SOO romantic. The service is outstanding. The food is WONDERFUL. The beach is gorgeous. The snorkeling is some of the best I've seen. We only stayed 3 days here and moved intentionally to a resort up north. If I had known Jade was going to be so fantastic, I never would have reserved the resort up north. LOVED it. The trek to the beach is very easy...don't be deterred by that...you can take an "at your service" car anytime you like. Our butler's name was Teddy, and he was the best butler I have ever had. I hope we can go again someday!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first level with an infinity pool. We had amazing views without the higher price o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went to Jade Mountain for our Honeymoon and loved every minute. We planned to stay 8 nights 4 at Anse Chestnet and 4 at Jade Mountain. But because of overbooking we stayed 5 nights at Anse Chestnet and 3 at Jade Mountain in an upgraded room. I wished we had more nights at Jade overall, the service was superb!! Food was unbelievable the entire trip! It is quite a hike to the beach steep hill you have to go up and down. Disappointed that not all the restuarants were opened, I was never under the impression before hand that any would be closed but since it was the "off season" dinner was only at the beach or when at Jade you had the choice of beach or the club. But because we were on the "off season" we had a private snorkel boat trip, private bike tour and all other excursions were small. Bugs are annoying, bring extra bug spray.

Room Tip: Stayed at JD3 at Jade Mountatin- Fantastic Views Stayed at J7 at Anse Chestnet- nice big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you ever have the opportunity to visit and stay at Jade Mountain please do so. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The staff, accommodations, restaurant, attractions, atmosphere, and view are second to none!!!! Everyone went above and beyond to make our honeymoon romantic, special, and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I surprised my wife with a trip to Jade Mountain the first week of August. We were there for 7 nights/8 days and every day was amazing. My wife had never even heard of Jade Mountain before we arrived so to say she was speechless would be an understatement.

I opted for the helicopter from the airport and it was worth the money. The flight was quick and provided excellent views. On our arrival we were greeted by the GM and offered some drinks and a cool towel to refresh ourselves. From there we were taken to our room (sanctuary) and it was then I realized we had been upgraded to one of the Galaxy suites - mind blown. My wife walked through the door and was completely blown away. Our butler, Earl, gave us the tour, booked our dinner reservations, and then left us to explore and be amazed by the views.

I'm not sure I can add anything that hasn't already been mentioned numerous times. The food was amazing - the St. Lucian Breakfast (curried fish and cucumber salad) may have been the best thing I have ever eaten in my life. The service was outstanding - Earl and Vito were our butlers and special mention to Bentley in the restaurant who went out of his way to give my wife a number of special memories. The room was amazing. The pool, while somewhat cool when you first jump in, was used lots during our time.

I'm quite active so spent time in the gym (decent) and ran the trails at Anse Mamin plantation which is a short walk/run from the main resort area. The trails are incredibly well maintained and I was able to string together a number of 10K runs fairly easily. The trail called "Tinker's Trail" is relatively short but surprisingly steep and challenging and it was a fun trail to run and ring the bell at the top. The views are also worth it.

The beach at Anse Chastanet was very good. I would say the resort there is more of an eco-style resort so don't expect high end luxury but I wasn't disappointed with the surroundings. They take care of you on the beach the drinks were great (order the Coco-Loco and after one sip you'll say it tastes like drunk...awesome). We never took the shuttle back up to Jade and counted the actual steps up to our room (420 as fate would have it). As I mentioned we are both fairly active so this never caused us any problems but if someone has mobility challenges then the shuttle would be a no-brainer.

All in all a great trip. I initially would have said it was once in a lifetime but after having experienced Jade Mountain I can say for certain we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sauce_Diesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Not a lot to say - incredible hotel and amazing views, food etc. Also enjoyed the beach at Anse Chastenet. Would recommend eating in the restaurant as great view and we enjoyed getting out of the room to eat. The higher up the floors, the better the rooms. A view of the Pitons when you wake up was perfect. Not the sort of thing you do every year, but a few nights here is well worth it. All inclusive helps you relax when ordering.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
1,168 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
14.8 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Resort

Property: Jade Mountain Resort
Address: 100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically above its 49 room sister resort Anse Chastanet, a 600 acre beach front property, Jade Mountain is a cornucopia of organic architecture celebrating St Lucia’s stunning scenic beauty. The 29 luxury suites are called sanctuaries, sweeping spaces where bedroom, living area and an extravagant private infinity pool glide into one another to form extraordinary platforms floating out into nature. With the fourth wall entirely absent, Jade Mountain’s sanctuaries are stage-like settings from which to embrace the full glory of St Lucia’s Pitons World Heritage Site and the Caribbean Sea. Jade Mountain has set a new standard in the Caribbean whether it is for modern design, luxury living or unique resort and guest service experiences.Wrapped around an infinity pool with a dazzling kaleidoscope of colors, the Jade Mountain Club restaurant caters exclusively to resident guests, celebrating James Beard Award winner Chef Allen Susser’s “Jade Cuisine.” Hovering in space above the Jade Mountain Club is the Celestial Terrace, perfect for sunset cocktails or star-gazing.A wide range of spa services can be enjoyed in the privacy of the Jade Mountain sanctuaries or at Kai en Ciel, Jade Mountain’s boutique spa and fitness studio. The resort major domos and a dedicated resort team ensure outstanding service around the clock.Guests may enjoy the exclusivity and privacy of Jade Mountain plus access to all of Anse Chastanet’s facilities and services: Nestled amidst a lush tropical 600 acre tropical estate with two soft sand beaches bordering pristine coral reefs, Anse Chastanet is right in the heart of the island’s marine reserves with St. Lucia’s legendary twin peaks, the Pitons, as the dramatic backdrop.The active will enjoy the resort’s amazing range of adventure facilities. Facilities include 4 restaurants & 3 bars, professional spa, PADi 5* scuba centre, water sports with kayaking centre, 12 miles of private biking and hiking trails with mountain bike rental, sailing yacht, 3 boutiques, library and art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, MrandMrsSmith, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jade Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Mountain Hotel
Hotel Jade Mountain
Jade Mountain St Lucia
Jade Mountain Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing